Maple Grove, MN 
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Looking Good

1    6/29/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Old_Fella
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: - A good mix of wide open/tight shots
- A good workout
- Fairly long
- Well maintained / Marked
- Good for beginner/advanced
Cons: - can be a bit mushy after heavy rain
Other Thoughts: The course is playing great. Recently mowed and it's starting to dry out after the recent wet spring/early summer.

Good course, watch your disc.

5+    9/26/2013   2/9/2014
Review By: DJ Sticky Feet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place to test out new discs.
Offers challenging distance lines.
Beautiful course
Cons: Barely any chances for midranges, as it's long and open.
Not a whole lot of a challenge if you throw 400+
Weeds get really thick late summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's nice. It's a good place to go out for fun. Nice for playing with casual friends.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/26/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: DinosaurThunder
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very open and long shot holes
-Nice technical aspects with each hole- i.e. tee pad placement, tree obstructions, and OB lines.
-Never crowded
Cons: -Very open and can be quite windy
-Swamps and tall grass can get quite buggy
-Tall grass OB hides discs well
Other Thoughts: Recently lost a disc in the tall grass on the right of 18. A green champion beast with no stamp. If found please contact me for a reward. That disc has been my main thrower for years now.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/19/2012   5/29/2013
Review By: rarintal
Played: 82  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long holes that challeng you. by far the longest of the three rivers courses. if you buy the season pass it's a great value! three pristine courses for a pretty decent price
Cons: really long, some holes have thick woods and allows for easily lost discs. can be windy on the back 9 because it's really open
Other Thoughts: love it! shop on site! great value, lots of parking, great scenery!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quality course, but lacking something

5+    8/15/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is awesome and is in great condition, including the tee pads, landscaping, signs, and baskets. The course offers a variety of challenging holes with elevation change that go up and down the ski hill and offers some unique holes in the brush/woods. Some of the open downhill holes include Holes 1 and 7, which offer a great opportunity to work on your spike hyzers. The short pins at Holes 15 and 17 also play downhill. There are also several uphill holes, including Holes 3, 13, 16, and the 700 ft. 18th hole. Hole 4 is also a unique hole that doglegs to the right, I recommend using a spotter on this hole. Hole 14 is also probably one of the longest valley shots in the Twin Cities area that plays close to 800 ft. and uphill on your last approach shot. Lastly, all of the downhill holes have potential roll-away potential as well, so be careful. Elm Creek is a great course that is relatively open and gives everyone the opportunity to work on a variety of shots.
Cons: Unfortunately, the bottom part of the course is located near a massive swamp, so the mosquitoes can be awful on a hot, humid summer day...bug spray is a necessity. As I stated above, the majority of the course is pretty wide open, which is great for a breeze to keep the bugs at a minimum, but certainly makes the course less challenging.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it is great course and I recommend getting out to play it. Of the Three Rivers Parks courses, I would rank Elm Creek second quality-wise behind Bryant Lake, but third overall as a complete disc golf course, since I feel it lacks a signature hole to make it stand out. Yea the 700 ft. uphill shot is unique, but I would much rather be throwing downhill at it. If you have a season pass to play these courses, it's definitely worth a trip to check it out.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, Lots Of Trees.

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: TwhDiscs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really beautiful course! Every element of nature is your enemy. For those who can throw far, this is your course! Its long, totaling at more then 7,000 feet. The tee-pads are huge! Nice and grippy also. The baskets are really good at catching discs. Anything that hits, has a 99% chance of staying in. Fairways are nicely mowed, but the rough, wow. Its deep and unforgiving. Although, they did just mow almost all of the long grass. So its nice fairways. Theres a mulch spot around each basket. 10m diameter. Nice looking course. Lots of elevation because you're on a ski hill. You go up it twice, and down it twice. I don't mind the walk, its fun throwing downhill, you get more distance. For the price of $5 of a daily pass, or, if you live in the area, get the season pass which is $35. There is also a nice pro shop. They have a rack of about 20-35 discs on average you can buy. Mostly for $12 to $18. They sell beverages and snacks. If its your first time on the course, expect to be on it for at least 2.5 hours. Its long, and if you have to look at all (which you will) even longer.
Cons: There are a few bad things, despite all of the good things. There is tons of long grass, so for kids or beginners, you will spend a lot of time looking. Also, hole 5 is nearly 500' and still only a par 3. It should be changed. Also on holes 4 and 5 theres a marsh on the right side, beware! This course, after a while, gets repetitive. Lots of the holes are alike. Open straight fairway, with a tree or 2 in your way. But you can easily get around them. And the bugs. Wow. Don't even get me started. If you don't have bug spray you won't last through the front 9.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course, and I recommend playing it if you're in the area. Despite its bad things, I would play it everyday if I could. Mainly because its the only course around where I live. Its $5 for a daily pass, meaning you can play as much as you want in one day. But if you think you're going to play it a lot. Get the season pass for $35.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bombs Away!

