Alton, IA 
Roadside Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: HEugene Hole #3
3 / 247ft.   3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
#3 Putt



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course!!

2-4    7/4/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Big sign at the start of the course with score sheets.
-Pretty well maintained, and appears to be mowed regularly.
-The holes are challenging, but not too hard.
-The baskets near the water keeps things interesting.
-Tee pads and signs are in great shape.
-There are benches a few different spots.
-Drinking hose near Hole 1.
-There is a good mix of shade and sun while on the course.
-The course is kept in very good shape.
-While not an ideal place to put a frolf course, the designers did a great job in putting it together.
-Alternate tees for less expierienced players.
-I loved the mulch used for the "greens".
-Good distance variation.
-Some pretty fun holes, such as #6 (long lines of trees on each side of the very narrow fairway) and #8 (shot across the pond)
-There is a Casey's a half mile up the road with some Star discs for 14 dollars.
Cons: -Some areas seem just a bit sloppy.
-May need to have someone spot your disc due to hills and trees in the middle holes of the course.
-If not careful, you could easily lose a disc in tree or lake, or possibly on the road nearby.
-Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: My cousin and I went and we had a blast. Went through twice and still wanted more. If I lived nearby, I would go more often. This is a great course in Northwest Iowa and definetely worth stopping by.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Nine

1    6/6/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice big course map at the parking lot
-Scorecards with par, distance, etc on them
-Weekly league held here
-Good signage with everything you need to know
-Good use of the water without making it ridiculous and you could chose a less dangerous route on two of the possible water holes
-Some sweet landscaping around a few of the holes, hole 3 comes to mind especially
-It has a good variation in distance without being too short or too long. It has a definite ace run in there but also two holes that were longer.
-A few good blind tee shots. Hole 7 has this feature and I thought it was pretty cool.
-Nice Baskets
-Can buy most innova discs at the Casey's gas station about a mile away.
Cons: -Tee pads were a little skinny but were fairly adequate. Better than natural pads
-Could lose a disc in the water, if you are careful it shouldn't happen tho.
-It's only 9 holes, I didn't want it to end!
-I went over the lunch hour and there were a few people lounging around. I didn't have any incidents but I was slightly worried about hitting someone or having someone steal my Buzzz. I can get paranoid sometimes!
Other Thoughts: The city and a bunch of sponsors have put a lot of money into this little city course. It has a very high fun factor and is just the right amount of challenge for a majority of the players. This course definitely moves into the top few 9 holers I have played. If you are ever in the NW Iowa area stop at this course. It is the best one for miles in my opinion.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/22/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: wolf pack
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very interesting course. The layout circles around a small pond and park in the area. the pond come into play on almost every hole so players are always wary of going in. This makes for a challenging yet fun round of disc. A couple holes have shots that go directly over water which forces players to come up with some creative shots. The course is kept up in relatively good shape. One of the biggest pros of this course is the Casey's Gas station located in town that has quality innova discs at really good prices. You can buy star discs at 14 dollars, champion at 12$, and the prices go down following that trend for the other plastics.
Cons: This is a challenging course for some of the discers in the area. Be prepared to lose a disc or two if your not very confident in your throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in the Northwest Iowa area. Especially for such a small town. If you make your way over there, you wont be disappointed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good compact course

5+    1/5/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: conroy_01
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good compact course with concrete tee pads, good tee signs, and plenty of obstacles.
Cons: couple very short holes. did what they could with the room they had. water comes into play on a couple holes and can easily lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: good fun course to play on. water can suck if you aren't careful. course map at the beginning and there are usually plenty of scorecards

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: Schuur451
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While very compact this course is designed extremely well. The water hazard shots feel fun instead of nerve-wracking, and there is a great deal of shot selection (overhand vs. forehand for me) that when into playing the course.

I had to work on my anhyzer shots for this course, which was fun, and used a tomahawk effectively a couple of times.
Cons: I wish there were some longer holes. I think the variety makes up for this for the most part, though another 400'+ would be nice.
Other Thoughts: The course is well marked and extremely well maintained. Like I said, for a short, compact course, this was extremely fun to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.