Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - White Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 175ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    10/9/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - FUN Layout!!!!
- Descent Tee Signs
- Easy to Follow
- Good Flow
- Challenging Lines in the Woods
- Lots of Choices for ways to Attack the Hole
- Some multiple pins
- Consistent Cement Teepads
- Although mostly a Mids and Putters Course You do get to Break out the Muscles a Few Times.
- Great Place for an Aspiring Competitive Player to Work their Game
- Great Replay Value
- Well Manicured
- $4 All Day for 4 Courses is Worth It
- Ace Lines a Plenty!!
- Store on site
-Lots of other activities in the park for the Family to enjoy
Cons: - Teepads are WAY TOO SHORT!
- Teepads are Not Level with the Ground
- Watch Your Footing, Lots of dips divets and troughs in the rough.
- Some holes come a little to close to other park activities.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. I really enjoyed playing it. Those that really enjoy throwing their mid-ranges and putters will have a blast here.
Although holes are short they do require you to hit your lines. Most holes have multiple lines to attack the hole. That really adds to its replay value. This is the course you play for fun.
I really did not like the short teepads. This wouldn't bother me at all if the pads were more level with the ground. Worrying about not tripping is not something I want to be thinking about.
I think this course would be rated higher if it was a stand alone and not pay-to-play. I would give it a 3.25 if I could, mainly because of the teepads. The replay value and fun of this course puts it above the "Good" (3.0) rating.
This course was definitely designed with Rec Competitive players in mind. The lines are not complicated but do require precision and accuracy. INT players will have a much easier time hitting those lines and should be able to put up some great scores.
ADV and PRO players will rip this course apart. Plan on using your mids and putters very very often. They might not find the challenge but should still have fun playing the course.
Lemon Lake complex is worth the $4 and the trip there. Give yourself all day. And hold on to your ticket pass. I regret waiting so long to drive down there to play. I will be back soon to play Blue and Silver/Gold.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's just all white.

1    7/9/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The white course at lemon lake is much like the appetizer at a fine dining establishment. yeah, it's good. Yeah, it's nice to have or whatever. But like the appetizer, the white course is short and leaves you wanting something more. We'll get to the main "course" (see what I did there? Wordplay. You know you're jealous) in another review.

Tee pads - Each and every tee pad on the white course is clearly marked, lovingly cleared and made of a surface harder than dirt. I have to give them credit for this. Not all of the pads are cement, but that's ok. Some of them are made of a cobblestone material that takes one's mind back to London...or wherever else they have cobblestone.

baskets - each basket, smartly colored white, catches like Michael Irvin. I didn't have one chain out all day, but unlike Michael Irvin, the baskets didn't do cocaine. I guess they could have before I got there, but I think you would have seen the chains shaking around if that were the case.

signs - a lot of people bitched abut the signs on the white course, but I didn't get the complaints at all. All of the holes were short (ok, not all. most. but I like to stereotype), so it's not like you didn't know where the basket was. If you had a question on the basket location, then you should probably go see the optometrist. or the pterodactyl . whoever would handle your eyes and not the winged dinosaur.

variety - though this sounds counter intuitive based on what I have already said about this course, but white does indeed have a lot of shot variety. Some woods holes, some wide open shots, annys, hyzers, etc. A very nice mix of holes. I would expect the average disc golf to go out on white and shoot pretty well. But don't be fooled, there are some holes that will jump up on you like Maurice Clarett on an ex-girlfriend and make you take a double. Precision is the name of the game.
Cons: If I had one con about white, it was simply the lack of "bomber" holes. But that's ok, because this course was supposed to be geared towards people just starting out. I get that. It's a good course. Nothing out of the ordinary crazy hard, and nothing really bad. It is just a good course. Nothing wrong with that!
Other Thoughts: This course has a hole in a bathtub. Honestly, you should play it just for that hole. Also, a dog almost took a dump on a disc when I was out there. We were calling it a natural marker.

