Dover, NH 
Bellamy Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #6 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 187ft.   3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good memories

5+    8/25/2009   7/25/2014
Review By: Juppie
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great lines, long straights and some short technical shorts. it is absolutely beautiful and the trees there are probably hundreds of years old, I like when the course is built into a forest and the lines are natural. the tees are great and the flow is easy to follow.
There is one hole that you throw around a bunch of trees or bomb it over the water, it is amazing!
Cons: there is water on several holes, but easily gettable if you are willing to get a little wet. the water isn't really a con it is a way to challenge your game.
Other Thoughts: This was a course I played while serving a mission for the church of Jesus Christ of latter day saints, I played once a week on my "preparation Day" and we loved it!!!!

if you are close by definitely go throw this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great everyday course, with DG Shop

1    7/19/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: pmay5
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very organized course, course map at first hole, two practice baskets AND a driving net, excellent signs on each hole showing multiple basket locations, benches and trash cans on most (if not all) holes, next tee signs on each basket, GREAT DG shop on site!

Set in a city park where all the fairways and most all of the rough were clear and easy to find your discs. Concrete tee pads, just about long enough, but level and even brooms on several.

This is rated as heavily wooded, that is the case on a lot, but not all of the holes. The trees that are there are old-growth, tall trees, so not too many bushy, thick leaves that are hard to escape from.

Walter's Disc Golf Emporium opened late last year. I lucked out as one of the workers had to drop by, just as I was playing the closest hole! Great selection of plastic, bags, hats, I just had to make a purchase and leave some NC money there!!

The fun holes started right away and continued to the end, 1,4,9,11,12,14, 16 and 18. Most were par 3, but several par 4s to let you air it out a little.
Cons: About the only thing I didn't like, some fairways were not well defined. Large old-growth trees everywhere, they could not be brought down, so you just have to deal with them. 12 was a good example, but it was also one of my favorites, with the stream guarding the left side.
Other Thoughts: Real fun course to play, especially thanks to my local guides Ken and Snoop Dog. This would be a great everyday course, the dual basket positions would give some variety, although not a ton. Not much of a chance of losing discs.

The stream that runs through the course is nice scenery but just there to keep you from straying too far. #1 tees off from a stone walkway, then over the stream for only 50 feet, fun start. The stream runs behind #11 and along side 2, 12 and 18, you really have to stray to get wet.

Walter's DGE looks like a great place to hang out before or after a round, I hope the locals support this shop because they sank some money in it and made it first class.

Unique beer cap art on this course. You have to see it to believe it!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, lots 'o trees!

1    5/5/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: alikat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout, clear markers, good switchback design, the great river adds a challenge and beauty, well maintained and kept natural
Cons: Super woodsy at times, can lose a disc in the river if your not willing to wade in
Other Thoughts: Great course, tricky basket locations on some short holes makes this a nice course to stop in. Located near a school so plenty of parking.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Autumn Delight

2-4    10/20/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: wentzl
Played: 42  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent mixture of trees and open space. Nice layout and use of hilly terrain and small creeks. Easy layout to follow and well marked
Cons: Crowded. UNH in Dover has an active DG crowd.
Other Thoughts: This course is excellent and worth a trip to play.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sweet & Short

1    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads are really nice.
Baskets in great shape.
Course is very well kept.
Lots of seating on every hole.
Trash cans on most holes.
Port a pots on site.
Space to warm up.
Really cool practice basket area right along the water that even has a warm up net.
Course has some nice elevation shots.
Lots of ace runs here (ace boards on those holes).
Good use of water. Comes into play but risk of losing a disc is pretty low.
Blend of shots needed.
Free to play, free to park.
Course plays quick if it's not backed up.
Design and feel makes you glad to be playing the game!
Cons: Most holes are short 3s. Could use 2 more longer holes to balance things out a bit more.
Tight spaces, a bunch of holes play into each other a bit and a few tee pads are REALLY close to the fairways of other holes (but there are protection nets).
Place seems like it gets packed at times.
Next tee signs could be better.
Other Thoughts: This course is just a good time all around.
The practice area and first tee over look the running stream that plays through the course. That just sets your mood for a great round or at least a good time.
The elevated tee shots are frequent and challenging.
This course is VERY tight at times.
Not a bunch of space to air it out here.
Placement and putting will run your round.
The scene at this park is HOPPIN.
There is a club, league, and doubles event posted on the board at entrance. All the locals I ran into were super chill, friendly, and helpful.
I'll be back a few more times this summer, you should make a trip as well!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

5+    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: decksnap
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, nice baskets, clean fairways, great variety, technical and challenging. Free.
Cons: Busy a lot of the time, but worth it. There is a gaggle of extremely slow players that seem to be there all the time. If you can work around their lack of course etiquette, most other locals are very friendly.
Other Thoughts: It's amazing how many courses don't get the basics right. Bellamy has everything that makes a course good in my opinion- consistent, full size concrete tees throughout, quality baskets, and a layout thats hard to get bored with.

There are many unique holes here, and a lot of technical tight shots are required to score well. It's a peaceful wooded setting that's not overrun by weeds and scrub. Due to a combination of upkeep and very high traffic, the fairways are mostly a cushy, consistent pine needle base. There are many trees that might make things difficult for beginners, but if you know what you're doing theres a good line on every hole.

This is the most replayable course I've played. Pictures here don't do it justice. I may upload some newer ones if I get the chance.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    2/9/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sperry1288
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots throughout the course that allowed for a challenging round. It's friendly for beginners but still a challenge for experienced players. It really tests your accuracy and precision from the beginning to the end and has a good amount of elevation changes. Also... It's free!
Cons: Some of the tee boxes were a little difficult to find and not every hole had a map to accurately show you where you were shooting.
Other Thoughts: I will highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone! I will definitely be back here to play again and again!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  So much fun so close to home

5+    7/18/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: bellamyparkfrolfer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Forces you to throw a variety of shots. Unique course layout.
Cons: Watch out for the river! If you play after a rainstorm, expect puddles/mud. Tee boxes are a little funky. Hard for first-timers to navigate
Other Thoughts: I love this course, its a great walk through the woods and a lot of fun to play. Lost my fair share of disks in the river, but usually go for a swim to retrieve them.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.