Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #11 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 157ft.   3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue Tee



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >
 A mix of Lenora & Redan

2-4    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: mrpbody33
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This new disc golf course in Gwinnett county features two concrete tee pads per hole.There is also good signage on the blue tee pads detailing length and good signage detailing where the next hole is located. The course provides a good variety of wood and open shots with defined fairways. All the pads and Discatchers are level which a huge deal for me. I never like having to run up on a pad that is like a ramp. Hole 17 is the signature hole in my opinion as it puts good use of a pond and tree line.
Cons: There is no parking anywhere close to the course. You could park on the road next to hole five but I wouldn't suggest it. No trashcans on the course at all. Long holes in the open and short holes in the woods which doesn't provide much of a challenge. In fact I find myself throwing a Roc or even a putter on most of the woods holes. Watch out for ticks as well.
Other Thoughts: Alexander Park is a good mix of Lenora & Redan but that is about it. It provides the usual windy conditions that Lenora gives you with a bit of tough wood shots that Redan provides. Even though it does provide a good mix the fact that the parking lot is so far away is pain. While I don't mind walking several miles while playing a round I do mind that my truck is far away which contains reserve water/food. Hosting a tournament at this course would also be difficult as there is a good meeting place in close proximity to the course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A nice mid-level course

5+    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: splash_4
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course is very new and it is apparent that the designer spent some time to work with what was given to him. The course works its way into and out of a grove of old growth trees that are a mixture of hard woods and pines. For the open part of the course, the designer planted new trees that in several years will provide greater challenge to the course.

Each hole has two tee pads and, with the exception of hole # 8, at least two pin positions. The addition of the red pads keeps the course challenging for the new player while the blue pads provide a little more challenge for the more experienced player.

- 2 Concrete pads at every hole
- Great use of the available terrain and many of the holes make use of the moderate slopes to make the hole more challenging.
- A mixture of open holes and tightly wooded holes requiring some technical shots (although not as technical as some other local courses)
- A fair amount of seating at every hole (very nice to have in the Georgia summers)
- The park is set in a nice family area
- The disc golf part of the park is set away from other high traffic parts of the park. (although parts of the walking paths occasionally parallel the fairways)
- The fairways and walkways through the trees are covered in wood mulch helping with footing.
- New garbage cans have been installed around the course making picking up the detritus a little easier.
- The county has been working it's way through the course clearing out the brambles from the undergrowth.
Cons: -There are no bathrooms or water fountains near the course.
- The course is still growing in and some holes (like 14) will play as mud pits when it rains until the planted grass grown in.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course located centrally between Snellville and Lawrenceville Georgia. While not of the caliber of East Roswell Park or Redan it is a very nice course. As I predominately play with recreational players and their wives, the addition of the shorter tees keeps the entire group happy while keeping the scores competitive.

As GVAN mentioned in his review, the signature hole is 17 and it provides a pucker factor with the pond playing along the left side of the fairway. In the A position it is easy to keep the disc away from the pond. However, when the B and C pin positions are in use there will be a great risk/reward shot playing over the water.

In closing, this park is a great addition to the area and should continue to grow and change as more events take place here. I do not see it competing with some of the more beloved courses in the area, but it is a great middle course to transition newer players from the wide open Lenora Park to the more difficult tree courses such as Redan or East Roswell.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A solid design

5+    6/14/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: gvan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well Designed. This course has some challenge, but would not be intimidating to beginners. About half of the holes begin or end in the open. Many holes are short, but there are a few that are 400+ to the long pin.

- 2 Concrete pads at almost every hole
- Great signage (Tee maps - with distances from both Tees to each pin position- and Next Tee signs).
- Clean bathrooms
- Good parking (though not close to the starting area)
- Water fountain available at main building.
- The park itself is beautiful (and brand new at this point). Based on other, older parks in the area, it will remain well-kept.
- Good quality benches at many of the tee pads.
Cons: - Bathrooms are not near the course
- Several holes play pretty much the same. This will change over the next few years as the newly planted trees grow in, but for now there are a lot of straight shots.
Other Thoughts: The signature hole is probably 17 which has a pond on the left side. The B pin position is around the pond to the left about 200'. Even in the short position the pond is in play.

The parking is about 600' from hole 1. This seemed like a negative at first, but it keeps the course separated from the rest of the park. The other course in the county has problems with picnics, kite fliers and other activities in the fairways. I don't see that being a problem here.

The county is obviously invested in the success of this course. They planted new trees just for the course (a lot of them). On opening day a park official mentioned garbage cans and a recycling bin on the short term plan for the course area.

If you are planning a trip, there are more challenging courses in the Atlanta area that I would recommend, but this is a good course and worth a look if you are in Gwinnett County.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Average at best

2-4    6/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees. Always a plus for me.

-Course is easy to follow. I had no problem finding the next tee.

-Good use of provided land. It looks like the designers did the best they could in a pretty limited space.

