Georgetown, SC 
East Bay Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The Course that Time Forgot

1    1/19/2015   1/19/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really beautiful parcel of land that borders the bay. Very scenic.

The land is overall fairly well utilized, and there are actually a few thoughtful drives/approaches that face the player. Most holes have both a forehand line and a backhand line which makes this course very beginner friendly. There is good separation between disc golf and the playground which minimizes disc safety concerns.

Portajohn on site and a nice playground if you want to bring the family

The water hazard/OB (marshy area) on 5 didn't look like it was any fun to throw into, but it did at least make you think a bit about that drive.
Cons: Unfortunately there are lots here:

The baskets are in terrible shape. They started as cheap single chain baskets but have been beaten up pretty badly. There are some laminated patches on the basket trays (not sure why). Hole 8's pole appears to have been broken at some point and the basket is secured to a stake in the ground.

The baskets themselves (most of them) are moveable, meaning the layout you see on the map may not be where the baskets are located. It seems that someone probably stole the basket for #2. I used a tree as a target on that one.

The tee boxes are single patio stones. One for the red tee, one for the white per hole. Unfortunately, on many holes, they are both painted white. This makes navigating the course very difficult because there is no signage (see below) so without help you don't know which tee is which or even which way to aim. A course map is an absolute necessity when you come here.

There is basically no navigation. Hole 6 is the only hole with a sign still in place. Hole 7's tee marker is the only one I saw that was numbered. I couldn't find the tee for 5, and given the fact that the baskets are mobile, the map wasn't that much of a help because the previous basket location is the only clue there to help find the next tee. I wandered around for 20 minutes before I found the first tee.

Baskets are not numbered, which on some courses is not a problem. But when you can see all of the baskets at the same time and they are all so close together, having them labeled would be a huge plus. In addition, the fact that the #2 basket is missing also made things pretty confusing.

Hole lengths are all very short and the course gets monotonous. I am sure the hole lengths are a bit off as well since the baskets are mobile.

Wear some old shoes...there was a ton of standing water when I played which by the looks of it is a pretty frequent problem.
Other Thoughts: It is always great for towns to get a new DG course. But when not used much, we get courses like this that have not gotten much TLC over the past few years. I have to wonder if courses like this are doing harm or good. On one hand, it gets the sport some exposure. But the exposure here is unfortunately so low quality that it might deter people from continuing to play. I think with a bit of work, there could be a decent beginners' course in this park, but as of right now, there doesn't seem to be much initiative to maintain this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 At least the scenery was nice...

1    7/31/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: misawa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's right on the bay, so the view is awesome. Easy course when you can find the tee pads. Wind adds some challenge. No real hazards to contend with.
Cons: Lack of a decent map - i used one of the signs on hand to try and figure it out, but it was of little use. Gave up trying to find the tees for 5 or 6.
Disc catchers are barely functional.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I didn't score this course lower is because it at least gave me something. The grass had not been cut the day i was there and the provided maps look like they were taped to real estate signs - and they weren't very good to use.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Homer Review

5+    5/17/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 265  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Love the setting of this course. Beautiful views of Winyah Bay.
- Layout works well with available land.
- Recently installed tee markers (short and long) makes it easier to navigate than before.
- Rarely are there other players so it is a peaceful place to play.
- Does not take long to play, which can be good if you are short on time.
- Lots of ace run opportunities (I have only hit one in ~100 rounds) but still makes it fun
Cons: - Frequently the course can be wet during high tide and after heavy rain.
- If you hate wind, you wont like it here. It is easily the biggest challenge here when it is blowing (makes for great practice)
- Sometimes there are non disc golf players who don't realize there is a course there and will walk their dog around, or setup a picnic. (infrequent, but does happen)
Other Thoughts: - I live right in Georgetown, so I can walk to the course. Perfect place for me to play a quick round and get some practice.
- Sure it is not an elite course, but is perfectly suited for someone who lives nearby to get some practice in. I love it for that.
- I hope the town continues to support it to some degree. The baskets are okay for now, but they could use replacements within 2-3 years.
- East Bay Park is near downtown Georgetown which is a great area for walking around, having a drink or dinner. I am so glad this course is here, hence my relatively high rating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So pumped that Georgetown has a course!

1    4/6/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has one element that makes it extremely challenging--the wind.

By playing your own tee pads, you can make it a more interesting course. I used the concrete from the playground in the west corner of the park as the tee for #2 and #4. For #5, I used the road behind the tee (East Bay Dr). For #8, I used the east corner of the park (as far northeast as I could go before I hit the swampy bits).
Cons: Baskets suck.

I would like to have seen more pins extremely close to baskets, protecting them.

And, of course, mosquitoes suck.

When I played, many of the vinyl tee location signs where either gone or blown to various parts of the course.
Other Thoughts: Georgetown has a course! I grew up in tha G-Funk, but didn't start playing DG until I moved to California. I was shocked when I came home and visited my mom and she told me there was a disc golf course in Georgetown. It barely passes as a "course", but still.

Anybody that complains about this course does not understand how awesome it is that Georgetown has a course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Why is it here?

