Disc Golf Store
La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Back 18 Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #8 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    1/11/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation changes add another dimension on many holes
-Wide variety of holes require different types of shots
-Trees add some challenge, especially on holes 7-9.
-Using drains in the fairways as OB markers adds another layer of challenge, especially playing #4 as an "island hole" with the whole right side of the drain down the fairway as OB.
-Usually not as busy as the front course
Cons: -FLOODING. Not as apparent on the back 18 as it is on the front, but under the trees between #3 and #4 fairways often has an inch of standing water.
-Holes 11-14 are a little boring.
-Hole 5 and the hole that wraps around the ball field have been shortened to accomodate the loss of the original #1 and #2. Those holes were the only LONG holes on the course and were fun to play.
-Navigation can be tricky. Bring a map.
-Bathroom between holes 3 and 4 is NEVER open.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course when the front is jammed up. It's (back 18) not a top notch course but the 2 courses here are definitely among the best in the LA area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -La Mirada Park is a great one, and a great setting for disc golf. The rolling hills add challenge and scenery, Mature trees add obstacles and a nice piney scent while you hike through the course, and the course is well-maintained in terms of mowed grass, litter, etc.
-It's great that there are two 18-hole courses in one park
-While not heavily stocked in plastic, the pro shop is great. You can grab snacks or drinks, but the best part is the trade-in deal. Bring in your used discs and they'll give you half of whatever they'll sell them for in trade-in value. Great, simple way to trade out the old with the new in your bag.
-Pretty hard to lose a disc here. The holes are generally open, so you won't have to track any down in the brush to the right or left of the fairway.
-Even though the holes are open, there's still enough challenge for more experienced disc golfers, and this is a great design to introduce newbies to the game
-Despite its reputation, I rarely had to deal with bottlenecks on the course, and I was playing alone on a Sunday. Whether it was a slow day or not I don't know, but it felt like the course flowed nicely.
Cons: -There are some drainage issues throughout the course. It can get a little soggy at times. You won't be covered in mud, but it's a little weird to see soggy grass in Southern California.
-A lot of non-disc golfers use the park, and they can get in your way. At least two groups of people were relaxing/picnicking under a tree in the middle of the fairway on a couple of holes, and all I could really do is try to avoid them and be ready to yell "fore".
-The layout is kind of intuitive, but also a little cramped. There are several shared fairways, and there are places where there are several baskets to different holes grouped together and you can't be sure what you're supposed to be aiming for.
-Hole #11 is just a terrible, terrible idea. One of the most narrow fairways I've ever seen in 16 years of throwing, and on one side you have a parking lot full of cars and on the other a main road. Anyone but the straightest thrower in disc golf would be terrified of hitting a car or causing an accident.
Other Thoughts: Apparently Steve Ricco of Legacy Discs was throwing this course shortly after I finished; it would have been fun to track him down and say "hey, give me some pointers on hurling this Cannon of yours". I didn't get a chance to play the front 18 at La Mirada; I'll have to come back later for that. But it seems that the consensus is the back 18 are not as great. I wouldn't be surprised if that were the case. Still, it's fantastic to have 2 18-hole courses right in one place, and even if the back 18 aren't as great, I'd still play them again. Maybe I'll just walk hole #11 next time though...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Liked it better than the Front

1    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This course is very much an extension of the "Front" course and shares many of the same features and amenities. The park is beautiful with soft green grass and lots of mature trees. Plenty of elevation in play on this course along with a variety of lefty vs. righty holes. Not quite as many pin positions on the back side as the front but still enough to change up the feel of the course. Fantastic tee signs with tape indicating the current pin position. Awesome locals: I was playing solo and every group I came up to let me play through without me even asking. Restrooms, drinking fountain, and a minimalistic pro-shop on site. Practice basket by the pro-shop.

Special kudos to the local woman who was out cleaning the graffiti off the baskets.
Cons:
Posted distances on the back side were just as far off as the ones on the front. Some of the concrete tee pads on the back side are showing their age with cracks or sunken spots that pool water. The course was pretty soggy when I played. Baskets #11-15 were missing when I played the course.
Other Thoughts:
The locals have a temporary configuration set up which replays some of the holes to make a full round of 18 available. I liked the balance of long vs. short better on the "Back" course vs. the "Front". The birdie holes seems more birdieable and the longer holes more challenging.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Missing Baskets & Navigation Issues Affect My Rating!

