La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Back 18 Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #3 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: saintsfan200
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good Use of Elevation
- Trees in play on many holes
- #9 and #16 were my favorites
- Longer holes
- Signs and pads are ok, most holes are easy to find
Cons: - #1 and #2 no longer exist
- While there is good use of the land west of the parking lot/baseball fields, holes #11-15 are fairly weak (Long, open, relatively flat)
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend parking in the lot by the baseball fields off Foster Rd. and starting on #16, then 17, 18, on to 3-10. And skipping 11-15.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Design is a Mixed Bag

1    6/2/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The setting is a pretty typical multi-use park with older trees mixed with some open spaces. I like the design on most of the holes here. Tee pads are situated so that you are forced to throw under low-hanging branches or throw a safe shot around that won't give you a look at birdie. There are multiple pin positions on most holes. One hole (#7?) had a A position under 250 feet and a D position over 700 feet. It's rare to have a piece of land that allows for that.

The park has moderate elevation changes, and many holes use these well, particularly when you are forced to throw over a hill but under branches. There are usually multiple lines to the basket of varying risks. On the shorter holes I found myself debating a safter forehand route (I have no distance with my forehand) vs a backhand route that was tighter but would get me to the basket.

Tee pads are concrete (and sometimes are part of the sidewalk, which is also concrete, as sidewalks tend to be), and the tee signs do a good job of showing the various positions.

The park is all grass, which wouldn't be noteworthy in most parts of the country, but it was the only course I played on my Southern California trip that was all grass. It was pretty wet in spots.
Cons: I mentioned that I like the design of most holes. But holes 11 and 12 are really bad. Hole 11 has a 30-foot wide fairway with a parking lot on the right and street on the left. Do you really want people hanging a hyzer out over the parking lot? How is a beginner supposed to play this safely? Hole 12 has a wider fairway but the same general issue. Given the space in the park, it didn't appear that either of these was strictly necessary. Dents in car doors don't build support for disc golf.

Navigation was fine in most places, but I was glad to have the map.
Other Thoughts:
I didn't get to play the front side due to some walkathon that had it closed. Too bad, as I would have liked to have seen the other side. In spite of it being closed, I didn't find the back side too crowded (I only played through two groups).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/30/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being on a suburban multi-use park, the upkeep here is great. The grass is mowed and the course is clean.

There are a couple really nicely designed holes here. Hole 3 requires a tough tee shot over or through a couple guardian trees. Hole 7 requires nice placement off the tee to have a look at a long approach around the corner.

Navigation is pretty intuitive, although a couple blind tee shots may have you running up the fairway to find the basket.

There is a nice little shop near the first tee where you can grab a drink or snack and check out their small selection of discs.
Cons: The course feels very shoe-horned into the space it occupies. Way too many holes play along alternate use areas. Whether it's a baseball field, busy road, or parking lot. It even plays over a number of sidewalks, so make sure to check your surroundings before you throw.

I want to like Hole 11. A short shot with OB tight on the left and right as well as a double mando taking away any hyzer lines creates a very tough shot. BUT the penalites for missing go outside of the game itself. Go OB to the right and you run the risk of hitting parked cars, on the left you're throwing into traffic. If it was water on either side, I would say it's an awesome hole, but the safety concerns completely ruin it.

Being in a busy park playing along a busy road means the course is very exposed. There's no real seclusion.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the back 18 more than the front. I thought there were a few more really creative shots here. However, the safety concerns are much worse here. Your best bet is to play at an off time: mid day during the week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Compliment

1    3/28/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 105  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two 18-Hole Courses On-Site
Concrete Tee Pads
Great Tee Signs
Good Use of Elevation
Good Layout
A Variety of Distances
Very Well-Maintained
Multiple Pin Positions
Requires a Few Different Shot Types
Restrooms In the Park
Practice Basket
Less Crowded Than Front Course
Cons:
Navigation (Some Tees are on Sidewalks)
No Benches
Very Few Trash Cans
Close to School (Causes Traffic at Times)
Plays (Dangerously) Close to Road
Other Thoughts:
The Back 18 at La Mirada is a nice compliment to the front/lakeside course. The biggest downside to the back course is the front course being there and the two often being compared.

The back course, much like the front, plays through beautiful grassy rolling hills and is very well manicured. Each hole has a concrete tee pad and multiple pin positions with the position marked on the tee sign with red tape.

Navigating the back course can be a real challenge. Not only are the baskets numbered incorrectly, some of the tee pads are on the sidewalk and hard to spot. I had a guide when I played and I would recommend a guide or map to first-timers.

From the "pro shop", head past the practice baskets, and around the tennis and handball courts to the first tee pad. The first hole plays down toward the baseball fields, and hole 2 plays back up towards the water park. The next few holes 3 through 5 follow the same pattern and play to and away from the water park.

Holes 6 and 7 play closer to the houses at the edge of the park and are two of the longer holes on the course at 440 and 452 feet.

Hole 8 is fairly short and plays away from the road, but the road and OB will come into play on several of the next few holes. Hole 9 plays back down, with the road just a short distance behind the basket. The road really comes into play again on holes 11 and 12. For a RHBH or LHFH player it can be dangerously close and if you don't have exceptional accuracy you can easily end up in the busy road or the side of a car.

Holes 13 and 14 also play along the road but have a lot more room for error and play towards smaller, less traveled roads. After 14 turn away from the road and hole 15 plays long, at 573ft. and around the baseball diamond.

