Maple Grove, MN 
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #8 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    8/1/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 18 holes course close to home
- Great use of land at the ski hill
- Open shots, with clean fairways
- You can let a bomb loose on just about every hole
- Championship caliber course
- Pro shop right on site
- Wasn't too bad for foot traffic the day I went
Cons: - LONG up and downhill walk over and over again
- Some more actually wooded holes would have been nice, the wooded holes they have aren't very wood, just cross country ski trails through the woods so they are very wide open
Other Thoughts: - I personally wasn't a fan of this course, I like ski hill courses I have played a couple larger ones bu this wasn't as great as everyone made it out to be, it could have been the long walk up and down and the heat the day I went, but I don't think I will make a special spot for this course to be played again
- Add some more foliage make this course a little tougher and tighter then longer and just having to bomb drives

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unassuming Beast

2-4    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice long course, with decent variation (elevation changes, mix of long and short holes, mostly open, some wooded).
- Holes 1-3 are a nice way to start (mostly wide open), then you get into some wooded holes.
- the park is well maintained. If you never leave the fairways, you will love this course. There are some great views of the surrounding areas from some of the vistas.
- good directions between holes, you either see the teepad, or there is a directional sign for you.
- proshop (not too much to talk about), bathrooms, etc
Cons: - the rough is BRUTAL (played in July). There are some blind corners, and if you get good distance, and end up in the rough - good luck finding your disc.
- Little bit of walking between holes - don't necessarily think you could do the layout differently to have a continuous flow.
- the signs leave a little to be desired - this is a minor con. They are functional, but they all start to look the same, and have very little detail about surrounding landmarks. That being said, you can see the baskets from many of the teepads, and the fairways are well defined, so there is never a question about where you are going to.
- don't come from an area where you pay to play, so $5 is $5 more then I am used to.
Other Thoughts: - So, when you walk up (or check the course on google - you can see the tees and greens from space!), you're thinking to yourself - this will be simple - wide open course (you can see a good chunk of the baskets from tee 1, since you are up on the hill. And then you start to play, and if you have a headwind, it knocks your disc into the rough - which at a distance doesn't seem too bad, but mid-summer is really dense. There are a lot of paths from folks looking for their discs, but I lost a disc on #11 - pretty sure I knew where it left the fairway, spent about 20 minutes sacrificing my body to the mosquito gods, and couldn't find it...... you get lulled into really going for distance and sacrificing accuracy and it you pay the consequences.I wavered between a 3.5 and 4, went lower partially because of the signs, the rough (I get the open field stuff, nothing you can do, but in the wooded section would be nice if that were cut back) and because I'm a little salty I lost a disc! I ended up playing this course because I was traveling for business and it coincided with am worlds - and this wasn't a venue, so I could play on my schedule - I was hoping to catch some of .the other MSP courses, but couldn't get on them because of the tournament. This is a good, challenging course that I would have no problem with playing again if I were unable to check out some of the other iconic MSP courses. It will probably be a while before I play, so I will probably be lulled into complacency before it beats me up again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Looking Good

1    6/29/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Old_Fella
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: - A good mix of wide open/tight shots
- A good workout
- Fairly long
- Well maintained / Marked
- Good for beginner/advanced
Cons: - can be a bit mushy after heavy rain
Other Thoughts: The course is playing great. Recently mowed and it's starting to dry out after the recent wet spring/early summer.

Good course, watch your disc.

5+    9/26/2013   2/9/2014
Review By: DJ Sticky Feet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place to test out new discs.
Offers challenging distance lines.
Beautiful course
Cons: Barely any chances for midranges, as it's long and open.
Not a whole lot of a challenge if you throw 400+
Weeds get really thick late summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's nice. It's a good place to go out for fun. Nice for playing with casual friends.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/26/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: DinosaurThunder
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very open and long shot holes
-Nice technical aspects with each hole- i.e. tee pad placement, tree obstructions, and OB lines.
-Never crowded
Cons: -Very open and can be quite windy
-Swamps and tall grass can get quite buggy
-Tall grass OB hides discs well
Other Thoughts: Recently lost a disc in the tall grass on the right of 18. A green champion beast with no stamp. If found please contact me for a reward. That disc has been my main thrower for years now.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long Rolling UP and Down Hills

1    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: DH Harwell
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros: hmm...well, If you can Drive LONG...you'll need it!
It's great for the long drivers...OR you'll need excellent approach shots...
All chains so putting is typical.
Cons: Cons::Bring a cooler with ICE/ Cold water.
Set up a portable on each end of a football field and there you go....first 3 holes are extremely boring...by hole 4.. you might need a spare disc in case you lose it.
Not for the Beginner...girlfriends or beginners....could be very extrenious. just sayin...
Other Thoughts: There is NO ProShop..other than drinks..there is no Disc's or Bags for sale.
18 long UP and Down rolling hill Holes...Probley a beautiful course at sunset so that is a plus..Birdied 17, my only bird.
Pack a Lunch / Snacks and bring plenty or beverages.
$5 for the day. but well worth it.
Don't bring baby strollers UNLESS you've modified the wheels, like I have. which was perfect.
It's a nice course..I will difinately go back...can't wait actually...All I needed was my essentials... about 5 disc's...my Valkery, Leopard, Stratus, Buzz, and a Putter if you use one. And for those dangerous drives bring with you a "throw away/spare" disc...
I hunted for my one and only BUZZ for over a half hour...I found it! so that's GREAT!!
All concrete pads...and markers are accurate. Misquito spray and a cooler for Ice cold water...a plus...on a hot humid day like today you would have died with out water..lol.
It's what you call a REAL discgolf course..like WhiteBear. Hopefully they keep working on the course making it better.

