Dover, NH 
Bellamy Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #11 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / --   3 / 235ft.   3 / 311ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good memories

5+    8/25/2009   7/25/2014
Review By: Juppie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great lines, long straights and some short technical shorts. it is absolutely beautiful and the trees there are probably hundreds of years old, I like when the course is built into a forest and the lines are natural. the tees are great and the flow is easy to follow.
There is one hole that you throw around a bunch of trees or bomb it over the water, it is amazing!
Cons: there is water on several holes, but easily gettable if you are willing to get a little wet. the water isn't really a con it is a way to challenge your game.
Other Thoughts: This was a course I played while serving a mission for the church of Jesus Christ of latter day saints, I played once a week on my "preparation Day" and we loved it!!!!

if you are close by definitely go throw this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great everyday course, with DG Shop

1    7/19/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: pmay5
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very organized course, course map at first hole, two practice baskets AND a driving net, excellent signs on each hole showing multiple basket locations, benches and trash cans on most (if not all) holes, next tee signs on each basket, GREAT DG shop on site!

Set in a city park where all the fairways and most all of the rough were clear and easy to find your discs. Concrete tee pads, just about long enough, but level and even brooms on several.

This is rated as heavily wooded, that is the case on a lot, but not all of the holes. The trees that are there are old-growth, tall trees, so not too many bushy, thick leaves that are hard to escape from.

Walter's Disc Golf Emporium opened late last year. I lucked out as one of the workers had to drop by, just as I was playing the closest hole! Great selection of plastic, bags, hats, I just had to make a purchase and leave some NC money there!!

The fun holes started right away and continued to the end, 1,4,9,11,12,14, 16 and 18. Most were par 3, but several par 4s to let you air it out a little.
Cons: About the only thing I didn't like, some fairways were not well defined. Large old-growth trees everywhere, they could not be brought down, so you just have to deal with them. 12 was a good example, but it was also one of my favorites, with the stream guarding the left side.
Other Thoughts: Real fun course to play, especially thanks to my local guides Ken and Snoop Dog. This would be a great everyday course, the dual basket positions would give some variety, although not a ton. Not much of a chance of losing discs.

The stream that runs through the course is nice scenery but just there to keep you from straying too far. #1 tees off from a stone walkway, then over the stream for only 50 feet, fun start. The stream runs behind #11 and along side 2, 12 and 18, you really have to stray to get wet.

Walter's DGE looks like a great place to hang out before or after a round, I hope the locals support this shop because they sank some money in it and made it first class.

Unique beer cap art on this course. You have to see it to believe it!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, lots 'o trees!

1    5/5/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: alikat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout, clear markers, good switchback design, the great river adds a challenge and beauty, well maintained and kept natural
Cons: Super woodsy at times, can lose a disc in the river if your not willing to wade in
Other Thoughts: Great course, tricky basket locations on some short holes makes this a nice course to stop in. Located near a school so plenty of parking.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Autumn Delight

2-4    10/20/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: wentzl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent mixture of trees and open space. Nice layout and use of hilly terrain and small creeks. Easy layout to follow and well marked
Cons: Crowded. UNH in Dover has an active DG crowd.
Other Thoughts: This course is excellent and worth a trip to play.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Seacoast public course

2-4    8/10/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed, wooded course. Layout flows well. Great tee pads. Mostly, nice controlled tee shots. Great baskets, benches, and water features. Nice spot to practice putting with two baskets.
Cons: If you lose a disc dont expect to get a call or find it in the lost and found. Lock your car doors. REALLY busy at peak times. Easily the busiest course in NH.
Other Thoughts: Philbricks bike shop is right down the street. They have a good selection of discs from several manufactures.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well, there's the river

1    6/20/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You come to Bellamy for one reason, to shoot over the roaring river. The first tee is just yards from a ripping river. On the one hand, any disc that fails to make it across is gone. On the other, it's not that far across. But it is definitely exciting.

You have to trek aways to get to the bridge where people can make a dry crossing before you can claim your successful drive and approach the basket. It's a victory march of sorts. After that however, the course doesn't have much left that marks it as a serious contender.

