Disc Golf Store
Maple Grove, MN 
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Not quite there yet

1    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elm Creek is a new course, not fully finished at this point in time. The park is a multi-use facility: skiing and tubing in the winter, and lots of bikers on the paved paths in the summer.

Most holes are 320+, with several 400+ and a couple around 700. The area is basically a prarie with gently rolling hills, and the course uses the elevation changes to challenge you on every hole. If you like to just go and bomb a long drive on almost every hole, you will like this course.

The tee boxes are the large concrete pointing kind, save for one round shared one for 9/18. The is only one tee box for each hole. Every hole has signs with diagrams and distance. Most holes have signs pointing to the next hole, and if they don't it's pretty obvious where to go. Usually the mowed path through the prarie grass is the correct route.

Because of its newness, this course is not very busy. I just played two rounds back-to-back on a beautiful Sunday afternoon, and I never once had to wait to shoot.

It's $3 to play all day here. Not a bad price.
Cons: This feels like a ball golf course. Most of the holes are straight up or down hill, or slight left or right curves. Except for maybe 2 holes, there are no trees or any obsticals (save for a random lightpost) in the fairways. It's just chuck it and walk, not much thinking to do here. This is not a skill shot course, and so for me, it's a little boring.

If there are woods bordering the particular hole you're on, avoid them at all costs. They are THICK. Even 6ft deep can be 2 shots to escape.

At this point in time the course is not fully finished. Besides the first 3 holes not being set up, the rest of the course just seems to be very unpolished even though it wants to be (and can be someday) as professional as Bryant Lake or Blue Ribbon Pines.
Other Thoughts: Bring a drink, you will get tired throwing and walking up hill often.

Be careful when using the bike paths to walk from hole to hole. They are quite busy.

If you're using Mapquest or Google maps for directions, they are Epic Fail. The directions posted on this site are perfect.

The season pass to Three Rivers Parks disc golf just got even more economical. Between this, Bryant Lake, and Hyland Hills, you've got a pretty good deal going.

I look forward to seeing the final product of this park later in the fall.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not just long?

5+    7/14/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an advanced level course both due to distance and narrow fairways. If you bring your beginner friends out they will leave tired and frustrated. Intermediates will love it for some reason though.

Situated on a Mn ski hill, not really that tall, it plays in and around the hill using the distances available, the steep ski terrain, and the dense woods to provide most of the obstacles.

The design starts off using terrain well. Holes 4 and 5 (1-3 aren't in) for instance play mostly around a circle, clockwise. Go off the fairway and you are in the woods and probably just throwing out of the woods instead of making a shot. Stay on the fairway and unless you get some pretty good air you are still going to struggle for par. Hole 7 is on a downhill and the pin is on the downhill side of the hill, not at the bottom, making overthrows a real possibility. There aren't any real obstacles other than the hill. There are also the prerequisite, throw a straight 300 foot shot and now do that a few times for the 700 foot hole. I mention these because throwing straight is the main thing on this course and long and straight is even better.

Signage and flow are good. The fairways are well maintained, there are garbage cans readily available and the teeboxes are great. There are also plenty of benches and the baskets are in great shape. The park has a pro shop with drinks and rental discs.
Cons: The holes vary more by distance than type of shot needed, they mostly require a straight long drive. My con list isn't very long because the only cons I have revolve around how the course plays. In every other respect it is great.
Other Thoughts: It is fun to play for most. I have a fairly big arm and the irony is that my buddies that can barely throw 280 feet and that only with poor accuracy like the course more than me. I'm not sure why that is.

Another of the 3 Rivers Park District courses all of which are pay per play. They do a lot to earn the 5 dollars daily pass or 30 for a yearly pass. All of their courses are well designed and maintained and they don't stop improving or upgrading. I could see my review changing somewhat with the additional 3 holes.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Country club atmosphere

