Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: billnchristy Hole #15 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course for Gwinnett

5+    9/22/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: Matt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is seriously fun to play. It's located in a nice area too which is a major plus in my book. It has a variety of hole types in the form of several open holes, several mixed holes (open to wooded and vice versa) and a tunnel hole. It has very nice concrete tee-pads and signs, as well as next tee markers and brooms at most of the holes.
Cons: I would have liked to see at least one sharp hyzer hole and one sharp anhyzer hole and maybe have had some of the wooded holes be a little longer and or tighter.
Other Thoughts: There are several very long holes and several very short holes with the remainder being on the shortish side. Having a wide variety of shots helps here, but really, just throwing straight consistently will yield a lot of birdie opportunities. It is very much easier to score low at this course than it is at courses like Roswell, Sandy Creek, and even Redan. However, I don't think that is relevant to the overall fun factor because unless you are shooting 16-18 under at a course there is still a challenge there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous course, a real confidence builder

1    9/9/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: JasonK
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscaping & natural beauty. Great mix of open and wooded holes. Well thought out design offers challenges for every level. Pristine condition the day I played. Modern and well-maintained amenities: benches, signs, facilities. Many birdie opportunities. Dual tee positions on each hole, all concrete.
Cons: A fair walk from the parking lot to the tee. Some holes are repetitive. May be too easy for advanced players. Lack of shade on hot days can be killer. Hole 17 should be a Par 3.
Other Thoughts: I've only been golfing for 6 months but this is by far the nicest and most fun course I've played. It was a beautiful fall day and and I got my lowest score so I'm very happy. The landscaping, layout and new amenities made me feel like I was playing at a country club. It's simply gorgeous here and the course is a real confidence builder. One is required to use a wide variety of shots including long drives which are missing at other area courses (E. Roswell anyone?). The wooded holes are great too - many start or end in the woods. The experience at Alexander Park is magnificient. It is clear that the local parks department is intent on making this one of the premiere DG courses in the area. Not to be missed. This is close to as perfect a course as I'd want to play.

Update: After playing this course a few times, I found the back parking lot where the DG'ers park that is much closer to the course. Drive in the main entrance, through the regular parking lot into the "Overflow" lot which brings you within a few hundred feet of the first tee. Much better than walking from the main lot, especially after a full round. Enjoy!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

2-4    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Course is fairly visually pleasing and fun to play. It is a good course for beginners.
Cons: This course was heavily hyped and is truly very disappointing. The thing not being mentioned is the danger factor on this course. There are many examples such as hole seven which is very easy to miss and could result in someone getting hit hard while walking from six to eight's tee pad across seven's fairway. The tee shot on eighteen could easily hit someone on another tee pad to the left and again it would be a hard hit. This course is not suitable for tournament play for these reasons alone. There is not a single memorable or really good hole. This is just another typical poorly thought out disc golf course that you will find all over the country. I would say anything less than 10 down is a bad score for a good advanced player. I actually think this course plays easier than Lenora.
Other Thoughts: For the life of me I don't understand why course designers won't put their machismo aside and consult better players on their designs. While it isn't impossible it is very rare that bad players design a good course. Mostly we end up with a waste of baskets like this course. Atlanta did not need yet another rec course like this one.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  GREAT COURSE