The last few holes are pretty easy to navigate and pretty straight forward with 18 ending near hole 1.

Overall the back course at La Mirada, in its own way, lives up to the front course. While the front has more of a wow factor, gets better reviews, and easier to navigate, the back is a lot less crowded, longer, and get less use by other park go-ers. If you are in the park be sure to play both courses, you won't regret it.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Back 18

5+    2/18/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The back 18 shares many of the same pros of the front including:

- Moderate elevation changes throughout.

- Well maintained grassy terrain with mature trees

- A great mix of holes with tight shot holes, a few tricky mandos a handful of long bombs mixed in.

- Alternate pin placements on several holes, however not as many as on the front.

- Tee signs throughout with red tape indicating the current pin position.

- Crowds are always lighter on the back 18. If you are in a hurry and the front is busy, the back is your best bet to get quality disc golf in less time.
Cons: Navigation is a serious issue here as many of the baskets have the wrong numbers on them.

Some of the holes play dangerously close to the road. Holes 11-15 play in a tight area bordering the road and the parking lot. These holes offer the risk of OB to make it interesting however also a good chance of hitting cars for a lot of players.

Also the ground can get really soggy, especially around the 18th tee pad. It can be really muddy for days after it rains.
Other Thoughts: The biggest problem with this course is that it gets compared to the Front 18. It is a solid course with a great deal of challenge and variety but it just falls short on the wow factor.

This course is a great alternative to the front on busy days. But the fact of the matter is that more people are on the front because the front is more fun. It is definitely worth your time if you are visiting but it probably won't impress like the front.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bliss turns into tragedy

2-4    9/18/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The holes are quite challenging and one massive dogleg with trees and everything. I love it.
Cons: Not nearly as good as the front 18. In fact, once you get to the last 9 holes of this side...you can sometimes get lost in just trying to figure out where the pin is. I mean the baskets are not even numbered correctly on most of the final 10 holes....
Other Thoughts: Wish it were a little more like the front 18, but I still will play the back for a challenge.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 La Mirada Back

1    8/26/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -La Mirada's back 18 shares many of the characteristics of the Front 18: well-groomed, grassy rolling hills with many mature trees to shape lines and provide obstacles. Mandatories (well-marked red arrows in most cases) force you to take the route the designer intended.
- Decent use of elevation. Nothing drastic but in play throughout.
- Decent mix of long, short, left, right. Generally shorter and slightly more technical than the front 18.
- Detailed signs showing all the pin positions, but do not show the current set-up.
Cons: - Due to the manner in which they water the grass, the ground is soggy in multiple places. Take care not to soak your shoes on otherwise sunny dry days. In places, the wetness creates muddy or slick tee conditions.
- Inconsistent tee pads: some are merely sidewalk with red tape denoting the tee, others are short, slippery concrete that provide sketchy footing at best.
- Plays very close to roads, parking lots, a water park with blaring music, and baseball fields. In general has a very urban feel.
Other Thoughts: - This course made me nervous: random bits of sloshy wet ground out of nowhere, slippery tee pad conditions, throwing through four tight mandos with roadway to the left and parking lot to the right, and throwing alongside a baseball field's infield fence.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not the same

2-4    3/29/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: DuXterra
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Back "18" is nice, with some nice long throws as well as some more technical holes. Less crowded as well as less holes that play near each other.
Cons: There were not 18 holes. I understand this is not the courses fault as its a problem with the town, but still rather strange. Last time I played there was no water park and I remember it being much nicer with out it, longer holes and more trees.
Other Thoughts: I played this course 4 years ago when the course was run by a different person, the water park was not there, and it was a full 18 on the back. I understand that things will change but I feel that this was not a change for the better. The course just isnt the same, its not maintained as well and although its still a great course and I recommend playing it I can no longer say its one of my favorites.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Better Half

5+    1/12/2010   6/19/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of space and elevations. Very challenging (I love a course that can fustrate you at times). Regular tourneys and great locals. The park is beautiful and fairly maintained. Signage is very good, accurate, and easy to follow (although, they need to indicate which placement the hole is on blind shots with a grease pencil) Better tee pads on this side
Cons: A few hole are just too long for anyone less than Am/Pro. I don't mind it, but I think it doesn't help average players get a rise out of the course.

A few holes have been deleted near the baseball field, so it isn't a full 18 anymore. 11 thru 14 have been removed

No restroom available on this side. Handle your businees b4 you get there. Needs more trash cans so the park can be kept cleaner.

Also, the flow was very weak, as there were long walks (well over the PDGA recomended 50 ft., many were over 250') from hole to tee.

The mandys are overboard. With a hole that is very long or a challenge already without the mandys, it is not needed. Although, I know they will help less skilled players stay in bounds and make the park safer overall
Other Thoughts: The course is great to play if you have some decent skills and experience in the game. I just worry that the length and difficulty may deter growth in the sport in the area (my freinds that play recreationally won't join me here). Some short tees for begineers may be a solution.

The course need some loving to get this place to the glory it truly deserves. Make some short tees for Beginner/ Rec. players. This place should be the Meca for Disc Golf in OC, it just doesn't appeal to every player and sadly, it could. Basically, the difficulty and shear volume of holes carries this course and the cons outweigh them

No favorite hole as there really isn't any signature hole on this course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.