Dover, NH 
Bellamy Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #3 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
  My Favorite Course

5+    12/26/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: shorey07
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free course that has the quality of many pay to play courses. Great upkeep especially throughout this past year. Challenging holes, that offer water, elevation, trees, ect. Baskets change fairly often keeping the course exciting to play. Brand new signs at every hole with "Ace Boards" and a broom to clean the tee pad. Every hole has trash bins that are kept clean, and benches or seats made of stumps or logs.
Cons: Can be very busy during the warmer months. Very easy to lose a disc/ shoot over par due to all of the obstacles. I can't find a lot of bad things to say about this course other than the fact that I hate the damn river sometimes!
Other Thoughts: I have played disc all over the US, and I can't wait to move back to New England so I can master this course. They keep players up to date with a well maintained Facebook page. Also have very fun tournaments. Thanks to the folks who put all their time into that course. Especially take down that hazardous tree on the back 9!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

5+    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: decksnap
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, nice baskets, clean fairways, great variety, technical and challenging. Free.
Cons: Busy a lot of the time, but worth it. There is a gaggle of extremely slow players that seem to be there all the time. If you can work around their lack of course etiquette, most other locals are very friendly.
Other Thoughts: It's amazing how many courses don't get the basics right. Bellamy has everything that makes a course good in my opinion- consistent, full size concrete tees throughout, quality baskets, and a layout thats hard to get bored with.

There are many unique holes here, and a lot of technical tight shots are required to score well. It's a peaceful wooded setting that's not overrun by weeds and scrub. Due to a combination of upkeep and very high traffic, the fairways are mostly a cushy, consistent pine needle base. There are many trees that might make things difficult for beginners, but if you know what you're doing theres a good line on every hole.

This is the most replayable course I've played. Pictures here don't do it justice. I may upload some newer ones if I get the chance.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bellamy Park Disc Golf

5+    5/13/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: jvaccaro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: course is free to play, nice new concrete tee boxes, multiple pin locations that vary seasonally, very friendly locals, scenic area along the Bellamy River
Cons: signage is outdated and inconsistent, there are a couple fairways that lack definition
Other Thoughts: overall course design is tight and requires precision accuracy

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: tcolby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Solid baskets, tee boxes, good lines to throw threw, friendly players and developers. This course was my home course for a few months so I played often. It was nice to play without paying too!
Cons: There aren't really any cons accept I would have enjoyed more par 4's but it's definitely a solid course!
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to get back out there to play this summer. I have yet to see it without snow and with leaves!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    2/9/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sperry1288
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots throughout the course that allowed for a challenging round. It's friendly for beginners but still a challenge for experienced players. It really tests your accuracy and precision from the beginning to the end and has a good amount of elevation changes. Also... It's free!
Cons: Some of the tee boxes were a little difficult to find and not every hole had a map to accurately show you where you were shooting.
Other Thoughts: I will highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone! I will definitely be back here to play again and again!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bellamy

5+    1/28/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A smaller course with an excellent feel.
Happy to be left handed on specific holes.
Trash bins at every tee.
Concrete tee boxes.
Rewards technical shots.
Two turns off of the highway.
Free!
Cons: As other reviewers have noted - this course has a large amount of trees waiting to grab your drive and throw it far from the fairway.
Signage is not current, and can be hard to navigate if it is your first time playing.
Other Thoughts: In playing this course you will often have looks that you have never seen on certain holes before, which I prefer to look at as a form of added variety. Multiple pin locations can change the character of each hole. Overall a fun course to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/10/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 81  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate - It is very easy to find your way around this course. The next tee is usually very easy to find from each basket.

Nice baskets - The baskets are in very good shape.

Beautiful setting - Nice woodsy feel with a river running through makes for a very nice setting.

Relatively few bugs - I didn't even need bug spray and never got bit.

Trash cans and benches - Every tee had a seat of some sort and there were plenty of trash cans to keep the litter to a minimum.
Cons: Too condensed - A lot of holes on this course are very close to others. It's very easy to end up in the fairway or even in the putting area for a different hole. Definitely need to keep your head on a swivel on crowded days.

