Disc Golf Store
Malvern, OH 
Tank Run Share
Uploaded By: Ace Ohio Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 166ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 388ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rumble through the Jungle

1    8/25/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Baskets: Discatchers are all in good condition.

+Multiple Tees: Three natural tee pads for each hole provide multiple levels of difficulty.

+Amenities: Picnic pavilion, playground equipment, walking track, restrooms. An actual tank. In other words, it's a well stocked community park. The course is tucked out of the way, so other park users shouldn't wander into any fairways.

+Scorecards were available with a map that was pretty useful.
Cons: -Rough: This course is pretty rough. It looked like it needed mowed, and the wood holes were very thick.

-Tees: Only bricks in the ground and most were difficult to find. I didn't even bother looking for the longs. A few holes were missing tee signs (the post was there but the sign was gone) and the ones that did have tee signs were faded.

-Layout: The wooded holes have very tight fairways and even though the holes are short they are almost all blind shots. The rough is so rough it wasn't worth risking a disc just to try and make a birdie. The holes that aren't in the woods aren't very interesting with the exception of hole 9.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by Tank Run on my way home from Arboretum-Spiker (because those 24 holes weren't enough for one day) and can't say that I didn't enjoy it, but I didn't have much fun either. I played from the whites and for the most part just threw putters and mid's so I didn't have to worry about getting too far into the thick growth on the holes in the woods.

I wanted to try hole 9 from the longs, but by the time I got there I just wanted to finish up my round. This course could use a good amount of brush removal in the woods in order to reduce the chance of a lost disc. Oddly, I was more worried about losing a disc in the woods than I was on either hole in which the creek comes in to play.

Hole 9 is definitely the highlight of the course. I went into this course not expecting much and was satisfied. If I had to choose between playing here and going to work, I'd definitely be throwing discs. This wasn't a terrible course but could be better with some maintenance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Thick Rough Batman!

1    8/22/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Playground, pavilions, grills, volleyball, multiple baseball fields, horse shoes & a decorative tank =) I think there was also tennis and a few other things present. So good place to bring the family.
- Bathrooms located at the playground
- Accurate Map but the map and the tee signs just don't illustrate well the width of these tight wooded fairways
- Multiple Tees
- Natural tees are in decent condition in the dry season, just a little uneven
- Very nice Tee Signs
- Baskets are in excellent condition and well labeled
- Nice counter-clockwise flow. Hole #1 starts at the parking lot and Hole #9 ends somewhat near the parking lot.
- The course starts out open, then enters the extremely thick woods, then ends out in the open. Add the nice water hazard in there and this course has a bit of everything. The more technical wooded shots can become very tight and you will need a mix of shots to stay out of the rough.
- This is a pretty course. The landscape is a bit flat but the scenery has some nicely wooded areas and the park is a great place to pass some time and have fun.
- 3300' for 9 holes. 7 of the 9 holes are over 300' from the Blue Tees. Great distances and because of the multiple tees, you can choose the shorter route if you like.
- The disc golf area is set away from the park so even if it is very busy, you should have little interference from the non-disc'ers. Also, even though I only played it once, the course does not seem to get much disc golfer traffic.
Cons: - A few Blue Tees were missing the kickboard so we had no idea where they were
- Could use some more Next Tee Signs. Navigation may be a little confusing your first time out, more so in the woods even with defined fairways.
- The rough was just too dense and thick and adds too much risk for the reward factor. This unfortunately was a very important Con in my overall rating and my group also agreed that it was too much.
- Even though the upkeep seems decent, the course could have certainly used a good mowing in the woods and the rough was beginning to grow into the fairways and make it an even tighter tunnel to get down.
- A bench or two would be an outstanding addition to this course
Other Thoughts: - The course was challenging and it has a high risk/reward factor that you really need to think about before many of the throws
- Hole #5 was the most challenging hole. Mostly because the fairway is exceedingly small and the rough is insanely thick and has begun to group out into the fairway. Along with that, the fairway zig-zags. Just a tough hole, blind basket and all. Even after playing the hole I still have no clue what throw would be best off the tee. Hole #3 deserves Honorable Mention in the 'challenging ' category. #3 starts out in the open and enters the woods through a very small opening and twists and turn down a tight tunnel to the left to reach the blind basket.
- My favorite hole is #9. Just a fantastically fun time to drive from the Blue Tee here and wrap your drive around the water. The creek here provides an awesome obstacle and also a pretty view of the landscape. A fun challenge and it was hands down, the best hole on the course.
- I tried to rate this course as objectively as I could but it was hard to hide my disappointment. I had high hopes for this course but there were just too many Cons and my group and I decided to actually not even play the second round we had planned. This is a course that I was happy to play once but because there are better courses in the area, I do not plan to head back to Tank Run for quite some time. If the fairways were widened by quite a few feet in the woods and if all the Blue Tees were defined better, this course would be one that I would surely hit every year. Lots of potential here!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Autumn Break

