Salt Lake City, UT 
University of Utah Share
Uploaded By: bdubya Hole #15 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Mid-Fairway (Basket on the right)

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Course For The College Students And Surrounding Community!

1    10/16/2015   10/25/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This amazing little piece of land was once a nine hole golf course but has now been turned over for disc golf. And what a tremendous gift it has been for the University of Utah students. The terrain is just about perfect for disc golf. It's rolling hills with lush green grass. The course plays as an easy recreational level, making it my opinion, just a perfect little throw for the students here.

The online map I had printed had this listed as an 18 hole course when in actuality it is a 9 hole set-up. It has concrete pads. There are some DGA baskets and some types of baskets. There are no filler holes here. Each hole offers some challenge or creativity, or the chance for that ACE, something to keep you entertained. Mostly it's just fun, easy entertainment. perfect for the college crowd.

# 4 is a fun throw to a basket partially buried down in some bushes. It features multiple routes. # 7 is an open ACE run downhill while # 9 is a slightly longer ACE (280') coming down the hill and back to the course sign.
Cons: I don't see much wrong with this course.

it's short. It's a rec course.

Parking is probably an issue. I see another reviewer took the train in-Good idea. I parked in the lot across the street. The Special Olympics were going on. figured that I was OK parking during that event.
Other Thoughts: The course was filled with players the afternoon I played. These players aren't advanced/pro players looking for that kind of a challenge. Most of them were not students. They were just regular disc golfers out enjoying the beautiful fall weather and the wonderful little course here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2-4    3/10/2015   3/13/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long concrete tees. Good hole signs with only one missing. Good variety of trees and hills for a nine hole city course. Practice basket.
Cons: It was probably a little short. Could have used more hills and trees.
Other Thoughts: Kind of just a disc golf course. Nothing special and nothing horrible. It says it is private but you can play there if you either park away or pay the meter in the few spots available.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Practice Course

2-4    8/18/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: -Easy to find and navigate from one hole to another.
-Good course to practice on because it has basic difficulties with trees as obstacles.
-Has cement tee pads for all holes and holes are all marked.
Cons: -Right by a commuter train stop, so every 7-10 minutes people flood the park from the train so you have to stop throwing while they clear out.
-No long holes, all par three short holes.
Other Thoughts: Like the title says, a good place to go and to just practice with the short game. Not hugely difficult but holes are well placed to make trees good obstacles.

 Fun Little Course

1    4/13/2013   4/13/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 72  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In times past I have ventured onto college courses. With soaring hopes for a thrilling round of disc golf I stepped onto the campuses only to discover that the courses were about as exciting as watching Old Yeller. Yes, I wanted to cry come the end of the round of golf too.

But the University of Utah course looked so promising. I poured through the reviews to see what would warrant such a high rating for a little 9-hole course on a campus too, and was dismayed to discover that it used to be an 18-hole course, and got great reviews for that, but not so great since it was cut in half.

So I decided to throw caution to the wind, donned my favorite BYU shirt which I quickly covered with a neutral black jacket, (only because it was chilly today, of course. I wasn't worried about losing my life in the least, I mean, UofU students are known for being upstanding good sports to BYU fans, after all), and headed over to the course.

Much to my amazement Utah did a decent job on it! I didn't see any drug dealers, devil worshipers or prostitutes, all the things I'd been warned about having to wade through if I ventured up there by all the BYU people who were praying for my safe return! I didn't step on a single dirty needle or get mugged!

The course was actually pretty good too! I mean, it's small and short, which is exactly what you would expect from Utah, but it did a fantastic job of using the terrain and obstacles.
Cons: For all the props I have to give to the University for the course, it is not without it's faults, which I'm sure no self-respecting Utah fan would want to admit to.

The parking was just fine for me because it was a weekend, but otherwise it would be horrid to try to park. You could ride Trax up there though, since there is a stop just above the course and a nice little path THAT GOES RIGHT THROUGH THE COURSE! But if you're looking for moving targets then playing this course during the week would certainly offer you plenty. I probably wouldn't go doing that while wearing my BYU shirt though, as that would not be a very good representation of the amazing love and sportsmanship that people supporting that school are known for.
Other Thoughts: What I thought would be an easy course to just run right over the top of proved to be far more than I expected. I was reminded of other times Utah was underestimated, and after weeping for a moment at that recollection, I promptly drove down to Provo to play the course on the BYU campus.

