Maple Grove, MN 
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #10 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 423ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Unassuming Beast

2-4    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice long course, with decent variation (elevation changes, mix of long and short holes, mostly open, some wooded).
- Holes 1-3 are a nice way to start (mostly wide open), then you get into some wooded holes.
- the park is well maintained. If you never leave the fairways, you will love this course. There are some great views of the surrounding areas from some of the vistas.
- good directions between holes, you either see the teepad, or there is a directional sign for you.
- proshop (not too much to talk about), bathrooms, etc
Cons: - the rough is BRUTAL (played in July). There are some blind corners, and if you get good distance, and end up in the rough - good luck finding your disc.
- Little bit of walking between holes - don't necessarily think you could do the layout differently to have a continuous flow.
- the signs leave a little to be desired - this is a minor con. They are functional, but they all start to look the same, and have very little detail about surrounding landmarks. That being said, you can see the baskets from many of the teepads, and the fairways are well defined, so there is never a question about where you are going to.
- don't come from an area where you pay to play, so $5 is $5 more then I am used to.
Other Thoughts: - So, when you walk up (or check the course on google - you can see the tees and greens from space!), you're thinking to yourself - this will be simple - wide open course (you can see a good chunk of the baskets from tee 1, since you are up on the hill. And then you start to play, and if you have a headwind, it knocks your disc into the rough - which at a distance doesn't seem too bad, but mid-summer is really dense. There are a lot of paths from folks looking for their discs, but I lost a disc on #11 - pretty sure I knew where it left the fairway, spent about 20 minutes sacrificing my body to the mosquito gods, and couldn't find it...... you get lulled into really going for distance and sacrificing accuracy and it you pay the consequences.I wavered between a 3.5 and 4, went lower partially because of the signs, the rough (I get the open field stuff, nothing you can do, but in the wooded section would be nice if that were cut back) and because I'm a little salty I lost a disc! I ended up playing this course because I was traveling for business and it coincided with am worlds - and this wasn't a venue, so I could play on my schedule - I was hoping to catch some of .the other MSP courses, but couldn't get on them because of the tournament. This is a good, challenging course that I would have no problem with playing again if I were unable to check out some of the other iconic MSP courses. It will probably be a while before I play, so I will probably be lulled into complacency before it beats me up again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long Rolling UP and Down Hills

1    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: DH Harwell
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros: hmm...well, If you can Drive LONG...you'll need it!
It's great for the long drivers...OR you'll need excellent approach shots...
All chains so putting is typical.
Cons: Cons::Bring a cooler with ICE/ Cold water.
Set up a portable on each end of a football field and there you go....first 3 holes are extremely boring...by hole 4.. you might need a spare disc in case you lose it.
Not for the Beginner...girlfriends or beginners....could be very extrenious. just sayin...
Other Thoughts: There is NO ProShop..other than drinks..there is no Disc's or Bags for sale.
18 long UP and Down rolling hill Holes...Probley a beautiful course at sunset so that is a plus..Birdied 17, my only bird.
Pack a Lunch / Snacks and bring plenty or beverages.
$5 for the day. but well worth it.
Don't bring baby strollers UNLESS you've modified the wheels, like I have. which was perfect.
It's a nice course..I will difinately go back...can't wait actually...All I needed was my essentials... about 5 disc's...my Valkery, Leopard, Stratus, Buzz, and a Putter if you use one. And for those dangerous drives bring with you a "throw away/spare" disc...
I hunted for my one and only BUZZ for over a half hour...I found it! so that's GREAT!!
All concrete pads...and markers are accurate. Misquito spray and a cooler for Ice cold water...a plus...on a hot humid day like today you would have died with out water..lol.
It's what you call a REAL discgolf course..like WhiteBear. Hopefully they keep working on the course making it better.

Best of all it's only 15 minutes from Johns autoparts...would rather golf here than Hamlake or Lockness...a very nice change or pace....Have a great game!! see ya there!