1    11/9/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~ Nice multi-use park setting, plenty of amenities
~ Great Baskets
~ Makes good use of the available land
~ (3) sets of tees, easy walk once you find No. 1
~ Open shots, lightly wooded, heavily wooded, and water are all aspects within this nine hole course
Cons:
~ Natural tee pads are uneven and in bad condition
~ Hole posts are present, but signage is not
~ No specific course information available at the park
~ Flat terrain from start to finish
Other Thoughts: Played an unplanned round on a beautiful, warm Autumn morning due to good timing and an unexpected trip to Malvern. All in all Tank Run offers a nice recreational nine hole course located in a small town park. Holes 1,2,7,8,9 are all fairly open and lightly wooded while 3,4,5,6 are very technical and wind their way through a heavily wooded trail. Three sets of natural tees marked by painted wood toe boards are found by wooden posts that are located near the middle tee. Currently there is no course signage so print off a course map before your 1st visit. The red tees are very short and should be appealing to beginners and children, the whites (which I played) all seem to range around 250' to 300' and the blues provide for a greater challenge adding considerable distance to most holes as well as tougher lines to the basket. Most of the trees have shed their leaves and a lot of the brush has subsided so the wooded section was not as menacing for my round, however I could see this area eating discs during the growing season. A lot of potential within this course and additional holes coupled with some improvements and continuous maintenance could turn Tank Run into a much better place.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 (D)evolving?

1    6/29/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three tee (natural, marked by in-ground boards) per hole. Tall wooden posts at white tees with signs showing all three tee locations and the distances from them. Map useful for navigation.
Cons:
Quite flat. Most signs were missing from the tee posts. Map mis-leading with regards to width of fairways. :-(
Other Thoughts:
Plays across the open space and within a small woods/brush area located between ball fields and a stream/river of a public park. Holes 1-2, 7-8 are fairly similar - large, scattered hardwoods to miss enroute and/or near the basket. Holes 3-6 play within narrow, at times twisting, paths of a high brush/growth mini-woods. While numbers 4 (right-turner) and 6 (straight, funneling) are tight, I've certainly played holes of similar look-n-feel. However, number 3, starting in open space, need to hit a small window straight away, then corkscrew right-then-left to reach the basket, and number 5, a short but super-tight, low tunnel, cross run-off ditch to a tree-imprisoned basket, seem to require too much luck.

The most interesting hole is #9, which I, as a RHBH-player, played from the white tees. Between you and the basket is a bend in the river - how confident are you in your ability to throw a ~275' left-turning shot? Go for the birdy, but either turn the disc over, go too straight, or drop too much too early during the fade (high/steep bank down to the river), and your disc is likely lost. Aiming left brings less water into play, but leaves you much farther from the basket, and then you have to deal with the water behind/right of the basket during the approach.

Hard to get a vibe on the future of this course - signs at every post and maintenance/additional clearing of the technical holes would improve this course and make it very (re)playable. Without continued/improved efforts, the alternate tee locations will become nearly impossible to find, and the already tight-n-shrinking tech-holes would become unplayable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Small, enjoyable course

5+    7/11/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 41  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -3 sets of tees, with the red being beginner friendly, the whites easy at times but offer a bit of challenge, and the blues fairly tough at some points but not too difficult over all.

-Decent shot variety. There are holes that are pretty open but still have enough trees to knock your drives down, while the wooded holes will test your accuracy more.