"There isn't a course on the BYU campus" you say? Well I made one! And it's awesome!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/30/2012   3/3/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a smaller park section of the university. Doesn't seem like much else is going on here, so there shouldn't be much chance for interference.
- Decent amount of trees incorporated into the hole designs, mostly wide bushy pine trees that take up a lot of real estate. Definitely forces line shaping to stay clear of rough recovery shots. #1 is a big anny or hyzer around these trees, #2 and #3 are blind RHFH shots around the trees, #6's basket is within a ring of tree trunks, and others have bushes placed here and there. Both left and right curving shots help in getting birdies.
- Some minor elevation changes help spice the course up; half of the holes are slightly downhill, and a couple others are slightly uphill. #3's basket is on a small mound as well.
- OK variety in hole lengths, though the course is pretty short on average. A few holes over 300', and only one under 249'. Nothing exciting for the big arms, pretty fair rec level distances.
- Nice pads, signs, and baskets. Practice basket as well.
Cons: - Plenty of holes with open lanes here, making sure you don't land in a bush being the major concern on over half the holes. #7 is wide open, and #8 and #9 only have one bush and tree respectively.
- Again, a tad bit on the short side for bigger arms with an average hole length of 272'.
Other Thoughts: - Great course for beginners to learn the basics of a couple different shots, and not too shabby for intermediate players to enjoy a relaxing round. Nothing too difficult, but still offers chances to bogey. Too bad the back 9 were removed; more is always better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Majestic and Short

2-4    5/28/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: Rossome
Played: 70  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Manicured Park setting
Nice views of the mountains and city
Hard to lose a disc
Nice mix of shots
Great tee pads
Not too crowded
Cons: Only 9 holes
No long holes
Other Thoughts: For experienced players, every hole has ace/birdie possibilities. Not super short, but nothing out of reach. Great setting and enjoyable to be there with the views. Fun for anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 U of U! Course

1    4/24/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Amazing course. Out of the courses I have played in the few states, this was really enjoyable. I am from out of state but finding the course was easy.
- ^^ just take the TRAX on I believe red and you'll be there. And I don't believe I paid but if you do, its only 2.75 for the ride up.
- Apparently it was an old regular golf course but this makes more use out of it. Perfect land.
- Good challenges, right off the bat you might have to hyzer or anhyzer.
- No water hazards, but with some serious uphill and downhill usage due to mountains.
- Great concrete pads (very long and wide, just how I like them [: )
- Chains are just as good, college I guess took part of the course (back or front 9) down... bummer
- Pretty simple course, can be done with a easy drive or long mid, but not for a beginner. Although 300ish holes, the changes, high and low areas and trees can really made it difficult. Otherwise fairly amazing! Did not lose a disc
Cons: - Signs are horrible, just paper in a plastic sheet, though with that, they are accurate then some I have seen in a long while.
- No public bathrooms
- No water, but there are plenty of trash cans
- Watch roads and throwing discs, and it is a bit of a workout
Other Thoughts: - No real problem, an over-well nice course, very enjoyable
- Simple but fun course, a little challenge, and a nice course to play on my vacation! :D
- Not busy, and please, do not bring drugs or alcohol. It is a college but I know how easy it is just to hold back and wait till your done to drink. Do you really have to?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great campus course

5+    10/17/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: baylor90505
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quite a few trees. Holes of varying lengths. Great course for beginners and people wanting to work on their game without the risk of losing discs. Usually isn't very busy. Easy to find your way around the course.
Cons: Only the front 9 has concrete tees. The back 9 is rubber.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty fun course and a great course to fine tune your game for those more difficult courses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/3/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Forrest
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice location. You get a good breeze at the higher elevation and a great view of the valley. The course is a great one for beginners and usually there is no wait time to play. Great signs and benches every so often.
Cons: No hazards really (other than the train tracks and parking lot). It's on an old ball golf course and it feels like it.
Other Thoughts: Nice alternate if your home course is Creekside or Valley Regional. Nice views.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It looks like a ball golf course

5+    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: it is a fun course with alot of lefty shots that benifit me :) and alot of fun midrange shots and fun cources for beginners or a fun midrange with cement teepads on the front 9 and rubber teepads on the back 9 with signs on ever hole
Cons: it gets very windy and there is no where by the course to get water so bring water
Other Thoughts: come play night rounds it is the funnest courses to play night rounds on
i hold the course record -12 so let me know if u beat this
and i have aced hole 12 on the old teepad with a champ monster on 2/22/10 for my 11th ace

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.