1    4/3/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's absolutely a lovely green grassy, sprawling park with rolling hills. Maintained very well. Just a wonderful place for a course. Lot's of beautiful old growth trees. The back part of LaMirada seems less crowded than the front making it great for disc golf. The signs are very informative. Tee pads are suitable. Plenty of holes for the big arms to let err Rip. I like the variety - Long holes versus shorter ones.
Cons: Even with the map I had printed out, me (and my wife spotter extraordinaire) were busy always running ahead to find out whether we were playing the right basket or not. It started with the fun # 1 throw. The number on the correct basket read 2. So we started confused, found my way for the middle holes and then somehow missed a few holes at the end. My other major con for me was there wasn't one hole here that really had the "Wow" factor. You know, that hole where you think to yourself, "This is really a great disc golf hole." Lots of OK to good holes but no memorable ones. Not a signature hole in sight!
Other Thoughts: If I'm being frank (Like Simon Cowell so often says) I was really disappointed in the back 18 here. Being in such a lovely park and with the LaMirada mystique, I was expecting more. Number 1 thing that needs to be done to help the first timers with the navigation issues. Secondly, I feel this course could use a slight makeover in it's design. With this wonderful ground, I would think one would be able to design a top flight 18 course.

AUTHORS NOTE: I've been informed by a local that the 4-5 baskets that were removed are still AWOL. The fools that I talked to led me to believe that I had somehow missed them. So I feel better about my course navigating skills (after 31 years and 200+ courses played) and I'm still comfortable with the rating that I bestowed on the Back 18 here.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Long, and Challenging

5+    2/7/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin positions for every hole that change semi-regulary
Very well manicured grass and hills. I never see mowers out there, but it's always short and never overgrown.
Lots of trees that are very well trimmed and taken care of
Plenty of break spots among the hills and trees
Lots of elevation change, especially Hole # 1 and # 3 which are epic downhill "air it out" shots
Baskets are newer and well maintained
Very creative use of obstacles
Great tee signs
Great Local scene with plenty of friendly people - have never run into a single D-Bag on the back.
Free to play
Cons: One hole that plays to 750+ feet is a bit of an endurance test that seems a bit unnecessary
Only 14 holes on the back due to dispute with the current management and the city. Apparently, too many cars and people were getting hit on a few of the holes that play along the back parking lot.
The "Back Hill" appears to be a hookup spot for High school students as there tends to be questionable trash littered there.
No benches and very few trashcans, 1 bathroom that is questionable at best. I've never been brave enough to venture in. Looks like something out of an after school special.
Several strange mandos that make the holes that much harder. I especially dislike the mando on Hole # 2 - it's already a monster uphill shot, why throw in the mando at that point?
Other Thoughts: The Back 18 at La Mirada is significantly more secluded and less crowded than the Front 18, due to there being limited recreation opportunities for non disc golfers. You won't find picnickers in this section of the park, as there are no facilities for them to use. Many like this feature of the Back 18 vs. the Front 18, but it really isn't as scenic. There are lots of epic downhill shots on the Back 18 though, much more so than the Front.

Big arms will feel more at home in this section of the park, as plenty of the holes play longer than 300 feet, with a few in the 4 to 500 range. The monster hole in the very back of the park seems to play to around 750-800 feet. The backside is heavily favored by locals and seasoned players, more so than the front. There are only a handful of easy birds on the back, while there are plenty on the front.

Signature holes seem to be # 1 and # 3, both of which play down a large hill that drops about 80 feet in elevation. # 1 is a straight shot while # 3 is a massive RHBH hyzer among a few medium sized trees. I really like the Back 18 at LaMa but not as much as the front. It's hard to beat the Lake, island, and bigger trees on the front 18. Also, the pro shop with snacks and discs is located there.

