Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - White Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Easiest Lemon Lake course, but fun!

1    7/19/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice signage and concrete tee pads.
-Baskets are in great shape, I love how each course has baskets colored to the particular course!
-Variety of tee shots.
-Some of the holes have very technical shots. Can aggravate you because the hole is so close but so may strategically placed trees are in your way.
-Half in the open and half in the woods.
-The white course starts right by the Pro shop which is a plus.
-The infamous bathtub basket on hole 15 is freaking awesome. Never seen anything like that before. It's the little things sometimes!
Cons: -Though the course has great variety, there is only one long hole where you can really air out your long range drivers-hole 2 which is 535 feet. The next closest is hole 13 at just 290 feet. So that is a bummer to players like me who love letting the big drivers soar.
-BUGS. My pals and I came to play the coursesat Lemon lake in the middle of the summer a day after a huge rainstorm and mosquitoes were everywhere. Certainly much worse on Gold course but wear bug spray.
-Some of the shorter holes require some skill as there are many trees in the way, but several are just way too easy. Like hole 1 and 5.
-Be careful when you hit the teepad on hole 3. I mistakenly threw my disc at hole 9 and of course aced it only to realize the hole was actually right in front of me! When you get to that hole it's easy to see the 9th bucket so make sure to just look straight and its a nice easy tee shot. Still searching for that first ever ace by the way haha!
Other Thoughts: -If you consider yourself to be really good and have been playing for many years, I would skip this course. I don't think it is bad at all. But for more seasoned players I would simply play the other 3 courses instead as they are far more challenging obviously.
-If it is your first time at Lemon Lake, like it was for me, I would give this one a go to warm up. And there are some pretty neat holes that require accuracy as I mentioned.
-The pro shop at Lemon Lake that is right next to the white course is superb. Easily the best one I have ever gone to! They have a wide variety of brands of discs and even sell used ones as well. You also get a frequent flyer card and get your 10th disc free after buying 9 new ones! Be sure to check it out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 FAVORITE AT LEMON LAKE

1    5/25/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 161  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course at the Lemon Lake complex; not necessarily the best. It seems to be designed for beginners, as most holes are less than 250'. I love the multitude of ace/ace run opportunities, and I love the technicality of the wooded holes on the course. Holes #5-7 and #15-17 fit this category.
A great course to bring your girlfriend or little sibling to play with you! They will be sure to have an easy-going round, while the more experienced players will be able to work on their finesse and mid-range game.
Good baskets, fair navigation.
Nice disc shop located near hole #1, and they have maps for this course.
Cons: Some holes are silly short, but like I said... good ace opportunities.
The walk from hole #14 to #15 is a little extensive. You must simply travel along the outer edge of the baseball field... you will spot the teepad.
Other Thoughts: I would've rated this course higher if it were just based on the fun I had and my experience. It does however lack significant challenge -- far from what you would call "pro caliber".

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 White = Beginner Friendly

5+    8/10/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 321  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The White course is the most beginner friendly course at Lemon Lake. The land is fairly flat with quite a few trees. This is my least favorite course at the complex.

The baskets are in great condition. They are factory made White Innova Discatchers.

There is a wide variety of short shots and lines on this course. Many holes have 2 pin positions.

Concrete tee pads.

Adequate tee signs.

With the use of the maps on this site navigation is not a problem.

This is a very beginner friendly course.

Hole #5 is my favorite hole. Short tight shot across a slight ravine. Nice ace run hole.

Hole #16 has the basket inside a bath tub. It's rather memorable.
Cons: If you dont' have a map navigation could be an issue. There are several long walks between holes.

Although the tee signs are adequate they are nothing special.

Although the tee pads are concrete they are a little short and some are not flat to the ground and don't allow run ups from behind.

This course can get muddy in places after rain.

There are a handful of wide open holes that really are not fun to play.

There are only a couple of holes over 300ft. More experienced players will find this course rather routine.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play facility.

If you are not familar with poison ivy there is some at this facility. Educate yourself and take precautions if you are allergic.

The 2010 Pro Worlds did wonders for this facility. 4 courses with a ton of options. There are plans for a 5th course.

The Homie event every October is a must play midwest event. Great atmosphere and always a ton of people.

Here are the results of Pro Worlds. You can get an idea of how the best players in the world scored on this course.
http://www.pdga.com/course_ratings/15193

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 121  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As countless reviewers have said in the past, this is definitely the easiest course at Lemon Lake. At least half of the holes are solid ace runs where there's no obstacle in the way and the holes are under 250 ft. Even though there aren't any obstacles in the way, the fairways are still very tight and defined. It's a great technical precision course to test your midrange game.