1    6/27/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: chalupamarley
Played: 53  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *As I said in the title, this course has a real ball golf feel. The wide, rolling fairways can make one think he has a clear shot. But the pitch of the fairways, as well as strategically placed trees, makes placement just as important as distance on this lengthy course.
*The good elevation change, the fine variety of holes, and the manicured conditions reminds one of Bryant Lake, but the distance here is much more of a factor.
*You'll get to use your drivers, but there are several deuce opportunities, also. There are a couple very short downhillers with a steep grade. They look like easy deuces, but I had to putt for par on both of them.
Cons: The reason I didn't grade the course higher is the course's youth. There are 3 holes remaining to be installed, and it feels like the course will improve with age. If Bryant Lake is an indicator of how this course will grow, the grade will definitely go up.
Other Thoughts: It's great to play right now, and it's only going to get better. Go give it a try.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun but challenging course

1    6/22/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: ea6le
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Cement tees with very long fairways.
*It's a 18 hole course with the first 3 tees down for construction for the time being.
*Finnaly a course that plays to people that have long throws.
*It's very challenging for people that haven't played disc golf for a while.
* It's very well marked pointing you to the next hole.
*Lots of trees to make it more difficult
*If you're looking for a good exercise this is the course for you. I was pooped by the time the course was finished because of all the hills and treking through the deep woods to find my disc's :(
Cons: *Hole number 4 was very touch unless you land on the fairway. The trees to the left are so thick that it's nearly impossible to find your disc if you throw it that way and to the right there is a marsh that if you throw your disc over there you will be knee deep in mud if you decide to go retrieve it.
*The fairways could use a little work as far as mowing and upkeep. They were kinda rough.
*Bring lots of discs because we had a group of 3 and ended up loosing 3 discs in the process.
Other Thoughts: all in all a GREAT course, just play it safe on some holes or you might loose some discs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First class course!

5+    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Par 72 Course Design
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Pay to play. It would not be as nice if not. This course offers many long drives that reward a player for having good distance. The Twin Cites disc golf scene has been in need of a bomber course for ever, and here you will find it. Up hill, down hill, a few short, most long. Best tee pads in the state, 18 ft long by 4 ft wide, perfect for the distance that is required. Beautiful views and great amentities. Pro shop. Designed by Par 72's Timmy Gill and Steve Beckman. A great edition to the Three Rivers line up.
Thank you Three Rivers for supporting disc golf and taking the Twin Cities Disc Golf scene to a new level.
Cons: Non really. It's only a few days old so the rough is ROUGH and the mowing patterns need to get worked in. A weaker thrower may find the course boring at times not being able to reach most holes. Practice your long distance or be content playing dinker courses.
Other Thoughts: Westside Wednesday league rotates through Elm Creek every three weeks. (Bryant, Hyland EC).

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Finally a nice course in the north metro

5+    6/20/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: MNsnowbikedisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I was their first official customer on opening day! :P
-Cement tees
-varied hole layout- uphill and downhill drives, side hill drives, uphill and downhill putts, wind-sheltered fairways, wide open fairways, short holes, long holes.
-large mulch/woodchip circles around baskets slow down discs near the pin.
-very small wastebaskets but they are plentiful.
-there are a few benches where the holes converge.
-challenging.
-maps of each hole showing the layout, footage, and par
-scorecards with course map
-signs pointing to next tee
-holes 15 and 17 are my favorite, and they require some technique to manuever around small trees
-three more holes will be opening soon
Cons: -narrow fairways
-long grass-even in the fairway
-hills, turn, and long grass make it hard to see where your disc lands
-misquitoes are bad on holes 4 and 5
-on the edge of the fairway, either the grass becomes waist high and dense, or VERY dense woods.

-Whatever you do, don't lose sight of your disc!
-on holes 4 and 5, DO NOT go off the fairway. on the right side is a very gross wet, muddy area. and the left side has thick shrubs and trees so it is nearly impossible to find an entry point into the woods to search for a lost disc
-i ended up looking for my disc around 10 times-sometimes multiple times on a single hole
-6 inch tall fairway grass makes it so you can't see your disc until you are on top of it
-holes 1, 2, and 3 are closed until the fall
-$3 per play, or $30 for a season pass
-challenging
-ridiculous pars- including a 495ft par 3 and a 778ft par 4
Other Thoughts: -close to home for me.
-no other courses nearby
-very challenging for me, but then again i use Central Park in brooklyn park as a practice course, which is a very easy course.
-bring your A game to this pro-level course. consider yourself good if you get close to total par

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center