La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Back 18 Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Big, open quiet course

5+    12/25/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of holes where you can unleash the beast and take a monster rip
-Lush green grass and large, old trees throughout the course
-Medium-large hills and great tee/pin placement make a place for every type of shot
-Seclusion...at least for half the course. The other half is right on a busy street. Very little foot-traffic and non-golfers, unlike the front 18
-FREEEEEEE!!!
-Practice basket and (pretty bad) pro shop with maps and scorecards available
-Some of the best signage in SoCal
-Multiple pin positions
-Longer and more open than the front 18
-Great baskets, moved once every 2 weeks or so
-Solid, grippy concrete tees
Cons: -A few holes have some pretty tough mandos and OB. 11 is a narrow strip about 20' x 130' or so with street (OB) on one side, parking lot (OB) on the other side and 3 or 4 mandos guiding you up the middle. One of the worst holes I have seen.
-Always lots of law enforcement officers in the parking lot
-Shortage of trash cans--->sometimes the beer cans walk off and plant themselves around the course
-Pro shop has gone way downhill since it was bought out and re-opened. Don't expect any advice on which discs to buy
Other Thoughts: Far superior in seclusion and openess to the Front 18, the Back 18 at La Mirada is a really fun place to do some hardcore DG. Bring your long arm...you're gonna need it. Hole 3 is long and downhill with some big trees between tee and basket. A great hole. 7 is an insanely long (>700') right-to-left dogleg with about 50 thick pine trees to weave around. Several other signature holes to look forward to.

Awesome course. Most of the time you can play it with nobody around. Park at the Western-most area of the parking lot right off Foster and start on 16 to save yourself some walking.

If you are playing a few SoCal courses, this one should definitely be on the short list.

**UPDATE**

Pins 11-15 and 2 of 3 practice pins have been pulled due to a dispute between the former and current proprietors of the pro shop.

-.5 discs

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/21/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The more secluded of the two courses at the La Mirada complex.
-Very nice use of the hills and trees in the area.
-Most elevation change of any park course in the area.
-2 putting baskets near the pro shop.
-Mostly DG Exclusive, much quieter vibe here than on the front 18.
-Some incredibly long bombs, and some technical throws too.
-Course flows pretty logically
-Lots of privacy, at least for the first 9. There always seem to be less people playing this course.
-Extremely long holes are both followed by shorter holes, which is kind of a relief. Hole 6 is so long that people behind us regularly begin playing it before we finish, but its totally cool because the hole is so long.
Cons: -The people of La Mirada LOVE running over discs. GET IT QUICKLY if you throw it in any street!
-Holes 11-16 have been pulled, most likely due to car/pedestrian danger.
Other Thoughts: While not really a complete course anymore, the back '18' at La Mirada provide more seclusion and a more serious game than the front half. The back play in a largely unused portent of the park. Moderately wooded and quite hilly especially for a city park, the opportunities are endless for the holes that exist.

Hole 7 is very long, along an OB fence, and should really be a par 4. La Mirada Disc Club's website says its a par 4. It also says that 18 is a par 4.

Since the middle pins have been removed, I have seen people playing 'unofficial' or 'old' versions of the course, whatever they want to call it. I call it getting in the way of people playing the intended layout, and I am seeing more and more people in the middle of fairways when they are not supposed to be. Watch out when throwing, and ESPECIALLY watch out when playing unofficial holes ;)

Apparently the back 18 is still considered 18, the website indicates that you play holes 2 thru 5 a second time around, then 18 again from an alternate tee. Seeing as how the course is already busy I am curious to see if this actually works.

Went to play a rain round on a Friday, and there was a track meet taking up the ENTIRE park. It was impossible to play, so we left. This was at about 3:30pm. Just FYI, you might want to call the pro shop before you go on a Friday afternoon.

While I REALLY like this course, and still believe that it coupled with the front 18 course is definitely a destination, I have to be honest and say I am not visiting it nearly as much since part of the course was removed. Other than that, the quality of the remaining holes, tees, and signs, are all wonderful and is really great park disc golf.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  La Mirada Back 18 Update

5+    8/19/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: duckgolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course can be fun and appreciated by beginners as well as seasoned players. I frequently see kids, and adults playing in groups enjoying the beautiful scenery and a nice long walk in the park. At the other end of the spectrum are the lone, or paired serious players on a mission.