5+    7/18/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: Crow
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A wonderful course that is out of the way of the rest of the park. There is a walking and bike trail that runs around the course (and through it at one point), but in no way impedes play. It's obvious that the main attraction to the park itself is the course. There's and excellent variety of shots for ambidextrous play. Changes in elevation make for very deceiving shots. There are plenty of birdie opportunities for well placed drives but making par on most holes is an accomplishment. About 50/50 wooded vs. open field holes that make it tough for beginners, yet still fun. Open hole fairways are loosely defined. As the trees mature they will become very picturesque and more challenging (#2). Wooded holes are well defined and are a mix of tight corridors and a little more open. If you ricochet off the beaten path you may spend a while searching. Benches at every tee pad and trash cans are at a few. Concrete tee pads (regular and ladies/juniors) make for great driving conditions. Signs at the tee layout each hole very well and make it easy to navigate the course. Also look for "to next tee" signs when moving on.
Cons: Kind of a far walk from parking lot (but you're going to be walking the whole time so big deal) Bugs: tick, and wasps mostly - bug spray advised. Some litter despite trash cans, but that's on the people not on the course.
Other Thoughts: You can tell this course was well thought out and implemented. The trees planted on the open holes are, for the most part, slow growing trees. Once they grow up they will look amazing and really beautify the course, but that will take awhile. If you shoot par on this course, you've done something. It does get really hot and muggy so water is a must and when you do come out (everyone needs to play this course) be respectful of the land and don't litter. I'm not throwing crap in your back yard so don't throw it in mine. The signature holes in my opinion are #16 and #4. #16 is a decent par 4 in one pin placement and a long par three in the closest placement. You're teeing off into an open field fairway from the top of a hill just inside the woods. Trees and geography define the fairway very nicely and is quite beautiful. #4 is a short par 3 that is shot from in the woods to the pin which is just outside. Your fairway is a narrow corridor that's a straight shot to get in between the last two trees which are about 15-20 ft apart; a simple hole but the epitome of what the Alexander Course is all about.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    7/10/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Alan.D
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -One of the best short courses I have yet to play.
-Very nice concrete pads with wide approach
-Multiple tee pads, and Pin locations
-Good mix of Open and wooded shots
-Good use of elevation and land
-Can use multiple approach(but most are too short)
-Need a good mix of shots
-A fun course
Cons: -Hot! I live 15 mins from the course and play all the local ones but the steep elevation and lack of water makes this course very tiresome to play BRING WATER
-Few risk reward holes, most are just a basic par 3 while tough and required good shots leave little to the imagination.
-Only 2 Par 4's and No par 5's(If memory serves correctly)
-Must walk far away from parking lot to get to course.
-Lots of Ticks/Chiggers in woods, bring and use bug spray.
Other Thoughts: For such a great course I wish it would have more Risk reward holes. More par 4's and the lack of par 5's is very disappointing. Still one of the best "short" course I have played. Course is still growing some trees have been planted and will make the course even better when they grow up a bit.

Another Very fun course that will force you to be at the top of your game, without requiring a long arm.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  I will be under par here...eventually

5+    7/7/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: BIGBUSINESS
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I have only been playing for a few months now but as a designer myself I can really appreciate what Ryan Harris has done with this piece of property. I feel like to have a successful course variety is key. Here he has done this by providing many different styles of holes on one course. Some in the woods, some in the wide open…. It is my personal opinion that a good open hole to loosen things up can make the transition into the woods a bit smoother.... especially for beginners. After that he mixes in some great looks into and out of the woods giving you multiple places to score low early. He takes great notice to the fact that not everyone is a righty and gives a good mix of left to right and right to left. The signage is well done...I think he must have had some good help through that process because some courses pay little attention to where they put there signs… They are some of the nicest and easiest to read as well. When you come to the back nine things begin to get a bit harder so consider pars pretty good. 17 will be in the pros section and the cons section… it is a great hole (especially the back location)… As you come to 18 you have a tight gap that can easily ruin a low round but is also very birdie able if you have two great drives in a row. All around this is my favorite course that I have played thus far and I will continue to drive the 45 minute drive from Athens to play it. Well done guys!
Cons: I have very few cons about this course… Besides the obvious walk that you must take. I here that this issue will be taken care of once phase two of the park begins. First who made the crappy scorecards that they provide? It is pretty obvious to me that the designers were not in charge of making those because whoever did had no idea how many holes were on the course…they chose 19… mark me down for a birdie on that one…I just have a hard time believing that the guys who paid such intricate detail to the design would overlooked something like that. It was probably some lazy county worker who kind of knew how to use excel… Regardless, that is in no way going to ruin your day. Second I just want to say that for being one of my favorite holes out there 17 is also my least favorite….The prevailing winds out there ALWAYS seem to be blowing right at the pond. I am rather impartial to that hole (Perhaps because I have lost 3 drivers there already) and word to the wise… that pond is home to a very large black snake. If you decided to roll up your pant legs and go in after a lost disk I would stop and think about this one piece of information…if the snapping turtles do not bite your toe off than the LEACHES yes leaches just might… pretty disgusting I know.
Other Thoughts: On a lighter note I am a huge fan of what these guys have been able to do with this piece of property. You are almost completely seperated from the rest of the park and you get to experience one hell of a disk golf course. I have never been able to just play once. I usually will play 2 or 3 rounds so for those complaining about the walk…Get in shape and one last thing. S A C!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Promising Future

2-4    6/26/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
•Excellent equipment (baskets, multiple pins, multiple concrete tee pads, signs)
•Well manicured
•A variety of holes
Cons:
•Long walk from parking lot
•The open holes are very open
Other Thoughts: This course has a very promising future with the trees planted on the open holes. However it appears that some of the trees planted are slow growers. So it could take a while for the course to mature.

