Maple Grove, MN 
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #10 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 423ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A wide open bomber course

5+    5/30/2010   2/10/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elm Creek is part of the Three Rivers Park district. It's a beautiful, spacious, park reserve with scenic views and wide open expanses. Most Minnesota courses are pretty heavily wooded, so this course has been a nice addition and comes with a different feel than you can find elsewhere in this part of the state. It is by all measures an advanced level course.

It has the biggest, best tee pads and longest holes you will find anywhere in the greater Twin Cities area.

It's never been busy when I've played.

The money invested by Three Rivers is plainly visible on the course. It has the amenities you would expect of a pay course: scorecards, trash cans, great signs, benches, a club house with some beverages, even disc rental packages.
Cons: There aren't any objectively bad things about the course other than the thick rough.
Other Thoughts: There are however a lot of things which may affect a person's opinion of the course.

It's got a lot of really long, fairly open shots. The majority of the holes require a drive of 300-400' to card a birdie and feature just a few obstacles each (though if you hit one you can kiss any chance of a bird, and most cases a par, goodbye). 2 of the par 3's are nearly 500'. Still, the beauty of the course is captivating enough that some of the relatively boring holes are made enjoyable by the surroundings. Again, this effect is made the more pronounced due to the lack of disc golf courses that feel like this in the area.

Another factor to consider is the weather. Winds will have a strong impact on strategy. On really hot summer days there is very little relief from the heat and sunshine.

It's a long hike, and because it's used for sledding and skiing in the winter, there are a lot of large hills. You need to be fit and well supplied. Bring lots of water and a snack or lunch.

It costs $5 to play for the day, and there is an option to buy a season pass to all the Three Rivers disc golf courses (Bryant Lake, Hyland SSA, Elm Creek).

The course isn't meant for everyone. It's designed to challenge your ability to throw long, accurate shots, and it does that quite well.

Because it doesn't have mass appeal, I knocked one point off it's score. However, it's a very beautiful 5/5 ball golf style course with a lot of elevation change. Unique to the area and well worth the drive(s)!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the three bucks

1    6/9/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An excellent intermediate to advanced caliber course with a nice variety of elevation holes. Layout tempts you to give it all you got (and often makes you pay for it). Very clean facility with big spacious tee boxes, and nice logical flow (although I didn't care for the long walk between 5 & 6). Big arms will enjoy the open downhill bombs. I personally enjoyed the wooded shots on 4 & 5.
Cons: My primary complaint would be some that the holes, particularly on the back nine, felt a tad redundant. Rec players with smaller arms and kids probably are going to get frustrated here as there is some nasty rough (mostly tall grass) off the fairways. I probably spent an extra hour looking for discs. At the time being is single tee / single pin and I think some shorter pads would help make the course more appealing. Not open all year long as this location doubles as a ski area in the winter.
Other Thoughts: More suited to the big boys than the casual crowd, but I went a bit above the average here, and I thankfully had a beautifully calm late Spring afternoon to enjoy ECPR, and it was a nice compliment to BRP and Ham Lake earlier in the day. I might not have been so happy on a windy day though and I'm sure it howls here sometimes.

Not the premier DG destination in the TC, but a good one to hit if you're up in the north suburbs. Locals should definitely invest in the annual $35 pass, which also gets them into Bryant Lake and Hyland SSA. Compliments Blue Ribbon Pines flatter and woodsier nature very well. If I get up that way again, I'll be back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/12/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: smarkquart
Played: 88  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was designed with length in mind, to be a complement to the other Three River Courses so you could have a mixture of every conceivable hole if you play all three courses. It also takes into consideration that disc technology is evolving, allowing more players to throw longer. The fairways look wide, but this is only a deception as players will likely put everything they have into the throw, exposing any flaws in their technique, and dumping it off the fairway anyway. The challenge of this course is to overcome your flaws, achieving distance and accuracy, while also battling the elements since you do not have the challenge of trees or obstacles. This should be considered a pro because it is different.