Cons: The river, used to such awesome extent on hole one, is never used well again. Its in the backdrop a few times, but the biggest impact it has is on the hole where you must throw essentially across a very mucky fairway.

There are one or two other spots where you could end up in the river but are much more likely to toss an errant throw in the section of woods that keeps the river from being a significant obstacle.

Other than that, there's not a ton of interesting holes. They're woodsy but not too difficult. There's a few that play awkwardly through what seems to be someone's backyard.
Other Thoughts: A few holes are really nice ace runs for a RHFH thrower, which I appreciate.

Beyond that, the only holes I wanted to replay were 12-18. It's a solid course with one memorable hole, but noting else will stick in your mind.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sweet & Short

1    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads are really nice.
Baskets in great shape.
Course is very well kept.
Lots of seating on every hole.
Trash cans on most holes.
Port a pots on site.
Space to warm up.
Really cool practice basket area right along the water that even has a warm up net.
Course has some nice elevation shots.
Lots of ace runs here (ace boards on those holes).
Good use of water. Comes into play but risk of losing a disc is pretty low.
Blend of shots needed.
Free to play, free to park.
Course plays quick if it's not backed up.
Design and feel makes you glad to be playing the game!
Cons: Most holes are short 3s. Could use 2 more longer holes to balance things out a bit more.
Tight spaces, a bunch of holes play into each other a bit and a few tee pads are REALLY close to the fairways of other holes (but there are protection nets).
Place seems like it gets packed at times.
Next tee signs could be better.
Other Thoughts: This course is just a good time all around.
The practice area and first tee over look the running stream that plays through the course. That just sets your mood for a great round or at least a good time.
The elevated tee shots are frequent and challenging.
This course is VERY tight at times.
Not a bunch of space to air it out here.
Placement and putting will run your round.
The scene at this park is HOPPIN.
There is a club, league, and doubles event posted on the board at entrance. All the locals I ran into were super chill, friendly, and helpful.
I'll be back a few more times this summer, you should make a trip as well!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

5+    12/26/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: shorey07
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free course that has the quality of many pay to play courses. Great upkeep especially throughout this past year. Challenging holes, that offer water, elevation, trees, ect. Baskets change fairly often keeping the course exciting to play. Brand new signs at every hole with "Ace Boards" and a broom to clean the tee pad. Every hole has trash bins that are kept clean, and benches or seats made of stumps or logs.
Cons: Can be very busy during the warmer months. Very easy to lose a disc/ shoot over par due to all of the obstacles. I can't find a lot of bad things to say about this course other than the fact that I hate the damn river sometimes!
Other Thoughts: I have played disc all over the US, and I can't wait to move back to New England so I can master this course. They keep players up to date with a well maintained Facebook page. Also have very fun tournaments. Thanks to the folks who put all their time into that course. Especially take down that hazardous tree on the back 9!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

5+    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: decksnap
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, nice baskets, clean fairways, great variety, technical and challenging. Free.
Cons: Busy a lot of the time, but worth it. There is a gaggle of extremely slow players that seem to be there all the time. If you can work around their lack of course etiquette, most other locals are very friendly.
Other Thoughts: It's amazing how many courses don't get the basics right. Bellamy has everything that makes a course good in my opinion- consistent, full size concrete tees throughout, quality baskets, and a layout thats hard to get bored with.

There are many unique holes here, and a lot of technical tight shots are required to score well. It's a peaceful wooded setting that's not overrun by weeds and scrub. Due to a combination of upkeep and very high traffic, the fairways are mostly a cushy, consistent pine needle base. There are many trees that might make things difficult for beginners, but if you know what you're doing theres a good line on every hole.

This is the most replayable course I've played. Pictures here don't do it justice. I may upload some newer ones if I get the chance.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bellamy Park Disc Golf

5+    5/13/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: jvaccaro
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: course is free to play, nice new concrete tee boxes, multiple pin locations that vary seasonally, very friendly locals, scenic area along the Bellamy River
Cons: signage is outdated and inconsistent, there are a couple fairways that lack definition
Other Thoughts: overall course design is tight and requires precision accuracy

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.