Maple Grove, MN
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
long and sunny

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pay to play keeps the chuckers off, nice teeboxes and baskets. lots of elevation. Lots of different shots needed.
Cons: No shade. Like I really noticed about hole 14 that there really had been no wooded holes to speak of, and that shade was at a premium, I think it tired me out more than normal cause you were always out in the sun and heat. Super long, not for the noodle-armed. Multiple 700' holes.
Other Thoughts: Honestly while I'm happy I played this course, I doubt I'll play it again, not really a fun loop. Good challenge for the big arms, for us rec playerrs I'd rather go to plymouth creek.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long and hilly

1    10/2/2011   1/19/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through cross country ski trails and on a couple tubing hills. Nearly every hole has elevation changes, with a couple big uphills and downhills and lots of rollaway greens. There is a lot of length on this course, with some long holes and some really long holes. A couple nice par 4s are out there with solid drives and upshots needed to card a birdie 3. Big arms will definitely have an advantage here, though shot placement is definitely called for with thick rough and a few gaps to hit.

The concrete tees are large and grippy, with plenty of room for long runups when going for big distance. The signage is plenty good, it's not hard to follow the course and you know where to throw when you're standing on the pad. The fairways were nicely mowed and the course felt well kept in general. The pro shop has discs for rent or sale and drinks and snacks.
Cons: This course feels a bit one dimensional, it's all about long straight shots. There are a few interesting holes where you have to hit a tight gap or a different line but overall it gets a bit repetitive. I'm not at all a fan of long grass as rough for disc golf, and there's lots of it here. Mowed fairways through prairies, especially longer holes, tend to add frustration without really adding any interesting challenge.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this one pretty frustrating, with thick rough and long holes throughout along with a fee to play which often seems to deter newer players. More experienced players will find good tests of their long game and shot placement, though they won't need many technical skills to be successful here. It is a fun place to learn how to play elevation and wind shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bombs Away!

1    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another of the tri-fecta of the Three Rivers Parks Departments pay to play courses. This is another course set on the ski slopes and is again similiar to Hyland. Elm Creek probably is even more "Arm friendly' to those of you with the big guns. With only # 15 plays shorter than 278' and with two topping out at around 700', this is defintely a course you're going to want to ice up your arm after playing.

The amentities are wonderful in every way from the professional scorecards to the extra large, grippy teepads to the great signage, great baskets and down to the pro shop with the food and refreshments. There's everything here I would want in my pay to play course.

I was very happy here with the ratio of uphill versus downhill holes along with a few level holes thrown in for good measure. This course is very, very tough but it's fair. It's a great intermediate course that better players will still enjoy and find challenging.
Cons: # 18 is a beast at almost 700' climbing uphill much of the way. For us weanie arms, this is punishment at the end of a grueling 18 here on the mountain.

The long, open holes did tend to get a little repetetive after a while. This is not a course I would want to play everyday although I'd love to play it with some of my younger friends with their big ole arms.

Other Thoughts: This course doesn't give you any breaks, either playing wise or physically. It just kinds of grinds you down and then # 18 finishes you. But somehow I liked this abuse. I'm usually more into the easy, recreational park courses that are a little easier on you.

I give the designers their kudos for making a course thats long, rugged and challenging but still fair enough so a 60 year old recreational duffer like myself can appreciate and enjoy it. I tip my hat to you designers!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/30/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Vetiver1978
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: elevation changes on almost every hole
very well kept course
great for those who love to air it out
great workout going up and down hills
Cons: alot of wide open fairways
bad for those who arn't blessed with big arms
hole 18 is a beast!! (maybe not a con though)
no water hazards
Other Thoughts: really enjoyed playing this course and plan on playing it more in the future. I would especially recommend playing it to any one who appreciates trying to throw long accurate drives...........PLAY IT!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 About as good as it gets

5+    6/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in MN. This course presents several challenges requiring you to incorporate several types of shots to be successful. Tee pads, baskets, signage and course layout are all top quality. Excellent use of elevation changes make this a must-play. Another attribute I like is that you really don't have much cross traffic from other holes to interfere with you throwing, which I really appreciate. Great design, great value for a pay to play course.
Cons: The mosquitoes depending time of year can be out of control on this course. Other than something that can be resolved with bug spray I have nothing bad to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: It can be a bit confusing entering the park with a few "roundabouts" as to where you need to go, but just be sure to carefully look at the signs and they will lead you to the right parking lot.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Another ski hill course in MN

1    6/19/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Massi/e amount of ele/ation change on this course. Lots of big ups and big downs and some rolling undulating fairways on some others. E/ery hole has some sort of ele/ation change.