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    7/23/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the grounds of a cross country ski/tubing area, so there isn't much else going on here. There is a bike/jogging path that runs behind some teepads, but otherwise it's free and clear for DG.
- Biggest pro at this course is the hilly terrain that is used well for uphill and downhill shots. There are some open downhill shots, like #1 and #7, and some trickier ones like #4, #12, #15, and #17. Uphill shots include some open ones like #3, #8, and #18, and some tougher ones like #10 and #13. #14 is a long, long valley shot that is a decent downhill shot off the tee, and an uphill approach on the back end. All these elevation changes make for a fun round.
- Forest and mature trees are used in some spots to provide punishment and obstacles, respectively. #4 is a downhill RHFH flick shot, with rough forest to snag errant shots. #5 is a longer right turning hole that plays uphill through the same forest on both sides. #10 is an uphill shot, dogleg left with rough on the left and forest on the right, and #12 is the downhill counterpart that is a RHBH anny or big hyzer over trees/rough. #15 is a little downhill with the basket guarded by big bushes, and #17 is a slight hyzer with lots of trees on the left. Nothing too hard, line-wise, but it does take line shaping to stay clear.
- Some long hole lengths here, which make for some tough holes. #5, the right curving uphill shot, plays longer than 495', and forces some sharp lines to make the distance count. #10 also plays longer than the 423' listed, and #14 is an epic, long valley shot that plays every bit of the 778'. #18 is yet another mega-bomber hole, with the majority of the 694' playing up the tubing hill. Even the biggest arms will be reaching for the drivers in many spots.
- Excellent teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigational signs help to get around, the only tricky part might be after #8, there are a few teepads.
Cons: - Majority of the holes are pretty wide open. Some are completely barren of trees, like #1, #2, #3, #6, #7, #8, #16, and #18. Staying out of the woods way left or right is the only worry. Even most holes with trees only have a handful, so it's not extremely tough.
- Some of the holes get a little cramped, like the #1-#3 loop, and the area by #8 and #12's basket. A good idea to keep an eye peeled for errant shots around here.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a fun course that has a lot of elevation changes to keep things interesting and challenging. Plenty of long holes, short holes, and those in between. Trees, rough, and some forest provide obstacles here and there to shake things up as well. Beginners might find the hole lengths a little frustrating, and advanced players might find it too open. Still, should be a fun round for almost anyone.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lesser of the 3

5+    5/26/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: itzbrian17
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of open fairways, good tee pads, mix of long holes, short holes, uphill, downhill. Good selection of discs at shop. Park rangers to make sure nobody is trying to get in a free round. Nice workers, nice park, friendly people.
Cons: Not clearly marked where the next tee pad is on some holes. Woods on almost every hole so it's easy to lose discs. Grass is also thick so it's harder to find your discs even on the fairways. No water or obstacles, only thing to avoid on this course is the woods.
Other Thoughts: The title lesser of the 3 is used because the other two courses Bryant Lake and Hyland are better. Those courses offer more challenging shots and more variety. The three courses are linked by 3 rivers park district

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Long and hilly

1    10/2/2011   1/19/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through cross country ski trails and on a couple tubing hills. Nearly every hole has elevation changes, with a couple big uphills and downhills and lots of rollaway greens. There is a lot of length on this course, with some long holes and some really long holes. A couple nice par 4s are out there with solid drives and upshots needed to card a birdie 3. Big arms will definitely have an advantage here, though shot placement is definitely called for with thick rough and a few gaps to hit.

The concrete tees are large and grippy, with plenty of room for long runups when going for big distance. The signage is plenty good, it's not hard to follow the course and you know where to throw when you're standing on the pad. The fairways were nicely mowed and the course felt well kept in general. The pro shop has discs for rent or sale and drinks and snacks.
Cons: This course feels a bit one dimensional, it's all about long straight shots. There are a few interesting holes where you have to hit a tight gap or a different line but overall it gets a bit repetitive. I'm not at all a fan of long grass as rough for disc golf, and there's lots of it here. Mowed fairways through prairies, especially longer holes, tend to add frustration without really adding any interesting challenge.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this one pretty frustrating, with thick rough and long holes throughout along with a fee to play which often seems to deter newer players. More experienced players will find good tests of their long game and shot placement, though they won't need many technical skills to be successful here. It is a fun place to learn how to play elevation and wind shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Another ski hill course in MN

1    6/19/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Massi/e amount of ele/ation change on this course. Lots of big ups and big downs and some rolling undulating fairways on some others. E/ery hole has some sort of ele/ation change.

2) Pro shop including refreshments on site . . . this is the true model of pay to play and I hope it works. Scorecards a/ailable as well as pencils. Disc sales and disc rentals a/ailable too!

3) Massi/e concrete tees allow for all sorts of different runups. This is really necessary on the ski hill.

4) Signs are nice and include Hole #, Par, Distance and a diagram on four by four posts.
Helpful for na/igation in spots where tees are close to each other.

5) Fairways are nicely mowed. There are some unmowed and umaintained areas, but they mow what would be considered a fairway.

6) Lots of different shots needed because of the ele/ation and side hills in spots. I reall struggle with uphill shots and need to learn a techniue that will help me throw farther up hill!!! Any tips????

7) The amenities are top notch, the park is awesome and packed full of things to do.

8) $3 to play this course all day is definitely worth it!!!! It isn't the best pay to play I ha/e played but I would pay a couple bucks to play my local home course anyways.

9) Good directionals to mo/e you around the course.

10) Nice amount of garbage cans to keep the course clean and tidy.
Cons: 1) Turf is pretty spotty and weedy on the skihill portion. It is understandable but it can create some poor footing issues at certain times . . . especially when wet.

2) During busy play times and tournaments, the tees on 9 and 18, plus also on 10 and 14, would be pretty annoying needing to wait for the other tee to clear before throwing.I understand conser/ing money but sharing a tee is probably a negati/e in this instance especially on a pay to play course.

3) Just not enough obstacles on this course. It is /ery similar to /allarta Ast in that it has fairways mowed through prairies, with unmaintained areas lining some fairways. There also are a few holes that are using wooded areas, but they are clearly skiruns or cross country ski trails. There are no obstacles on these holes only a 30-75' wide fairways lines with Buckthorn and are densely wooded. I like the fairways but the perimeter areas are so densely wooded that it really is almost unfair. Sure the fairways are wide, but e/en 2-3' off the fairway in many spots will force you to just throw out . . . and sometimes you might not e/en get out in one shot.