-Everything is new. From baskets to benches its all in good shape. I'm guessing that there are nice new bathrooms near the main building as well.

-Multiple tees and pins. Should provide some variety for locals.

-Future planning. The course is mostly wide open, so the designers planted quite a few trees. This will help to improve the quality of play in years to come.

Cons: -Hole 1 does not start and hole 18 does not end anywhere near the parking area.

-Holes get repetitive. On just about every hole you throw straight. No forced hyzers or anhyzers, just the same shot at a diffrent distance every time.

-There are 3 holes over 400 ( there is possibly a pin spot on 17 that might be over 400' as well, but im not sure on that one) but other then that this course is very short. Most holes that are in the 300' range are downhill, making them roc shots. Skilled players should expect to shoot in the mid 40's.

-I would like to see some trash cans around the teepads.More of a pet peeve of mine rather then a con though.

-Not much challenge here in general. A windy day could provide some challenge, but thats about it. New and short armed players will say its a bombers course, but its not. Its a typical "park course" that everyone has played somewhere before.

-Bugs. I hate them. Found 2 ticks on me when I played, and there were lots of flying things.Bring some spray.
Other Thoughts: The best thing about this course is the location. Up until now the golfers in the n. gwinnet area(there are a ton of them) had to go all the way to erp or redan or lenora to play, now they have something close.

Unfortunately, the exictement of a new course had brought a rash of overrating to not only this site, but to the entire atl community. I read on our local site that this was a "championship caliber" course. Other reviewers here have given 4 and 4 1/2 star ratings. This is ridiculous. To be honest the main reason I gave this course a 3 is because I didnt want my message box filled with complaining from locals after I gave it a lower score.

If you are in the gwinnet area for some reason its worth checking out, but I wouldn't make special plans to travel here or anything.Like I said this course is average at best.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but you won't learn much

5+    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2010
15 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A very nice mix of holes. The open holes could be easy but today was very windy and provided a challenge. There are trees planted too that will provide some obstacle challenges in a few years.
The signs are great with a map and distances for each tee and pin position.
Concrete pads are enormous on the blue tees and regular rectangles on the reds. They are perfectly level so you can run up to and off of without worries.
A nice variety of lines in the woods which give an opportunity for a mix of different throws.
Cons: Hole 8 is the preferred line on Hole 7 for a LHFH or RHBH thrower...probably the most "fore'd" area of the course.

The county cut back several dense wooded areas opening up lines for errant shots to hit people on the walking trails...some on blind corners.

Other Thoughts: A beautiful new park. A lot of holes were in proximity of each other but did not feel like it until you walked to the next tee and saw where it was...there was always a nice tree barrier and in the open there was usually little danger except from highly errant shots. When the planted trees grow in there will be little crossover effect.
The open fields also have a weird terrace type layout with multiple grass berms which could punish you should you use rollers.

**Updated review**

Having played more courses in the area and out of state I dropped the rating to 3.5 to reflect it. I simply don't feel that it lives up to courses like Perkerson Park or Meeks.

I also see now that there is really no necessary line shaping here so if you play here all the time it could stagnate your game.

I still love the place and it is the home park for us but the crowds kind of draw us away. I am also at the point where the reds are too easy but the blues are still pretty much bogey city so one is kind of boring and the other is annoying.

15 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  Great course, get your low scores now!

2-4    6/11/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: PeteOgilvie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes to play. This course excels at giving a great option of throws to the player. Holes vary from short and technical to long and open. Some of the holes have some great risks (number 17 comes to mind with the pond on the left) but nothing that will make you afraid of losing a disc. The wooded holes are short for the most part, but are challenging with some tight fairways and some hanging branches that can get in the way. The concrete tee boxes are very nice and are angled with how each hole should be played. Two tee boxes on each hole allow for beginners and upper level players to both have an enjoyable round.

The presentation is also fantastic. It is themed around the Gwinnett park system and the park is designed to flow with the course as opposed to it being an after thought. Benches are strategically placed on every other hole and a nice 3 bench arrangement is right at the 9 hole turn. Maps are nice and accurate and there are multiple pin placements on each hole, which is for now in the A position. It's also a fun course!
Cons: The biggest con is that this park is very new and still needs some work. A couple of the holes still needed mulch on the fairway. It's a bit on the easy side due to the newly planted trees still at a young state. While this isn't exactly a con, I believe in 2-3 years this course will be much more challenging.
Other Thoughts: It is a very enjoyable course with great variation and presentation. It was designed with disc golfers in mind and will be one of Atlanta's best.

It's also 5 minutes from my house which makes it double awesome.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/5/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: pbeltt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads come in handy. technical in the woods and open long holes.two sets of tee pads for beginner and pros.
Cons: there is a pond on 17 that will swallow your disc. ant piles under mulch in the woods.
Other Thoughts: very nice course.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.