Disc Golf Store
Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #18 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 322ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee: Position B



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 I'd play it a lot if I lived closer

1    9/30/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: GavinSexton
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean. Benches at every hole. Fun wooded fairways. Low shrubbery. Easy to find stray discs. Nice tapered concrete tees.
Cons: I had to walk quite a distance to make it to the first tee from where I parked.
Other Thoughts: I wish some of the first holes had more obstacles. They are also a little repetitive being in an open field like they are.

I live about 50 minutes from this course, but to me it isn't worth the drive unless I have other reasons to be in the area. I prefer Cumming Central park over Alexander.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Near perfect

2-4    7/10/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Two concrete Ts per basket with a broom at every T. Distance and accuracy required throughout the course--only a couple of holes are wide open.



The woods were clear of undergrowth which made it easy to find your disc on any throw.
Cons: The pond is deceptively easy to throw into on #17.
Other Thoughts: I have played many courses around the US and this course is the best I have played perhaps with the exception of my "home" course at Oregon Park near Atlanta GA.

I went early on Sat and Sun mornings, so did not run into the crowds mentioned in some of the other reviews.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My new home course, love it.

5+    8/28/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: DrumPhil
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked and diagrammed. Easy to navigate. Challenging in a variety of ways. Requires a variety of throwing technique. Variety of terrain, elevation, obstacles, wooded and clear holes, short and long, always well maintained. Very well designed and balanced course. Trashcans and benches frequently throughout course.
Cons: There really are not many cons. Overall, it is an excellent course, although, maybe for the pros, this may not be the most challenging course ever, but is very enjoyable even for intermediate to advanced players. Does get a little crowded sometimes on weekends, but players are friendly and will let you play through etc. Worth a drive, but I live really close so I play it often. Watch out for the pond on 16 and 17.
Other Thoughts: Random draw doubles on Saturday mornings at 9am. "Disc Stalker" store on the corner of Sugarloaf Prkwy and Old Snellville and they sell drinks for 1 dollar.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 half & half

1    8/8/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: mouseclone
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is both open and in the woods. Some holes were half and half. The course has a great deal to offer and made for a great experience.
Cons: Cross play. The 16th and 18th tees are right next to each other and a little confusing at first glance.

The walk/bike trail around the course is a little annoying. You need to make sure that you disc are on mark or you might hit someone.
Other Thoughts: You need to drive though the first parking lot to get to the back parking lot. This will yield a much shorter walk to the practice putting green as well as the first tee.

I didn't notice a place to get water or where the bathrooms were. So might would like to track down those locations.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Sun

1    8/9/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is wide open and very smooth both to the eyes and to the fly. it transitions from small rolling hills to nice shaded woods very smoothly. This place is WELL taken care of. (a broom at every launch and not a mark on the Goals).
There is a place to sit at almost every launch (thank you Eagle Scouts) and the underbrush is very tolerable.
Hole 17 is a doozy... being that you have to curve just right around that pond to make it into your lane and not into the water or over to those woods on the other side.
Water fountains at entrance.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay!
Cons: So apparently Gwinnette county Built this place right smack dab in the middle of a ton of subdivisions. On top of the park being very well constructed, you have to take into account that they squeezed a walking track and a biking track in a quasi circle around the entire park. so there are going to be a lot of people walking around all of the time. from the looks of today (a Monday afternoon ) i can gather that a calm meditative play is possible, all without the zen of privacy.
All and all i say that there are really no other cons. This place is very well taken care of. im thinking that we can thank our tax dollars for that.
A few nasty stairs from the local authorities (who patrol on their bikes and cars) do not seem to scare off the steady flow of disc-golfers i witnessed this afternoon. the steady flow of people through this course gives me hope that perhaps we can build many more great courses like this in the future.
Other Thoughts: Great stuff all around. Worth the drive! i would drive at least three hours to play here if i had to. This course seems VERY popular to the locals (who all seemed friendly enough) so also be prepared to kindly step aside for those speedier disc- golfers.
Oh and folks... the pond is no joke,,, i personally wouldn't go into that water... Black lagoon type scenario.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad.

1    6/6/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are quite a few things here they do right,such as having nice teepads,rotating pin positions,being far away from the other activities in the park,having multiple tees,and having very nice teesigns.

