Maple Grove, MN 
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/1/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: - 18 holes course close to home
- Great use of land at the ski hill
- Open shots, with clean fairways
- You can let a bomb loose on just about every hole
- Championship caliber course
- Pro shop right on site
- Wasn't too bad for foot traffic the day I went
Cons: - LONG up and downhill walk over and over again
- Some more actually wooded holes would have been nice, the wooded holes they have aren't very wood, just cross country ski trails through the woods so they are very wide open
Other Thoughts: - I personally wasn't a fan of this course, I like ski hill courses I have played a couple larger ones bu this wasn't as great as everyone made it out to be, it could have been the long walk up and down and the heat the day I went, but I don't think I will make a special spot for this course to be played again
- Add some more foliage make this course a little tougher and tighter then longer and just having to bomb drives

 Uper level course

2-4    7/9/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: ABL Frolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very beautiful course.
-Very long course for a long day of frolf.
-Well kept, and well maintained.
-Fairways are a good size, and easily distinguishable roughs.
Cons: -Holes 4 and 5 in the woods, very easy to lose discs.
-If you shoot in the rough (tall grass) plan on looking for a while.
-The tall grass is everywhere and is very frustrating if you get your disc in there. I would recommend reflective tape to put on your discs to raise your chances of finding your disc in the tall grass.
Other Thoughts: -The holes downhill (1 and 7) are fun and deceptively challenging.
-For sure bring bug spray. You will be eaten alive.
-It's worth $5 if you are good enough to stay in the fairway every single shot without fail. Can be very frustrating for less than an intermediate sill level.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 long and sunny

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pay to play keeps the chuckers off, nice teeboxes and baskets. lots of elevation. Lots of different shots needed.
Cons: No shade. Like I really noticed about hole 14 that there really had been no wooded holes to speak of, and that shade was at a premium, I think it tired me out more than normal cause you were always out in the sun and heat. Super long, not for the noodle-armed. Multiple 700' holes.
Other Thoughts: Honestly while I'm happy I played this course, I doubt I'll play it again, not really a fun loop. Good challenge for the big arms, for us rec playerrs I'd rather go to plymouth creek.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Open

1    8/17/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: sandford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: PROS
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 4 - Nice signage - easy to find the holes and next tees.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 4 - Loved the teepads, nice and big and in good shape
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 4 - Nice elevation changes on many holes
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 3 - well kept, but it was on a ski hill
BASKETS (5% weight) - 2 - Nice mach 5 baskets, but not many in interesting locations / placements
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 2.5 - Hole #18 was memorable with the down then uphill - but no other stick out as special
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - mostly long and medium holes - no alternate tee locations
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - Have to bomb long drives on every hole, most approaches are open and straightforward
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 4 - very nicely mowed.
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - No benches, but there were a few trash cans
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 4 - the distance and wind made this quite challenging
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 3 - I played at dusk so not too many folks out there
PARKING (2% weight) - 5 - tons of parking
Cons: CONS
OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 1.5 - Even though the course was in great condition, mnay of teh holes were pretty repetetive and too open - neds more trees / obstacles
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 1 - Too open and not enough trees in the fairways or other interesting obstacles for my tastes. Most all of the baskets are on level, open grassy spots which makes for boring putting.
BASKETS (5% weight) - 2 - Nice mach 5 baskets, but not many in interesting locations / placements
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - mostly long and medium holes - no alternate tee locations
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - Have to bomb long drives on every hole, most approaches are open and straightforward
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - No benches, but there were a few trash cans
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 1 - all holes were open
Other Thoughts: Since the course is so open and a few holes you throw downhill you have to be mindful of the wind when you choose yoru disc / shot. I wanted to check out the pro shop but it was closed when I visited at dusk.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

1    4/17/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: ReedB
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A few challenging holes. The course has nice length; especially on holes 14 and 18. An opportunity for an ace on 15. Nice changes in elevation
Cons: -Holes 2-8 are missing pins.
-1 and 17 are the same hole. There is plenty of room to give 17 it's own hole.
-the layout out isn't very clear; had to search a bit to find a few tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a nice course. However, being a 3 rivers course, where you pay to play, I was expecting more out of it.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Elm creek park

2-4    8/15/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: stevep
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tree placement good to make the throws more challenging. Very nice tee boxes, very big. Course was clean and kept nice. I like that the rough areas were not 5 feet high grass. Cut low enough so you can find your disc. good elevation changes. Timmy Gill does nice course design.
Cons: Not all holes open. The trees on the sides of some fairways are extremely thick. After a few years they will be thinned out some from traffic in them.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a good course that I will play again. I wish they would have built it over by the swimming pond where they could used more woods areas.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.