If you are making your way up to lemon lake, this should be the first course you play. Good warmup for most folks. Good fun. Nice and technical.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Little Course

5+    9/14/2013   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: course is in great shape and has been returned to its normal and shorter baskets placements since worlds. Great shorter, more technical course.
Cons: residential area with high fences come into play on 7 and 8. The rough gets really rough meaning thick and thorny with poison ivy on the back 9. Tee signs are missing but the course is pretty easy to follow. Few trash cans out this time of year so be prepared to pack your trash around.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to take your less than avid disc golf friends to play a round.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small but Great

2-4    5/22/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Albeit very short, it is still an exciting course. when it says wooded it really feels that way. some shots you really have to hit your spot for a comfortable put. on paper it looks like an easy birdie course but when you get to the park it spells a different story. it makes you think about technique instead of power and when you try for the risk reward shots it really lets you know how bad the risk is and how good the reward is. it is not a beginner course but it can easily accomidate a beginner that has played a few round prior.
Cons: some of the tee pads at the time were not complete, but it was clear where they were going to be added in. a few holes are very very tight and become frustrating with the ball fence on one side and a farm fence on the other. Hole 17 just seems a little to out of place for the rest of the course. at times i found it confusting to navigate.
Other Thoughts: it is a solid course and really got the juices flowing. it lent itself to a lot of biridie opportunities and left me wanting to play it again. Course now has all but one tee-pad in concrete, the bath tub relocation is awesome. It was well maintained and still fairly easy to play on a windy day. it is obvious that there are still more improvements coming and work is constantly being done to make it more interesting.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice technical course

1    10/31/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mix of grassy fields with long grasses and thick bushes along the fairways, and tight woods with small ravines. The open holes have enough trees to keep it pretty interesting, and other than the first couple holes and the last one, they have some schule to punish poor shots. The wooded holes are very tight and technical, and will really test your accuracy. They aren't very long, but they tend to have very tight lines, and some good punishment for shots that go astray into the woods. The holes that used the ravines here were my favorites, they made for some tough but rewarding tee shots, and some good punishment on drives or on putts that rolled away down the hill.

There is a great mix of straight shots with left or right turning shots, and if you want to score well here you'll need a variety of different shots. There are lots of ace runs and chances to go under par, but there are also lots of ways to get yourself in trouble in the woods or ravines and lose those strokes if you go for it. The bathtub hole was a fun unique thing I hadn't seen before.

The baskets were white discatchers, very easy to see and in good shape. There were nice concrete pads with decent tee signs showing distance and layout of the hole. It's clear a lot of work is still going into this course, and they've done a really nice job of making a beginner friendly but still fun course here at Lemon Lake.
Cons: Holes 1, 2, and 18 are basically filler holes so that the course starts and ends by the main park building, and it shows. These holes really don't fit in well with the rest of the course, and make it so that the beginning and end of the course are a bit boring compared to the rest. It also makes for some long walks at the beginning of the course.

Some of the distances on the tee signs seemed way off. I wonder if they were measured with a wheel, and going up and down the ravines exaggerated the distances on the holes with elevation changes, as these were the ones that seemed the most off. There are some places where the course needs some more stump and brush clearing to really feel finished, right now it's still clearly a work in progress, but it definitely seems like that work is being put in by the dedicated locals. As with all the courses here, there are lots of soggy spots after a rain, be prepared for some water and mud on some of the fairways if there's been wet weather recently.
Other Thoughts: This course is a challenging beginner course that may frustrate some new players with tight fairways and punishing rough. More experienced players will card lots of deuces here, but there are definitely some fun and challenging holes. If you're here at Lemon Lake, it's definitely worth it to fit White into your schedule if possible, but it's the least exciting course here in my opinion so don't pass up one of the others to play it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 update

1    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: airspuds
Played: 99  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 28.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: cement tees almost done but playable
Cons: better directions needed to go from 16 basket to 17 tee
Other Thoughts: hole 2 basket needs to be elevated and a wall or hedge of some sort around the 30 ft circle area

hole 1 basket should go across the road

other wise nice course

or at least rope off/paint some ob

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Built for Newbs, Good for All

1    6/20/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Newest of the four courses at Lemon Lake is designed specifically for beginners, and those with less D.