The course was pretty well manicured when I played,nice short grass,I could definitely see someone who likes rollers having a good time here.
Cons: The big con here for me is lack of hole shapes,this is a pretty open course,not a ton of variety,and if you play this in the summer,it gets hot walking across that big field all the time,real,real hot.
Other Thoughts: There's not really many obstacles out here,but a few of the holes are pinned in some trees,and a few are truly wooded,but it's more open than anything,but don't let that stop you from having a good time.

This was the 4th round I had played that day,4th new course,played with BnC,we had a great time,and I would definitely come back and play this course again if I was in the area.

This isn't a destination course,and I do think it's a bit overrated,but if you are in the area,definitely make sure to check it out.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    7/25/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: mdfenley
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Plenty of bench's and trash cans provided.
Cons: Not maintained well. Needs grass cut. Course needs better signage to direct you to the holes. At the end of #3, is #5. At the end of #5 is #4 & #6. Trying to go from #12 to #13 without a map is confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is nice to play once you figure out the layout. Plenty of combined holes, open and wooded. Looking forward to playing it again soon.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander Park Review

5+    5/25/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Chain Bangin' Joshua
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New course, fresh, well made launch pads, challenging holes and an excellent layout make for a challenging course. Wide variety of scenery and hazard types. Well-maintained grounds.
Cons: Large snakes seen on most trips. The water hazard on left side of 17 makes for a lot of lost discs. The back 9 holes seem rushed in design and execution (#14-18 seem jumbled and poorly planned out.) Hole #15 in major need of some work as far as clearing and cleaning of debris. This last part is not a current and new condition, the course has always seemed to be poorly maintained here. Most wooded shots have high levels of underbrush and thorns. Parking situation is very poor.
Other Thoughts: Course is regularly overcrowded; to some, this may be a pro, to others, a con. Alexander is in the heart of Gwinnett County and easily accessible to an area where there aren't many good nearby courses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A little open, but fun

1    4/22/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses a mix of open rolling fields and some tight woods, which mixes things up quite a bit throughout the round. The open holes bring minor elevation changes into play, and a few have enough distance to really throw a drive. Many have a few small trees that will be nice obstacles when they grow up a bit. The wooded holes offer some nice tight lines to hit, and several play into or out of the trees for different types of challenges.

The tighter holes offer a variety of left and right turning shots, most aren't very long but you will have to be accurate to stay out of the thick rough. Hole 17 brings a small pond into play, and offers the one multi-shot hole on the course with an open drive, then a long upshot through the trees to get to the protected pin. There are long and short tees to change things up a bit, and good signs with hole distance and layout. The concrete tees and baskets are all in nice shape. The flow of the course is easy to follow, and there isn't much conflict with other park users.
Cons: The open areas of the course get a bit repetitive, they'll be better when the trees grow in a bit but right now they just don't offer much variety or challenge. The alternate tees are a nice idea, but here they're almost always on the same line and not that different of distances, so it seems a bit pointless. There are a few places where holes play very near one another, and it seems like there's enough traffic here that it could be an issue at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty straightforward course, but a fun one. Beginners will find the course pretty approachable, with only a few longer holes. More experienced players won't find it too challenging even from the longs, but the wooded holes offer a few places where you have the chance to earn anything from a birdie to a bogey.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but Busy!

2-4    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: EagleZT
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Nice layout. Like the Wooded Courses. Nothing more gratifying than taking your wood driver out and breaking it in. Nice facilities. GDGO is really woking hard to keep this course nice. Lots of mixed shots. Some short and long holes keep it interesting instead of having to dig my driver out all the time.

Not fully broken in yet so get your scores low while you can.

Score cards are provided!
Cons: People jumping around. The young'ins like to skip holes to circumvent the old and new guys. Really gets frustrating.

Way too crowded on weekends. Be prepared to wait. Alexander services all of Gwinnett in a central location so a lot of us from outside of the county travel to Alexander.

Poison Ivy starting to grow in. I got hit by it so watch out
Other Thoughts: Great course, but can get busy on the weekends. A nice touch for newbies like myself to test my technical shots.

Watch out for the disc magnet on 17 (the pond) Havent put one in yet.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.