The course flows very nicely and I had no trouble at all finding my way. The path is well defined and no map is really required. Finding the first tee was a little tricky, but a friendly local helped and we cleared it up.

I'm glad an easy course like White is on site which can help you relax after another course beat you up.

The white baskets are very easy to spot and catch discs really well.

There are abundant trash cans which keep the courses very clean and well kept, which is always a HUGE pro.
Cons: The bugs were pretty terrible, but that was expected and is pretty unavoidable and there's nothing anyone can do.

The rough is pretty thick and I could definitely see how people could lose discs on errant throws.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake has a beautiful facility. The courses all offer different shots and really mix it up.

The pro shop is pretty sweet and even sells Latitude 64 discs, which is awesome. :)

I'm definitely going to be ordering the PW 2010 DVD so I can see how the pros played these holes. I'm excited.

Definitely check out Lemon Lake if you're in the area!! It's a great disc golf destination!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: NKlassy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: pretty friendly course especially for a beginner. Had a few holes with tight fairways that offered some difficulty. All in all it was a fun couse to play. Something fun to play a round on if your inbetween games on the more intense courses they they have at the park
Cons: cant really think of any cons
Other Thoughts: has a neat little hole in the woods where the basket is in a bathtub

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SuperClass Ready!

2-4    1/31/2009   1/31/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 642  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 16.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By far the easiest of the Lemon Lake facility, this is a course that good players probably won't need to play more than once. It will definitely serve a positive role in allowing a course specifically for families, children, and newer players but see below for my thoughts about creating a Tiki-style course which I think would be effective in accomplishing these missions!

Being a bit of a SuperClass fanatic, I think the biggest pro about this course is the potential for regular golf's slower, straighter friend. This course is PERFECT for a par 3 superclass course with slow turns, relatively shorter distances, and some reasonable elevation changes.
Cons: While beginners and newer amateurs will have a lot to get excited about here, the rest will probably be a little bored throwing hyzer and straight putters off of most tees. If you haven't figured out the short game though, this is a perfect place to work on that smooth controlled approach shot!
Other Thoughts: I think I would rather see this course go one of two directions: A) Remove and double up some fairways to make a really challenging par 4/5 course or B) Shorten fairways and turn this into a Tiki style course a la Hornings Hideout in Oregon or the Grange in Virginia. A Tiki course would really make for a great way to both introduce new players and to offer a maximum-fun-factor round after you get done playing the 'real' courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun But Not Too Difficult

5+    9/29/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Primarily comprised of short technical holes, White exudes an extremely fun vibe as the foil to Lemon Lake's championship-caliber Gold course, home of 2010 Pro Worlds. While definitely the easiest course of the Lemon Lake compound, there certainly are enough accuracy challenges to make it fun and interesting for better players. Tunnel shots, hyzer spikes, forced anhyzers, novelty pin positions, and plenty of aceable open holes help everyone have a good time.
- The holes that play through a small ravine (Nos. 5-7) will thrill every time. Tight gaps reward accuracy, while the short distances encourage risky "all-or-nothing" shots. These holes constitute the majority of elevation and have the best risk on the course due to the tightly spaced trees as well as the threat of rolling away from the pin.
- Many ace runs available. Birdies should prove to be plentiful for most players. With most holes in the 200-300ft range, even beginners should achieve par more often than not. The exception is #2, which plays well over 400 ft, and gives those with bigger guns an opportunity to sky one out.
- Decent amenities: tees, signs, benches, water fountains, clean restrooms and all the other park facilities. Next tee signage found throughout mitigates awkward flow in places. Tee signs sketch the hole sufficiently, with each pin position shown with corresponding distances. Baskets, keeping with Lemon Lake's color-coded scheme, are painted white and rotated between two positions on most holes. All are in great shape. Teepads are mostly trapezoidal, level, brushed concrete in good condition. One tee is a rubber mat.
Cons: - Experienced or advanced players may find this course fun or enjoyable to play, but probably won't derive much of a challenge from it. Too many holes are reachable from the tee with a putter or mid-range to constitute a serious challenge to seasoned dg vets, while the risky sections largely aren't punishing enough to ruin the rounds of moderately skilled discers.
- Some outstandingly designed holes help to comprise the White course; however, there are just as many aesthetically unpleasing holes that play alongside park roads, the backyards of houses, baseball diamonds, and fences. The first and last couple of holes feel a bit squeezed in, with a resultingly long walk between 16 and 17. The poor flow is alleviated with excellent "next tee" signage.
- Not many trashcans. Mostly found as you pass by other sections of the park. As a result, there is definitely more trash to be found along the white course than on the other Lemon Lake courses.
- On one or two of the tees, the concrete seems not to have been brushed deeply enough to provide a truly grippy surface.
- Some fairly rough schule in a few places, with lots of poison ivy, brambles, and thorns.
Other Thoughts: - Be sure to pet the Chia Pet bathtub pin position! :)
- $4 resident, $7 non-resident parking fee upon entry. $50 yearly passes are great deals considering the quantity and quality of disc golf available on site.
- The White course starts behind the sand volleyball net at the top of the hill. Park in the 2nd parking lot and proceed past the bathrooms.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Warm Up

