San Leandro, CA 
Chabot Park Share
Uploaded By: kevaunne Hole #5 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 challenging in the best and worst way

1    9/4/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: bassman87
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very varying course with uphill, downhill, wooded, and open fairways. my favorite was an alternate tee off hole 4 through a tree tunnel into an open area. friendly players.
Cons: The signs are old, cryptic, and fading; and because of this i ended up playing hole 3 from tee 2. the baskets are not numbered, and at hole 5 you can see 4 baskets. only after a local explained the course to me did i understand where i was shooting at. finally a small piece of reflective tape is all they give you to spot the basket.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a course i will play again, this short course is a perfect time killer, and once you have figured out the layout will become fun

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's convienient, and it's shady. Lots of "alternate" tees. It has baskets. You could definitely get yourself an ace around here.
Cons: It's not big and all the standard tees are pretty easy. It's in an Urban park, and picnicers are often in play.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to go grab a quick round. If there are people in the way just play off a tee that heads the other direction.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/1/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 50  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this was a decent course. fun holes, fairly short. provided some challenge. 9 holes made for a quick practice round.
Cons: not well marked. there was no signage directing towards the next tee. thankfully i found some locals to guide me.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

2-4    2/14/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Close to freeway, easy to find way around, fun
Cons: short holes, some signage lacking, #8 basket and #9 are kind of close together
Other Thoughts: not a bad little course to play. Not a huge long course but still a pretty good challenge factor.
If your near here, play it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Reaches It's Target Audience!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chabot Park is a small little park, perfect for picnicking, Not exactly great for disc golf. But, this would be an excellent venue to introduce some families members to the game. If the course designer(s) was aiming at beginners/newbies, I think he/they succeeded. What you have here is your basic little recreational course. Holes range from 106' to maybe 280'. There are lots of tunnel shots. A couple of nice ACE runs. The pads are natural. The baskets are decent but did tend to spit out a few putts. The course is fairly easy to follow.
Cons: Probably the problem of other park users. This would be a course to avoid on busy weekends, holidays, etc. We played early one morning and encountered no problems. Just remember to be a good ambassador for our sport if you do happen to run into some picnicking families. Don't expect much of a challenge here. Take the new girl here for the cheap first date.
Other Thoughts: Another "What you see is what you get course". It's just a simple little fun Rec course. Try to shoot minue 9. Go for the Ace. Don't go expecting to be challenged. Have fun. Great for a course bagger like myself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Forest Home of the Tunnel Shot

1    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Bathroom facilities
• Mostly friendly folks
Cons:
• No tee boxes - Just dirt areas with the occasional large rock for more foot fun
• Layout is tough to figure out (use the tips below)
• Criss-cross fairways on several holes
• People, cars, dogs, are in play on several holes. Incidentally, park on the right when you come in. There's less chance of your ride getting plunked.
• Not the cleanest park
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
• Hole #1 - Tee is near the bridge where you drove in. Basket is diagonally across the field over the horseshoe area and to the right.
• Hole #2 - Tee is to the right of #1 basket across the street. Basket is to the right such that the shot will run parallel to the street/parking area. You can't see the basket from the tee as it's on the backside of the hill. This is your first small tunnel shot.
• Hole #3 - Tee is to the left of basket #2 about 100ft towards the bathroom. Basket is up on the hill to the right as you're facing the hill. The sign says to take your shot around the trees to the left, but if there's people sitting there, good luck. Assuming this isn't mandatory, there is another path which is another short tunnel shot straight at the basket.
• Hole #4 - The primary tee is to the right of #3 tee near the jungle gym by the bathroom. The shot is a sweeping left to right tunnel shot around the bathroom to the basket in back. I think an interesting alternate tee spot is near the #3 basket. Nearby, you'll see a concrete pad of some kind and a very tight tunnel shot to the #4 basket.
• Hole #5 - The tee is in front of the bathrooms across the street. The shot is a long tunnel shot (under a large limb) down the road to a basket just right of the road and tucked in the trees.
• Hole #6 - The tee is behind the trees that are behind the #5 basket. The shot is a long tunnel shot between two rows of trees to a hidden basket behind the right row of trees. You'll see it from the #5 tee.
• Hole #7 - The tee is back towards #6 tee but to the right near the creek. The shot is a right to left tunnel shot through the trees. The basket is just to the left before you reach the field.
• Hole #8 - The tee is 20 feet out into the field and to the left. The basket is down in the canyon directly in front and to the left of you. The basket you see at the far end of the field is actually #9. But you can shoot at that basket and end up in good position for #8, but I suspect the shot they were going for was down to the left which is….wait for it….another tight tunnel shot.
• Hole #9 - The tee is at the corner of the volleyball court closest to the creek. The basket is up on the hill a short 100 ft. away. The trick is to keep it up without hitting a picnicker.

Random Thoughts:
While this course has some interesting shots, the park it's in is a bit dingy and the activities therein are way too close to the action. One of my discs on #8 landed within 6 inches of a condom. I can not figure out why you'd wear a condom to play disc golf, but at this point, I'll try anything. And hey, if I ever hit an ace, I may need one. In any event, I think they did the best job they could with the space, so it'll be luck of the draw as to what's going to be in play on the day that you go. Generally, people were friendly but one fellow DGer seemed to be particularly salty about us shooting at the wrong basket and then asking his assistance on the direction for the right one. Our bad…apparently.

Bottom Line:
It's an interesting short course that if you're in the neighborhood and it's not busy and you're wearing proper prophylactic protection and you love you some tunnely goodness, you should check out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenges your short game!

2-4    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: bayareabad
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New courses are always challenging, but this one is particularly challenging to your short game. There are many baskets between 200 to 300 feet, and because of the trees and elevation changes your short game is really challenged here. You'll get great practice at deciding to finesse your mid-range discs to make a hole, or just throwing your drivers at less power than you might be used to, depending on where you normally play. The setting is beautiful.
It's good to play with a regular your first time, as the locals mix up the tees and actually create 18 unique baskets.
Cons: Dirt/mud tees; Best to play with a local for your first time otherwise it's difficult to know where some tees are located; Cars and people can get in the way, especially on weekends

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Smoke

8/19/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice course through the woods
Cons: Easy, I smoked it.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.