La Mirada, CA
La Mirada Regional Park - Back 18 Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #14 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee: Mando arrows between the two trees in the foreground.



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    12/30/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: Harvy B.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Set up in a gorgeous manicured park
-The layout had a little bit of everything, shots to the right, shots to left, as well as short and long shots.
-The elevation changes were awesome. Hole one is a nice downhill shot, hole 2 was a tricky uphill shot with a mando, hole three was hilly to flat, etc...
-This is the first course I've been to with a pro-shop, I though that was pretty cool.
-Short walks between pins and pads.
-Friendly locals
-lots of tree's that enhance play not just a bunch of overgrown disc thieves.
-Great set-up
-All concrete pads
Cons: -It is easy to get confused on where the next tee-pad/pin is from time to time. Playing from hole 5 to 6 I got confused as to which pin I was supposed to shoot at since there were a number of baskets around and I couldn't see any numbers. The placard didn't help much because it was facing the wrong direction, but luckily some locals helped me out though.
-Be careful when you tee off on 1, 2, and 3 especially because you end up throwing right next to another tee-pad.
-It was super muddy on the day I was there, I almost fell a number of times on my upshots.
Other Thoughts: Great course, I only had time to play one round (I also had my wife, daughter, and father-in-law in tow which detracted a little bit) and I would have loved a few more trips around. I'm hoping to be able to make it back and try the front 18 soon. Do yourself a favor though either print off a course map before you go or pay the 25 cents to get one at the pro shop it will make your first round a little more relaxing (I wish I had done that).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home course #2

5+    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome layout
Great use of the minimal elevation comared to the front 18
Great mix of long and short holes and mandatories that makes it much more challenging.
More secluded than the Front 18 unless there is a softball game going on
All Discatcher baskets as of now
Some great holes where you can bomb it with multiple angles/routes
Despite people hating the holes along the streets i love them as it requires placement and accuracy instead of power.
Cons: Over Watered lately
Blazing Hot compared to the Front 18
lack of water fountains or restrooms
terrible if there is a softball game, cuts out some of my favorite holes
Other Thoughts: All in All i like the back 18 better as there are the par 4's that allow you to really rip them. I am unsure as to why the closed the bathrooms by hole 6 but its a bummer as the closest ones are in between the baseball fields along with the closest water fountains.
Teepad 6 is terrible and we are working on a new spot to move it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -La Mirada Park is a great one, and a great setting for disc golf. The rolling hills add challenge and scenery, Mature trees add obstacles and a nice piney scent while you hike through the course, and the course is well-maintained in terms of mowed grass, litter, etc.
-It's great that there are two 18-hole courses in one park
-While not heavily stocked in plastic, the pro shop is great. You can grab snacks or drinks, but the best part is the trade-in deal. Bring in your used discs and they'll give you half of whatever they'll sell them for in trade-in value. Great, simple way to trade out the old with the new in your bag.
-Pretty hard to lose a disc here. The holes are generally open, so you won't have to track any down in the brush to the right or left of the fairway.
-Even though the holes are open, there's still enough challenge for more experienced disc golfers, and this is a great design to introduce newbies to the game
-Despite its reputation, I rarely had to deal with bottlenecks on the course, and I was playing alone on a Sunday. Whether it was a slow day or not I don't know, but it felt like the course flowed nicely.
Cons: -There are some drainage issues throughout the course. It can get a little soggy at times. You won't be covered in mud, but it's a little weird to see soggy grass in Southern California.
-A lot of non-disc golfers use the park, and they can get in your way. At least two groups of people were relaxing/picnicking under a tree in the middle of the fairway on a couple of holes, and all I could really do is try to avoid them and be ready to yell "fore".
-The layout is kind of intuitive, but also a little cramped. There are several shared fairways, and there are places where there are several baskets to different holes grouped together and you can't be sure what you're supposed to be aiming for.
-Hole #11 is just a terrible, terrible idea. One of the most narrow fairways I've ever seen in 16 years of throwing, and on one side you have a parking lot full of cars and on the other a main road. Anyone but the straightest thrower in disc golf would be terrified of hitting a car or causing an accident.
Other Thoughts: Apparently Steve Ricco of Legacy Discs was throwing this course shortly after I finished; it would have been fun to track him down and say "hey, give me some pointers on hurling this Cannon of yours". I didn't get a chance to play the front 18 at La Mirada; I'll have to come back later for that. But it seems that the consensus is the back 18 are not as great. I wouldn't be surprised if that were the case. Still, it's fantastic to have 2 18-hole courses right in one place, and even if the back 18 aren't as great, I'd still play them again. Maybe I'll just walk hole #11 next time though...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/30/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being on a suburban multi-use park, the upkeep here is great. The grass is mowed and the course is clean.