The back 18 is fulfilling for both kinds of players. There is a wonderful mix of shorter holes with both uphill and downhill directions, and there are much longer holes like #6, #7, #15 and even #4 in its new pin position. These holes test the arms of any player and are places you can power into your drives.

I appreciate that this course grows with the player. I have played it several times and each time I reach a new level of play, the course challenges me again at that level. I don't grow tired or bored of playing this course. The pin placements are moved regularly and the park is pretty clean and well kept. There's a peace and beauty to the back 18. It's like looking at Mt. Everest on a clear day... peaceful, quiet, challenging, and exciting. The challenge gets better the farther you go and there's always more to learn on the course.

I highly recommend this course to any new or seasoned players!
Cons: My greatest complaint for this course would be for holes #11 & #15. Hole #11 is a short, narrow hole between the street (OB), and a parking lot (also OB). Staying in-bounds is a fun challenge, but getting dirty looks from people whose vehicles you hit with your driver is not so fun.

Hole #15 is on the right hand side of a softball field. Most days there are games or practices on the field and parents sitting on or around the grass. I have skipped my drive here before because I don't want to nail any 5 year old boys or young girls playing t-ball.

These are the only two issues I really have with the course. As for the facilities... the public restrooms are aweful! Do yo bidness elsewhere befo, o aftuh. :(

Oh yes, one other issue I forgot. Fridays & Saturdays can be interesting parking-wise when the park hosts a concert series. You'll be parking out in the boonies and walking a bit before you start your game.
Other Thoughts: This course is FREE to play, and FREE to park! The front 18 is very close so you have the option of playing two completely different courses in a day at the same park. La Mirada's courses are clean and beautiful. Get out, throw a disc, get some sun, and have some fun!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

2-4    8/12/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Shop is open! Discs and refreshments available. Beautiful park with large trees, flowers, and well mowed grass. Much quieter than the front 18 (lakeside) course. Concrete tees and signs on every hole. Fairly easy to navigate. Some holes have 2 or 3 basket positions. Great variety in length and difficulty. Good use of elevation. Some nice long holes. Friendly players.
Cons: A few holes play close to the street. Some baskets are numbered incorrectly.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. If you only have time to play one of the two courses it should be the back 18. It is more challenging, and is in a part of the park that is seldom used by anyone but disc golfers.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

2-4    4/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great design for the most part, long holes, short holes, uphill, downhill, hyzers, anhyzers, you name it. Some really fun holes the you can just throw a bomb and watch it fly, there are also some good short technical holes. It can also be played on the weekend where the front course is much more difficult to do that due to other park patrons.
Cons: Some stupid holes and they kind of went over the top using mandos. I feel like if you have to make something a mando then you haven't designed the hole properly. In most cases you can slightly move a tee box to force players to throw on the intended path without having a mando. Perfect example is hole 11, it's a triple mando hole that runs along the 5 feet of grass between the road and the parking lot, it's just stupid IMHO. They also got a little carried away with the "uphill, blind, low ceiling shot".
Other Thoughts: La Mirada is a park that should be played if you haven't played it before. I think it's the best place to play in SoCal.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Better Half

5+    1/12/2010   6/19/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of space and elevations. Very challenging (I love a course that can fustrate you at times). Regular tourneys and great locals. The park is beautiful and fairly maintained. Signage is very good, accurate, and easy to follow (although, they need to indicate which placement the hole is on blind shots with a grease pencil) Better tee pads on this side
Cons: A few hole are just too long for anyone less than Am/Pro. I don't mind it, but I think it doesn't help average players get a rise out of the course.

A few holes have been deleted near the baseball field, so it isn't a full 18 anymore. 11 thru 14 have been removed

No restroom available on this side. Handle your businees b4 you get there. Needs more trash cans so the park can be kept cleaner.

Also, the flow was very weak, as there were long walks (well over the PDGA recomended 50 ft., many were over 250') from hole to tee.

The mandys are overboard. With a hole that is very long or a challenge already without the mandys, it is not needed. Although, I know they will help less skilled players stay in bounds and make the park safer overall
Other Thoughts: The course is great to play if you have some decent skills and experience in the game. I just worry that the length and difficulty may deter growth in the sport in the area (my freinds that play recreationally won't join me here). Some short tees for begineers may be a solution.

