Lawrenceburg, KY 
Lawrenceburg DGC Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    9/24/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short, beginner course located right next to the high school which is a fantastic location for a course like this. It has concrete pads and the baskets are in good condition. There are tee signs on every hole that list the distance. It looks like some of the holes have two basket placements to help keep the course interesting.

The course has a good shot variety. When I played here two of the baskets (hole 3 & 6) were in positions that required turnover shots for a RHBH player.

While the course is short and flat, the trees are used well to force the player to hit their lines. I'm not saying the course is challenging, but there are some holes they aren't exactly gimmie's either.
Cons: The course is very short and is really crammed in this park. Be on the lookout for other golfers, walkers, and other people using the park.

It's great course to learn on, but doesn't provide any challenge after that.

Tee signs only list distance. Since there are multiple pin placements, it would be nice to have a hole diagram showing the pin placements.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to introduce the community to disc golf and it does a good job at that. But obviously that means the course is short, easy and not worth going out of your way to play. The course in Lawrenceburg-Anderson Park across town is a more challenging 9 hole course that compliments this one well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner's Course

5+    10/18/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice beginner's course in a park setting. It features DGA baskets and signs, and somewhat small concrete tee pads. The course is fairly easy to navigate (good flow, no long walks between holes). There is no schule to lose discs in and no thorn or picker bushes to draw blood.

The course is perfect for beginning players, experienced players with little distance (like me), or for more advanced players looking to work on their mid-range game. The park has many mature trees that provide a low ceiling that challenge the disc golfer to throw beneath.

The course uses these trees quite well and quite organically to create good fairways that do not conflict, for the most part (a testament to designer Everett Lasley's design skills.) Hole 9 is an especially subtle challenge to succeed at.
Cons: The course will certainly leave many disc golfers with no desire to play it a second time. There is very little distance (with only 1 hole approaching 290 feet - all the others are under 250), almost no elevation change, and, due to all the trees, not even a significant amount of wind.

Because the course is in a park with a paved walking trail, excercise stations, a playground, picnic tables, a gazebo, and a volleyball court, on a nice day the park is very crowded and makes throwing a round a little bit more dangerous. On certain holes one or more of these amenities come into play (Holes 1, 3, 4, 6, 7 - walking trails; Holes 4 & 9 - picnic tables; Holes 1, 4, 6 - excercise stations; Hole 5 - gazebo). For the beginning players who will be most attracted to this course, these amenities are even more dangerously in play.

The main cons for this course are what it does not offer - distance, elevation, a wide variety, a challenge to experienced golfers.
Other Thoughts: The course sits directly across the street from Anderson County High School. Considering the type of course that it is, this is an excellent location. There is an active high school club that uses the course regularly for leagues.

I like the course. It is fun. It suits my short-arm game, but it is not exactly very challenging, even for me. I tend to judge a course by how many different discs it requires me to throw. This course can sometimes only require 2. As such, it is not a course that I would advise someone to go out of their way to play, but I wouldn't avoid it either.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little pitch and putt

1    9/20/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: adam423
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in a nice, well kept park with plenty of old trees to keep it from being wide open. Concrete tees are long enough and the tee signs provide enough info to know where you're throwing. Good flow and minimal walking between holes.
Cons: A short, flat course, and not very difficult. Some of the shots could be dangerous for other discers or for kids on the playground equipment, just keep an eye out.
Other Thoughts: If you only bring a mid and putter this is an alright course. To make this course more difficult I would throw only forehand, anhyzer, rollers etc., and get in some good practice at those shots.

This would also be a good place to introduce younger kids to the game.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good For Beginners

5+    8/20/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: discOduck
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: Nice park with walking trail and playground for the kids to use while you get a couple of rounds in. Nice concrete tees, adequate signs, baskets in great shape.
Cons: As a beginner (playing for about 3 months) I still find this course challenging enough to be fun, but not too tough so as to be frustrating. I could see where a more experienced player would become bored with this course quickly but it is a great place to learn and build confidence.
Other Thoughts: Even for a beginner, there are one or two "aceable" holes on the course although I haven't aced one yet.

 Fun, but not exciting at all

1    6/19/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Mach baskets in very good condition. Tee signs are present and accurate, The map on here is not really necessary since you can see the next tee from each basket, but accurate as well. Facilities are nice and park is in really good shape overall.

My memorable holes:
1 - A little under 300', have to anhyzer a little (RHBH) to drive the basket. My firebird went about 30' past the basket on a 60% throw, so I think the 290' on the sign might be optimistic. Still easily the longest hole on the course.
That's about it for memorable holes.
Cons: The park wasn't all that easy to find, and once in the park, it was unclear where the DG course was, since it looked like the park ended where the entrance to the DG course was, but I found it OK. The hint on the course main page about turning in under the American Legion sign helps, but still confusing.
Short. Simple. Plain. Flat. Do I need to continue?
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 2 is based on the fact that this is a fun little course, for practicing upshots and putting, or a very quick round when you're pressed for time. I still cannot believe they fit 9 holes in this tiny square of a park. The park is VERY well kept, although there is some drainage issue by hole 7. The only thing keeping this from a 1.5 or below is its upkeep.

I wouldn't go out of the way for this course, but if you happen to be in the area, and don't mind a quick pitch-n-putt, or just want to practice midrange or putts, hit it up, otherwise I would pick other courses if you're on a DG-focused trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Introductory Course

2-4    11/6/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As I understand it, this course was built across the street from a high school with the intention of introducing the students to disc golf. Taken as such, it's a fine course. The park is clean. The signs are simple but clear. You can't get lost on the course. It is never crowded. The concrete tees are smallish, but they have a nice, grippy texture. And, given the available space, the holes are well designed. They weave through the park, around the scattered trees.
Cons: It's tight. I'm amazed the designers could cram a nine-hole course into this park. You must throw accurately to avoid picnic tables, park equipment, and, on rare occasion, other golfers.
Other Thoughts: I'm a recreational player and I can deuce every hole. I'm not sure if that's a pro or a con. I suppose it depends on what you are looking for, but I'm pretty sure advanced players would rather play elsewhere. Beginning players should try Lawrenceburg. There is nothing intimidating or exhausting about the course.

You can't see the course from the road. Pull in under the American Legion sign, and drive to the back of the park - past the baseball fields (which is where you'll find the restrooms).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center