Salt Lake City, UT 
University of Utah Share
Uploaded By: bdubya Hole #17 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A good but short 18 hole course

2-4    3/12/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: NWcityguy2
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New baskets, concrete tee pads and some well placed trees
Cons: The course is pretty short and quick to play, don't think you are going to make a whole day of this unless you want to play it 7-8 times. One of the baskets is missing. There are close by parking lots, but if you are smart and throw a conservative shot you will be fine. The only shot for concern involving a parking lot is a down hill shot from the tee where you can't see the basket and it is 30 feet from both a parking lot and a road.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course but is borderline pitch and putt. Only a few holes are more the 300 feet. Some of the holes are guarded by trees, some are shooting uphill or down and several are just simple straight shots. Some people will love that, others will find it boring.

Honestly though I was hoping for a bit more then was there. I used to golf here as a kid and didn't realize how little land they set aside for the course compared to new buildings. In the end though if you got a couple free hours and live in that part of town it is a good place to spend it at.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course at the U

5+    9/13/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: NothinButChing
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course for beginnners.

Elevation, trees, and distance are integrated very well into the courses natural design.

Sits on an old golf course, so some holes naturally sit on green or near bunkers.

Great View of the valley when playing the back 9.
Cons: Some holes could be longer.

Needs more trees planted throughout course.

College campus so the restriction of alcohol is much stricter (course may get taken down if alcohol continues to be present).

Parking for non-college visitors is a HUGE problem at the University. One would think that with all the extra parking they just added some of it would be for VISITORS?!

Parking lots are really close to too holes, and even the expereinced thrower could chuck one right into a car.
Other Thoughts: If alcohol issue can be resolved (since alcohol will prob always be present, since non-college adults play the course all the time) and nets can get put up to protect the parking lots this course can really flourish.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I must admit I'm partial to open grassy courses with lots of elevation changes. Just enough obstacles to make it interesting, but yet non hazardous. Rubber mats and concrete tees, benches, signs, this course is great.
Cons: A little conflict with a parking lot on the back 9. I would have liked to have seen a 600 foot par 4, but still, very much my kind of course.
Other Thoughts: Great view of downtown, and a light rail station next to the course (university hospital).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 University of Utah

2-4    8/21/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: successwarrior
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun little par 3 course with lots of chances for birdies (not that I managed to take advantage of that fact very often but still . . .).

The tee pads were great and they were putting up new signs when we were there. I read in other reviews that the old signs weren't waterproof and were getting ruined. The new signs are metal and are very nicely done.

The front 9 have a lot more trees and the back 9 deal more with elevation.

The course used to be a golf course so by basket 2, we were already commenting on the fact that we wouldn't be losing any disks. 2 weeks ago, we played Solitude, which is just the opposite.

We were the only 2 players on the whole course, which was very nice.
Cons: There are several baskets that were pretty much a straight shot with no trees or elevation to add to the difficulty. Not that I couldn't find ways of screwing that up. #11 (I think it's 11) is just a simple straight shot along the top of a little hill. We played the course 3 times and every time I managed to either fade or skip my disk to the bottom of the hill. What should have been a simple 2 always ended up being a 3 for me as I had to take a recovery shot up the hill.

Parking, which has been mentioned in the other reviews, wasn't an issue for us because school wasn't in session. I can see how it would be a problem though where everything was permit parking except for 4 spots that had meters.
Other Thoughts: The university was doing construction the day that we were there. Baskets 6 - 9 were gone. Supposedly they were going to be back up by 8/14/09 but that wasn't the case.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Start Playing Here

1    7/1/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee signs on this course and good tee pads all the way around (I did like the front 9 tee pads better than the back). Some good challenge without being crazy. Right on the campus of the University. Good use of the land where the course is located. Great for those who are just starting to learn the game. Good variety to make you throw different kinds of shots.
Cons: Nothing super difficult with only a couple of really long holes. It is very easy to score low on this course. There was a good size crowd of players there and seems to be one of those courses wehre people go in the evening to get in a quick round, but it got a little crowded.
Other Thoughts: There is really nothing spectacular about this course but it is good and really good for those who are new to disc golf. I actually played with a buddy of mine who had played just a couple times before and I had a great time teaching him while still allowing him to enjoy his round. I have not seen a better course as far as learning the game is concerned.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course for Utah

