Crown Point, IN
Lemon Lake County Park - White Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 195ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A short review of a short course.

1    8/11/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 19.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake is a multiple-course facility. With that in mind, it makes sense that one of the courses on the property would be a beginner-level short course. The White Course is that course. At just 4,355', ace runs are a-plenty on this course. A lot of the shots are fairly open flat shots to open baskets with a smattering of obstacles in the fairway. There were two spots on the course that I found pretty cool: Holes #5/#6/#7 are some fun wooded shots with very good use of elevation and hole #15/#16/#17 were wooded holes featuring the Chia Bathtub pin on #15. The course has good signage, the tees are level concrete and the flow of the course is easy to follow.
Cons: Aside from the six holes I mentioned, nothing else about the course stood out as particularly memorable. It was a bunch of pretty similarly designed holes set up at pretty similar distances. I kept thinking "didn't we just play this hole?" I threw the same shot with the same disc over and over. It can make for a fun round to throw at the basket off the tee on the majority of the holes, but other than for "fun factor" this course can't be considered very special.
Other Thoughts: "Fun factor" is important, and it is why a lot of not-so-great pitch 'n putt courses still host a lot of rounds and remain popular destinations with a lot of disc golfers. Given that whenever you are at Lemon Lake you have other options to play, you will be choosing to get in a round on the fun short course. The freedom to choose makes all the difference. It a good type of course to have at Lemon Lake and a fairly well done example of a beginner's course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

FAVORITE AT LEMON LAKE

1    5/25/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 120  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course at the Lemon Lake complex; not necessarily the best. It seems to be designed for beginners, as most holes are less than 250'. I love the multitude of ace/ace run opportunities, and I love the technicality of the wooded holes on the course. Holes #5-7 and #15-17 fit this category.
A great course to bring your girlfriend or little sibling to play with you! They will be sure to have an easy-going round, while the more experienced players will be able to work on their finesse and mid-range game.
Good baskets, fair navigation.
Nice disc shop located near hole #1, and they have maps for this course.
Cons: Some holes are silly short, but like I said... good ace opportunities.
The walk from hole #14 to #15 is a little extensive. You must simply travel along the outer edge of the baseball field... you will spot the teepad.
Other Thoughts: I would've rated this course higher if it were just based on the fun I had and my experience. It does however lack significant challenge -- far from what you would call "pro caliber".

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/9/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - FUN Layout!!!!
- Descent Tee Signs
- Easy to Follow
- Good Flow
- Challenging Lines in the Woods
- Lots of Choices for ways to Attack the Hole
- Some multiple pins
- Consistent Cement Teepads
- Although mostly a Mids and Putters Course You do get to Break out the Muscles a Few Times.
- Great Place for an Aspiring Competitive Player to Work their Game
- Great Replay Value
- Well Manicured
- $4 All Day for 4 Courses is Worth It
- Ace Lines a Plenty!!
- Store on site
-Lots of other activities in the park for the Family to enjoy
Cons: - Teepads are WAY TOO SHORT!
- Teepads are Not Level with the Ground
- Watch Your Footing, Lots of dips divets and troughs in the rough.
- Some holes come a little to close to other park activities.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. I really enjoyed playing it. Those that really enjoy throwing their mid-ranges and putters will have a blast here.
Although holes are short they do require you to hit your lines. Most holes have multiple lines to attack the hole. That really adds to its replay value. This is the course you play for fun.
I really did not like the short teepads. This wouldn't bother me at all if the pads were more level with the ground. Worrying about not tripping is not something I want to be thinking about.
I think this course would be rated higher if it was a stand alone and not pay-to-play. I would give it a 3.25 if I could, mainly because of the teepads. The replay value and fun of this course puts it above the "Good" (3.0) rating.
This course was definitely designed with Rec Competitive players in mind. The lines are not complicated but do require precision and accuracy. INT players will have a much easier time hitting those lines and should be able to put up some great scores.
ADV and PRO players will rip this course apart. Plan on using your mids and putters very very often. They might not find the challenge but should still have fun playing the course.
Lemon Lake complex is worth the $4 and the trip there. Give yourself all day. And hold on to your ticket pass. I regret waiting so long to drive down there to play. I will be back soon to play Blue and Silver/Gold.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It's just all white.

1    7/9/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 40  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The white course at lemon lake is much like the appetizer at a fine dining establishment. yeah, it's good. Yeah, it's nice to have or whatever. But like the appetizer, the white course is short and leaves you wanting something more. We'll get to the main "course" (see what I did there? Wordplay. You know you're jealous) in another review.