However, thats not the same as saying its easy or not fun. Quite the opposite.
The tee pads are a mix between rubber and concrete, with one or two grass ones still. However, they are planning on pouring concrete for all the pads, and have the molds ready to go at the tees they havent done yet.

The tee signs (up on most of the holes) are the usual for Lemon Lake, hole map and distance, printed on that plastic cardboard stuff. Good maps, ok distances, but easy to replace and update as holes change and evolve.

This course has a wonderful variety of short, but very wonderful technical holes. Many blind baskets off the tee, and many tight fairways with ceilings.

This course has several really cool holes on it, and makes especially good use of a ravine in the woods on three holes, two playing across it, one playing alongside it. The ravine has a tiny trickle running through it, not enough to worry about it eating discs though.

This course is full of holes less than 300 ft. Quite a few of them keep big arms honest with ceilings and tight curves, including a mean 200 ft sharp left curve that makes pros and ams alike sweat (my cohorts, all superior players, took 4's, my lefty sidearm magic parked it for 2). Many of the holes at least force accuracy off the tee, with fairly punishing shrub shule. Waht few holes have no trees in play (1, 2 & 4), bring terrain into play, with hill baskets that add the danger of rollaways.

Also realize, as one of the course designers (who joined us for a round) explained, jsut because this is a beginner course doesnt mean its full of beginner holes. Hole 17 is a 300 ft beast through the woods, a downhill tunnel, with abrupt curve right. Quite difficult, probably the signature hole, though many on this course are pretty cool, so that's a tough call after only one round.

A joy to play, even if you dont bust out the big drivers much, you WILL have to have a good mid game to do well on this course. Though I shot under par, I really enjoyed the experience, and would play this one again in a heartbeat, especially once its a little older.

PS, OFFICIAL COURSE RULE- If you land in the bathtub off the tee, everyone else in your group has to buy you a beer. Yes, I did say bathtub, and you'll know it when you see it.
Cons: This course is still pretty rough in places, as it is brand new, and many of hte cons stem from there. Some of the teepads were a bit soggy, as we played the day after several inches of rain. Also, the rubber mats are not the best at times, and we longed for concrete on all the holes, as well as teesigns.

Even the tee signs that were there, some didnt seem extremely accurate, mainly in the distance department, since they changed the pin location btween when the signs were made and when pins went in.

One or two of the open holes (holes 1 & 2 in particular) are quite vanilla, not too long, seem kinda like filler holes on an otherwise solid course. More ravine, less vanilla, I say!!

The drainage o nthis course is ok, but several fairways were soggy in points. Of the 4 courses, this one probably rates 3rd best in drainage, better than blue, but not quite as good as red or silver. So, if you plan on playing Lemon Lake after a rain, wear Goretex on the White course, or pick one of the other courses. A few rubber mats were under a bit of water.

Also, some of the shule shrubs here can hide discs quite well, so a spotter is not a bad idea.

Some of the ravine holes were downright treacherous with slick mud, so there are place where terraces are needed for safety as well as erosion, IMO.

However, these are things that will happen with time, as the parks dept here is committed to work hand in hand with the local DG club to make these courses amazing, and keep them that way. Do your part to maintain this special relationship when you visit here by keeping this course clean and leaving the trees in the ground.
Other Thoughts: Though this is the shortest and easiest course at Lemon Lake, it has some very cool holes in it, and is interesting and fun for players of all skill levels. I played these courses with two very skilled 20+ year DG veterans, and one of them liked this course the best of the four, for its tightly wooded technical challenges. I liked it 3rd best of the four.

I realize this course is in a rough state now because this and silver course were both built in less than 2 yrs, and White is brand spankin new. When this course is ready to go for Worlds, it will be a 4.0, no doubt in my mind

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.