San Leandro, CA
Chabot Park Share
Uploaded By: kevaunne Hole #1 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 275ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun little neighborhood park course

2-4    4/23/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - lovely little park next to a creekbed. Shaded by beautiful redwoods
- healthy range of technical and open shots. Elevation occasionally comes into play. 4 is a tight downhill tunnel shot. 5 is a 400ft+ (from the long tees) mostly open drive towards a lightly protected basket.
- multiple teepads at each hole. In fact, there were teepads all over the place. There's a lot more than just 9 holes here
- low probability of losing a disc
Cons: - some short and straightforward hole designs where you will be throwing a putter or mid off the tee with little or no wind-up. You're very unlikely to score above par on a few holes.
- some criss-crossing fairways and potential interference from picnickers
- all dirt teepads. Some alternates were not always marked or obvious. This is a local's course
- favors RHBH throwers. Most holes were straight or dogleg left
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course years ago, I had a hard time taking it seriously. There were some absurdly short and simple holes. Well I'm happy to report that they've made some successful reconfigurations to make it more fun and engaging. 9 has been vastly improved. You throw across an open wooded area towards a basket that is protected by a patch of trees

I had a fun time here despite it being geared more towards beginners. It's a great little neighborhood course but not a destination by any means.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Small, but Shaded

1    4/11/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: hydro5757
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -VERY SHADED wil be good for hot summer days
-Great for beginers, short holes needing accuracy
Cons: -Signage not very good. locals make up tee boxes on hole 4. Talk to locals if you dont know where you are throwing.
Other Thoughts: I will not be driving to this course again as a destination. if I am in the area, or a friend wants to meet there I will. Would be nice to be a local, as it will be nice a cool in mid summer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for pitch and putt

5+    2/12/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: rorte007
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recent facelift! Easy and shaded. Good for working on your approach game and putting. Good variety of throws required.
Cons: Small. Only one hole that lets you really fire off a long drive.
Other Thoughts: Worth checking out if you live in the area, but not a destination course. The course has recently been refurbished, with shredded bark and trees for groundcover around the tees and baskets. If you haven't been here since fall of 2012 come back and check it out. Lots of shade, so a good place to come in the summer. Most of the holes are birdable. I like to come here after one of the other local courses has kicked my ass. Chabot is a good confidence booster. The new hole #9 is a vast improvement over the original. Alternate tees for most of the holes, so play the course twice to get in 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Improved

5+    1/7/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: bobchuck
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has always been a local pitch and putt course, but it seams as though they have been fixing it up a bit. There is a new hole #9 that is much better than the old one. They have also used a lot of downed trees to create retaining walls to improve the course, and layed down bark to make it more playable in the winter. Also new signs so easier for new players to tell where you are.
Cons: Its still a 9 hole course with very little distance. Its my local course and i would like to give it a 3 but its just not there.
Other Thoughts: If youre in the area worth playing for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

challenging in the best and worst way

1    9/4/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: bassman87
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very varying course with uphill, downhill, wooded, and open fairways. my favorite was an alternate tee off hole 4 through a tree tunnel into an open area. friendly players.
Cons: The signs are old, cryptic, and fading; and because of this i ended up playing hole 3 from tee 2. the baskets are not numbered, and at hole 5 you can see 4 baskets. only after a local explained the course to me did i understand where i was shooting at. finally a small piece of reflective tape is all they give you to spot the basket.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a course i will play again, this short course is a perfect time killer, and once you have figured out the layout will become fun

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/18/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's convienient, and it's shady. Lots of "alternate" tees. It has baskets. You could definitely get yourself an ace around here.
Cons: It's not big and all the standard tees are pretty easy. It's in an Urban park, and picnicers are often in play.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to go grab a quick round. If there are people in the way just play off a tee that heads the other direction.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/1/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this was a decent course. fun holes, fairly short. provided some challenge. 9 holes made for a quick practice round.
Cons: not well marked. there was no signage directing towards the next tee. thankfully i found some locals to guide me.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Alternates make it fun.

5+    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: SuperUnleaded
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great foilage.
3 water fountains along the course.
Variety of options.
Not too busy of a course.
Great for beginners.
Cons: Some overthrows could be bad. (ie walkers, parked cars)
Holes are short.
Lots of walkers.
Busy park.
A few of the tee-signs point in the wrong direction. However, #2 is the only one that you might have some trouble with because you cant see the pin from the tee. Instead of throwing straight ahead to the visible basket, the pin will be off to your right, on the other side of the small mound.

Other Thoughts: This is a fairly fun course, although a short one. The longest hole (#5) comes in at 378' with the shortest (#9) at 106'. When I play here I usually throw from the tee alternates, to add a few more yards to the holes. Here are the less obvious alternates:
#1 alternate is right behind the tee across the road.
#2 has 4 options along the fence, left of the picnic table.
#3 alternate is directly below the #2 pin, along the road. (Look up the hill as you walk toward the bathrooms, and youll see the top of the pin) There are 2 others scratched in near the lightpole and flag.
#4 has 4-5 options. The best one IMO is along the path that runs behind the #3 pin, but you'll find 4 more down below near the tee.
#5 is about 100 feet behind the tee, near the fallen log, which makes this almost a 400' hole.
#8 is just behind the tee, and has you throwing across the grass toward the #9 pin in order to slide left off the enbankment to the #8 hole.
#9 has about 5 options staggered back along the lower picnic area all the way past the horseshoe pit.

Alot of people knock the Chabot course due to its shorter holes, but playing the alternates adds plenty of distance on several of the holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly Local Course

5+    7/22/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: MudDisk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access off the freeway;
Lots of parking;
Woodsy setting;
Picnic area, restrooms and playground stuff for the kids;
Good variety of holes
Cons: Lacking some signage at tees and directions to next tee from hole;
No tee pads-just dirt;
Locals like to come here to drink and smoke pot;
Other Thoughts: I consider this my local so my opinion is a bit biased. Generally well laid out and makes use of most of the park areas that are less frequented. Plays around the picnic grounds and ball field. Can be muddy in the winter months and the creek has been known to claim a few discs. Several options for tunnel shots especially on the alternate tee for #4, #5 and #8. If alternate tees are your thing, watch the locals for alternates at #1, #2, #3, #4, and #6. Several good opportunities for aces if you have the accuracy.

Summer update: The City of San Leandro uses this park for its Day Camp. I observed day camp activities in the park areas adjacent to several holes including #4, #6, #7 and #8. Be cautious when playing while day camp is in session. The counselors seem only marginally aware that this is a public park and that there are people playing the course. They made no efforts to move their groups to accommodate the handful of players in the park. My son and I decide to play those holes, but took easy short range shots so as not to bean any kids with a long drive. Also-the creek is a popular attraction for kids at this time of year...they like to walk right down the path that acts as the fairway for #8...keep your eyes open and consider the alternate approach to #8 from the right and down rather than down into "the tunnel".

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun lil' course

1    4/7/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: swirvington
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like to go out and play by myself a lot and this is a fun lil' course to play by yourself or with a couple friends. Most of the holes are pretty easy to almost ace. It has a fun kind of summer campground feel to it.

On most of the holes you can find homemade teepads further back where the locals have worn in the dirt. It makes the course a little more challenging and fun.
Cons: I didn't like how the later holes criss-cross in front of one another, it makes it frustrating when a lot of groups are playing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.