Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - White Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Short and Sweet

2-4    7/23/2016   7/29/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 88  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of fun, birdie-able holes.

- Good, if aging, baskets and great tee signs (except new holes).

- Part of a large, pay-to-play complex comprised of 4 courses and a clubhouse with pro-shop, concessions, and bathrooms.
Cons: - Plays short and somewhat easy (all holes but 2 and 17 under 300').

- Tee pads are a bit too short.

- New layout leads to occasional routing issues and some tee signs showing only distance to basket.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake's White Course is the shortest and easiest on the complex. It has been updated recently with a number of new or modified holes on the back half of the course, including a really great, if somewhat out of place, monster par 4 on Hole 17. With the exception of Holes 2 and 17 this course plays quite short, and while much of it is wooded with somewhat narrow fairways, just about every hole can be birdied, and I would except most recreational level players to shoot a couple strokes under par. There isn't a ton of variety here either, and a number of the fairways seem to run together, utilizing similar shots. The White Couse may not have the challenge level or variety of the other courses on site, but there is still a lot of fun to be had, especially if you like hunting for 2s.

On a few occasions, fairways can run a bit close to each other, and some tee pads aren't that far from the previous basket, so keep an eye and ear out for stray discs, especially if the course is crowded. Navigation is generally fine, but the new layout can cause some confusion as to where to go next. There are a handful of "next tee" signs to alleviate these issues, but especially on the back half of the course, a sign closer to the previous basket would help to make sure you are headed in the right direction immediately.

Like all the other courses at Lemon Lake, the DISCatchers are getting older, but still catch fine, and it is a great touch that they are painted the same color as the course name. The tee signs for the courses are relatively new, and are among the best I have seen with a great, colorful picture of the hole geometry as well as the number and distance. The new holes here do not have these nice signs yet, with simple temporary signs only showing the hole distance. I would imagine they will be updated soon. The tee pads are in good shape, but do not quite meet the needs of my tall friends and I. We found most of the pads to be a foot or so too short for our 6'+ frames to get in an adequate x-step or run-up. The new holes do not have concrete tee pads yet, but flat, rectangular dirt patches to indicate the tee area.

I don't usually play the White Course on my trips to Lemon Lake (1-3 times per year), I usually only have time for 2 rounds, and prefer to play the Red and Gold/Silver courses. That said, I really enjoyed my last round on White. Most of the holes here aren't trivial, so getting a 2 still feels rewarding. The bathtub hole is a pleasant surprise, and one among many fun holes. The clubhouse with discs and concessions adds great added value (when open), and helps make this a true disc golf destination. Do yourself a favor and take an entire day to play as much golf as you can at Lemon Lake, then drive over to Three Floyds brew pub for some great beer, and talk about all the awesome disc golf you just played with your buddies.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Easiest Lemon Lake course, but fun!

1    7/19/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice signage and concrete tee pads.
-Baskets are in great shape, I love how each course has baskets colored to the particular course!
-Variety of tee shots.
-Some of the holes have very technical shots. Can aggravate you because the hole is so close but so may strategically placed trees are in your way.
-Half in the open and half in the woods.
-The white course starts right by the Pro shop which is a plus.
-The infamous bathtub basket on hole 15 is freaking awesome. Never seen anything like that before. It's the little things sometimes!
Cons: -Though the course has great variety, there is only one long hole where you can really air out your long range drivers-hole 2 which is 535 feet. The next closest is hole 13 at just 290 feet. So that is a bummer to players like me who love letting the big drivers soar.
-BUGS. My pals and I came to play the coursesat Lemon lake in the middle of the summer a day after a huge rainstorm and mosquitoes were everywhere. Certainly much worse on Gold course but wear bug spray.
-Some of the shorter holes require some skill as there are many trees in the way, but several are just way too easy. Like hole 1 and 5.
-Be careful when you hit the teepad on hole 3. I mistakenly threw my disc at hole 9 and of course aced it only to realize the hole was actually right in front of me! When you get to that hole it's easy to see the 9th bucket so make sure to just look straight and its a nice easy tee shot.
Other Thoughts: -If you consider yourself to be really good and have been playing for many years, I would skip this course. I don't think it is bad at all. But for more seasoned players I would simply play the other 3 courses instead as they are far more challenging obviously.
-If it is your first time at Lemon Lake, like it was for me, I would give this one a go to warm up. And there are some pretty neat holes that require accuracy as I mentioned.
-The pro shop at Lemon Lake that is right next to the white course is superb. Easily the best one I have ever gone to! They have a wide variety of brands of discs and even sell used ones as well. You also get a frequent flyer card and get your 10th disc free after buying 9 new ones! Be sure to check it out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A short review of a short course.

