Malvern, OH 
Tank Run Share
Uploaded By: Ace Ohio Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 142ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 400ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Novice Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rumble through the Jungle

1    8/25/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Baskets: Discatchers are all in good condition.

+Multiple Tees: Three natural tee pads for each hole provide multiple levels of difficulty.

+Amenities: Picnic pavilion, playground equipment, walking track, restrooms. An actual tank. In other words, it's a well stocked community park. The course is tucked out of the way, so other park users shouldn't wander into any fairways.

+Scorecards were available with a map that was pretty useful.
Cons: -Rough: This course is pretty rough. It looked like it needed mowed, and the wood holes were very thick.

-Tees: Only bricks in the ground and most were difficult to find. I didn't even bother looking for the longs. A few holes were missing tee signs (the post was there but the sign was gone) and the ones that did have tee signs were faded.

-Layout: The wooded holes have very tight fairways and even though the holes are short they are almost all blind shots. The rough is so rough it wasn't worth risking a disc just to try and make a birdie. The holes that aren't in the woods aren't very interesting with the exception of hole 9.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by Tank Run on my way home from Arboretum-Spiker (because those 24 holes weren't enough for one day) and can't say that I didn't enjoy it, but I didn't have much fun either. I played from the whites and for the most part just threw putters and mid's so I didn't have to worry about getting too far into the thick growth on the holes in the woods.

I wanted to try hole 9 from the longs, but by the time I got there I just wanted to finish up my round. This course could use a good amount of brush removal in the woods in order to reduce the chance of a lost disc. Oddly, I was more worried about losing a disc in the woods than I was on either hole in which the creek comes in to play.

Hole 9 is definitely the highlight of the course. I went into this course not expecting much and was satisfied. If I had to choose between playing here and going to work, I'd definitely be throwing discs. This wasn't a terrible course but could be better with some maintenance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Autumn Break

1    11/9/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~ Nice multi-use park setting, plenty of amenities
~ Great Baskets
~ Makes good use of the available land
~ (3) sets of tees, easy walk once you find No. 1
~ Open shots, lightly wooded, heavily wooded, and water are all aspects within this nine hole course
Cons:
~ Natural tee pads are uneven and in bad condition
~ Hole posts are present, but signage is not
~ No specific course information available at the park
~ Flat terrain from start to finish
Other Thoughts: Played an unplanned round on a beautiful, warm Autumn morning due to good timing and an unexpected trip to Malvern. All in all Tank Run offers a nice recreational nine hole course located in a small town park. Holes 1,2,7,8,9 are all fairly open and lightly wooded while 3,4,5,6 are very technical and wind their way through a heavily wooded trail. Three sets of natural tees marked by painted wood toe boards are found by wooden posts that are located near the middle tee. Currently there is no course signage so print off a course map before your 1st visit. The red tees are very short and should be appealing to beginners and children, the whites (which I played) all seem to range around 250' to 300' and the blues provide for a greater challenge adding considerable distance to most holes as well as tougher lines to the basket. Most of the trees have shed their leaves and a lot of the brush has subsided so the wooded section was not as menacing for my round, however I could see this area eating discs during the growing season. A lot of potential within this course and additional holes coupled with some improvements and continuous maintenance could turn Tank Run into a much better place.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 (D)evolving?

1    6/29/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three tee (natural, marked by in-ground boards) per hole. Tall wooden posts at white tees with signs showing all three tee locations and the distances from them. Map useful for navigation.
Cons:
Quite flat. Most signs were missing from the tee posts. Map mis-leading with regards to width of fairways. :-(
Other Thoughts:
Plays across the open space and within a small woods/brush area located between ball fields and a stream/river of a public park. Holes 1-2, 7-8 are fairly similar - large, scattered hardwoods to miss enroute and/or near the basket. Holes 3-6 play within narrow, at times twisting, paths of a high brush/growth mini-woods. While numbers 4 (right-turner) and 6 (straight, funneling) are tight, I've certainly played holes of similar look-n-feel. However, number 3, starting in open space, need to hit a small window straight away, then corkscrew right-then-left to reach the basket, and number 5, a short but super-tight, low tunnel, cross run-off ditch to a tree-imprisoned basket, seem to require too much luck.

The most interesting hole is #9, which I, as a RHBH-player, played from the white tees. Between you and the basket is a bend in the river - how confident are you in your ability to throw a ~275' left-turning shot? Go for the birdy, but either turn the disc over, go too straight, or drop too much too early during the fade (high/steep bank down to the river), and your disc is likely lost. Aiming left brings less water into play, but leaves you much farther from the basket, and then you have to deal with the water behind/right of the basket during the approach.

Hard to get a vibe on the future of this course - signs at every post and maintenance/additional clearing of the technical holes would improve this course and make it very (re)playable. Without continued/improved efforts, the alternate tee locations will become nearly impossible to find, and the already tight-n-shrinking tech-holes would become unplayable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Some Work

2-4    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: saylor.50
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Set in a very nice, park area.

+The last few times that I have played Tank Run the park has been packed with people walking, little league games etc. However, the layout of the course utilizes parts of the park where people do not go.

+Excellent use of the creek as a hazard on numerous holes (especially on #9).

+Facilities are abundant at the start/finish of the course (bathrooms, shelters, drinking fountains).

+Multiple tees make this course friendly for beginners to intermediates. Pros would most likely become bored quickly with the limited shot variety need to suceed.

+Baskets are in excellent shape (new DISCatchers)
Cons: -While the provided signs were of excellent quality, either vandalism or the elements have taken their toll on at least three of them leaving just the post.

-The tees were all natural/grass (A personal preference, not taken into account in my rating)

-The course was very overgrown during my visits, which made navigation and retrieval of discs difficult in spots.
Other Thoughts: The biggest problems facing Tank Run can all be attributed to lack of use. I've gone during normal disc golf "peak hours" (weekends, after work) and have yet to see any other players. It appears that the course was installed, then upkeep was either rarely/never performed. This could be a very nice par-3 course with the support of a local club/general use, however, its current state doesn't warrant going out of your way to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course

1    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: rtiedemann6
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Played the course from the whites and wasn't real long. Must be accurate to play this course. Nice location, good to see the sport expanding. Was very fun, even though it was tough.
Cons: If you're not in the fairway, bring a weedwhacker. Tees are hard to see at this time. The course is brand new and so it still needs work.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the more challenging courses I've ever played. I didn't get good drives, which made life tough. For this course, it's better to be accurate and in the fairway, than long & in the forest.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.