Salt Lake City, UT 
University of Utah Share
Uploaded By: bdubya Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Little Course

1    4/13/2013   4/13/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 56  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In times past I have ventured onto college courses. With soaring hopes for a thrilling round of disc golf I stepped onto the campuses only to discover that the courses were about as exciting as watching Old Yeller. Yes, I wanted to cry come the end of the round of golf too.

But the University of Utah course looked so promising. I poured through the reviews to see what would warrant such a high rating for a little 9-hole course on a campus too, and was dismayed to discover that it used to be an 18-hole course, and got great reviews for that, but not so great since it was cut in half.

So I decided to throw caution to the wind, donned my favorite BYU shirt which I quickly covered with a neutral black jacket, (only because it was chilly today, of course. I wasn't worried about losing my life in the least, I mean, UofU students are known for being upstanding good sports to BYU fans, after all), and headed over to the course.

Much to my amazement Utah did a decent job on it! I didn't see any drug dealers, devil worshipers or prostitutes, all the things I'd been warned about having to wade through if I ventured up there by all the BYU people who were praying for my safe return! I didn't step on a single dirty needle or get mugged!

The course was actually pretty good too! I mean, it's small and short, which is exactly what you would expect from Utah, but it did a fantastic job of using the terrain and obstacles.
Cons: For all the props I have to give to the University for the course, it is not without it's faults, which I'm sure no self-respecting Utah fan would want to admit to.

The parking was just fine for me because it was a weekend, but otherwise it would be horrid to try to park. You could ride Trax up there though, since there is a stop just above the course and a nice little path THAT GOES RIGHT THROUGH THE COURSE! But if you're looking for moving targets then playing this course during the week would certainly offer you plenty. I probably wouldn't go doing that while wearing my BYU shirt though, as that would not be a very good representation of the amazing love and sportsmanship that people supporting that school are known for.
Other Thoughts: What I thought would be an easy course to just run right over the top of proved to be far more than I expected. I was reminded of other times Utah was underestimated, and after weeping for a moment at that recollection, I promptly drove down to Provo to play the course on the BYU campus.

"There isn't a course on the BYU campus" you say? Well I made one! And it's awesome!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Majestic and Short

2-4    5/28/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: Rossome
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Manicured Park setting
Nice views of the mountains and city
Hard to lose a disc
Nice mix of shots
Great tee pads
Not too crowded
Cons: Only 9 holes
No long holes
Other Thoughts: For experienced players, every hole has ace/birdie possibilities. Not super short, but nothing out of reach. Great setting and enjoyable to be there with the views. Fun for anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great campus course

5+    10/17/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: baylor90505
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quite a few trees. Holes of varying lengths. Great course for beginners and people wanting to work on their game without the risk of losing discs. Usually isn't very busy. Easy to find your way around the course.
Cons: Only the front 9 has concrete tees. The back 9 is rubber.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty fun course and a great course to fine tune your game for those more difficult courses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Field trip anyone?

2-4    5/13/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2010
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two practice baskets near hole #1 and large concrete pads for the front 9 and a portable restroom on site.Fairly easy to navigate holes #1 thru #9. Close to school and student housing.Looks to be maintained well and its free.
Cons: Rubber tee pads on holes #13 thru #18. Hole #9 can be difficult to understand cause the tee sign is faced wrong and when you look towards the basket there is three in sight.No water available
Other Thoughts: Flow of course favors a left-handed thrower with a few straight shots Hole #13 is a blind pin placement, from the tee look down the hill with the parking lot on the left the pin is to the right in the trees. This course has little obstacles and lots of open shots giving it a great place to learn or teach. With a view of down town Salt Lake City on one side and the beautiful Wasatch Mountains on the other, this alone is worth the trip.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A good but short 18 hole course

2-4    3/12/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: NWcityguy2
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New baskets, concrete tee pads and some well placed trees
Cons: The course is pretty short and quick to play, don't think you are going to make a whole day of this unless you want to play it 7-8 times. One of the baskets is missing. There are close by parking lots, but if you are smart and throw a conservative shot you will be fine. The only shot for concern involving a parking lot is a down hill shot from the tee where you can't see the basket and it is 30 feet from both a parking lot and a road.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course but is borderline pitch and putt. Only a few holes are more the 300 feet. Some of the holes are guarded by trees, some are shooting uphill or down and several are just simple straight shots. Some people will love that, others will find it boring.

Honestly though I was hoping for a bit more then was there. I used to golf here as a kid and didn't realize how little land they set aside for the course compared to new buildings. In the end though if you got a couple free hours and live in that part of town it is a good place to spend it at.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Low crowds
Easy to find
Good location
Decent baskets
Nice atmosphere
Some concrete tees
Not a bad course layout
Cons: Bad parking situation (all metered or reserved parking)
Holes are kind of short
No water/bathroom facilities (there is a port-o-potty on 10)
Half of the tees are rubber mats
Holes aren't well marked (tee signs are just printed paper in plastic sleeves that were wet and unreadable)
No obstacles to speak of; well there are a few trees

Other Thoughts: The course is on the old U of U golf course so the entire course is grass, which is quite nice. I don't think there was a hole over 350 feet so you can pretty much just leave your distance drivers in the bag; most of my straight drives were with a Teebird fairway driver and I over shot maybe 1/3 of the holes. If the local club or parks management finishes putting concrete tees on the back 9 this could be one of the better short 18's in Utah. I work in SL county so I'll definitely be playing this course at least once a week. Its good to see DG continuing to catch on and grow in Utah.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 University of Utah

1    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 144  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly, well groomed environment. New baskets, practice/warmup area at hole one.
Cons: Parking is sketchy as of 06-08-09
Other Thoughts: This course plays on an old ball-golf course on the University of Utah's campus with established fairways and greens. There are two holes over 300 feet in length, sixteen holes are less than 300 feet. The front nine plays through fairly flat land with a good mix of mature trees and bushes to navigate around and through. The back nine has more elevation changes, uphill and downhill shots but more wide open compared to the front nine. The two long holes are on the back nine (holes 16 and 18). At teepad 10 there is a portapotty. No other bathrooms/amenities are available unless you are a student or faculty member at the U of U.
Course design is suprisingly good. There is good use of the natural terrain and the undulating fairways established from the old ball-golf course. Sand traps come into play on a couple of holes as OB, if you want to play the course that way. Risk-reward factor is at a higher level than expected from an obvious beginner course. An experienced player can play this course with a midrange and a putter, except for holes 16 and 18, and have birdie opportunities. The land is on a hillside so wind in the afternoon can be a factor.
Parking is an issue at this point. 99% of parking is permit parking with a couple of metered parking spots in one of the parking lots near hole 2. There is going to be a parking lot built on part of the golf course, but it hasn't been started yet. There may be other public parking available but I don't know where it is in relation to the disc golf course. The public rail system (trax), runs up to the course from down town salt lake city, if you want to avoid the parking issue there.
In summary, this course is a great course to take a family of beginners. Experienced players can work on their approach/short game, or play safari golf when not crowded. Because of the parking issue this course should not ever be crowded. The views are awesome, and the fact it has well established fairways and greens it's a fun course to play without having to worry about losing your disc in rough and untended underbrush. This is exactly the kind of course every community needs to introduce disc golf to the general public.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.