Best of all it's only 15 minutes from Johns autoparts...would rather golf here than Hamlake or Lockness...a very nice change or pace....Have a great game!! see ya there!


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/19/2012   5/29/2013
Review By: rarintal
Played: 82  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long holes that challeng you. by far the longest of the three rivers courses. if you buy the season pass it's a great value! three pristine courses for a pretty decent price
Cons: really long, some holes have thick woods and allows for easily lost discs. can be windy on the back 9 because it's really open
Other Thoughts: love it! shop on site! great value, lots of parking, great scenery!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Early in the Season

5+    5/20/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: Th3Cor
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: There is a Good Variety on holes. Holes aren't too hard but also aren't stupid simple.
Cons: A little wet. Pay to play and costs $5/day
Other Thoughts: It is early in the Season so only half the course was available - 9 holes. Will revisit review once whole course is available.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Quality course, but lacking something

5+    8/15/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is awesome and is in great condition, including the tee pads, landscaping, signs, and baskets. The course offers a variety of challenging holes with elevation change that go up and down the ski hill and offers some unique holes in the brush/woods. Some of the open downhill holes include Holes 1 and 7, which offer a great opportunity to work on your spike hyzers. The short pins at Holes 15 and 17 also play downhill. There are also several uphill holes, including Holes 3, 13, 16, and the 700 ft. 18th hole. Hole 4 is also a unique hole that doglegs to the right, I recommend using a spotter on this hole. Hole 14 is also probably one of the longest valley shots in the Twin Cities area that plays close to 800 ft. and uphill on your last approach shot. Lastly, all of the downhill holes have potential roll-away potential as well, so be careful. Elm Creek is a great course that is relatively open and gives everyone the opportunity to work on a variety of shots.
Cons: Unfortunately, the bottom part of the course is located near a massive swamp, so the mosquitoes can be awful on a hot, humid summer day...bug spray is a necessity. As I stated above, the majority of the course is pretty wide open, which is great for a breeze to keep the bugs at a minimum, but certainly makes the course less challenging.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it is great course and I recommend getting out to play it. Of the Three Rivers Parks courses, I would rank Elm Creek second quality-wise behind Bryant Lake, but third overall as a complete disc golf course, since I feel it lacks a signature hole to make it stand out. Yea the 700 ft. uphill shot is unique, but I would much rather be throwing downhill at it. If you have a season pass to play these courses, it's definitely worth a trip to check it out.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    7/23/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the grounds of a cross country ski/tubing area, so there isn't much else going on here. There is a bike/jogging path that runs behind some teepads, but otherwise it's free and clear for DG.
- Biggest pro at this course is the hilly terrain that is used well for uphill and downhill shots. There are some open downhill shots, like #1 and #7, and some trickier ones like #4, #12, #15, and #17. Uphill shots include some open ones like #3, #8, and #18, and some tougher ones like #10 and #13. #14 is a long, long valley shot that is a decent downhill shot off the tee, and an uphill approach on the back end. All these elevation changes make for a fun round.
- Forest and mature trees are used in some spots to provide punishment and obstacles, respectively. #4 is a downhill RHFH flick shot, with rough forest to snag errant shots. #5 is a longer right turning hole that plays uphill through the same forest on both sides. #10 is an uphill shot, dogleg left with rough on the left and forest on the right, and #12 is the downhill counterpart that is a RHBH anny or big hyzer over trees/rough. #15 is a little downhill with the basket guarded by big bushes, and #17 is a slight hyzer with lots of trees on the left. Nothing too hard, line-wise, but it does take line shaping to stay clear.
- Some long hole lengths here, which make for some tough holes. #5, the right curving uphill shot, plays longer than 495', and forces some sharp lines to make the distance count. #10 also plays longer than the 423' listed, and #14 is an epic, long valley shot that plays every bit of the 778'. #18 is yet another mega-bomber hole, with the majority of the 694' playing up the tubing hill. Even the biggest arms will be reaching for the drivers in many spots.
- Excellent teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigational signs help to get around, the only tricky part might be after #8, there are a few teepads.
Cons: - Majority of the holes are pretty wide open. Some are completely barren of trees, like #1, #2, #3, #6, #7, #8, #16, and #18. Staying out of the woods way left or right is the only worry. Even most holes with trees only have a handful, so it's not extremely tough.
- Some of the holes get a little cramped, like the #1-#3 loop, and the area by #8 and #12's basket. A good idea to keep an eye peeled for errant shots around here.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a fun course that has a lot of elevation changes to keep things interesting and challenging. Plenty of long holes, short holes, and those in between. Trees, rough, and some forest provide obstacles here and there to shake things up as well. Beginners might find the hole lengths a little frustrating, and advanced players might find it too open. Still, should be a fun round for almost anyone.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center