Dover, NH 
Bellamy Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #11 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / --   3 / 235ft.   3 / 311ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Top notch woods golf!

5+    11/3/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Huge variety of challenging shots
- Fun for new players and pros alike
- Beautiful new tee signs showing both pin placements
- Alternate pin placements on every hole
- Cement tees in great shape.
- Top of the line baskets
- Practice area with driving net and 2 baskets
- Great new Pro Shop on the 11th fairway with enough discs, snacks, and accessories to satisfy a touring pro
- Free!
- Friendly locals (I'm a little biased =))

Cons: - Small mistakes can lead to huge punishment on some of the more tree intensive holes.
- Due to close fairways, there are instances where the "best" shot is right up another hole's fairway. Without clarification of OB on the course there are situations where players could get hit.
Other Thoughts: This is a highly technical course that will force you to become a better player. Most of the holes are very well designed with clear lines to the pin that will still be a challenge. All 18 tee boxes are now poured concrete. A lot of the small sticks that regularly litter the fairways have been swept up and previously tangled paths (between 11 and 12 for instance) have been widened. If you have not yet mastered the flex shot this course will give you plenty of opportunity to practice as there are many holes (3,4,8,14,18) that will be difficult to par without some wiggling on the part of your shot. There are multiple pin positions that are rotated every few months. Currently, the OB is clearly marked with yellow string so there is less cheating allowed than before (could be a con for some =)). Overall this is a great place for pros and newbs alike. New players will be forced to learn how to bail themselves out of trouble, and veterans of the game will enjoy the challenge, especially on the back nine which is generally more difficult. There are some small cosmetic flaws but for a free course you can't do much better than this. There are new metal signs that show both pin positions and are a massive improvement over the old signs in the pictures. There are also now 18 alternate positions instead of 14. The latest addition is a fully stocked pro shop in the old camp building that sits in the center of the course. The shop is well stocked with all the most popular classic and brand new molds, as well as snacks, baskets, clothing, and hand warmers. They even offer custom dyes on your favorite discs!! Keep an eye on Bellamy, it's only going to get better!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bellamy Park DG

5+    10/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: cplatt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Will make you use all kinds of shots
2. Good basket placements
3. Good hole variety even for it being mostly heavily wooded holes
4. More and more concrete tee pads replacing natural ones
Cons: 1. Poorly marked between baskets and next tee pads
2. Can be difficult to find some baskets, they SHOULD use some PINK flashing rather than ORANGE!
3. When the HS is in session, try to avoid course between say, 2:45 and 3:15. Kids just pour in to dick around and smoke weed and they'll get in your way. Dover XC teams also will swing through on fall afternoons sometimes, but they get out of your way quick and therefore aren't a nuisance.
Other Thoughts: This is an unfailingly interesting course as long as your okay with lots of trees. The windows are a good challenge and will force you to think out your drives. Convenient location and always nice to play for free. And even though it's a town park there are never many people who aren't there for disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bellamy Park

1    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Tippie4
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of technical and simple holes
It's a course that is all about putting it through a window, and not hitting the tree.
Looks like some work was done on the course, the map show holes reused and baskets used more then once that was not the case there where 18 holes. I was pleasantly surprised.
Free to play and easy to get to
Cons: Natural tee boxes are a mess, they are boxed in like the plan was to pour slabs but they fill it with dirt, one hole was pour slab, recommend continuing.
The front nine had trash all over it.
There seems to be a lot of clean up left, lots 2 -3 foot twigs all over the course my guess is from the ice storm.
I would like to see some longer holes, most where in the 250 - 350 range.
Other Thoughts: As a 1st time player on this course I got lost a few times, also had to ask myself what tee or basket do I use. The1st tee box is hard to find but if you read review before going you will know its by the parking lot

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  So much fun so close to home

5+    7/18/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: bellamyparkfrolfer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Forces you to throw a variety of shots. Unique course layout.
Cons: Watch out for the river! If you play after a rainstorm, expect puddles/mud. Tee boxes are a little funky. Hard for first-timers to navigate
Other Thoughts: I love this course, its a great walk through the woods and a lot of fun to play. Lost my fair share of disks in the river, but usually go for a swim to retrieve them.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bellamy Park

