Georgetown, SC 
East Bay Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great for practice

5+    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Citadelly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for practice & keeping your disc!

Light woods/trees, light pluff mud spots, no water to be found! (low hazards course)

Great area with views!
Cons: Bugs - (Wear bug spray)

Movable baskets

Not a lot of people out playing : (
Other Thoughts: Entire course is visible within park, some car & walking traffic all around.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie Central

2-4    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a free 9 hole course with plenty of activities for the family. This complex has portable toilets and a big playground for the kids. The 9 hole course is great for beginners or players wanting to boost an ace or birdie record. I found that the wind conditions gave the holes a nice challenge. This course is great for beginners to intermediate players. There were signs with the tee numbers at every hole. With being in Georgetown, a smaller city, the traffic noise is very low. The scenery is very nice with a beautiful view of the water. There are no water hazzards and very little widlife.
Cons: Although there are tee signs, the goals are not numbered. So be very careful not to play the wrong basket. This course is a fast, fun course for beginners, however better players may find themselves bored. The goals are instep baskets with only a few chains, causing some pop-outs.
Other Thoughts: This may not be the toughest course, but is a great course to practice control and attempt ace shots. I found myself overshooting alot of baskets with ease and was hitting birdies alot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Throwin on the Bay

5+    10/21/2011   9/19/2009
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2012
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: East Bay park is in a park along the Winyah bay in Georgetown, SC.
-UPDATE: Concrete small concrete squares have been poured in the ground to identify the tee with distance and hole# listed on the square. Not big enough to be a teepad, but enough to identify the tee area. (A friend from back in MB gave me the upate)
-Great for beginners, one can learn to develop strategies for throwing around trees and other obstacles here at this course.
-The trees actually give the course a fair challenge for beginners. You'll need different strategies on different holes.
-Great course to work on ones short game
-Has a varying lengths for the different holes. There are a couple distance holes around 300ft. The shortest being 110ft.
-For such a small area, the pin placement is excellent and well thought out. For what it's worth!
-There are bathrooms (porto's).
-The rec-center does sell discs for 6$. It's the cheaper plastic's, but they have Innova, Discraft, & lightning. Did I mention they sell for 6$.
-The directors of the park were very nice and helpful. They are always glad to see new faces throwing discs.
-Nice signs with an over-view map of the course.
-Grass is well manicured and the park is well maintained.
-They have one mosquito trap on the front half of the course! (You WILL still want to bring some Deet or Off)
-Scorecards available in the office, or from this site.

FYI: There is a Farmers Market open in the Parking lot during the summer, and Tennis Courts as well. In fact, look for the Tennis courts and you'll find the Disc Golf Course.
Cons: -The baskets could use another row of chains. I realize they were donated to the course, but I've still had many blow through shots.
-It's a very small course. This course most common phrase uttered by first time visitors is "You mean this is it???". I think that says it all. Remember, this is a park course, nothing more.
-Navigation can be a little tricky on your first round. It's usually not an issue on following rounds.
-Park attendees can be oblivious to Disc Golf.
-East Bay is right on the Bay, when the tide comes in, it can cross the road, and flood the backside of the Course. Holes #7,#8,& #9 are prone to flooding from the high tide. The water does recede fairly quickly though.
-If you are going to play here, consult a tide chart for when high tide is.
-The bugs can be vicious on the backside, starting around hole 6. (I mentioned it earlier, bring repellent!) I've been using Avon's "Skin So Soft Bug spray/sunscreen" and it's actually kept the bugs at bay. They will still hover around you, as if they were looking in a window, but it should keep them off of you.
Other Thoughts: East Bay Park is a nice little small town rec course. I think that this course will improve and develop over time. So the more people play here, the better! This is a recreational course, not a professional course, so bear that in mind if you come here. For years Tupelo Bay has been the only option for people in the Myrtle Beach area. The nearest courses being 60 miles in any direction. It's good to have more than one course to choose from, and it's nice to actually see a few obstacles. If you are in the Grand Strand area, I would encourage you to come down and play here. I probably wouldn't make a special trip to play this course, but if you live in the area it's worth checking out. Georgetown County needs to see people playing this course, because that could lead to more courses in the area!
For your GPS
310 Greenwich Dr,
Georgetown, SC 29440
Hole one is across from the Tennis Courts

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Day By The Bay

1    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short course. Great for rookies or those woking on the short game.
-Clean, well maintained course tucked away in a beautiful coastal neighborhood on the bay.
- Good signage w/course map on each sign. (Signs on hole 5 & 7 were switched)
-Course flows pretty well and is fairly easy to follow.
-Restrooms (portajohns)
-Terrain is flat and mostly open. Could be great for rolling.
- Park pretty easy to locate.
Cons: -Course Not Permenant - Baskets are Mach I Portables
-No tee pads - Tees are marked with a sign and a little area of white spray paint on the ground.
-Potential for confusion in locating targets & tees due to non-permenant nature of the course.
-Because of small course, there is potential for crisscrossing on busy days.
Other Thoughts: This is my 1st time playing in the great state of South Carolina. Go Gamecocks!!!
The park was pretty easy to find but we did not use the DGCR page directions. We took Rt 17 but turned on to St James Street and then made the left on to Duke Street. The park is between the neighborhood and the bay so there is an opportunity to see some wildlife over the marshes. We spotted quite a few water fowl during the round which was a cool treat.
The course itself is short but mostly open with large, tall pine trees scattered throughout. The trees are used fairly well to give some interest and challenge to the course. There is some OB that does come into play. (A little marshy area to the left of hole 7 & a road and ditch that runs behind hole 8)
Since it is on the bay, there is a fairly steady breeze. It was a beautiful August day so it wasn't that bad but I'm sure it is a major factor on lesser weather days.
Though it is a 9 hole, the alternate tees are not much longer but do give the most holes a different look and often make you alter your drive from what you did on the short tee.
After our round we chatted with some locals who were also playing the course for the first time. They gave us a little background info into the history of the little course. Thanks Tom & Dan!!! Seems odd that with such a great ball golf scene in this area there are few disc courses. But if you find yourself in Mrytle Beach and in need of getting that Disc Golf Fix, enjoy a pleasant day at East Bay.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Bad basket cost me an Ace!

1    7/18/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: Gamecock
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners and those who never played before. Park is close to bay, so wind adds to challenge. Extra course to play off US 17 when traveling along the SC coast between Charleston and Myrtle Beach. It's now playable 24/7!
Cons: Sad to see thin-chain temporary baskets for a brand new course. I missed making an ace that a DISCatcher basket may have caught! Layout was confusing at first. It may need redesign to improve safety - if more people were playing all at the same time.
Other Thoughts: While the Georgetown Parks & Recreation Dept. should be praised for creating this new course, they should be encouraged to spend money to install NEW baskets. I'd strongly suggest 9 Innova DISCatchers! These can show # on the basket to avoid hole # confusion.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.