Georgetown, SC 
East Bay Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #8 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 110ft.   3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 At least the scenery was nice...

1    7/31/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: misawa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's right on the bay, so the view is awesome. Easy course when you can find the tee pads. Wind adds some challenge. No real hazards to contend with.
Cons: Lack of a decent map - i used one of the signs on hand to try and figure it out, but it was of little use. Gave up trying to find the tees for 5 or 6.
Disc catchers are barely functional.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I didn't score this course lower is because it at least gave me something. The grass had not been cut the day i was there and the provided maps look like they were taped to real estate signs - and they weren't very good to use.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Homer Review

5+    5/17/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 244  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Love the setting of this course. Beautiful views of Winyah Bay.
- Layout works well with available land.
- Recently installed tee markers (short and long) makes it easier to navigate than before.
- Rarely are there other players so it is a peaceful place to play.
- Does not take long to play, which can be good if you are short on time.
- Lots of ace run opportunities (I have only hit one in ~100 rounds) but still makes it fun
Cons: - Frequently the course can be wet during high tide and after heavy rain.
- If you hate wind, you wont like it here. It is easily the biggest challenge here when it is blowing (makes for great practice)
- Sometimes there are non disc golf players who don't realize there is a course there and will walk their dog around, or setup a picnic. (infrequent, but does happen)
Other Thoughts: - I live right in Georgetown, so I can walk to the course. Perfect place for me to play a quick round and get some practice.
- Sure it is not an elite course, but is perfectly suited for someone who lives nearby to get some practice in. I love it for that.
- I hope the town continues to support it to some degree. The baskets are okay for now, but they could use replacements within 2-3 years.
- East Bay Park is near downtown Georgetown which is a great area for walking around, having a drink or dinner. I am so glad this course is here, hence my relatively high rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So pumped that Georgetown has a course!

1    4/6/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has one element that makes it extremely challenging--the wind.

By playing your own tee pads, you can make it a more interesting course. I used the concrete from the playground in the west corner of the park as the tee for #2 and #4. For #5, I used the road behind the tee (East Bay Dr). For #8, I used the east corner of the park (as far northeast as I could go before I hit the swampy bits).
Cons: Baskets suck.

I would like to have seen more pins extremely close to baskets, protecting them.

And, of course, mosquitoes suck.

When I played, many of the vinyl tee location signs where either gone or blown to various parts of the course.
Other Thoughts: Georgetown has a course! I grew up in tha G-Funk, but didn't start playing DG until I moved to California. I was shocked when I came home and visited my mom and she told me there was a disc golf course in Georgetown. It barely passes as a "course", but still.

Anybody that complains about this course does not understand how awesome it is that Georgetown has a course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Why is it here?

2-4    6/17/2010   6/17/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is a course in an area where there is not many.
Cons: Layout is confusing at first. Crappy baskets. When rain or high tide don't even bother playing. It is like a sponge and holds the water.
Other Thoughts: Spend money to install NEW baskets and redesign it! I'd strongly suggest 9 Innova DISCatchers! These can show # on the basket to avoid hole # confusion.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for practice

5+    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Citadelly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for practice & keeping your disc!

Light woods/trees, light pluff mud spots, no water to be found! (low hazards course)

Great area with views!
Cons: Bugs - (Wear bug spray)

Movable baskets

Not a lot of people out playing : (
Other Thoughts: Entire course is visible within park, some car & walking traffic all around.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: leftyone
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short course fantastic for beginners
Well maintained
Signs at every tee
Cons: They really should mark the baskets so you know which one your throwing to. I would also like to see some kind of markers even if it's a flag to show where the tee pad should be

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie Central

2-4    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a free 9 hole course with plenty of activities for the family. This complex has portable toilets and a big playground for the kids. The 9 hole course is great for beginners or players wanting to boost an ace or birdie record. I found that the wind conditions gave the holes a nice challenge. This course is great for beginners to intermediate players. There were signs with the tee numbers at every hole. With being in Georgetown, a smaller city, the traffic noise is very low. The scenery is very nice with a beautiful view of the water. There are no water hazzards and very little widlife.
Cons: Although there are tee signs, the goals are not numbered. So be very careful not to play the wrong basket. This course is a fast, fun course for beginners, however better players may find themselves bored. The goals are instep baskets with only a few chains, causing some pop-outs.
Other Thoughts: This may not be the toughest course, but is a great course to practice control and attempt ace shots. I found myself overshooting alot of baskets with ease and was hitting birdies alot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bland

1    5/20/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*A nice view of the bay in the distance with some tall marsh grass
*Some nice tall pines and well manicured green grass in a clean park.
*Being a short, relatively open, Green level course it would be a good place to teach a brand new beginner how to throw.
Cons:
Basics
-Tees: not marked at all. With no markers I just threw near the tee sign.
-Baskets: In Step baskets are weak, seem cheap with weak chains, and no numbers on them.
-Navigation: there's a map on every tee sign but since the tees aren't marked and there are usually several baskets in sight, it can still be confusing which basket to aim for. It would really help to have numbers on the baskets!

Design
-Terrain: Too open and all very similar. Every hole feels about the same.
-Fairways: Lacking variety because too many straight holes and no doglegs right. 6 Straight/ 3 Left.
-Elevation changes: None; it's completely flat.
-Length variety: Very little. 11 of 110-185/ 5 of 200-285/ 1 of 305 ft.
-Greens: too open for my taste, so overall they were below average

Amenities
-Very limited. There were a few trash cans, but no warm up basket, no message board, no benches.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level = Green (most suited for kids, short throwers, and players rated 775-825.)
It's a good course for beginners because it's open and they can't lose a disc, but more experienced players won't find much challenge here.