-The baskets are very new, and on many of the holes are on a small mound of mulch which is a nice touch.

-The holes are fun to throw, and a lot of them offer different possible routes to the basket.
Cons: -The wooded holes have serious vegetation off the fairways that can make it easy to lose a disc and not find it.

-Teesigns have been ripped off the posts on about half the holes.

-Not much elevation in play.

-Rarely ever played by anyone, so don't expect to find other players out for a pick-up game. Can be a pro if you're the type that enjoys playing alone.
Other Thoughts: Tank Run is a fun 9 hole course, but it's nothing outstanding. The holes are enjoyable, and start with two pretty open holes to let loose on, then you'll be throwing through tighter gaps like on 3, 4 and 5. If you can avoid the overgrown rough and the water, it's a good time.

I recommend checking out Minerva and / or Louisville DGC if you stop by Tank Run. Minvera is a bit further east and Louisville is North.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wheres the tee?

1    6/16/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: discgolfer10205
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has 3 sets of tees per hole and was easy to find on rte 43. The park is very nice.
Cons: The tees, other than the whites, are difficult to find, and only a few of the holes had the tee signs left on them, which made it difficult to know the distances and where the next tee was. The course is definitely in need of some better mowing in the fairways, but was manageable.
Other Thoughts: This course could have been laid out better more than likely, but i don't know what the restrictions were when it was installed. Could definitely be a lot better and more challenging.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Some Work

2-4    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: saylor.50
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Set in a very nice, park area.

+The last few times that I have played Tank Run the park has been packed with people walking, little league games etc. However, the layout of the course utilizes parts of the park where people do not go.

+Excellent use of the creek as a hazard on numerous holes (especially on #9).

+Facilities are abundant at the start/finish of the course (bathrooms, shelters, drinking fountains).

+Multiple tees make this course friendly for beginners to intermediates. Pros would most likely become bored quickly with the limited shot variety need to suceed.

+Baskets are in excellent shape (new DISCatchers)
Cons: -While the provided signs were of excellent quality, either vandalism or the elements have taken their toll on at least three of them leaving just the post.

-The tees were all natural/grass (A personal preference, not taken into account in my rating)

-The course was very overgrown during my visits, which made navigation and retrieval of discs difficult in spots.
Other Thoughts: The biggest problems facing Tank Run can all be attributed to lack of use. I've gone during normal disc golf "peak hours" (weekends, after work) and have yet to see any other players. It appears that the course was installed, then upkeep was either rarely/never performed. This could be a very nice par-3 course with the support of a local club/general use, however, its current state doesn't warrant going out of your way to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice technical course. This looks to be a work in progress but has the potential to be a really nice course. I love the in and out of woods there is. The first hole was hard to figure out but after that it was an easy lay out to follow.
Cons: Fairways are really narrow. The rough is really super high. I don't even think a weed whacker is adequate enough. Maybe try a machete or sickle.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy the course and look forward to playing again and seeing the improvements as they are made.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course

1    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: rtiedemann6
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Played the course from the whites and wasn't real long. Must be accurate to play this course. Nice location, good to see the sport expanding. Was very fun, even though it was tough.
Cons: If you're not in the fairway, bring a weedwhacker. Tees are hard to see at this time. The course is brand new and so it still needs work.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the more challenging courses I've ever played. I didn't get good drives, which made life tough. For this course, it's better to be accurate and in the fairway, than long & in the forest.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice baskets . Several Very challenging holes. Tees are marked by 2x4 in the ground. White = far, Blue=short, Red for both..( Im only assuming)
Cons: Very high weeds and briars on 3,4,5,6. Bugs!!
Other Thoughts: As of right now. Good shots will be rewarded, Errant shots will be severely penalized. I would suggest wearing pants your first time out.

Hole 3 is very short, plays about 100 ft then is does a complete hook around some high bushes.

Hole 9 was my favorite. 2 tees plays directly across a river . the water is about 4 to 5ft deep in the middle. I tested it...with my driver .
Course still seems to be a work in progress. I guess this is supposed an 18 eventually.

Amenities include Walking path, playground ,pavilions,bathrooms. Nice park overall





3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.