The course need some loving to get this place to the glory it truly deserves. Make some short tees for Beginner/ Rec. players. This place should be the Meca for Disc Golf in OC, it just doesn't appeal to every player and sadly, it could. Basically, the difficulty and shear volume of holes carries this course and the cons outweigh them

No favorite hole as there really isn't any signature hole on this course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The other side

2-4    12/23/2008   6/17/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The back 18 at La Mirada has a totally different character from the front, and presents its own challenges. Like the front, most holes have some sort of elevation change through the hilly park. There are nice mature trees and well mowed grass throughout the park, and the trees are used very well in the course design. The trees clearly define some of the fairways, and often protect the pin.

Unlike the front half of the course, this side has a lot of length. There are a number of holes where you'll get to pull out a driver and rip it. There are a few shorter technical holes, but for the most part the fairways are longer and wider than on the front course. There are more places on this course where errant shots will be punished and will make the hole significantly more difficult.

The tee pads are all concrete, and are mostly in good shape. There are signs, though they are not always accurate, though navigation is never an issue. The flow of the course makes sense, and is easy to follow even without the nice course map.
Cons: As on the front course, there are numbering issues with the baskets, which occasionally makes things a little confusing. The tee pads are a bit inconsistent, and are not all the same length.

There are a few holes on this side that play very close to ball fields, roads, and parking lots. I don't particularly like the threat of hitting a car or ending up in the middle of a little league game with a drive that wouldn't otherwise be a terrible shot.

There is sometimes foot traffic through this part of the park, though this is much less of a problem on this side of the park. The other park users I've run into on the back 18 have generally tried to stay out of the way, and pay attention to disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This side of the course is definitely more challenging than the front course, but can be slightly harder to follow. If you're here, I would definitely play both sides, as they feel like totally different courses, and either would be worth playing in their own right. This course is a little less beginner friendly due to the challenge, but there is still not a big chance of losing a disc.

If you are in Southern California, this is one of the must play courses. The park offers two fun courses, and a great local scene with lots of friendly players. Every time I've played here, I end up joining a group of locals, and always have a great time playing with them.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 La Mirada Back 18

2-4    6/14/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. Long, wide swaths of close-cropped grass, tall, healthy trees, and rolling hills make the back 18 a total pleasure to walk, even if you're not playing. Overlay that scenery with disc golf and you've got a good reason to include this course in any SoCal trip you're planning.

If you've got a 400-foot drive and can land your disc with accuracy you'll find this course built for you. Very little in the way of tight fairways (except hole #11) can frustrate you if you're used to woodsy "east coast" courses but otherwise it's a joy.
Cons: Unexpected wet spots on the fairways will totally kill your rollers. These don't always occur in the valleys, but also sometimes on slopes (unexpected).

Personal gripe: I'd rather see a course that doesn't make so much use of man-made structures (parking lots, baseball diamonds) as "features". I don't mind OB but when going OB means smacking a car or braining a kid, the risk/reward equation starts to look a bit overbalanced.
Other Thoughts: The pro shop has recently changed hands and become tennis-oriented. They do sell discs but what they've got is overpriced and the staff don't know very much about what their stock.

I think we, as a community, should gently urge a greater familiarity with DG and hope to see some improvement as a result.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Hidden Gem At La Mirada

5+    6/16/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the longer of the two 18 hole courses at La Mirada. It is slightly less technical but way more fun. This sits on the old back nine and can still be played to some extent in the old Golden State Layout. You will be forced to throw just about every different shot in your bag. There is a great deal more risk and reward on this side. It seems that fewer DGers play the back and usually the people that do play the back are those who are better players in general. It is well maintained with great tee signs that recieve regular maintenance.
Cons: There is still a good deal of foot traffic, mostly on the first three holes and then 15 and 16 as well. This 18 is a great deal more challenging, even if it is less technical than the front and would very much frustrate the beginer.
Other Thoughts: Still the same great local scene here and it is really fun to watch some of the big guns let loose on the longer holes. I have seen an eagle on the par 4 15th from one of the local pros who threw a 500ft + drive. There is a pro shop by the front 18 but as I mentioned on my review of the front 18, the owners are tennis people and have high prices.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.