Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #14 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Blue Tee



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Very nice

2-4    10/25/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: MrFixIt
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes.
Concrete tee pads.
Alternate pin positions.
Great baskets.
Trash cans.
Cons: No nearby restroom facilities.
Some tee pads/fairways WAY too close together.
Other Thoughts: Crowded, but not necessarily a bad thing. I saw lots of families out.
This course can do nothing but improve. When the trees mature in the open areas, will be quite challenging.
Very strong club presence.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    10/14/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new park in Gwinnett County which is known for having great parks. Rolling hills with a pond on previous farmland. Well maintained course; the tee pads have received continuous attention during all of the heavy rain in 2009. Two concrete tee pads on every hole (red/short & blue/long). Half of the holes are in the open with half in the woods.
Cons: Crowds. This course is consistently crowded, even during weekday afternoons you will see several groups playing, with almost every hole being played by a group on weekends & weekday evenings. Still everything seems to flow smoothly and we have never had to wait more than a few minutes to start a round. Players are very courteous with regards to playing through.
Other Thoughts: Rolling elevation changes but mostly minor hills. This is the course where I first played disc golf in Summer 2009 and I play here at least once a week. This park has more than enough space for the 18 holes. My skill level is very low, but even when I am flinging discs all over the place I have never come close to infringing on adjacent holes or anyone on the jogging trails. Very enjoyable place to spend an hour or so throwing a round.

UPDATE 4/14/2010: I am bumping up my rating for this course by a full disc to a solid 4.0. The park/course is immaculately maintained, the basket positions change regularly, and the course always yields a good time and seems fresh even though I play here at least once each week.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dissappointed

1    10/10/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Psalman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
The course was obviously designed, and not an afterthought. The few good holes are going into or out of the woods. There is minor elevation change on several holes.
Cons:
The majority of the course is on an open field with no obstacles. There really isn't enough room for 18 holes. Several of the holes are almost on top of each other. The additional challenge of the woods is severely hindered by the short length.

The course is packed. I had to wait on many holes to play. The congestion prevents being able to play from one tee-box to a different hole to maximize the landscape.
Other Thoughts:
There is now only one pin on every hole.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Gwinnett

5+    9/22/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: Matt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is seriously fun to play. It's located in a nice area too which is a major plus in my book. It has a variety of hole types in the form of several open holes, several mixed holes (open to wooded and vice versa) and a tunnel hole. It has very nice concrete tee-pads and signs, as well as next tee markers and brooms at most of the holes.
Cons: I would have liked to see at least one sharp hyzer hole and one sharp anhyzer hole and maybe have had some of the wooded holes be a little longer and or tighter.
Other Thoughts: There are several very long holes and several very short holes with the remainder being on the shortish side. Having a wide variety of shots helps here, but really, just throwing straight consistently will yield a lot of birdie opportunities. It is very much easier to score low at this course than it is at courses like Roswell, Sandy Creek, and even Redan. However, I don't think that is relevant to the overall fun factor because unless you are shooting 16-18 under at a course there is still a challenge there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous course, a real confidence builder

1    9/9/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: JasonK
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscaping & natural beauty. Great mix of open and wooded holes. Well thought out design offers challenges for every level. Pristine condition the day I played. Modern and well-maintained amenities: benches, signs, facilities. Many birdie opportunities. Dual tee positions on each hole, all concrete.
Cons: A fair walk from the parking lot to the tee. Some holes are repetitive. May be too easy for advanced players. Lack of shade on hot days can be killer. Hole 17 should be a Par 3.
Other Thoughts: I've only been golfing for 6 months but this is by far the nicest and most fun course I've played. It was a beautiful fall day and and I got my lowest score so I'm very happy. The landscaping, layout and new amenities made me feel like I was playing at a country club. It's simply gorgeous here and the course is a real confidence builder. One is required to use a wide variety of shots including long drives which are missing at other area courses (E. Roswell anyone?). The wooded holes are great too - many start or end in the woods. The experience at Alexander Park is magnificient. It is clear that the local parks department is intent on making this one of the premiere DG courses in the area. Not to be missed. This is close to as perfect a course as I'd want to play.

Update: After playing this course a few times, I found the back parking lot where the DG'ers park that is much closer to the course. Drive in the main entrance, through the regular parking lot into the "Overflow" lot which brings you within a few hundred feet of the first tee. Much better than walking from the main lot, especially after a full round. Enjoy!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

2-4    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 131  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Course is fairly visually pleasing and fun to play. It is a good course for beginners.
Cons: This course was heavily hyped and is truly very disappointing. The thing not being mentioned is the danger factor on this course. There are many examples such as hole seven which is very easy to miss and could result in someone getting hit hard while walking from six to eight's tee pad across seven's fairway. The tee shot on eighteen could easily hit someone on another tee pad to the left and again it would be a hard hit. This course is not suitable for tournament play for these reasons alone. There is not a single memorable or really good hole. This is just another typical poorly thought out disc golf course that you will find all over the country. I would say anything less than 10 down is a bad score for a good advanced player. I actually think this course plays easier than Lenora.
Other Thoughts: For the life of me I don't understand why course designers won't put their machismo aside and consult better players on their designs. While it isn't impossible it is very rare that bad players design a good course. Mostly we end up with a waste of baskets like this course. Atlanta did not need yet another rec course like this one.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  GREAT COURSE