1    9/14/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is maintained excellently. The fairways were nice and clean, and the teepads were in great shape.

-The signs directing you to the next tee are very helpful, but even without them the set up is good enough that they'd be easy to find.

-The course has some nice elevation changes, and forces you to throw very precise shots. Several holes, though under 200ft. are very easy to end up with a 3 or 4 on if your line is off.

-Hole number 2 is wide open, and long, which is nice to let you really practice ripping a drive and shooting for big D, on an easier hole.

-The hill on 18 really makes precise shot placement a must, no matter which line you throw.
Cons: -Lots of holes are very short, and the long one (Hole 2) is wide open with virtually no obstacles.

-A few baskets have annoying ace signings on them.

-Some of the tee signs were missing. Also, some of the distances on the tee signs seemed off.
Other Thoughts: This course makes a great addition to the day, either as a warm up, or to rebuild your confidence after getting whupped by the gold/silver course.

While it lacks distance, it was a fun course overall, and all the holes had very unique setups, I never felt like, "oh hole_ feels just like hole_."

I truly enjoyed this course, and plan on leaving time for it in my next day at Lemon Lake.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Warm Up

2-4    8/15/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: adwagner
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course, good baskets. Great for beginners or for a warm up round if you're hitting all four in a day.
Cons: Really short (barring hole 2) and not a lot of diversity...definitely favors rhbh.
Other Thoughts: not much to say about this one, rec division appropriately started with this course at state champs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Relaxer

1    6/24/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The White Course at Lemon Lake posesses the immaculate groundskeeping, excellent tees, and color-coded baskets that you grow accustomed to at the Park. The White Course challenges the players ability to shape shots. The challenge is added in that most of the holes are designed to be reached with a midrange. Fairway drivers may be occasionally used depending on your method of play. Course flow is very logical. There are some very punishing roughs. I really like Hole 18. That may seem weird because it is a wide open hole, but the pin is situated on a side-hill lie. The shape of the hill causes an errant hyzer to roll down the hill. The anhyzer route, even on a wide open hole, is the most appropriate shot. For this hole, the pin position is the challenging element. In my opinion, this makes it a solid finishing hole.
Cons: Hole #2 was a "throw-away" hole. There were 2 baskets; one short and one long. The long basket provides no challenge other than length. The short position poses no challenge whatsoever. While the design does require the player to execute certain shot-shapes, there is very little distance variation on this course. Hole #2 is the obvious exception. For the most part, the holes are 200'-275' and are very straight-forward. There are certain areas of thick, thorny bushes just off the fairway making lost discs a legitimate possibility.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake - White is the disc golf equivalent of a "links-style" course. There are a number of trees, but on most of the holes the trees are not very tall and the deterrants off the fairway are mainly thick bushes. There are a couple of true wooded holes near the end of the course. One of these holes has the pin rising out of a bathtub filled with dirt. While this was unique, and under certain circumstances this might not have bothered me, it detracted from the beauty of the park. There was nothing else like this on any of the other park courses. To me, the course would be better without it.

The White course tees off from beside the playground. From the bathrooms, you will need to walk around the volleyball courts to reach the #1 tee. #18 comes back to the other side of the building with the bathrooms. No other bathrooms are present around the course. Water is also available (fountain) at the building.

Just to reiterate from other Lemon Lake reviews...this is a very special park for disc golf. Each course has its purpose and "target audience" and caters to that audience. For the seasoned disc golfer, each of these courses will offer you the ability to work on certain aspects of your game. Beginners will love the White Course. Lemon Lake is an amazing place and a valuable asset to the disc golf community. If you see a groundskeeper, shake their hand and tell them "Thanks".

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.