1    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another of the tri-fecta of the Three Rivers Parks Departments pay to play courses. This is another course set on the ski slopes and is again similiar to Hyland. Elm Creek probably is even more "Arm friendly' to those of you with the big guns. With only # 15 plays shorter than 278' and with two topping out at around 700', this is defintely a course you're going to want to ice up your arm after playing.

The amentities are wonderful in every way from the professional scorecards to the extra large, grippy teepads to the great signage, great baskets and down to the pro shop with the food and refreshments. There's everything here I would want in my pay to play course.

I was very happy here with the ratio of uphill versus downhill holes along with a few level holes thrown in for good measure. This course is very, very tough but it's fair. It's a great intermediate course that better players will still enjoy and find challenging.
Cons: # 18 is a beast at almost 700' climbing uphill much of the way. For us weanie arms, this is punishment at the end of a grueling 18 here on the mountain.

The long, open holes did tend to get a little repetetive after a while. This is not a course I would want to play everyday although I'd love to play it with some of my younger friends with their big ole arms.

Other Thoughts: This course doesn't give you any breaks, either playing wise or physically. It just kinds of grinds you down and then # 18 finishes you. But somehow I liked this abuse. I'm usually more into the easy, recreational park courses that are a little easier on you.

I give the designers their kudos for making a course thats long, rugged and challenging but still fair enough so a 60 year old recreational duffer like myself can appreciate and enjoy it. I tip my hat to you designers!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/30/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Vetiver1978
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: elevation changes on almost every hole
very well kept course
great for those who love to air it out
great workout going up and down hills
Cons: alot of wide open fairways
bad for those who arn't blessed with big arms
hole 18 is a beast!! (maybe not a con though)
no water hazards
Other Thoughts: really enjoyed playing this course and plan on playing it more in the future. I would especially recommend playing it to any one who appreciates trying to throw long accurate drives...........PLAY IT!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A wide open bomber course

5+    5/30/2010   2/10/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elm Creek is part of the Three Rivers Park district. It's a beautiful, spacious, park reserve with scenic views and wide open expanses. Most Minnesota courses are pretty heavily wooded, so this course has been a nice addition and comes with a different feel than you can find elsewhere in this part of the state. It is by all measures an advanced level course.

It has the biggest, best tee pads and longest holes you will find anywhere in the greater Twin Cities area.

It's never been busy when I've played.

The money invested by Three Rivers is plainly visible on the course. It has the amenities you would expect of a pay course: scorecards, trash cans, great signs, benches, a club house with some beverages, even disc rental packages.
Cons: There aren't any objectively bad things about the course other than the thick rough.
Other Thoughts: There are however a lot of things which may affect a person's opinion of the course.

It's got a lot of really long, fairly open shots. The majority of the holes require a drive of 300-400' to card a birdie and feature just a few obstacles each (though if you hit one you can kiss any chance of a bird, and most cases a par, goodbye). 2 of the par 3's are nearly 500'. Still, the beauty of the course is captivating enough that some of the relatively boring holes are made enjoyable by the surroundings. Again, this effect is made the more pronounced due to the lack of disc golf courses that feel like this in the area.

Another factor to consider is the weather. Winds will have a strong impact on strategy. On really hot summer days there is very little relief from the heat and sunshine.

It's a long hike, and because it's used for sledding and skiing in the winter, there are a lot of large hills. You need to be fit and well supplied. Bring lots of water and a snack or lunch.

It costs $5 to play for the day, and there is an option to buy a season pass to all the Three Rivers disc golf courses (Bryant Lake, Hyland SSA, Elm Creek).

The course isn't meant for everyone. It's designed to challenge your ability to throw long, accurate shots, and it does that quite well.

Because it doesn't have mass appeal, I knocked one point off it's score. However, it's a very beautiful 5/5 ball golf style course with a lot of elevation change. Unique to the area and well worth the drive(s)!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the three bucks

1    6/9/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An excellent intermediate to advanced caliber course with a nice variety of elevation holes. Layout tempts you to give it all you got (and often makes you pay for it). Very clean facility with big spacious tee boxes, and nice logical flow (although I didn't care for the long walk between 5 & 6). Big arms will enjoy the open downhill bombs. I personally enjoyed the wooded shots on 4 & 5.
Cons: My primary complaint would be some that the holes, particularly on the back nine, felt a tad redundant. Rec players with smaller arms and kids probably are going to get frustrated here as there is some nasty rough (mostly tall grass) off the fairways. I probably spent an extra hour looking for discs. At the time being is single tee / single pin and I think some shorter pads would help make the course more appealing. Not open all year long as this location doubles as a ski area in the winter.
Other Thoughts: More suited to the big boys than the casual crowd, but I went a bit above the average here, and I thankfully had a beautifully calm late Spring afternoon to enjoy ECPR, and it was a nice compliment to BRP and Ham Lake earlier in the day. I might not have been so happy on a windy day though and I'm sure it howls here sometimes.

Not the premier DG destination in the TC, but a good one to hit if you're up in the north suburbs. Locals should definitely invest in the annual $35 pass, which also gets them into Bryant Lake and Hyland SSA. Compliments Blue Ribbon Pines flatter and woodsier nature very well. If I get up that way again, I'll be back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.