Dover, NH 
Bellamy Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscGolferDrew Hole #1
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Really nice course!

1    4/8/2016   4/14/2016
Review By: SuperDave1981
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is layed out so that you really don't have to do much walking to get to the next hole. Signs are posted at every tee box to make it easy to determine your best approach. The first hole requires a throw across a small river, which is very nice. The pro-shop at the park is located at hole 18, which is very convenient if you need anything after finishing your round.
Cons: Being that the holes are so close together, a couple of spots may interfere with players who are playing other holes. This would really only be an issue though if the course was crowded. The baskets aren't numbered, which could cause a little confusion if you're not familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: I'm very much a beginner and thought that some of the tree locations made the course a bit challenging. But I'm learning that this is only part of the way the game is played. I played another course that was somewhat close to this one and enjoyed this course a lot more. I would love to play it again when I'm back in town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Local Course

5+    3/8/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: Soaponrope37
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Disc Shop on site!
- Concrete Tees
- Well groomed
- Very active local Club backing/supporting the course
- Clear Signage
- 2 Possible Basket locations on each hole
Cons: - Some holes have very set and tight lines you need to hit, and if you miss or hit a tree early you are probably looking at a 4-5 on a par 3
- A few of the tees are very crowded with other holes so its Heads Up.
- Can get VERY crowded at times with large Cards
Other Thoughts: Overall great local course to play with most of the regulars being very nice and helpful.

One thing to add is the Club is VERY good and consistent with Disc Fishing. So if you loose your disc in the drink and it has your name on it, you can expect to get it back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical - but fair

2-4    6/10/2015   6/10/2015
Review By: biff_malibu
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really well maintained. Good signage. Right off the highway. Mix of right and left tee shots. Fair par ratings.
Cons: So tight as to be limiting of shot varieties. Seems to be a decent amount of regular hiker traffic through the course -- need to keep an eye out for folks walking through your shot.
Other Thoughts: only played it twice in one day, But got the feeling that regulars could master this place with some basic trial an error. Seemed like there was probably only one good way to play many of the holes. Lots of wood out there, but mostly fair throughout. A lot of fun to play!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I so wanted to like this course, but...

1    4/22/2015   4/23/2015
Review By: Chris Main
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +Free to Play
+Dedicated supporters and regulars whom maintain course.
+Pro Shop on grounds
+Multiple Pin placements
+Nice signage and arrows for hole layouts
Cons: -Staff in Pro Shop were more intent that our party didn't steal discs than being friendly reps of Bellamy Park
-While baskets were in excellent shape they were very difficult to see (not painted or flagged).
-The course layout favors advanced players. Not for kids, beginners, or novices.
-The size and amount of trees is what Bellamy is known for. It is also why I couldn't recommend the course to other players. The majority of holes require advanced shot shaping. If this was the only issue it wouldn't be a problem. What was a problem was that because of the lack of clear lanes (too many trees) also required a shaped shot & LUCK to successfully navigate the course (and I played it during early spring when there was no leaf cover- The course in full foliage would become an even greater maze).
Other Thoughts: I recognize that Bellamy has a huge and devoted following. It shows, you have great signage, excellent pads & baskets, no trash all on a FREE course! That is unheard of. I just prefer my round to be determined by my skill and the challenge presented by the course. There are just too few lanes and options that require you to execute good throws and luck to scoot by the trees to shoot par here. There is no question why 'The Woodpeckers' were borne here (Shout out to #1 and #2) In my opinion, Bellamy lacks Zen or flow and is not the ideal place for beginners to learn Disc Golf. That said I'm glad Bellamy is there, it's just know what your getting into when you take on that beast! :)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Organized chaos

2-4    11/23/2014   12/13/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Variation of pin position
+Challenging
+Well maintained
+Enough par 4s so your self esteem won't be totally killed
Cons: -Some fairways are very close to one another
-Sometimes TOO many trees
Other Thoughts: This is a very wooded course but it plays very crisp. It was rare to hit a dangling limb or land in an unplayable spot. Fairways are defined and have many options but are very TIGHT. This was a great course to play and I would definitely recommend it to any player who wants a challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good memories

5+    8/25/2009   7/25/2014
Review By: Juppie
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great lines, long straights and some short technical shorts. it is absolutely beautiful and the trees there are probably hundreds of years old, I like when the course is built into a forest and the lines are natural. the tees are great and the flow is easy to follow.
There is one hole that you throw around a bunch of trees or bomb it over the water, it is amazing!
Cons: there is water on several holes, but easily gettable if you are willing to get a little wet. the water isn't really a con it is a way to challenge your game.
Other Thoughts: This was a course I played while serving a mission for the church of Jesus Christ of latter day saints, I played once a week on my "preparation Day" and we loved it!!!!

if you are close by definitely go throw this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great everyday course, with DG Shop

1    7/19/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: pmay5
Played: 81  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very organized course, course map at first hole, two practice baskets AND a driving net, excellent signs on each hole showing multiple basket locations, benches and trash cans on most (if not all) holes, next tee signs on each basket, GREAT DG shop on site!

Set in a city park where all the fairways and most all of the rough were clear and easy to find your discs. Concrete tee pads, just about long enough, but level and even brooms on several.

This is rated as heavily wooded, that is the case on a lot, but not all of the holes. The trees that are there are old-growth, tall trees, so not too many bushy, thick leaves that are hard to escape from.

Walter's Disc Golf Emporium opened late last year. I lucked out as one of the workers had to drop by, just as I was playing the closest hole! Great selection of plastic, bags, hats, I just had to make a purchase and leave some NC money there!!

The fun holes started right away and continued to the end, 1,4,9,11,12,14, 16 and 18. Most were par 3, but several par 4s to let you air it out a little.
Cons: About the only thing I didn't like, some fairways were not well defined. Large old-growth trees everywhere, they could not be brought down, so you just have to deal with them. 12 was a good example, but it was also one of my favorites, with the stream guarding the left side.
Other Thoughts: Real fun course to play, especially thanks to my local guides Ken and Snoop Dog. This would be a great everyday course, the dual basket positions would give some variety, although not a ton. Not much of a chance of losing discs.

The stream that runs through the course is nice scenery but just there to keep you from straying too far. #1 tees off from a stone walkway, then over the stream for only 50 feet, fun start. The stream runs behind #11 and along side 2, 12 and 18, you really have to stray to get wet.

Walter's DGE looks like a great place to hang out before or after a round, I hope the locals support this shop because they sank some money in it and made it first class.

Unique beer cap art on this course. You have to see it to believe it!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, lots 'o trees!

1    5/5/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: alikat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout, clear markers, good switchback design, the great river adds a challenge and beauty, well maintained and kept natural
Cons: Super woodsy at times, can lose a disc in the river if your not willing to wade in
Other Thoughts: Great course, tricky basket locations on some short holes makes this a nice course to stop in. Located near a school so plenty of parking.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Autumn Delight

2-4    10/20/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: wentzl
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent mixture of trees and open space. Nice layout and use of hilly terrain and small creeks. Easy layout to follow and well marked
Cons: Crowded. UNH in Dover has an active DG crowd.
Other Thoughts: This course is excellent and worth a trip to play.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Seacoast public course

2-4    8/10/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed, wooded course. Layout flows well. Great tee pads. Mostly, nice controlled tee shots. Great baskets, benches, and water features. Nice spot to practice putting with two baskets.
Cons: If you lose a disc dont expect to get a call or find it in the lost and found. Lock your car doors. REALLY busy at peak times. Easily the busiest course in NH.
Other Thoughts: Philbricks bike shop is right down the street. They have a good selection of discs from several manufactures.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.