San Leandro, CA 
Chabot Park Share
Uploaded By: kevaunne Hole #9 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 338ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    2/1/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 62  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this was a decent course. fun holes, fairly short. provided some challenge. 9 holes made for a quick practice round.
Cons: not well marked. there was no signage directing towards the next tee. thankfully i found some locals to guide me.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Alternates make it fun.

5+    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: SuperUnleaded
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great foilage.
3 water fountains along the course.
Variety of options.
Not too busy of a course.
Great for beginners.
Cons: Some overthrows could be bad. (ie walkers, parked cars)
Holes are short.
Lots of walkers.
Busy park.
A few of the tee-signs point in the wrong direction. However, #2 is the only one that you might have some trouble with because you cant see the pin from the tee. Instead of throwing straight ahead to the visible basket, the pin will be off to your right, on the other side of the small mound.

Other Thoughts: This is a fairly fun course, although a short one. The longest hole (#5) comes in at 378' with the shortest (#9) at 106'. When I play here I usually throw from the tee alternates, to add a few more yards to the holes. Here are the less obvious alternates:
#1 alternate is right behind the tee across the road.
#2 has 4 options along the fence, left of the picnic table.
#3 alternate is directly below the #2 pin, along the road. (Look up the hill as you walk toward the bathrooms, and youll see the top of the pin) There are 2 others scratched in near the lightpole and flag.
#4 has 4-5 options. The best one IMO is along the path that runs behind the #3 pin, but you'll find 4 more down below near the tee.
#5 is about 100 feet behind the tee, near the fallen log, which makes this almost a 400' hole.
#8 is just behind the tee, and has you throwing across the grass toward the #9 pin in order to slide left off the enbankment to the #8 hole.
#9 has about 5 options staggered back along the lower picnic area all the way past the horseshoe pit.

Alot of people knock the Chabot course due to its shorter holes, but playing the alternates adds plenty of distance on several of the holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly Local Course

5+    7/22/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: MudDisk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access off the freeway;
Lots of parking;
Woodsy setting;
Picnic area, restrooms and playground stuff for the kids;
Good variety of holes
Cons: Lacking some signage at tees and directions to next tee from hole;
No tee pads-just dirt;
Locals like to come here to drink and smoke pot;
Other Thoughts: I consider this my local so my opinion is a bit biased. Generally well laid out and makes use of most of the park areas that are less frequented. Plays around the picnic grounds and ball field. Can be muddy in the winter months and the creek has been known to claim a few discs. Several options for tunnel shots especially on the alternate tee for #4, #5 and #8. If alternate tees are your thing, watch the locals for alternates at #1, #2, #3, #4, and #6. Several good opportunities for aces if you have the accuracy.

Summer update: The City of San Leandro uses this park for its Day Camp. I observed day camp activities in the park areas adjacent to several holes including #4, #6, #7 and #8. Be cautious when playing while day camp is in session. The counselors seem only marginally aware that this is a public park and that there are people playing the course. They made no efforts to move their groups to accommodate the handful of players in the park. My son and I decide to play those holes, but took easy short range shots so as not to bean any kids with a long drive. Also-the creek is a popular attraction for kids at this time of year...they like to walk right down the path that acts as the fairway for #8...keep your eyes open and consider the alternate approach to #8 from the right and down rather than down into "the tunnel".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun lil' course

1    4/7/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: swirvington
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I like to go out and play by myself a lot and this is a fun lil' course to play by yourself or with a couple friends. Most of the holes are pretty easy to almost ace. It has a fun kind of summer campground feel to it.

On most of the holes you can find homemade teepads further back where the locals have worn in the dirt. It makes the course a little more challenging and fun.
Cons: I didn't like how the later holes criss-cross in front of one another, it makes it frustrating when a lot of groups are playing.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

2-4    2/14/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Close to freeway, easy to find way around, fun
Cons: short holes, some signage lacking, #8 basket and #9 are kind of close together
Other Thoughts: not a bad little course to play. Not a huge long course but still a pretty good challenge factor.
If your near here, play it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short & shady

5+    10/5/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quite a beautiful park with very tall and old trees. Lots of character & variation between holes. Holes are short, so the scores stay fairly low. Plenty of parking. Can get 18 holes done in an hour. Great local support for the course.
Cons: Napkin-style TP in the otherwise nice public bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: I like this place a lot, and will be coming back for more rounds. I also look forward to introducing some friends to the place. Supposedly, there's a secret 'old' back 9 that exists in the hills behind holes 2 & 3.
Uniqueness: B (for a short course, it's loaded with technical shots)
Difficulty: B- (the lack of length is offset by tight shots)
Fun factor: B+ (cool local crowd; rewarding birdies)
Aesthetics: B (heavily wooded & mature; clean; always shaded)
Overall: B

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short game practice

5+    9/27/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice short course with a number of tunnel shots. Good practice for your short game and if you want to get a quick nine holes in.

