Georgetown, CA
Georgetown School DGC Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 318ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good little course

1    11/29/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short, fun course, easily playable twice. Great location to work on short game. Driver & putter should be only discs you need. Baskets close together, easy to navigate
Cons: Can't see anything wrong with this course. Great for kids to learn how to play.
Other Thoughts: Play Finnon and jump here to wind down. If I had time, would have played twice. Would bring my 9 year old here to work on his play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

2-4    2/3/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Disc4Bry
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfect beginner course or to fine tune pitching. Well laid out and fun to play.
Cons: It is a little hard to find, but if you look right behind the Bus barn you can't miss it.
Other Thoughts: Nice picnic area that is a plus but could see it becoming a hazard if occupied by non Disc'ers.
Lots of fun and great to practice on.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Georgetown Hoyas Minature Course Is A Blast!

1    8/24/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had a really difficult time locating this course even after finding the GPS coordinates. I drove down the wrong dirt road before finally locating the elementary school out behind the bus maintenance sheds. Funny place to locate an elementary school! Once you drive up to the school, the course is down past the left field corner of the ballfield.
The course itself is a hidden gem. Put in by the Georgetown leadership class of 2009, I thought it was very well done with great informative signs and pristine new Innova baskets with the yellow rims. They still have that new basket smell. There aren't really any pads, just worn places in the dirt but they're easy to spot and work well with the little use this course gets. The course sits in this peaceful, lovely little grove of trees on a hillside. The distances have been altered slightly since the course was designed. # 1 sign says it's a 120' throw but the basket is now back around the 225' mark.
Only 8 and 9 are normal length holes with # 8 being 318' and # 9 stretches out to 400'. I can't call this a pitch and putt with these two so the course rates as a recreational level in my eyes.
Cons: # 7 is a 244' downhill throw where the obvious route is to throw right over the ladies bathroom door. My perfect tee shot would've nailed any unsuspecting woman walking out of the restroom. Maybe this new phenomenon called attornies and liability hasn't reached Georgetown yet?

I'm sure this course is officially closed during school hours but because it's down over the bank here, I'm sure it could easily be played without any problems.
Other Thoughts: There is a nature area bordering on the course at the bottom next to the # 8 fairway. It was getting some use when I played so I had to delay my round for a family.

This is a lovely little course. It's well done. No, it's not a tournament or advanced level course. But I think it probably serves a purpose here. There's not a lot of other courses nearby. I enjoyed it and would play it often if I lived closeby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My home course

5+    8/18/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An easy short course built for the kids at the school to learn disc golf. There are alot of trees and they definatly add some difficulty to what would be an otherwise easy course. There are Innova baskets on all 9 holes. In the springtime it's nice and green around, and in the fall the oaks leaves turn yellow making it quite beautiful. There are 2 holes on the course that you can get a good throw on, and they are the last ones.
Cons: Short holes with not much challenge. There used to be a nice man made creek that was around hole 6's pin, but they covered it up, making an otherwise fun hole boring.
Other Thoughts: Good for the kids, but us adults can only play it after school is out or durring summers or weekends.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Compact Space

1    1/29/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: renotahoedg
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * New Baskets
* Signs showing distance
* Decent mix of short and medium lengths
* Mostly tight technical, but still a couple open holes for those that can throw for distance.
* You wil have the course to yourself
* Quiet and scenic despite being near a school and government buildings
Cons: * Some holes overlap each other (although, if you're the only one playing, who cares)
* Dirt tee pads. No real marking as to the throw line, dimensions, etc.
* Signs have no map (but it is so small, that it was not much of a problem finding the correct basket)
* Bathroom is used as an obstacle (OB?) on two of the holes, which is a potential for injury to innocent bystanders.
Other Thoughts: This course is proof positive that you can squeeze 9 holes anywhere. The total area of the entire course cannot be more than 300' x 1,000' and I think that I am being generous. You can litterly stand in the middle and turn in a circle and see every basket. This works in this instance as I don't think that it gets busy.

It sits next to a school, so I was worried that I wouldn't be able to play as I went during school hours, but it is out of sight and far enough away that it was not an issue.

If I lived around this area, I would definately play it regularly, however, it is probably not worth the drive if you don't live near by. The distances shown on maps are deceiving as the roads are narrow and winding so it takes longer than you think. I can mark it as played now, but I don't think that I will ever return (2 1/2 hours from my house).

I will upload a few basket pics in a bit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I wish it was here when I went to school...

1    7/27/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate, with signs with distance on every hole
-A man made drainage ditch flows past some of the holes, and provides some nice water hazards to increase the challenge
-Good for beginers
-On the grounds of a school that I know for a fact has more than enough room to expand this course out to be a realy nice 18 hole.
-Some aceable holes
-2 holes over 300', 1 that's 400
-I didn't find a single plant of Poison Oak despite the fact that I know it is all around it the area around the school
-
Cons: -Lots of scotch broom
-Water hazards flow quite fast, and could very easly take a disc away
-Some fairways arn't very fair for beginers
-Mostly short holes <300'
-Signs are lacking a map
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little 9 hole course at the school that I went to middle school at, of course they didn't have a course there when I was in school, maby if they did, I might have ended up being a champion disc golfer. The course starts off with some realy short shots through the woods, and gradualy the holes seem to get longer. There is a man made drainage ditch that flows along and through some of the holes adding some dificulty to an otherwise short course. The last two holes are the longest on the course at 318 and 400 feet each. Some of the holes have fairways that could use to be widened out, and I think as the course gets more play it will continue improve.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.