5+    7/18/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: Crow
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A wonderful course that is out of the way of the rest of the park. There is a walking and bike trail that runs around the course (and through it at one point), but in no way impedes play. It's obvious that the main attraction to the park itself is the course. There's and excellent variety of shots for ambidextrous play. Changes in elevation make for very deceiving shots. There are plenty of birdie opportunities for well placed drives but making par on most holes is an accomplishment. About 50/50 wooded vs. open field holes that make it tough for beginners, yet still fun. Open hole fairways are loosely defined. As the trees mature they will become very picturesque and more challenging (#2). Wooded holes are well defined and are a mix of tight corridors and a little more open. If you ricochet off the beaten path you may spend a while searching. Benches at every tee pad and trash cans are at a few. Concrete tee pads (regular and ladies/juniors) make for great driving conditions. Signs at the tee layout each hole very well and make it easy to navigate the course. Also look for "to next tee" signs when moving on.
Cons: Kind of a far walk from parking lot (but you're going to be walking the whole time so big deal) Bugs: tick, and wasps mostly - bug spray advised. Some litter despite trash cans, but that's on the people not on the course.
Other Thoughts: You can tell this course was well thought out and implemented. The trees planted on the open holes are, for the most part, slow growing trees. Once they grow up they will look amazing and really beautify the course, but that will take awhile. If you shoot par on this course, you've done something. It does get really hot and muggy so water is a must and when you do come out (everyone needs to play this course) be respectful of the land and don't litter. I'm not throwing crap in your back yard so don't throw it in mine. The signature holes in my opinion are #16 and #4. #16 is a decent par 4 in one pin placement and a long par three in the closest placement. You're teeing off into an open field fairway from the top of a hill just inside the woods. Trees and geography define the fairway very nicely and is quite beautiful. #4 is a short par 3 that is shot from in the woods to the pin which is just outside. Your fairway is a narrow corridor that's a straight shot to get in between the last two trees which are about 15-20 ft apart; a simple hole but the epitome of what the Alexander Course is all about.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    7/10/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Alan.D
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -One of the best short courses I have yet to play.
-Very nice concrete pads with wide approach
-Multiple tee pads, and Pin locations
-Good mix of Open and wooded shots
-Good use of elevation and land
-Can use multiple approach(but most are too short)
-Need a good mix of shots
-A fun course
Cons: -Hot! I live 15 mins from the course and play all the local ones but the steep elevation and lack of water makes this course very tiresome to play BRING WATER
-Few risk reward holes, most are just a basic par 3 while tough and required good shots leave little to the imagination.
-Only 2 Par 4's and No par 5's(If memory serves correctly)
-Must walk far away from parking lot to get to course.
-Lots of Ticks/Chiggers in woods, bring and use bug spray.
Other Thoughts: For such a great course I wish it would have more Risk reward holes. More par 4's and the lack of par 5's is very disappointing. Still one of the best "short" course I have played. Course is still growing some trees have been planted and will make the course even better when they grow up a bit.

Another Very fun course that will force you to be at the top of your game, without requiring a long arm.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  I will be under par here...eventually

5+    7/7/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: BIGBUSINESS
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I have only been playing for a few months now but as a designer myself I can really appreciate what Ryan Harris has done with this piece of property. I feel like to have a successful course variety is key. Here he has done this by providing many different styles of holes on one course. Some in the woods, some in the wide open.... It is my personal opinion that a good open hole to loosen things up can make the transition into the woods a bit smoother.... especially for beginners. After that he mixes in some great looks into and out of the woods giving you multiple places to score low early. He takes great notice to the fact that not everyone is a righty and gives a good mix of left to right and right to left. The signage is well done...I think he must have had some good help through that process because some courses pay little attention to where they put there signs... They are some of the nicest and easiest to read as well. When you come to the back nine things begin to get a bit harder so consider pars pretty good. 17 will be in the pros section and the cons section... it is a great hole (especially the back location)... As you come to 18 you have a tight gap that can easily ruin a low round but is also very birdie able if you have two great drives in a row. All around this is my favorite course that I have played thus far and I will continue to drive the 45 minute drive from Athens to play it. Well done guys!
Cons: I have very few cons about this course... Besides the obvious walk that you must take. I here that this issue will be taken care of once phase two of the park begins. First who made the crappy scorecards that they provide? It is pretty obvious to me that the designers were not in charge of making those because whoever did had no idea how many holes were on the course...they chose 19... mark me down for a birdie on that one...I just have a hard time believing that the guys who paid such intricate detail to the design would overlooked something like that. It was probably some lazy county worker who kind of knew how to use excel... Regardless, that is in no way going to ruin your day. Second I just want to say that for being one of my favorite holes out there 17 is also my least favorite....The prevailing winds out there ALWAYS seem to be blowing right at the pond. I am rather impartial to that hole (Perhaps because I have lost 3 drivers there already) and word to the wise... that pond is home to a very large black snake. If you decided to roll up your pant legs and go in after a lost disk I would stop and think about this one piece of information...if the snapping turtles do not bite your toe off than the LEACHES yes leaches just might... pretty disgusting I know.
Other Thoughts: On a lighter note I am a huge fan of what these guys have been able to do with this piece of property. You are almost completely seperated from the rest of the park and you get to experience one hell of a disk golf course. I have never been able to just play once. I usually will play 2 or 3 rounds so for those complaining about the walk...Get in shape and one last thing. S A C!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Promising Future

2-4    6/26/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
•Excellent equipment (baskets, multiple pins, multiple concrete tee pads, signs)
•Well manicured
•A variety of holes
Cons:
•Long walk from parking lot
•The open holes are very open
Other Thoughts: This course has a very promising future with the trees planted on the open holes. However it appears that some of the trees planted are slow growers. So it could take a while for the course to mature.

Signature Hole: 17 (especially when it is in the long pin position)


2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.