~2 sets of tees allow you to play 18 holes, but the 2nd set aren't marked in any way and are just 25 ft straight behind the original 9. It's rather boring that they don't really add anything but a little bit of length.
~Tee signs: functional but below average
~An extremely basic map and a basic score card are available online. Make sure to bring the map with you. Having unmarked tees combined with several unnumbered baskets in sight it would be really hard to know where to throw without the map. Even so, I still made a few mistakes and had to replay to the correct hole.
~When I played in May the horse flies were horrible, nasty, and really annoying. This may only happen at certain times, but it was unpleasant.

As my rating indicates, my enjoyment of this course was quite low. Some aspects can't be changed-- such as being flat and a small park with all the same terrain. But if a few changes were made it would be much more enjoyable. Here are a few of my main suggestions: 1) Mark the tees. Even better would be to put down rubber pads; 2) Number the baskets. This would reduce a lot of navigation frustration and thus increase the "First Time Friendly" (FTF) factor; 3) Get new baskets that are permanently installed. My personal preferences are Mach Vs or Chainstars.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Endangered course

1    1/19/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free! Next closest course is a play to pay over 30 minutes away.
This course is a good family outing on a cool (non-windy) day.
9 baskets marked with small vinyl signs. Tees 10-18 are around 30 feet behind the signs, look for reminence of white paint.

Birdie fest that would boost your ace count if the baskets were not mach 1.
Lightly wooded, enough to create challenge to beginning and recreational players.
Rec center sells a small amount of discs for $6.00 each (cash only)
Cons: Tee pads are hard to find patches of grass that are sometimes marked with white paint. Course does not offer a challenge to highly skilled players, unless the 30 mph winds are blowing off the bay. Wind can be a huge factor.
Locals say the bugs and lack of shade are brutal in the summer.
Course is muddy and flooded, the tide comes right up and can overtake the course. BRING WATER PROOF SHOES.
The basket of hole 8 sits infront of a road and a scum filled ditch.
Navigation can be confusing for the first 9, but the signs are usually nearby to help, but baskets have no numbers.
Other Thoughts: I hear this course may soon be on the extinct list when baskets are sent away to a new course. Also baskets are not secured and theft may cause this course to become prematurely extinct. If you are in the area and want to try to boost your ace count, hit this course before the baskets are gone.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Throwin on the Bay

5+    10/21/2011   9/19/2009
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2012
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: East Bay park is in a park along the Winyah bay in Georgetown, SC.
-UPDATE: Concrete small concrete squares have been poured in the ground to identify the tee with distance and hole# listed on the square. Not big enough to be a teepad, but enough to identify the tee area. (A friend from back in MB gave me the upate)
-Great for beginners, one can learn to develop strategies for throwing around trees and other obstacles here at this course.
-The trees actually give the course a fair challenge for beginners. You'll need different strategies on different holes.
-Great course to work on ones short game
-Has a varying lengths for the different holes. There are a couple distance holes around 300ft. The shortest being 110ft.
-For such a small area, the pin placement is excellent and well thought out. For what it's worth!
-There are bathrooms (porto's).
-The rec-center does sell discs for 6$. It's the cheaper plastic's, but they have Innova, Discraft, & lightning. Did I mention they sell for 6$.
-The directors of the park were very nice and helpful. They are always glad to see new faces throwing discs.
-Nice signs with an over-view map of the course.
-Grass is well manicured and the park is well maintained.
-They have one mosquito trap on the front half of the course! (You WILL still want to bring some Deet or Off)
-Scorecards available in the office, or from this site.

FYI: There is a Farmers Market open in the Parking lot during the summer, and Tennis Courts as well. In fact, look for the Tennis courts and you'll find the Disc Golf Course.
Cons: -The baskets could use another row of chains. I realize they were donated to the course, but I've still had many blow through shots.
-It's a very small course. This course most common phrase uttered by first time visitors is "You mean this is it???". I think that says it all. Remember, this is a park course, nothing more.
-Navigation can be a little tricky on your first round. It's usually not an issue on following rounds.
-Park attendees can be oblivious to Disc Golf.
-East Bay is right on the Bay, when the tide comes in, it can cross the road, and flood the backside of the Course. Holes #7,#8,& #9 are prone to flooding from the high tide. The water does recede fairly quickly though.
-If you are going to play here, consult a tide chart for when high tide is.
-The bugs can be vicious on the backside, starting around hole 6. (I mentioned it earlier, bring repellent!) I've been using Avon's "Skin So Soft Bug spray/sunscreen" and it's actually kept the bugs at bay. They will still hover around you, as if they were looking in a window, but it should keep them off of you.
Other Thoughts: East Bay Park is a nice little small town rec course. I think that this course will improve and develop over time. So the more people play here, the better! This is a recreational course, not a professional course, so bear that in mind if you come here. For years Tupelo Bay has been the only option for people in the Myrtle Beach area. The nearest courses being 60 miles in any direction. It's good to have more than one course to choose from, and it's nice to actually see a few obstacles. If you are in the Grand Strand area, I would encourage you to come down and play here. I probably wouldn't make a special trip to play this course, but if you live in the area it's worth checking out. Georgetown County needs to see people playing this course, because that could lead to more courses in the area!
For your GPS
310 Greenwich Dr,
Georgetown, SC 29440
Hole one is across from the Tennis Courts

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.