-Good short course that can be played in 30 minutes
-Nice variation from hole to hole
-Some challenging fairways to navigate
Cons: -Course is short
-Hole 9 could use a new tee position
Other Thoughts: -Look for different tee locations on holes 3, 4, and 9
3 is by the lamp post to the right of hole 2.
4 is to the left of the hole 3 under some trees, nice

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Reaches It's Target Audience!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chabot Park is a small little park, perfect for picnicking, Not exactly great for disc golf. But, this would be an excellent venue to introduce some families members to the game. If the course designer(s) was aiming at beginners/newbies, I think he/they succeeded. What you have here is your basic little recreational course. Holes range from 106' to maybe 280'. There are lots of tunnel shots. A couple of nice ACE runs. The pads are natural. The baskets are decent but did tend to spit out a few putts. The course is fairly easy to follow.
Cons: Probably the problem of other park users. This would be a course to avoid on busy weekends, holidays, etc. We played early one morning and encountered no problems. Just remember to be a good ambassador for our sport if you do happen to run into some picnicking families. Don't expect much of a challenge here. Take the new girl here for the cheap first date.
Other Thoughts: Another "What you see is what you get course". It's just a simple little fun Rec course. Try to shoot minus 9. Go for the Aces. Don't go expecting to be challenged. Have fun. Great for a course bagger like myself.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Forest Home of the Tunnel Shot

1    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Bathroom facilities
Mostly friendly folks
No tee boxes - Just dirt areas with the occasional large rock for more foot fun
Layout is tough to figure out (use the tips below)
Criss-cross fairways on several holes
People, cars, dogs, are in play on several holes. Incidentally, park on the right when you come in. There's less chance of your ride getting plunked.
Not the cleanest park
Other Thoughts:
Hole #1 - Tee is near the bridge where you drove in. Basket is diagonally across the field over the horseshoe area and to the right.
Hole #2 - Tee is to the right of #1 basket across the street. Basket is to the right such that the shot will run parallel to the street/parking area. You can't see the basket from the tee as it's on the backside of the hill. This is your first small tunnel shot.
Hole #3 - Tee is to the left of basket #2 about 100ft towards the bathroom. Basket is up on the hill to the right as you're facing the hill. The sign says to take your shot around the trees to the left, but if there's people sitting there, good luck. Assuming this isn't mandatory, there is another path which is another short tunnel shot straight at the basket.
Hole #4 - The primary tee is to the right of #3 tee near the jungle gym by the bathroom. The shot is a sweeping left to right tunnel shot around the bathroom to the basket in back. I think an interesting alternate tee spot is near the #3 basket. Nearby, you'll see a concrete pad of some kind and a very tight tunnel shot to the #4 basket.
Hole #5 - The tee is in front of the bathrooms across the street. The shot is a long tunnel shot (under a large limb) down the road to a basket just right of the road and tucked in the trees.
Hole #6 - The tee is behind the trees that are behind the #5 basket. The shot is a long tunnel shot between two rows of trees to a hidden basket behind the right row of trees. You'll see it from the #5 tee.
Hole #7 - The tee is back towards #6 tee but to the right near the creek. The shot is a right to left tunnel shot through the trees. The basket is just to the left before you reach the field.
Hole #8 - The tee is 20 feet out into the field and to the left. The basket is down in the canyon directly in front and to the left of you. The basket you see at the far end of the field is actually #9. But you can shoot at that basket and end up in good position for #8, but I suspect the shot they were going for was down to the left which is....wait for it....another tight tunnel shot.
Hole #9 - The tee is at the corner of the volleyball court closest to the creek. The basket is up on the hill a short 100 ft. away. The trick is to keep it up without hitting a picnicker.

Random Thoughts:
While this course has some interesting shots, the park it's in is a bit dingy and the activities therein are way too close to the action. One of my discs on #8 landed within 6 inches of a condom. I can not figure out why you'd wear a condom to play disc golf, but at this point, I'll try anything. And hey, if I ever hit an ace, I may need one. In any event, I think they did the best job they could with the space, so it'll be luck of the draw as to what's going to be in play on the day that you go. Generally, people were friendly but one fellow DGer seemed to be particularly salty about us shooting at the wrong basket and then asking his assistance on the direction for the right one. Our bad...apparently.

Bottom Line:
It's an interesting short course that if you're in the neighborhood and it's not busy and you're wearing proper prophylactic protection and you love you some tunnely goodness, you should check out.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 so short

1    11/26/2009   12/4/2009
Review By: ChillyWilly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's convenient to the freeway. This might be one of the more accessible courses in the east bay along with aquatic park.

I went on thanksgiving and it was pretty empty, so probably crowds are a non-issue.

Would be a great place to learn the game
Cons: Some of the holes are so short you have to wonder why bother. But you can make your own tees.

Can get muddy!
Other Thoughts: Is what it is. Would be a good park to throw about 4 rounds, sip on some brews, play a game of 'shoes and grill some burgers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.