2-4    6/17/2010   6/17/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 87  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It is a course in an area where there is not many.
Cons: Layout is confusing at first. Crappy baskets. When rain or high tide don't even bother playing. It is like a sponge and holds the water.
Other Thoughts: Spend money to install NEW baskets and redesign it! I'd strongly suggest 9 Innova DISCatchers! These can show # on the basket to avoid hole # confusion.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for practice

5+    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Citadelly
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for practice & keeping your disc!

Light woods/trees, light pluff mud spots, no water to be found! (low hazards course)

Great area with views!
Cons: Bugs - (Wear bug spray)

Movable baskets

Not a lot of people out playing : (
Other Thoughts: Entire course is visible within park, some car & walking traffic all around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: leftyone
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: short course fantastic for beginners
Well maintained
Signs at every tee
Cons: They really should mark the baskets so you know which one your throwing to. I would also like to see some kind of markers even if it's a flag to show where the tee pad should be

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie Central

2-4    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a free 9 hole course with plenty of activities for the family. This complex has portable toilets and a big playground for the kids. The 9 hole course is great for beginners or players wanting to boost an ace or birdie record. I found that the wind conditions gave the holes a nice challenge. This course is great for beginners to intermediate players. There were signs with the tee numbers at every hole. With being in Georgetown, a smaller city, the traffic noise is very low. The scenery is very nice with a beautiful view of the water. There are no water hazzards and very little widlife.
Cons: Although there are tee signs, the goals are not numbered. So be very careful not to play the wrong basket. This course is a fast, fun course for beginners, however better players may find themselves bored. The goals are instep baskets with only a few chains, causing some pop-outs.
Other Thoughts: This may not be the toughest course, but is a great course to practice control and attempt ace shots. I found myself overshooting alot of baskets with ease and was hitting birdies alot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bland

1    5/20/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 305  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*A nice view of the bay in the distance with some tall marsh grass
*Some nice tall pines and well manicured green grass in a clean park.
*Being a short, relatively open, Green level course it would be a good place to teach a brand new beginner how to throw.
Cons:
Basics
-Tees: not marked at all. With no markers I just threw near the tee sign.
-Baskets: In Step baskets are weak, seem cheap with weak chains, and no numbers on them.
-Navigation: there's a map on every tee sign but since the tees aren't marked and there are usually several baskets in sight, it can still be confusing which basket to aim for. It would really help to have numbers on the baskets!

Design
-Terrain: Too open and all very similar. Every hole feels about the same.
-Fairways: Lacking variety because too many straight holes and no doglegs right. 6 Straight/ 3 Left.
-Elevation changes: None; it's completely flat.
-Length variety: Very little. 11 of 110-185/ 5 of 200-285/ 1 of 305 ft.
-Greens: too open for my taste, so overall they were below average

Amenities
-Very limited. There were a few trash cans, but no warm up basket, no message board, no benches.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level = Green (most suited for kids, short throwers, and players rated 775-825.)
It's a good course for beginners because it's open and they can't lose a disc, but more experienced players won't find much challenge here.

~2 sets of tees allow you to play 18 holes, but the 2nd set aren't marked in any way and are just 25 ft straight behind the original 9. It's rather boring that they don't really add anything but a little bit of length.
~Tee signs: functional but below average
~An extremely basic map and a basic score card are available online. Make sure to bring the map with you. Having unmarked tees combined with several unnumbered baskets in sight it would be really hard to know where to throw without the map. Even so, I still made a few mistakes and had to replay to the correct hole.
~When I played in May the horse flies were horrible, nasty, and really annoying. This may only happen at certain times, but it was unpleasant.

As my rating indicates, my enjoyment of this course was quite low. Some aspects can't be changed-- such as being flat and a small park with all the same terrain. But if a few changes were made it would be much more enjoyable. Here are a few of my main suggestions: 1) Mark the tees. Even better would be to put down rubber pads; 2) Number the baskets. This would reduce a lot of navigation frustration and thus increase the "First Time Friendly" (FTF) factor; 3) Get new baskets that are permanently installed. My personal preferences are Mach Vs or Chainstars.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Endangered course

1    1/19/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 218  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 8.1 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free! Next closest course is a play to pay over 30 minutes away.
This course is a good family outing on a cool (non-windy) day.
9 baskets marked with small vinyl signs. Tees 10-18 are around 30 feet behind the signs, look for reminence of white paint.

Birdie fest that would boost your ace count if the baskets were not mach 1.
Lightly wooded, enough to create challenge to beginning and recreational players.
Rec center sells a small amount of discs for $6.00 each (cash only)
Cons: Tee pads are hard to find patches of grass that are sometimes marked with white paint. Course does not offer a challenge to highly skilled players, unless the 30 mph winds are blowing off the bay. Wind can be a huge factor.
Locals say the bugs and lack of shade are brutal in the summer.
Course is muddy and flooded, the tide comes right up and can overtake the course. BRING WATER PROOF SHOES.
The basket of hole 8 sits infront of a road and a scum filled ditch.
Navigation can be confusing for the first 9, but the signs are usually nearby to help, but baskets have no numbers.
Other Thoughts: I hear this course may soon be on the extinct list when baskets are sent away to a new course. Also baskets are not secured and theft may cause this course to become prematurely extinct. If you are in the area and want to try to boost your ace count, hit this course before the baskets are gone.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.