2) Pro shop including refreshments on site . . . this is the true model of pay to play and I hope it works. Scorecards a/ailable as well as pencils. Disc sales and disc rentals a/ailable too!

3) Massi/e concrete tees allow for all sorts of different runups. This is really necessary on the ski hill.

4) Signs are nice and include Hole #, Par, Distance and a diagram on four by four posts.
Helpful for na/igation in spots where tees are close to each other.

5) Fairways are nicely mowed. There are some unmowed and umaintained areas, but they mow what would be considered a fairway.

6) Lots of different shots needed because of the ele/ation and side hills in spots. I reall struggle with uphill shots and need to learn a techniue that will help me throw farther up hill!!! Any tips????

7) The amenities are top notch, the park is awesome and packed full of things to do.

8) $3 to play this course all day is definitely worth it!!!! It isn't the best pay to play I ha/e played but I would pay a couple bucks to play my local home course anyways.

9) Good directionals to mo/e you around the course.

10) Nice amount of garbage cans to keep the course clean and tidy.
Cons: 1) Turf is pretty spotty and weedy on the skihill portion. It is understandable but it can create some poor footing issues at certain times . . . especially when wet.

2) During busy play times and tournaments, the tees on 9 and 18, plus also on 10 and 14, would be pretty annoying needing to wait for the other tee to clear before throwing.I understand conser/ing money but sharing a tee is probably a negati/e in this instance especially on a pay to play course.

3) Just not enough obstacles on this course. It is /ery similar to /allarta Ast in that it has fairways mowed through prairies, with unmaintained areas lining some fairways. There also are a few holes that are using wooded areas, but they are clearly skiruns or cross country ski trails. There are no obstacles on these holes only a 30-75' wide fairways lines with Buckthorn and are densely wooded. I like the fairways but the perimeter areas are so densely wooded that it really is almost unfair. Sure the fairways are wide, but e/en 2-3' off the fairway in many spots will force you to just throw out . . . and sometimes you might not e/en get out in one shot.

4) Way more bomber than technical and I much prefer the technical side of the game than the 400+ holes. It just is too repeteti/e for me to throw those long holes.

5)
Other Thoughts: All in all a pretty solid course. It is missing a few things that keep it from being a top notch course, but it has just about e/erything to make a course fun and worth playing. It challenges you a few different ways, but some more obstacles would be preferred in my opinion.

Its just not my style but I recognize good disc golf design when I see it . . . This uses the land well creates a challenge for a certain cailber of player (slightly better than a 913 rated player) or at least slightly more suited to being fun for the long bombers . . . which I am not! It still is a great course. I just prefer more di/ersity ad more technical throws.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/12/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation change
- Little traffic
- Mix of woods and open grass
- Great tee pads
- Great course upkeep
- The mere look of the course is great
Cons: - Redundant play and shots
- Always windy
- Few finesse shots, lots of power drives
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, but lots of walking and the lack of variety in the holes can get old. Take out your big driver and throw away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A wide open bomber course

5+    5/30/2010   2/10/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elm Creek is part of the Three Rivers Park district. It's a beautiful, spacious, park reserve with scenic views and wide open expanses. Most Minnesota courses are pretty heavily wooded, so this course has been a nice addition and comes with a different feel than you can find elsewhere in this part of the state. It is by all measures an advanced level course.

It has the biggest, best tee pads and longest holes you will find anywhere in the greater Twin Cities area.

It's never been busy when I've played.

The money invested by Three Rivers is plainly visible on the course. It has the amenities you would expect of a pay course: scorecards, trash cans, great signs, benches, a club house with some beverages, even disc rental packages.
Cons: There aren't any objectively bad things about the course other than the thick rough.
Other Thoughts: There are however a lot of things which may affect a person's opinion of the course.

It's got a lot of really long, fairly open shots. The majority of the holes require a drive of 300-400' to card a birdie and feature just a few obstacles each (though if you hit one you can kiss any chance of a bird, and most cases a par, goodbye). 2 of the par 3's are nearly 500'. Still, the beauty of the course is captivating enough that some of the relatively boring holes are made enjoyable by the surroundings. Again, this effect is made the more pronounced due to the lack of disc golf courses that feel like this in the area.