Signature Hole: 17 (especially when it is in the long pin position)


2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Park does NOT dissapoint

1    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course that offers a WIDE variety of holes. Rather it is open with a few trees, wooded, wood-to-open, open- to-wooded, cleared wooded or straight up trees everywhere, THEY ARE ALL HERE! Great tee pads and good tee pad signage are here as well. The course has both current play and future play in mind with tree locations and alternate pins. Great Gwinnett location and it is a safe area. ( I would know because I lived and worked around the corner for a year) The fairways have changes in elevations and what I would call "random moguls" which is neat and challenging. I really liked the course
Cons: Due to the trees being just planted some will say the first few holes that are open are more-so just placement drives for success but I can't wait for those trees to grow in! I was confused a few times about what basket to throw to but it was not a big deal as it was my FIRST TIME playing it. That is pretty much it. I am in shape and did not mind the walk to the course, or the hills, or anything like that. My friend got tired towards the end and lost a disc on the one hole with water which is not really a con. You just have to play to the right if you get tired because the pond is in an evil position.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the course. All the naysayer "cons" will change in time as the course matures and the baskets get moved around a few times. You should definitley play this course. It is a great mix of what seemed to be holes from local courses. It is always hard to follow a "craigD" review but hey I tried!!! I wish I lived closer, but 40 minutes it worth the travel to play the ALEX a few times a month to me!!!!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander Park

5+    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2010
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a really nice course. First of all it has almost everything you could want as far as bells and whistles are concerned. The duel tee pads, both being concrete, are probably the first thing you'll notice. They are level with the ground, they have a nice rough surface, and they are roomy enough for a comfortable run up. Secondly, the tee signs are great. They map the hole out perfectly and clearly show all of the alternate pin positions. Speaking of the pin positions, you'll find at lease two on each hole with a few boasting three. More often than not they will really just switch the basket from slightly sweeping left to slightly sweeping right or vise- versa. Occasionally they will be placed in some comparatively more difficult positions. This is especially true on number seventeen's deepest pin positions and could challenge just about anyone. There are also next tee signs leading the way so wondering around looking for the next pad is not going to be an issue. You'll also find a generous amount of benches scattered around. Brand new Innova Disc Catchers are nice and easy to spot from the pads. There is a nice practice basket for some pre-round putting practice. The course is in its own area and provides disc golf solitude with very little interruption from the other park users except a few walkers here and there.

This course is in really good shape. When you find yourself on the wooded part of the course you'll find fairways that have been cleared out and mulched nicely. There are very few of those little stumps to trip on like you'll find on other wooded courses. It really has a broken in feeling already. It is obvious that the people who made this course possible have put some hard work into it. Additionally, it appears that the county does a great job keeping the grass maintained on the fairways out in the open areas.

Based on land used the designers did a great job. There is a fairly good mix of open and wooded holes out there with some subtle elevation changes. You'll find a few that punch out of the woods into open fairways, punch into the woods from open fairways, some that play totally open and finally a couple that are predominantly wooded. Most holes are pretty strait but do require a little finesse here and there. This is especially true once you get into the wooded holes. The newly planted trees (lots of them) in the open will defiantly add some risks once they mature. The holes range from 157' (red tees) to 540' (blue tees) and offer a nice range and the majority lean on the shorter side. The red pads are excellent for newer/recreational players. The blues are longer and are better suited for the more advanced players.

All in all this is a very nice, clean, safe, and most importantly, it's a fun course.

Cons: Open and flat holes are inherently boring and you'll find a couple out here. You also might find a hole or two a little repetitive. There is a couple of long holes but otherwise the long hole lovers might be disappointed.

This course can be very crowded at peak times. There are no restrooms or water fountains convenient to the course.
Other Thoughts: The wind is a factor out there too. Don't let the shorter holes fool you. Play safe in the wind or you can count on adding a couple of extra strokes.

As I mentioned, this is a great and fun course. Go out and give it a try. The course is worth a decent drive to play. Lenora Park's course is pretty close if you are looking to make a day trip out of it. Enjoy!


16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Meh, Better Options Abound

5+    6/20/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: darktoaster
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2010
9 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: *Multiple concrete teepads
*Multiple pin locations
*Nice new tee signs
*Nice new innova baskets
*Course is separate from other park activities
*Generally had signs pointing to the next tee if it was not obvious.
*Nice practice basket and markers
Cons: *No truly memorable holes
*Most of the holes played similarly(short and straight)
*Lack of trash cans(trash was lying around on the ground)
*Open holes contain absolutely no obstacles(this should change as newly planted trees mature)
*No restrooms or water anywhere near the course.
Other Thoughts: This course had a mixture of open and wooded holes. The problem for me was that the wooded holes were all worse than holes at nearby wooded courses(Redan,East Roswell, and even Victor Lord), and the open holes were all worse than open holes that you can find at Lenora or Redan.

edit: This course has really been improved by the installation of the gravel parking lot.I also love the new practice basket with distance markers.

9 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center