1    8/11/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 21.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake is a multiple-course facility. With that in mind, it makes sense that one of the courses on the property would be a beginner-level short course. The White Course is that course. At just 4,355', ace runs are a-plenty on this course. A lot of the shots are fairly open flat shots to open baskets with a smattering of obstacles in the fairway. There were two spots on the course that I found pretty cool: Holes #5/#6/#7 are some fun wooded shots with very good use of elevation and hole #15/#16/#17 were wooded holes featuring the Chia Bathtub pin on #15. The course has good signage, the tees are level concrete and the flow of the course is easy to follow.
Cons: Aside from the six holes I mentioned, nothing else about the course stood out as particularly memorable. It was a bunch of pretty similarly designed holes set up at pretty similar distances. I kept thinking "didn't we just play this hole?" I threw the same shot with the same disc over and over. It can make for a fun round to throw at the basket off the tee on the majority of the holes, but other than for "fun factor" this course can't be considered very special.
Other Thoughts: "Fun factor" is important, and it is why a lot of not-so-great pitch 'n putt courses still host a lot of rounds and remain popular destinations with a lot of disc golfers. Given that whenever you are at Lemon Lake you have other options to play, you will be choosing to get in a round on the fun short course. The freedom to choose makes all the difference. It a good type of course to have at Lemon Lake and a fairly well done example of a beginner's course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 167  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course at the Lemon Lake complex; not necessarily the best. It seems to be designed for beginners, as most holes are less than 250'. I love the multitude of ace/ace run opportunities, and I love the technicality of the wooded holes on the course. Holes #5-7 and #15-17 fit this category.
A great course to bring your girlfriend or little sibling to play with you! They will be sure to have an easy-going round, while the more experienced players will be able to work on their finesse and mid-range game.
Good baskets, fair navigation.
Nice disc shop located near hole #1, and they have maps for this course.
Cons: Some holes are silly short, but like I said... good ace opportunities.
The walk from hole #14 to #15 is a little extensive. You must simply travel along the outer edge of the baseball field... you will spot the teepad.
Other Thoughts: I would've rated this course higher if it were just based on the fun I had and my experience. It does however lack significant challenge -- far from what you would call "pro caliber".

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/9/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 177  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - FUN Layout!!!!
- Descent Tee Signs
- Easy to Follow
- Good Flow
- Challenging Lines in the Woods
- Lots of Choices for ways to Attack the Hole
- Some multiple pins
- Consistent Cement Teepads
- Although mostly a Mids and Putters Course You do get to Break out the Muscles a Few Times.
- Great Place for an Aspiring Competitive Player to Work their Game
- Great Replay Value
- Well Manicured
- $4 All Day for 4 Courses is Worth It
- Ace Lines a Plenty!!
- Store on site
-Lots of other activities in the park for the Family to enjoy
Cons: - Teepads are WAY TOO SHORT!
- Teepads are Not Level with the Ground
- Watch Your Footing, Lots of dips divets and troughs in the rough.
- Some holes come a little to close to other park activities.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. I really enjoyed playing it. Those that really enjoy throwing their mid-ranges and putters will have a blast here.
Although holes are short they do require you to hit your lines. Most holes have multiple lines to attack the hole. That really adds to its replay value. This is the course you play for fun.
I really did not like the short teepads. This wouldn't bother me at all if the pads were more level with the ground. Worrying about not tripping is not something I want to be thinking about.
I think this course would be rated higher if it was a stand alone and not pay-to-play. I would give it a 3.25 if I could, mainly because of the teepads. The replay value and fun of this course puts it above the "Good" (3.0) rating.
This course was definitely designed with Rec Competitive players in mind. The lines are not complicated but do require precision and accuracy. INT players will have a much easier time hitting those lines and should be able to put up some great scores.
ADV and PRO players will rip this course apart. Plan on using your mids and putters very very often. They might not find the challenge but should still have fun playing the course.
Lemon Lake complex is worth the $4 and the trip there. Give yourself all day. And hold on to your ticket pass. I regret waiting so long to drive down there to play. I will be back soon to play Blue and Silver/Gold.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's just all white.

1    7/9/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 59  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The white course at lemon lake is much like the appetizer at a fine dining establishment. yeah, it's good. Yeah, it's nice to have or whatever. But like the appetizer, the white course is short and leaves you wanting something more. We'll get to the main "course" (see what I did there? Wordplay. You know you're jealous) in another review.

Tee pads - Each and every tee pad on the white course is clearly marked, lovingly cleared and made of a surface harder than dirt. I have to give them credit for this. Not all of the pads are cement, but that's ok. Some of them are made of a cobblestone material that takes one's mind back to London...or wherever else they have cobblestone.

baskets - each basket, smartly colored white, catches like Michael Irvin. I didn't have one chain out all day, but unlike Michael Irvin, the baskets didn't do cocaine. I guess they could have before I got there, but I think you would have seen the chains shaking around if that were the case.

signs - a lot of people bitched abut the signs on the white course, but I didn't get the complaints at all. All of the holes were short (ok, not all. most. but I like to stereotype), so it's not like you didn't know where the basket was. If you had a question on the basket location, then you should probably go see the optometrist. or the pterodactyl . whoever would handle your eyes and not the winged dinosaur.