Tee pads - Each and every tee pad on the white course is clearly marked, lovingly cleared and made of a surface harder than dirt. I have to give them credit for this. Not all of the pads are cement, but that's ok. Some of them are made of a cobblestone material that takes one's mind back to London...or wherever else they have cobblestone.

baskets - each basket, smartly colored white, catches like Michael Irvin. I didn't have one chain out all day, but unlike Michael Irvin, the baskets didn't do cocaine. I guess they could have before I got there, but I think you would have seen the chains shaking around if that were the case.

signs - a lot of people bitched abut the signs on the white course, but I didn't get the complaints at all. All of the holes were short (ok, not all. most. but I like to stereotype), so it's not like you didn't know where the basket was. If you had a question on the basket location, then you should probably go see the optometrist. or the pterodactyl . whoever would handle your eyes and not the winged dinosaur.

variety - though this sounds counter intuitive based on what I have already said about this course, but white does indeed have a lot of shot variety. Some woods holes, some wide open shots, annys, hyzers, etc. A very nice mix of holes. I would expect the average disc golf to go out on white and shoot pretty well. But don't be fooled, there are some holes that will jump up on you like Maurice Clarett on an ex-girlfriend and make you take a double. Precision is the name of the game.
Cons: If I had one con about white, it was simply the lack of "bomber" holes. But that's ok, because this course was supposed to be geared towards people just starting out. I get that. It's a good course. Nothing out of the ordinary crazy hard, and nothing really bad. It is just a good course. Nothing wrong with that!
Other Thoughts: This course has a hole in a bathtub. Honestly, you should play it just for that hole. Also, a dog almost took a dump on a disc when I was out there. We were calling it a natural marker.

If you are making your way up to lemon lake, this should be the first course you play. Good warmup for most folks. Good fun. Nice and technical.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 White = Beginner Friendly

5+    8/10/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The White course is the most beginner friendly course at Lemon Lake. The land is fairly flat with quite a few trees. This is my least favorite course at the complex.

The baskets are in great condition. They are factory made White Innova Discatchers.

There is a wide variety of short shots and lines on this course. Many holes have 2 pin positions.

Concrete tee pads.

Adequate tee signs.

With the use of the maps on this site navigation is not a problem.

This is a very beginner friendly course.

Hole #5 is my favorite hole. Short tight shot across a slight ravine. Nice ace run hole.

Hole #16 has the basket inside a bath tub. It's rather memorable.
Cons: If you dont' have a map navigation could be an issue. There are several long walks between holes.

Although the tee signs are adequate they are nothing special.

Although the tee pads are concrete they are a little short and some are not flat to the ground and don't allow run ups from behind.

This course can get muddy in places after rain.

There are a handful of wide open holes that really are not fun to play.

There are only a couple of holes over 300ft. More experienced players will find this course rather routine.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play facility.

If you are not familar with poison ivy there is some at this facility. Educate yourself and take precautions if you are allergic.

The 2010 Pro Worlds did wonders for this facility. 4 courses with a ton of options. There are plans for a 5th course.

The Homie event every October is a must play midwest event. Great atmosphere and always a ton of people.

Here are the results of Pro Worlds. You can get an idea of how the best players in the world scored on this course.
http://www.pdga.com/course_ratings/15193

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As countless reviewers have said in the past, this is definitely the easiest course at Lemon Lake. At least half of the holes are solid ace runs where there's no obstacle in the way and the holes are under 250 ft. Even though there aren't any obstacles in the way, the fairways are still very tight and defined. It's a great technical precision course to test your midrange game.

The course flows very nicely and I had no trouble at all finding my way. The path is well defined and no map is really required. Finding the first tee was a little tricky, but a friendly local helped and we cleared it up.

I'm glad an easy course like White is on site which can help you relax after another course beat you up.

The white baskets are very easy to spot and catch discs really well.

There are abundant trash cans which keep the courses very clean and well kept, which is always a HUGE pro.
Cons: The bugs were pretty terrible, but that was expected and is pretty unavoidable and there's nothing anyone can do.

The rough is pretty thick and I could definitely see how people could lose discs on errant throws.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake has a beautiful facility. The courses all offer different shots and really mix it up.

The pro shop is pretty sweet and even sells Latitude 64 discs, which is awesome. :)

I'm definitely going to be ordering the PW 2010 DVD so I can see how the pros played these holes. I'm excited.

Definitely check out Lemon Lake if you're in the area!! It's a great disc golf destination!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: NKlassy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: pretty friendly course especially for a beginner. Had a few holes with tight fairways that offered some difficulty. All in all it was a fun couse to play. Something fun to play a round on if your inbetween games on the more intense courses they they have at the park
Cons: cant really think of any cons
Other Thoughts: has a neat little hole in the woods where the basket is in a bathtub

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SuperClass Ready!

2-4    1/31/2009   1/31/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 627  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By far the easiest of the Lemon Lake facility, this is a course that good players probably won't need to play more than once. It will definitely serve a positive role in allowing a course specifically for families, children, and newer players but see below for my thoughts about creating a Tiki-style course which I think would be effective in accomplishing these missions!

