Dover, NH 
Bellamy Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #13 (Taken 1/2011)
4 / 167ft.   4 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Well, there's the river

1    6/20/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 273  Reviewed: 272  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You come to Bellamy for one reason, to shoot over the roaring river. The first tee is just yards from a ripping river. On the one hand, any disc that fails to make it across is gone. On the other, it's not that far across. But it is definitely exciting.

You have to trek aways to get to the bridge where people can make a dry crossing before you can claim your successful drive and approach the basket. It's a victory march of sorts. After that however, the course doesn't have much left that marks it as a serious contender.

Cons: The river, used to such awesome extent on hole one, is never used well again. Its in the backdrop a few times, but the biggest impact it has is on the hole where you must throw essentially across a very mucky fairway.

There are one or two other spots where you could end up in the river but are much more likely to toss an errant throw in the section of woods that keeps the river from being a significant obstacle.

Other than that, there's not a ton of interesting holes. They're woodsy but not too difficult. There's a few that play awkwardly through what seems to be someone's backyard.
Other Thoughts: A few holes are really nice ace runs for a RHFH thrower, which I appreciate.

Beyond that, the only holes I wanted to replay were 12-18. It's a solid course with one memorable hole, but noting else will stick in your mind.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet & Short

1    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads are really nice.
Baskets in great shape.
Course is very well kept.
Lots of seating on every hole.
Trash cans on most holes.
Port a pots on site.
Space to warm up.
Really cool practice basket area right along the water that even has a warm up net.
Course has some nice elevation shots.
Lots of ace runs here (ace boards on those holes).
Good use of water. Comes into play but risk of losing a disc is pretty low.
Blend of shots needed.
Free to play, free to park.
Course plays quick if it's not backed up.
Design and feel makes you glad to be playing the game!
Cons: Most holes are short 3s. Could use 2 more longer holes to balance things out a bit more.
Tight spaces, a bunch of holes play into each other a bit and a few tee pads are REALLY close to the fairways of other holes (but there are protection nets).
Place seems like it gets packed at times.
Next tee signs could be better.
Other Thoughts: This course is just a good time all around.
The practice area and first tee over look the running stream that plays through the course. That just sets your mood for a great round or at least a good time.
The elevated tee shots are frequent and challenging.
This course is VERY tight at times.
Not a bunch of space to air it out here.
Placement and putting will run your round.
The scene at this park is HOPPIN.
There is a club, league, and doubles event posted on the board at entrance. All the locals I ran into were super chill, friendly, and helpful.
I'll be back a few more times this summer, you should make a trip as well!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite Course

5+    12/26/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: shorey07
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free course that has the quality of many pay to play courses. Great upkeep especially throughout this past year. Challenging holes, that offer water, elevation, trees, ect. Baskets change fairly often keeping the course exciting to play. Brand new signs at every hole with "Ace Boards" and a broom to clean the tee pad. Every hole has trash bins that are kept clean, and benches or seats made of stumps or logs.
Cons: Can be very busy during the warmer months. Very easy to lose a disc/ shoot over par due to all of the obstacles. I can't find a lot of bad things to say about this course other than the fact that I hate the damn river sometimes!
Other Thoughts: I have played disc all over the US, and I can't wait to move back to New England so I can master this course. They keep players up to date with a well maintained Facebook page. Also have very fun tournaments. Thanks to the folks who put all their time into that course. Especially take down that hazardous tree on the back 9!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

5+    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: decksnap
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, nice baskets, clean fairways, great variety, technical and challenging. Free.
Cons: Busy a lot of the time, but worth it. There is a gaggle of extremely slow players that seem to be there all the time. If you can work around their lack of course etiquette, most other locals are very friendly.
Other Thoughts: It's amazing how many courses don't get the basics right. Bellamy has everything that makes a course good in my opinion- consistent, full size concrete tees throughout, quality baskets, and a layout thats hard to get bored with.

There are many unique holes here, and a lot of technical tight shots are required to score well. It's a peaceful wooded setting that's not overrun by weeds and scrub. Due to a combination of upkeep and very high traffic, the fairways are mostly a cushy, consistent pine needle base. There are many trees that might make things difficult for beginners, but if you know what you're doing theres a good line on every hole.

This is the most replayable course I've played. Pictures here don't do it justice. I may upload some newer ones if I get the chance.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bellamy Park Disc Golf

5+    5/13/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: jvaccaro
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: course is free to play, nice new concrete tee boxes, multiple pin locations that vary seasonally, very friendly locals, scenic area along the Bellamy River
Cons: signage is outdated and inconsistent, there are a couple fairways that lack definition
Other Thoughts: overall course design is tight and requires precision accuracy

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: tcolby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Solid baskets, tee boxes, good lines to throw threw, friendly players and developers. This course was my home course for a few months so I played often. It was nice to play without paying too!
Cons: There aren't really any cons accept I would have enjoyed more par 4's but it's definitely a solid course!
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to get back out there to play this summer. I have yet to see it without snow and with leaves!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    2/9/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sperry1288
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots throughout the course that allowed for a challenging round. It's friendly for beginners but still a challenge for experienced players. It really tests your accuracy and precision from the beginning to the end and has a good amount of elevation changes. Also... It's free!
Cons: Some of the tee boxes were a little difficult to find and not every hole had a map to accurately show you where you were shooting.
Other Thoughts: I will highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone! I will definitely be back here to play again and again!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bellamy

5+    1/28/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A smaller course with an excellent feel.
Happy to be left handed on specific holes.
Trash bins at every tee.
Concrete tee boxes.
Rewards technical shots.
Two turns off of the highway.
Free!
Cons: As other reviewers have noted - this course has a large amount of trees waiting to grab your drive and throw it far from the fairway.
Signage is not current, and can be hard to navigate if it is your first time playing.
Other Thoughts: In playing this course you will often have looks that you have never seen on certain holes before, which I prefer to look at as a form of added variety. Multiple pin locations can change the character of each hole. Overall a fun course to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/10/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate - It is very easy to find your way around this course. The next tee is usually very easy to find from each basket.

Nice baskets - The baskets are in very good shape.

Beautiful setting - Nice woodsy feel with a river running through makes for a very nice setting.

Relatively few bugs - I didn't even need bug spray and never got bit.

Trash cans and benches - Every tee had a seat of some sort and there were plenty of trash cans to keep the litter to a minimum.
Cons: Too condensed - A lot of holes on this course are very close to others. It's very easy to end up in the fairway or even in the putting area for a different hole. Definitely need to keep your head on a swivel on crowded days.

Limited signage - The fact that there are signs is a plus, but some are missing and the ones that are there aren't a particularly good illustration of the hole.

Too many trees - There are some fairways that have a few too many trees in the middle. Rather than being an interesting challenge to the hole, they end up being a guard that only lets the lucky shots through. A little bit of tree removal would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my first time on this course. It's not a hugely daunting course which made for a nice relaxed afternoon round. It did get really crowded and we were stuck in a backup with groups in front and behind us, but from what I hear, that's very unusual.

There also seemed to be a lot of beginners on the course. I don't list this as a positive or negative. I don't mind playing behind a slower beginner group, especially on the nice day we had. But be aware that there a number of players out there still learning the basics.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: dugmar
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free. Plenty of parking. Easy to get to. Course in great shape. Nice concrete tee boxes. Very challenging course for a rec player like me. Not very crowded with non-players.
Cons: Not sure if this is a con, but there are lots of trees. May be frustrating for some players.
Other Thoughts: Great free course with some nice natural beauty to take in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.