There are a couple really nicely designed holes here. Hole 3 requires a tough tee shot over or through a couple guardian trees. Hole 7 requires nice placement off the tee to have a look at a long approach around the corner.

Navigation is pretty intuitive, although a couple blind tee shots may have you running up the fairway to find the basket.

There is a nice little shop near the first tee where you can grab a drink or snack and check out their small selection of discs.
Cons: The course feels very shoe-horned into the space it occupies. Way too many holes play along alternate use areas. Whether it's a baseball field, busy road, or parking lot. It even plays over a number of sidewalks, so make sure to check your surroundings before you throw.

I want to like Hole 11. A short shot with OB tight on the left and right as well as a double mando taking away any hyzer lines creates a very tough shot. BUT the penalites for missing go outside of the game itself. Go OB to the right and you run the risk of hitting parked cars, on the left you're throwing into traffic. If it was water on either side, I would say it's an awesome hole, but the safety concerns completely ruin it.

Being in a busy park playing along a busy road means the course is very exposed. There's no real seclusion.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the back 18 more than the front. I thought there were a few more really creative shots here. However, the safety concerns are much worse here. Your best bet is to play at an off time: mid day during the week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ballin' Back 18

1    12/2/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely maximized course layout for space available, if not a bit tight at times. Nice and mild elevation changes, with a fair amount of sidehill lies as well. I absolutely loved and was blown away by hole #11, which I have dubbed "The Janokowski Hole". Not just because I'm a Raiders fan, and #11 is Jano's number, but the drive is literally like trying to hit a 64yd field goal and keep it between the hashmarks. The #11 hole layout borderlines between: mad-genius, crazy ballsy & utterly stupid. How many drives have been chucked directly into oncoming traffic here??
Cons: Some blind drives had me aiming at the wrong baskets. #3 sign is missing. Could have a few more anhyser drives.
Other Thoughts: Comparing the Front 18 to Back 18:
Well, I did my best to play and review the Back as its own course, but it's near impossible not to consider the Front during the round. Both courses are immaculately maintained, and while the Front is definitely hillier, it doesn't have some of the the sidehill effects of the Back. A couple of things I liked about the Back vs Front are: less morning dew on the grass (presumably due to lack of lake in the middle), denser amount of trees (holes 4-9), and the incomparable hole #11. Overall, tho, it's really no comparison; the Front is more epic than the Back!
==================
Uniqueness: A- (for a course that surrounds some softball fields, it's done VERY well)
Difficulty: A- (mild elevation changes; great amount and use of trees; lots of OB)
Fun Factor: A- (some really nice approach shots on #4, #5, #9, #18)
Aesthetics: A- (perfectly maintained; parking lots & softball fences provide OB, but take away from beauty)
----------------------
Overall: A-

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  One of my Favorites

1    6/23/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: traumadiver
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to follow
Good variety of shots
Less crowded than the Front 18
Cons: Hole 6 is a little soggy sometimes
A few holes play really close to the street
Other Thoughts: I love this course and play it as often as I can. I come here pretty often and play night golf with my buddies using glow sticks to light the baskets... Just dont be suprised when someone steals a glow stick from one of the holes along the street

Also, hole 7 is listed at 700 feet and is a par 4 and the 18th is also a par 4 per the local club

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Compliment

1    3/28/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two 18-Hole Courses On-Site
Concrete Tee Pads
Great Tee Signs
Good Use of Elevation
Good Layout
A Variety of Distances
Very Well-Maintained
Multiple Pin Positions
Requires a Few Different Shot Types
Restrooms In the Park
Practice Basket
Less Crowded Than Front Course
Cons:
Navigation (Some Tees are on Sidewalks)
No Benches
Very Few Trash Cans
Close to School (Causes Traffic at Times)
Plays (Dangerously) Close to Road
Other Thoughts:
The Back 18 at La Mirada is a nice compliment to the front/lakeside course. The biggest downside to the back course is the front course being there and the two often being compared.