Being a bit of a SuperClass fanatic, I think the biggest pro about this course is the potential for regular golf's slower, straighter friend. This course is PERFECT for a par 3 superclass course with slow turns, relatively shorter distances, and some reasonable elevation changes.
Cons: While beginners and newer amateurs will have a lot to get excited about here, the rest will probably be a little bored throwing hyzer and straight putters off of most tees. If you haven't figured out the short game though, this is a perfect place to work on that smooth controlled approach shot!
Other Thoughts: I think I would rather see this course go one of two directions: A) Remove and double up some fairways to make a really challenging par 4/5 course or B) Shorten fairways and turn this into a Tiki style course a la Hornings Hideout in Oregon or the Grange in Virginia. A Tiki course would really make for a great way to both introduce new players and to offer a maximum-fun-factor round after you get done playing the 'real' courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The White course is the easiest of the courses at Lemon Lake, but it is by no means an easy course. It is substantially shorter than the rest and a few of the holes are pretty wide open. However, there is plenty of challenge with trees to avoid, blind tee shots, and some of the thickest rough in the complex that will tests your accuracy over distance.

The courses were just used for 2010 Worlds so everything should still be in great shape. The baskets are one of the coolest features in this complex as they match the color of the name of the course. This also helps you to locate the courses better when you enter the park, and it helps to spot the correct basket as the courses border each other in many places. (Imagine if the park just had 90 yellow baskets!)
Cons: A couple of holes (including 1 and 18) are just boring throw away holes. (The other 3 courses on-site do not have this con.) I like the challenge of the dense rough found on much of the White course, but during the summer you could easily spend more time searching for discs than throwing them if you miss the fairways, so this could be a con for some people, especially since this course is geared towards lower level players.

I did not get the bathtub hole (minor opinion con). It is definitely unique, but this just did not seem like the place for a gimmick like that, and it is the only thing like that in the whole park. (You tend to see stuff like that in the mountains of TN and NC, not at a world-class disc golf complex.)

A lot of places still had that "course just installed" look, but time should help these courses mature. I also played after some heavy rains and the course was very soggy and sometimes muddy causing them not to be able to mow the fairways. This is probably not the norm, but be advised if you play during the rainy season.
Other Thoughts: Obviously having 4+ courses in one spot is a huge bonus, especially when they are all good courses. I like that each course has its own personality and degree of difficulty. (Ranking: easiest-White-Red-Blue-Silver/Gold-hardest) The White Course is the weakest of the 4 courses at Lemon Lake (there are several really good holes but there are also holes that will disappoint). However, it is still challenging and worth a play. If you can only play 1 or 2 then leave this one out. If this course were all by itself it would not be a major disc golf destination, but it is justified by being a key part of the entire complex.

There is a vehicle entrance fee, but the gatehouse was not always manned. Also, the park workers are extremely friendly and obviously take pride in their disc golf courses.

We had the chance to play these courses as they were making final preparations for the 2010 Worlds. I am sure the courses are in even better shape now since that event has past.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    11/5/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a corner of the park, mostly open with some scraggly forest. There is a small park and some baseball diamonds near some of the holes, but they can be avoided.
- A few holes are in a dense, tree-filled forest, which provide some tight lines to hit off of the teebox. Some decent elevation changes as well, including some small ditches/hazards, which can be very troublesome to errant shots. A decent variety of lines, though a straight shot will usually be sufficient. A few other holes on the back end have very tight fairways as well.
- Most of the other holes are in a prairie area, with lots of rough, bushes, and small trees to get in the way. A common theme here is to have the baskets protected from one side or the other, to ensnare the drives/approach shots. So, there isn't much line shaping going on, but rather just different shot selection (RHBH, RHFH, OH, etc.). A decent job of making sure that it isn't the same shot over and over.
- One bomber-ish hole (over 400') to get out the driver.
- Good teepads, great baskets, good signage. Navigation can be a tad tricky without a map/scorecard.
Cons: - Biggest issue with this course is the short lengths. Not so bad on the tighter holes (like #7, or #15), but many others are just too easy to get to and way too short. Should be putter or midrange distance for almost all players.
- I like the fact that there is a longer hole to mix things up, but it probably shouldn't be the second hole. This is a warm-up course that has your second throw as the longest, not even worth trying before getting loose/warm.
Other Thoughts: - This is a nice technical course for beginners, or for those who just want some practice with slower discs. There are definitely some holes that require some thought, and accuracy, especially in the denser forest areas. Most other holes just test your ability to avoid obstacles, in a few different ways. Some longer, wide open holes are good for driving practice. Basically, you can decide what you want to take out of this course. You can go for the low score with the usual discs/shots/technique, or try out some new plastic or throws.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.