Maple Grove, MN 
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Course, Lots Of Trees.

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: TwhDiscs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really beautiful course! Every element of nature is your enemy. For those who can throw far, this is your course! Its long, totaling at more then 7,000 feet. The tee-pads are huge! Nice and grippy also. The baskets are really good at catching discs. Anything that hits, has a 99% chance of staying in. Fairways are nicely mowed, but the rough, wow. Its deep and unforgiving. Although, they did just mow almost all of the long grass. So its nice fairways. Theres a mulch spot around each basket. 10m diameter. Nice looking course. Lots of elevation because you're on a ski hill. You go up it twice, and down it twice. I don't mind the walk, its fun throwing downhill, you get more distance. For the price of $5 of a daily pass, or, if you live in the area, get the season pass which is $35. There is also a nice pro shop. They have a rack of about 20-35 discs on average you can buy. Mostly for $12 to $18. They sell beverages and snacks. If its your first time on the course, expect to be on it for at least 2.5 hours. Its long, and if you have to look at all (which you will) even longer.
Cons: There are a few bad things, despite all of the good things. There is tons of long grass, so for kids or beginners, you will spend a lot of time looking. Also, hole 5 is nearly 500' and still only a par 3. It should be changed. Also on holes 4 and 5 theres a marsh on the right side, beware! This course, after a while, gets repetitive. Lots of the holes are alike. Open straight fairway, with a tree or 2 in your way. But you can easily get around them. And the bugs. Wow. Don't even get me started. If you don't have bug spray you won't last through the front 9.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course, and I recommend playing it if you're in the area. Despite its bad things, I would play it everyday if I could. Mainly because its the only course around where I live. Its $5 for a daily pass, meaning you can play as much as you want in one day. But if you think you're going to play it a lot. Get the season pass for $35.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Uper level course

2-4    7/9/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: ABL Frolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very beautiful course.
-Very long course for a long day of frolf.
-Well kept, and well maintained.
-Fairways are a good size, and easily distinguishable roughs.
Cons: -Holes 4 and 5 in the woods, very easy to lose discs.
-If you shoot in the rough (tall grass) plan on looking for a while.
-The tall grass is everywhere and is very frustrating if you get your disc in there. I would recommend reflective tape to put on your discs to raise your chances of finding your disc in the tall grass.
Other Thoughts: -The holes downhill (1 and 7) are fun and deceptively challenging.
-For sure bring bug spray. You will be eaten alive.
-It's worth $5 if you are good enough to stay in the fairway every single shot without fail. Can be very frustrating for less than an intermediate sill level.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lesser of the 3

5+    5/26/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: itzbrian17
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of open fairways, good tee pads, mix of long holes, short holes, uphill, downhill. Good selection of discs at shop. Park rangers to make sure nobody is trying to get in a free round. Nice workers, nice park, friendly people.
Cons: Not clearly marked where the next tee pad is on some holes. Woods on almost every hole so it's easy to lose discs. Grass is also thick so it's harder to find your discs even on the fairways. No water or obstacles, only thing to avoid on this course is the woods.
Other Thoughts: The title lesser of the 3 is used because the other two courses Bryant Lake and Hyland are better. Those courses offer more challenging shots and more variety. The three courses are linked by 3 rivers park district

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 long and sunny

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pay to play keeps the chuckers off, nice teeboxes and baskets. lots of elevation. Lots of different shots needed.
Cons: No shade. Like I really noticed about hole 14 that there really had been no wooded holes to speak of, and that shade was at a premium, I think it tired me out more than normal cause you were always out in the sun and heat. Super long, not for the noodle-armed. Multiple 700' holes.
Other Thoughts: Honestly while I'm happy I played this course, I doubt I'll play it again, not really a fun loop. Good challenge for the big arms, for us rec playerrs I'd rather go to plymouth creek.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long and hilly

1    10/2/2011   1/19/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through cross country ski trails and on a couple tubing hills. Nearly every hole has elevation changes, with a couple big uphills and downhills and lots of rollaway greens. There is a lot of length on this course, with some long holes and some really long holes. A couple nice par 4s are out there with solid drives and upshots needed to card a birdie 3. Big arms will definitely have an advantage here, though shot placement is definitely called for with thick rough and a few gaps to hit.

The concrete tees are large and grippy, with plenty of room for long runups when going for big distance. The signage is plenty good, it's not hard to follow the course and you know where to throw when you're standing on the pad. The fairways were nicely mowed and the course felt well kept in general. The pro shop has discs for rent or sale and drinks and snacks.
Cons: This course feels a bit one dimensional, it's all about long straight shots. There are a few interesting holes where you have to hit a tight gap or a different line but overall it gets a bit repetitive. I'm not at all a fan of long grass as rough for disc golf, and there's lots of it here. Mowed fairways through prairies, especially longer holes, tend to add frustration without really adding any interesting challenge.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this one pretty frustrating, with thick rough and long holes throughout along with a fee to play which often seems to deter newer players. More experienced players will find good tests of their long game and shot placement, though they won't need many technical skills to be successful here. It is a fun place to learn how to play elevation and wind shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bombs Away!

1    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another of the tri-fecta of the Three Rivers Parks Departments pay to play courses. This is another course set on the ski slopes and is again similiar to Hyland. Elm Creek probably is even more "Arm friendly' to those of you with the big guns. With only # 15 plays shorter than 278' and with two topping out at around 700', this is defintely a course you're going to want to ice up your arm after playing.

