San Leandro, CA 
Chabot Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 185ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun little neighborhood park course

2-4    4/23/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - lovely little park next to a creekbed. Shaded by beautiful redwoods
- healthy range of technical and open shots. Elevation occasionally comes into play. 4 is a tight downhill tunnel shot. 5 is a 400ft+ (from the long tees) mostly open drive towards a lightly protected basket.
- multiple teepads at each hole. In fact, there were teepads all over the place. There's a lot more than just 9 holes here
- low probability of losing a disc
Cons: - some short and straightforward hole designs where you will be throwing a putter or mid off the tee with little or no wind-up. You're very unlikely to score above par on a few holes.
- some criss-crossing fairways and potential interference from picnickers
- all dirt teepads. Some alternates were not always marked or obvious. This is a local's course
- favors RHBH throwers. Most holes were straight or dogleg left
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course years ago, I had a hard time taking it seriously. There were some absurdly short and simple holes. Well I'm happy to report that they've made some successful reconfigurations to make it more fun and engaging. 9 has been vastly improved. You throw across an open wooded area towards a basket that is protected by a patch of trees

I had a fun time here despite it being geared more towards beginners. It's a great little neighborhood course but not a destination by any means.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Small, but Shaded

1    4/11/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: hydro5757
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -VERY SHADED wil be good for hot summer days
-Great for beginers, short holes needing accuracy
Cons: -Signage not very good. locals make up tee boxes on hole 4. Talk to locals if you dont know where you are throwing.
Other Thoughts: I will not be driving to this course again as a destination. if I am in the area, or a friend wants to meet there I will. Would be nice to be a local, as it will be nice a cool in mid summer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for pitch and putt

5+    2/12/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: rorte007
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recent facelift! Easy and shaded. Good for working on your approach game and putting. Good variety of throws required.
Cons: Small. Only one hole that lets you really fire off a long drive.
Other Thoughts: Worth checking out if you live in the area, but not a destination course. The course has recently been refurbished, with shredded bark and trees for groundcover around the tees and baskets. If you haven't been here since fall of 2012 come back and check it out. Lots of shade, so a good place to come in the summer. Most of the holes are birdable. I like to come here after one of the other local courses has kicked my ass. Chabot is a good confidence booster. The new hole #9 is a vast improvement over the original. Alternate tees for most of the holes, so play the course twice to get in 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Improved

5+    1/7/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: bobchuck
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has always been a local pitch and putt course, but it seams as though they have been fixing it up a bit. There is a new hole #9 that is much better than the old one. They have also used a lot of downed trees to create retaining walls to improve the course, and layed down bark to make it more playable in the winter. Also new signs so easier for new players to tell where you are.
Cons: Its still a 9 hole course with very little distance. Its my local course and i would like to give it a 3 but its just not there.
Other Thoughts: If youre in the area worth playing for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun lil' course

1    4/7/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: swirvington
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like to go out and play by myself a lot and this is a fun lil' course to play by yourself or with a couple friends. Most of the holes are pretty easy to almost ace. It has a fun kind of summer campground feel to it.

On most of the holes you can find homemade teepads further back where the locals have worn in the dirt. It makes the course a little more challenging and fun.
Cons: I didn't like how the later holes criss-cross in front of one another, it makes it frustrating when a lot of groups are playing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

alright course

1    2/14/2008   2/14/2008
Review By: delaveagabeast
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Shady course, great for a hot summer day

-Tee signs are clearly marked

-18 holes if you play short and long tees

-Great place for beginners or to work on throwing with your mid ranges

-Lots of helpful local players

Cons: -Short pins. Lots of these make you ashamed if you don't park it for a birdie~

-On Thursdays there is often somewhat large doubles groups which make it a pain in the ass to play

-Some poison oak so keep your eyes open, however it's not too bad

-On weekends this is a very popular park and you will be unable to play the last hole in some cases
Other Thoughts: After whole three is bowl hole. There are two extra pins you can play after whole four (first you 'throw down' by teeing off near the hole #4 tee pad to the pin all the way down on the left, then you 'throw back' to the same pin that you threw to on pin 4)

Hope this helps, if anyone wants to get together and play a round shoot me a message:)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.