5+    6/6/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety, challenging wooded holes, really nice use of elevation (both teeing off from high elevation or teeing off uphill), holes added in recent years are nice and challenging.
Cons: Difficult to navigate unless you know this course (but once you know it, it's great). Discs are often lost in overgrowth or the Bellamy river (I've lost more discs on this course than any other I've ever played - though I did cut my teeth here as a beginner)
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and one of the first I played on. Not the friendliest course for beginners, but it challenges you to learn a wide variety of shots to navigate the sometimes treacherous wooded areas. Hole 5 is an extremely challenging par 4 ever since they moved the tee box back over the creek. Many of the tees have narrow wooded paths to navigate. Hole 11 along the river is downright cruel, forcing anything but the longest, most perfect drives to land in a swamp or the river. That said, I love this course and play it regularly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 tough course

1    4/27/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: Jmac21
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: difficult course good one to help give yourself a wide variety of throws.
Cons: not well maintained looked like some had started recently so could get better soon.
Other Thoughts: love the rope to help me get down the hill to get my disc out of the river thanks to who left it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Summer Fun!

5+    9/2/2013   3/19/2009
Review By: ShortBusDiscGolf
Played: 182  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a great place to wrap your head around the game. You'll need quite a few different shots to make it through this one. Water is in play on a few holes including your opening drive on #1.....straight across the RIVER! There are a couple shots in the park that look impossible(#3)...but there is a line. Birdie Alley (holes 8-10) will give your putter a workout both on drives and on the green. There are a few places to air it out including holes 4, 14, and 18. There is even a spot or two for a roller. Complete with concrete tee pads for every hole, trash cans at almost all tees and plenty of seating!!
Cons: I have very, very few gripes about this park. Two things to keep in mind though: 1) Porto-Johns are hit and miss. 2) Park gets VERY busy after about 3:00pm and on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Please carry out what you carry in. water in play on a few holes, careful.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/1/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: buzzman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No fee to play.
Most holes flow well and take up their own space.
Some interesting terrain with the slight hills and trees everywhere.
Good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots
Cons: atleast 3 holes very poorly marked including the first hole.
1st demoralizing for beginners with 99% chance of losing disk in the muck.
Other Thoughts: I was very exited to try this course for the first time because I have yet to find a full fledged course in NH. So we get there pick up a map and we easily find hole #2, but where is #1?? Nothing more frustrating than not being able to figure out where the first hole starts and where the basket is. Once we figured out that the piping and rope across the gorge represented the first tee we skipped it anyways because the odds of losing a disk was very high. So we started on #2 and had some good fun until around hole 12 or so and we had no clue where to go. We saw a basket and shot at it, but were not sure if it was correct. This course needs better signage or less confusing tee and basket locations for a few of the spots.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Chainstar baskets (best in the business)
-Great variety of shots, short and long, tech, etc.
-Well defined fairways for the most part
-Dual tees
-Always fun to throw over water (hole 1)
-Good use of available elevation
-Good use of creek, throwing over and about and such
Cons: -Natural tee pads suck
-Couple holes were a little fluky
-Little difficult to find appropriate teepads/baskets
Other Thoughts: When I played Bellamy there was some road construction or something going through a few of the earlier holes, a couple of which were altered, and it was a little hard to figure out.

The course plays a little tough, which is great. The fairways are pretty tight in some areas, and pretty long in others. The overall course design is really well layed out in my opinion. With concrete tee pads, and a couple of design tweaks, this would be a stellar course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A tough par 3

10/1/2007   11/5/2007
Review By: bfaslewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2008
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is heavily wooded and has a variety a terrain changes. There is a mix of annies and hyzers and a few straight a ways.
Cons: The holes are mostly on the short side. There was an addition of a few holes and some of the tees were re-numbered, even with a score card the course can be tough to follow.
Other Thoughts: The first tee is set up on the same side of the creek as the parking lot, it took me 15 minutes to figure that out. Next to the tee there is a bulletin board that sometimes has score cards.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.