I play with plenty of people who prefer the back primarily due to the fact that there aren't any non-disc golfers back there, with the exception of the baseball field which rarely seems to be in use and the walkway along the first few holes. Overall, this is a fantastic alternate to the Front 18 and if you are there to play the front, don't miss the back as well. However, most players who only want to play 18 are probably better off playing the front. If I had my choice and could only play 18, I'd choose the front every time.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/7/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shares many positive traits with the Front 18 course. Good cement tee pads and great maintenance, with expansive grassy areas that are reminiscent of a top-notch course like Lincoln Ridge. Appears to have new and improved signs in the past year. Rotated pin locations keep things fresh. Palm and cypress trees give an effective California vibe. More elevation changes than ElDo. Has some really nice holes, like 3-7 and 16-18. Trees create some challenging drives, with some very low drives necessary, but also has a couple of crush opportunities. Very cool locals willing to let someone from out-of-state join in.
Cons: A few too many mandys and out-of bounds areas for my taste. As is the case on the front course, the course layout isn't very intuitive (i.e. the fairways aren't obvious when looking at the course from a distance). Fairly crowded course with some slippery wet grass here and there. Holes 12-15 have been removed, making this a 14-Hole course (minus a half a star).
Other Thoughts: One of the best choices for disc golf in SoCal (along with the Front 18), and likely the best in Orange County. Would be rated higher if it was an 18 hole course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big, open quiet course

5+    12/25/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of holes where you can unleash the beast and take a monster rip
-Lush green grass and large, old trees throughout the course
-Medium-large hills and great tee/pin placement make a place for every type of shot
-Seclusion...at least for half the course. The other half is right on a busy street. Very little foot-traffic and non-golfers, unlike the front 18
-FREEEEEEE!!!
-Practice basket and (pretty bad) pro shop with maps and scorecards available
-Some of the best signage in SoCal
-Multiple pin positions
-Longer and more open than the front 18
-Great baskets, moved once every 2 weeks or so
-Solid, grippy concrete tees
Cons: -A few holes have some pretty tough mandos and OB. 11 is a narrow strip about 20' x 130' or so with street (OB) on one side, parking lot (OB) on the other side and 3 or 4 mandos guiding you up the middle. One of the worst holes I have seen.
-Always lots of law enforcement officers in the parking lot
-Shortage of trash cans--->sometimes the beer cans walk off and plant themselves around the course
-Pro shop has gone way downhill since it was bought out and re-opened. Don't expect any advice on which discs to buy
Other Thoughts: Far superior in seclusion and openess to the Front 18, the Back 18 at La Mirada is a really fun place to do some hardcore DG. Bring your long arm...you're gonna need it. Hole 3 is long and downhill with some big trees between tee and basket. A great hole. 7 is an insanely long (>700') right-to-left dogleg with about 50 thick pine trees to weave around. Several other signature holes to look forward to.

Awesome course. Most of the time you can play it with nobody around. Park at the Western-most area of the parking lot right off Foster and start on 16 to save yourself some walking.

If you are playing a few SoCal courses, this one should definitely be on the short list.

**UPDATE**

Pins 11-15 and 2 of 3 practice pins have been pulled due to a dispute between the former and current proprietors of the pro shop.

-.5 discs

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 The other side

2-4    12/23/2008   6/17/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The back 18 at La Mirada has a totally different character from the front, and presents its own challenges. Like the front, most holes have some sort of elevation change through the hilly park. There are nice mature trees and well mowed grass throughout the park, and the trees are used very well in the course design. The trees clearly define some of the fairways, and often protect the pin.

Unlike the front half of the course, this side has a lot of length. There are a number of holes where you'll get to pull out a driver and rip it. There are a few shorter technical holes, but for the most part the fairways are longer and wider than on the front course. There are more places on this course where errant shots will be punished and will make the hole significantly more difficult.

The tee pads are all concrete, and are mostly in good shape. There are signs, though they are not always accurate, though navigation is never an issue. The flow of the course makes sense, and is easy to follow even without the nice course map.
Cons: As on the front course, there are numbering issues with the baskets, which occasionally makes things a little confusing. The tee pads are a bit inconsistent, and are not all the same length.

There are a few holes on this side that play very close to ball fields, roads, and parking lots. I don't particularly like the threat of hitting a car or ending up in the middle of a little league game with a drive that wouldn't otherwise be a terrible shot.

There is sometimes foot traffic through this part of the park, though this is much less of a problem on this side of the park. The other park users I've run into on the back 18 have generally tried to stay out of the way, and pay attention to disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This side of the course is definitely more challenging than the front course, but can be slightly harder to follow. If you're here, I would definitely play both sides, as they feel like totally different courses, and either would be worth playing in their own right. This course is a little less beginner friendly due to the challenge, but there is still not a big chance of losing a disc.

If you are in Southern California, this is one of the must play courses. The park offers two fun courses, and a great local scene with lots of friendly players. Every time I've played here, I end up joining a group of locals, and always have a great time playing with them.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.