1    6/24/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything good has been said before.
High Quality Baskets. Great Putting Practice Baskets.
Nice environment with groomed grass and unique elevation changes.
Good atmosphere for beginners and families. A great place to introduce people to the sport.
No weeds, so no stickers or chance of losing a disc (discounting trees).
When I just played, there were nicer (permanent) signs on some of the holes. I can't say I looked on every hole, but at least the majority had them.
Cons: Lack of length/obstacles meant that one's second shots were rarely challenged. (shouldn't take many bogeys on this course)
Other Thoughts: The holes were short, but definitely Par 3's in my book - meaning that birdies still felt like an accomplishment. While course length made me wish for a little bit more, I think the planners did an outstanding job using the layout/land that was available. Due to its fun and location in Salt Lake City, this course is definitely worth any visitor's while.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all

1    6/13/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: bdubya
Played: 239  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Big Concrete Tee Pads!
-Event the rubber mats on the back 9 are big and even good footing for all tee shots.
-Signs are informative and posts are promising, I hope they are doing more permanent/weatherproof signs.
-Very easy to find your discs. (unless they are 20ft up in one of the trees.
-No stickers or watershots/ all grass
- Good variety of shots/use of trees
-Good elevation changes
- Not crowded!
Cons: -Tee signs are not waterproof and many have fallen off the posts.
- Parking is an "issue" but I not so sure they are cracking down on the strip right by the course. Many disc golfers parked right by course without problems. Park at own risk. if after 6. not an issue
Other Thoughts: Great course for all skill levels. Maybe not the most challenging for advanced players but good enough to play it on a regular basis.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Low crowds
Easy to find
Good location
Decent baskets
Nice atmosphere
Some concrete tees
Not a bad course layout
Cons: Bad parking situation (all metered or reserved parking)
Holes are kind of short
No water/bathroom facilities (there is a port-o-potty on 10)
Half of the tees are rubber mats
Holes aren't well marked (tee signs are just printed paper in plastic sleeves that were wet and unreadable)
No obstacles to speak of; well there are a few trees

Other Thoughts: The course is on the old U of U golf course so the entire course is grass, which is quite nice. I don't think there was a hole over 350 feet so you can pretty much just leave your distance drivers in the bag; most of my straight drives were with a Teebird fairway driver and I over shot maybe 1/3 of the holes. If the local club or parks management finishes putting concrete tees on the back 9 this could be one of the better short 18's in Utah. I work in SL county so I'll definitely be playing this course at least once a week. Its good to see DG continuing to catch on and grow in Utah.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 University of Utah

1    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 159  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly, well groomed environment. New baskets, practice/warmup area at hole one.
Cons: Parking is sketchy as of 06-08-09
Other Thoughts: This course plays on an old ball-golf course on the University of Utah's campus with established fairways and greens. There are two holes over 300 feet in length, sixteen holes are less than 300 feet. The front nine plays through fairly flat land with a good mix of mature trees and bushes to navigate around and through. The back nine has more elevation changes, uphill and downhill shots but more wide open compared to the front nine. The two long holes are on the back nine (holes 16 and 18). At teepad 10 there is a portapotty. No other bathrooms/amenities are available unless you are a student or faculty member at the U of U.
Course design is suprisingly good. There is good use of the natural terrain and the undulating fairways established from the old ball-golf course. Sand traps come into play on a couple of holes as OB, if you want to play the course that way. Risk-reward factor is at a higher level than expected from an obvious beginner course. An experienced player can play this course with a midrange and a putter, except for holes 16 and 18, and have birdie opportunities. The land is on a hillside so wind in the afternoon can be a factor.
Parking is an issue at this point. 99% of parking is permit parking with a couple of metered parking spots in one of the parking lots near hole 2. There is going to be a parking lot built on part of the golf course, but it hasn't been started yet. There may be other public parking available but I don't know where it is in relation to the disc golf course. The public rail system (trax), runs up to the course from down town salt lake city, if you want to avoid the parking issue there.
In summary, this course is a great course to take a family of beginners. Experienced players can work on their approach/short game, or play safari golf when not crowded. Because of the parking issue this course should not ever be crowded. The views are awesome, and the fact it has well established fairways and greens it's a fun course to play without having to worry about losing your disc in rough and untended underbrush. This is exactly the kind of course every community needs to introduce disc golf to the general public.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.