The amentities are wonderful in every way from the professional scorecards to the extra large, grippy teepads to the great signage, great baskets and down to the pro shop with the food and refreshments. There's everything here I would want in my pay to play course.

I was very happy here with the ratio of uphill versus downhill holes along with a few level holes thrown in for good measure. This course is very, very tough but it's fair. It's a great intermediate course that better players will still enjoy and find challenging.
Cons: # 18 is a beast at almost 700' climbing uphill much of the way. For us weanie arms, this is punishment at the end of a grueling 18 here on the mountain.

The long, open holes did tend to get a little repetetive after a while. This is not a course I would want to play everyday although I'd love to play it with some of my younger friends with their big ole arms.

Other Thoughts: This course doesn't give you any breaks, either playing wise or physically. It just kinds of grinds you down and then # 18 finishes you. But somehow I liked this abuse. I'm usually more into the easy, recreational park courses that are a little easier on you.

I give the designers their kudos for making a course thats long, rugged and challenging but still fair enough so a 60 year old recreational duffer like myself can appreciate and enjoy it. I tip my hat to you designers!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/30/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Vetiver1978
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: elevation changes on almost every hole
very well kept course
great for those who love to air it out
great workout going up and down hills
Cons: alot of wide open fairways
bad for those who arn't blessed with big arms
hole 18 is a beast!! (maybe not a con though)
no water hazards
Other Thoughts: really enjoyed playing this course and plan on playing it more in the future. I would especially recommend playing it to any one who appreciates trying to throw long accurate drives...........PLAY IT!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 About as good as it gets

5+    6/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in MN. This course presents several challenges requiring you to incorporate several types of shots to be successful. Tee pads, baskets, signage and course layout are all top quality. Excellent use of elevation changes make this a must-play. Another attribute I like is that you really don't have much cross traffic from other holes to interfere with you throwing, which I really appreciate. Great design, great value for a pay to play course.
Cons: The mosquitoes depending time of year can be out of control on this course. Other than something that can be resolved with bug spray I have nothing bad to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: It can be a bit confusing entering the park with a few "roundabouts" as to where you need to go, but just be sure to carefully look at the signs and they will lead you to the right parking lot.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Another ski hill course in MN

1    6/19/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Massi/e amount of ele/ation change on this course. Lots of big ups and big downs and some rolling undulating fairways on some others. E/ery hole has some sort of ele/ation change.

2) Pro shop including refreshments on site . . . this is the true model of pay to play and I hope it works. Scorecards a/ailable as well as pencils. Disc sales and disc rentals a/ailable too!

3) Massi/e concrete tees allow for all sorts of different runups. This is really necessary on the ski hill.

4) Signs are nice and include Hole #, Par, Distance and a diagram on four by four posts.
Helpful for na/igation in spots where tees are close to each other.

5) Fairways are nicely mowed. There are some unmowed and umaintained areas, but they mow what would be considered a fairway.

6) Lots of different shots needed because of the ele/ation and side hills in spots. I reall struggle with uphill shots and need to learn a techniue that will help me throw farther up hill!!! Any tips????

7) The amenities are top notch, the park is awesome and packed full of things to do.

8) $3 to play this course all day is definitely worth it!!!! It isn't the best pay to play I ha/e played but I would pay a couple bucks to play my local home course anyways.

9) Good directionals to mo/e you around the course.

10) Nice amount of garbage cans to keep the course clean and tidy.
Cons: 1) Turf is pretty spotty and weedy on the skihill portion. It is understandable but it can create some poor footing issues at certain times . . . especially when wet.

2) During busy play times and tournaments, the tees on 9 and 18, plus also on 10 and 14, would be pretty annoying needing to wait for the other tee to clear before throwing.I understand conser/ing money but sharing a tee is probably a negati/e in this instance especially on a pay to play course.

3) Just not enough obstacles on this course. It is /ery similar to /allarta Ast in that it has fairways mowed through prairies, with unmaintained areas lining some fairways. There also are a few holes that are using wooded areas, but they are clearly skiruns or cross country ski trails. There are no obstacles on these holes only a 30-75' wide fairways lines with Buckthorn and are densely wooded. I like the fairways but the perimeter areas are so densely wooded that it really is almost unfair. Sure the fairways are wide, but e/en 2-3' off the fairway in many spots will force you to just throw out . . . and sometimes you might not e/en get out in one shot.

4) Way more bomber than technical and I much prefer the technical side of the game than the 400+ holes. It just is too repeteti/e for me to throw those long holes.

5)
Other Thoughts: All in all a pretty solid course. It is missing a few things that keep it from being a top notch course, but it has just about e/erything to make a course fun and worth playing. It challenges you a few different ways, but some more obstacles would be preferred in my opinion.

Its just not my style but I recognize good disc golf design when I see it . . . This uses the land well creates a challenge for a certain cailber of player (slightly better than a 913 rated player) or at least slightly more suited to being fun for the long bombers . . . which I am not! It still is a great course. I just prefer more di/ersity ad more technical throws.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/12/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation change
- Little traffic
- Mix of woods and open grass
- Great tee pads
- Great course upkeep
- The mere look of the course is great
Cons: - Redundant play and shots
- Always windy
- Few finesse shots, lots of power drives
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, but lots of walking and the lack of variety in the holes can get old. Take out your big driver and throw away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.