The back course, much like the front, plays through beautiful grassy rolling hills and is very well manicured. Each hole has a concrete tee pad and multiple pin positions with the position marked on the tee sign with red tape.

Navigating the back course can be a real challenge. Not only are the baskets numbered incorrectly, some of the tee pads are on the sidewalk and hard to spot. I had a guide when I played and I would recommend a guide or map to first-timers.

From the "pro shop", head past the practice baskets, and around the tennis and handball courts to the first tee pad. The first hole plays down toward the baseball fields, and hole 2 plays back up towards the water park. The next few holes 3 through 5 follow the same pattern and play to and away from the water park.

Holes 6 and 7 play closer to the houses at the edge of the park and are two of the longer holes on the course at 440 and 452 feet.

Hole 8 is fairly short and plays away from the road, but the road and OB will come into play on several of the next few holes. Hole 9 plays back down, with the road just a short distance behind the basket. The road really comes into play again on holes 11 and 12. For a RHBH or LHFH player it can be dangerously close and if you don't have exceptional accuracy you can easily end up in the busy road or the side of a car.

Holes 13 and 14 also play along the road but have a lot more room for error and play towards smaller, less traveled roads. After 14 turn away from the road and hole 15 plays long, at 573ft. and around the baseball diamond.

The last few holes are pretty easy to navigate and pretty straight forward with 18 ending near hole 1.

Overall the back course at La Mirada, in its own way, lives up to the front course. While the front has more of a wow factor, gets better reviews, and easier to navigate, the back is a lot less crowded, longer, and get less use by other park go-ers. If you are in the park be sure to play both courses, you won't regret it.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 fun times

1    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -NO BIG CROWDS.
-Great use of the landscape.
-Restrooms are in great loactions.
-Nice and shady.
Cons: -Map is a little hard to understand and cost 25 cents.
-Pro shop had a poor selection(but its might just be waiting for a shipment of discs).
-Some holes are a little close to the street.
Other Thoughts: I really like the back 18 because i felt like i was really able to let loose and play the game with my friends without having to yell "FORE" every throw. The other players were nice and helpful. I the fact that you could kinda play your own course with placement of the tee and there holes. All I can't wait to go again!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Back 18

5+    2/18/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The back 18 shares many of the same pros of the front including:

- Moderate elevation changes throughout.

- Well maintained grassy terrain with mature trees

- A great mix of holes with tight shot holes, a few tricky mandos a handful of long bombs mixed in.

- Alternate pin placements on several holes, however not as many as on the front.

- Tee signs throughout with red tape indicating the current pin position.

- Crowds are always lighter on the back 18. If you are in a hurry and the front is busy, the back is your best bet to get quality disc golf in less time.
Cons: Navigation is a serious issue here as many of the baskets have the wrong numbers on them.

Some of the holes play dangerously close to the road. Holes 11-15 play in a tight area bordering the road and the parking lot. These holes offer the risk of OB to make it interesting however also a good chance of hitting cars for a lot of players.

Also the ground can get really soggy, especially around the 18th tee pad. It can be really muddy for days after it rains.
Other Thoughts: The biggest problem with this course is that it gets compared to the Front 18. It is a solid course with a great deal of challenge and variety but it just falls short on the wow factor.

This course is a great alternative to the front on busy days. But the fact of the matter is that more people are on the front because the front is more fun. It is definitely worth your time if you are visiting but it probably won't impress like the front.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bliss turns into tragedy

2-4    9/18/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The holes are quite challenging and one massive dogleg with trees and everything. I love it.
Cons: Not nearly as good as the front 18. In fact, once you get to the last 9 holes of this side...you can sometimes get lost in just trying to figure out where the pin is. I mean the baskets are not even numbered correctly on most of the final 10 holes....
Other Thoughts: Wish it were a little more like the front 18, but I still will play the back for a challenge.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.