variety - though this sounds counter intuitive based on what I have already said about this course, but white does indeed have a lot of shot variety. Some woods holes, some wide open shots, annys, hyzers, etc. A very nice mix of holes. I would expect the average disc golf to go out on white and shoot pretty well. But don't be fooled, there are some holes that will jump up on you like Maurice Clarett on an ex-girlfriend and make you take a double. Precision is the name of the game.
Cons: If I had one con about white, it was simply the lack of "bomber" holes. But that's ok, because this course was supposed to be geared towards people just starting out. I get that. It's a good course. Nothing out of the ordinary crazy hard, and nothing really bad. It is just a good course. Nothing wrong with that!
Other Thoughts: This course has a hole in a bathtub. Honestly, you should play it just for that hole. Also, a dog almost took a dump on a disc when I was out there. We were calling it a natural marker.

If you are making your way up to lemon lake, this should be the first course you play. Good warmup for most folks. Good fun. Nice and technical.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 White = Beginner Friendly

5+    8/10/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The White course is the most beginner friendly course at Lemon Lake. The land is fairly flat with quite a few trees. This is my least favorite course at the complex.

The baskets are in great condition. They are factory made White Innova Discatchers.

There is a wide variety of short shots and lines on this course. Many holes have 2 pin positions.

Concrete tee pads.

Adequate tee signs.

With the use of the maps on this site navigation is not a problem.

This is a very beginner friendly course.

Hole #5 is my favorite hole. Short tight shot across a slight ravine. Nice ace run hole.

Hole #16 has the basket inside a bath tub. It's rather memorable.
Cons: If you dont' have a map navigation could be an issue. There are several long walks between holes.

Although the tee signs are adequate they are nothing special.

Although the tee pads are concrete they are a little short and some are not flat to the ground and don't allow run ups from behind.

This course can get muddy in places after rain.

There are a handful of wide open holes that really are not fun to play.

There are only a couple of holes over 300ft. More experienced players will find this course rather routine.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play facility.

If you are not familar with poison ivy there is some at this facility. Educate yourself and take precautions if you are allergic.

The 2010 Pro Worlds did wonders for this facility. 4 courses with a ton of options. There are plans for a 5th course.

The Homie event every October is a must play midwest event. Great atmosphere and always a ton of people.

Here are the results of Pro Worlds. You can get an idea of how the best players in the world scored on this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 133  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As countless reviewers have said in the past, this is definitely the easiest course at Lemon Lake. At least half of the holes are solid ace runs where there's no obstacle in the way and the holes are under 250 ft. Even though there aren't any obstacles in the way, the fairways are still very tight and defined. It's a great technical precision course to test your midrange game.

The course flows very nicely and I had no trouble at all finding my way. The path is well defined and no map is really required. Finding the first tee was a little tricky, but a friendly local helped and we cleared it up.

I'm glad an easy course like White is on site which can help you relax after another course beat you up.

The white baskets are very easy to spot and catch discs really well.

There are abundant trash cans which keep the courses very clean and well kept, which is always a HUGE pro.
Cons: The bugs were pretty terrible, but that was expected and is pretty unavoidable and there's nothing anyone can do.

The rough is pretty thick and I could definitely see how people could lose discs on errant throws.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake has a beautiful facility. The courses all offer different shots and really mix it up.

The pro shop is pretty sweet and even sells Latitude 64 discs, which is awesome. :)

I'm definitely going to be ordering the PW 2010 DVD so I can see how the pros played these holes. I'm excited.

Definitely check out Lemon Lake if you're in the area!! It's a great disc golf destination!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    5/14/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: NKlassy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: pretty friendly course especially for a beginner. Had a few holes with tight fairways that offered some difficulty. All in all it was a fun couse to play. Something fun to play a round on if your inbetween games on the more intense courses they they have at the park
Cons: cant really think of any cons
Other Thoughts: has a neat little hole in the woods where the basket is in a bathtub

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SuperClass Ready!

2-4    1/31/2009   1/31/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 667  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 17.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By far the easiest of the Lemon Lake facility, this is a course that good players probably won't need to play more than once. It will definitely serve a positive role in allowing a course specifically for families, children, and newer players but see below for my thoughts about creating a Tiki-style course which I think would be effective in accomplishing these missions!

Being a bit of a SuperClass fanatic, I think the biggest pro about this course is the potential for regular golf's slower, straighter friend. This course is PERFECT for a par 3 superclass course with slow turns, relatively shorter distances, and some reasonable elevation changes.
Cons: While beginners and newer amateurs will have a lot to get excited about here, the rest will probably be a little bored throwing hyzer and straight putters off of most tees. If you haven't figured out the short game though, this is a perfect place to work on that smooth controlled approach shot!
Other Thoughts: I think I would rather see this course go one of two directions: A) Remove and double up some fairways to make a really challenging par 4/5 course or B) Shorten fairways and turn this into a Tiki style course a la Hornings Hideout in Oregon or the Grange in Virginia. A Tiki course would really make for a great way to both introduce new players and to offer a maximum-fun-factor round after you get done playing the 'real' courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.