Limited signage - The fact that there are signs is a plus, but some are missing and the ones that are there aren't a particularly good illustration of the hole.

Too many trees - There are some fairways that have a few too many trees in the middle. Rather than being an interesting challenge to the hole, they end up being a guard that only lets the lucky shots through. A little bit of tree removal would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my first time on this course. It's not a hugely daunting course which made for a nice relaxed afternoon round. It did get really crowded and we were stuck in a backup with groups in front and behind us, but from what I hear, that's very unusual.

There also seemed to be a lot of beginners on the course. I don't list this as a positive or negative. I don't mind playing behind a slower beginner group, especially on the nice day we had. But be aware that there a number of players out there still learning the basics.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: dugmar
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free. Plenty of parking. Easy to get to. Course in great shape. Nice concrete tee boxes. Very challenging course for a rec player like me. Not very crowded with non-players.
Cons: Not sure if this is a con, but there are lots of trees. May be frustrating for some players.
Other Thoughts: Great free course with some nice natural beauty to take in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This course will test your limits in EVERY way

5+    2/1/2011   2/25/2011
Review By: dsm767
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A FREE course located right next to the soccer field at the Dover High School in NH. Lots of places to park, right when you pull in bear right for closer parking. This is a course with a few ace ops and will reward a skilled player.

The fairways are tighter than tight, most of the locals who have had success at the course stick to side arm and over hand shots not just for tee shots, but, putts and approaches as well; using 150 weight discs. If this is a style that you are familiar with you should have no problem navigating the fairways.

I have seen this course looking both good and bad. With the replacement of the ancient beat up practice basket at the start of the course things have seemed to improve. Although, during the course of the season and as it gets closer to fall, believe me when I say that the upkeep goes down; the signs wear fast and with the movement of the baskets its hard to tell how truthful the signs are if you don't play here religiously. However, volunteers run the course and for how much has been put into the course the fairways are kept up as well as can be expected and there are littered trash cans and benches to rest on as well.

Overall, this course will change the way you look at the game and faithfully show you what you need to be working on in your game.

Cons: Baskets change location on a relatively weekly basis which makes for an even more challenging course; they know how to keep a player on their toes.

Because of the tight fair ways and having relatively no open holes, this is a hard course for RHBH players. To add to this the par is a low even 60 not giving you much room for error. If you mess up a shot keep your composure and get to the basket in as few strokes as possible, or suffer the consequences.

The course is free as I have stated so certain amenities are not provided as they would be for a paid private course; simply put there is no club house, and nowhere locally to buy discs outside the Portsmouth mall area at the Dicks Sporting Goods. For bathrooms, there are a few port-a-potties located at the top of the parking lot closer to the soccer field.

Other Thoughts: Holes one and two are water holes. The average player should have no problem making it over the river from the tee on the first hole, but the long fairway on hole 2 sports an embankment on the right hand side that is steep and the trees are thin, discs tend to slip through.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesomesauce

1    1/1/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.8 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right off the highway (less than 1 mile). There are three pin locations on every hole. A practice basket right near the parking lot and first hole. Tee signs and bag holders on almost every hole. There are some next tee signs, although more are needed. There are cement boxes on every hole (except 1 which has stone). Scattered trash cans, recycle bins and benches make this park almost completely free of trash. Hole ten ends up near one. There is also a basketball court and swim hole on the course.
There are a couple of ace runs to go with some long par 4's. Water comes into play on a couple of holes. The mix of holes is pretty incredible considering the land. Elevation comes into play and drastically plays with you on one of the holes. The signature hole is probably 11 which has a blind elevation drop and the basket several feet from the water's edge.
Cons: A decent amount of signage either isn't available or is missing (next tee signs primarily). Hole 1's tee box is a huge hazard. The stones are all uneven and the wall is low: there is a swim hole/stream right below. A lot of the holes and fairways are close to each other or in the middle of one another. There is a lot of dead fall in the fairways and even more in the rough. There are several very narrow steep paths in between holes. There are a couple of tee pads that are in other holes fairways.
Other Thoughts: Lefty friendly course.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.