Another factor to consider is the weather. Winds will have a strong impact on strategy. On really hot summer days there is very little relief from the heat and sunshine.

It's a long hike, and because it's used for sledding and skiing in the winter, there are a lot of large hills. You need to be fit and well supplied. Bring lots of water and a snack or lunch.

It costs $5 to play for the day, and there is an option to buy a season pass to all the Three Rivers disc golf courses (Bryant Lake, Hyland SSA, Elm Creek).

The course isn't meant for everyone. It's designed to challenge your ability to throw long, accurate shots, and it does that quite well.

Because it doesn't have mass appeal, I knocked one point off it's score. However, it's a very beautiful 5/5 ball golf style course with a lot of elevation change. Unique to the area and well worth the drive(s)!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the three bucks

1    6/9/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 312  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An excellent intermediate to advanced caliber course with a nice variety of elevation holes. Layout tempts you to give it all you got (and often makes you pay for it). Very clean facility with big spacious tee boxes, and nice logical flow (although I didn't care for the long walk between 5 & 6). Big arms will enjoy the open downhill bombs. I personally enjoyed the wooded shots on 4 & 5.
Cons: My primary complaint would be some that the holes, particularly on the back nine, felt a tad redundant. Rec players with smaller arms and kids probably are going to get frustrated here as there is some nasty rough (mostly tall grass) off the fairways. I probably spent an extra hour looking for discs. At the time being is single tee / single pin and I think some shorter pads would help make the course more appealing. Not open all year long as this location doubles as a ski area in the winter.
Other Thoughts: More suited to the big boys than the casual crowd, but I went a bit above the average here, and I thankfully had a beautifully calm late Spring afternoon to enjoy ECPR, and it was a nice compliment to BRP and Ham Lake earlier in the day. I might not have been so happy on a windy day though and I'm sure it howls here sometimes.

Not the premier DG destination in the TC, but a good one to hit if you're up in the north suburbs. Locals should definitely invest in the annual $35 pass, which also gets them into Bryant Lake and Hyland SSA. Compliments Blue Ribbon Pines flatter and woodsier nature very well. If I get up that way again, I'll be back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/12/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: smarkquart
Played: 83  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was designed with length in mind, to be a complement to the other Three River Courses so you could have a mixture of every conceivable hole if you play all three courses. It also takes into consideration that disc technology is evolving, allowing more players to throw longer. The fairways look wide, but this is only a deception as players will likely put everything they have into the throw, exposing any flaws in their technique, and dumping it off the fairway anyway. The challenge of this course is to overcome your flaws, achieving distance and accuracy, while also battling the elements since you do not have the challenge of trees or obstacles. This should be considered a pro because it is different.

Specifically -
* Good use of allowable land (yes there is a lot of forest surrounding the course, but it is a Reserve park)
* Distance for opening up with full power
* Elevation changes are unique but not abusive like HSSA (sister course)
*Openness and on the west side of the elevation allows you to play closer to darkness
* No two holes are alike
Cons: The two biggest cons I can think are; 1) The course closes early in the year to get ready for the skiing and tubing season. When it also opens later because it takes longer for the land to heal from all the artificially made snow. Sometimes they will open sections of the course, but not all at once (as a previous reviewer may not have known). 2) The rough surrounding the fairway makes it impossible to find discs. As mentioned above, the fairways are wide but players have a tendency to open up with everything they got, exposing their discs to technique flaws and the wind. You are going to spend some time in the rough. There are certain spots on every hole that just gobble discs and it is not uncommon to lose one a round and spend considerable time looking for others. They are trying to improve this, as seen on the second mowed fairway just added to Hole 14, but it is still a huge issue.

Specifically -
* Incredibly nasty rough can frustrate your round if you have to spend a lot of time searching for discs
* The wind should be consider a challenge to test your skills, but there are days where it is so horrible that it makes the course all but unplayable
* Only holes 14 and 18 are Par 4s, two or three more of the holes need to be reconsidered and changed to Par 4s as well. It can be equally frustrating when you get par less than 50 percent of the time.
Other Thoughts: Elm Creek definitely considered the evolution of disc speed and distance technology. This creates a situation where distance is now more important than fairway accuracy. Despite what appears to be wide open fairways, they are not completely open (like at a city park) because the rough is tremendously rough. You are definitely punished if you cannot keep it on the fairway.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.