4) Way more bomber than technical and I much prefer the technical side of the game than the 400+ holes. It just is too repeteti/e for me to throw those long holes.

5)
Other Thoughts: All in all a pretty solid course. It is missing a few things that keep it from being a top notch course, but it has just about e/erything to make a course fun and worth playing. It challenges you a few different ways, but some more obstacles would be preferred in my opinion.

Its just not my style but I recognize good disc golf design when I see it . . . This uses the land well creates a challenge for a certain cailber of player (slightly better than a 913 rated player) or at least slightly more suited to being fun for the long bombers . . . which I am not! It still is a great course. I just prefer more di/ersity ad more technical throws.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/12/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation change
- Little traffic
- Mix of woods and open grass
- Great tee pads
- Great course upkeep
- The mere look of the course is great
Cons: - Redundant play and shots
- Always windy
- Few finesse shots, lots of power drives
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, but lots of walking and the lack of variety in the holes can get old. Take out your big driver and throw away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  closed for the season

2-4    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: wolffsbadid
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: great course!.............................................................................................................................
Cons: All 18 of the baskets have been pulled to get ready for the ski season.
Other Thoughts: .

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Long new course

1    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of length.
-Elevation changes on most holes due to being partially on a ski hill.
-Nice and very large tee boxes
-Nice new chains which are surrounded by a wood chip green similar to Bryant Lake Park
-Small pro shop/concessions stand at the start.
-As with most pay to play courses this one is very well upkept.
-Trash cans at every hole.
-Bathroom at start, one could be used in the middle maybe though.
-Some ace runs and some impossibly long holes give each hole a different feel.
-Very distinct fairways
-Good signage on each hole and signs pointing to next tees as well.
-While there are woods they are not too thick of underbrush so losing discs is only a small problem here.
-Good score cards with map, distance, par. Same as Bryant Lake's.
-Course is designed well so walking distance between holes isnt overly long.
-In the summer this portion of the park is used only by disc golfers so interference shouldn't be a problem.
-Memorable holes for me are 14 which is 778 feet and has lots of elevation change, 7 and 17 which are two of the shorter holes but you can't see the basket due to the large elevation change, and 9 and 18 with the circular dual tees.
Cons: -Way too challenging for beginners.
-Some holes are too long for beginners again
-Pay to play may be a con but all the pay to play courses i've played have been great.
-Some of the hills are going to tire you out if you're not in shape.
-As of this review the first 3 holes are not playable but will be soon, you can see their layout though and it looks to be as good as the rest of the course.
-Could be more windy than other courses due to its elevation and openness of some holes.
-A lot of holes seemed to just be different lengths of the same hole, more doglegs and blind baskets could be used.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play 3 dollars as are all three rivers park district courses. It is definitely worth it. I would probably put this course in my Minnesota Top 10. This place is designed as a ski resort first and a disc golf course second but it still fits well for disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite there yet

1    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elm Creek is a new course, not fully finished at this point in time. The park is a multi-use facility: skiing and tubing in the winter, and lots of bikers on the paved paths in the summer.

Most holes are 320+, with several 400+ and a couple around 700. The area is basically a prarie with gently rolling hills, and the course uses the elevation changes to challenge you on every hole. If you like to just go and bomb a long drive on almost every hole, you will like this course.

The tee boxes are the large concrete pointing kind, save for one round shared one for 9/18. The is only one tee box for each hole. Every hole has signs with diagrams and distance. Most holes have signs pointing to the next hole, and if they don't it's pretty obvious where to go. Usually the mowed path through the prarie grass is the correct route.

Because of its newness, this course is not very busy. I just played two rounds back-to-back on a beautiful Sunday afternoon, and I never once had to wait to shoot.

It's $3 to play all day here. Not a bad price.
Cons: This feels like a ball golf course. Most of the holes are straight up or down hill, or slight left or right curves. Except for maybe 2 holes, there are no trees or any obsticals (save for a random lightpost) in the fairways. It's just chuck it and walk, not much thinking to do here. This is not a skill shot course, and so for me, it's a little boring.

If there are woods bordering the particular hole you're on, avoid them at all costs. They are THICK. Even 6ft deep can be 2 shots to escape.

At this point in time the course is not fully finished. Besides the first 3 holes not being set up, the rest of the course just seems to be very unpolished even though it wants to be (and can be someday) as professional as Bryant Lake or Blue Ribbon Pines.
Other Thoughts: Bring a drink, you will get tired throwing and walking up hill often.

Be careful when using the bike paths to walk from hole to hole. They are quite busy.

If you're using Mapquest or Google maps for directions, they are Epic Fail. The directions posted on this site are perfect.

The season pass to Three Rivers Parks disc golf just got even more economical. Between this, Bryant Lake, and Hyland Hills, you've got a pretty good deal going.

I look forward to seeing the final product of this park later in the fall.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.