Specifically -
* Good use of allowable land (yes there is a lot of forest surrounding the course, but it is a Reserve park)
* Distance for opening up with full power
* Elevation changes are unique but not abusive like HSSA (sister course)
*Openness and on the west side of the elevation allows you to play closer to darkness
* No two holes are alike
Cons: The two biggest cons I can think are; 1) The course closes early in the year to get ready for the skiing and tubing season. When it also opens later because it takes longer for the land to heal from all the artificially made snow. Sometimes they will open sections of the course, but not all at once (as a previous reviewer may not have known). 2) The rough surrounding the fairway makes it impossible to find discs. As mentioned above, the fairways are wide but players have a tendency to open up with everything they got, exposing their discs to technique flaws and the wind. You are going to spend some time in the rough. There are certain spots on every hole that just gobble discs and it is not uncommon to lose one a round and spend considerable time looking for others. They are trying to improve this, as seen on the second mowed fairway just added to Hole 14, but it is still a huge issue.

Specifically -
* Incredibly nasty rough can frustrate your round if you have to spend a lot of time searching for discs
* The wind should be consider a challenge to test your skills, but there are days where it is so horrible that it makes the course all but unplayable
* Only holes 14 and 18 are Par 4s, two or three more of the holes need to be reconsidered and changed to Par 4s as well. It can be equally frustrating when you get par less than 50 percent of the time.
Other Thoughts: Elm Creek definitely considered the evolution of disc speed and distance technology. This creates a situation where distance is now more important than fairway accuracy. Despite what appears to be wide open fairways, they are not completely open (like at a city park) because the rough is tremendously rough. You are definitely punished if you cannot keep it on the fairway.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Open

1    8/17/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: sandford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: PROS
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 4 - Nice signage - easy to find the holes and next tees.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 4 - Loved the teepads, nice and big and in good shape
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 4 - Nice elevation changes on many holes
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 3 - well kept, but it was on a ski hill
BASKETS (5% weight) - 2 - Nice mach 5 baskets, but not many in interesting locations / placements
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 2.5 - Hole #18 was memorable with the down then uphill - but no other stick out as special
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - mostly long and medium holes - no alternate tee locations
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - Have to bomb long drives on every hole, most approaches are open and straightforward
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 4 - very nicely mowed.
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - No benches, but there were a few trash cans
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 4 - the distance and wind made this quite challenging
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 3 - I played at dusk so not too many folks out there
PARKING (2% weight) - 5 - tons of parking
Cons: CONS
OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 1.5 - Even though the course was in great condition, mnay of teh holes were pretty repetetive and too open - neds more trees / obstacles
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 1 - Too open and not enough trees in the fairways or other interesting obstacles for my tastes. Most all of the baskets are on level, open grassy spots which makes for boring putting.
BASKETS (5% weight) - 2 - Nice mach 5 baskets, but not many in interesting locations / placements
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - mostly long and medium holes - no alternate tee locations
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - Have to bomb long drives on every hole, most approaches are open and straightforward
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - No benches, but there were a few trash cans
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 1 - all holes were open
Other Thoughts: Since the course is so open and a few holes you throw downhill you have to be mindful of the wind when you choose yoru disc / shot. I wanted to check out the pro shop but it was closed when I visited at dusk.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

1    4/17/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: ReedB
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.5 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A few challenging holes. The course has nice length; especially on holes 14 and 18. An opportunity for an ace on 15. Nice changes in elevation
Cons: -Holes 2-8 are missing pins.
-1 and 17 are the same hole. There is plenty of room to give 17 it's own hole.
-the layout out isn't very clear; had to search a bit to find a few tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a nice course. However, being a 3 rivers course, where you pay to play, I was expecting more out of it.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  closed for the season

2-4    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: wolffsbadid
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: great course!.............................................................................................................................
Cons: All 18 of the baskets have been pulled to get ready for the ski season.
Other Thoughts: .

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: jbenjohnson
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All 18 holes are now open!
- Excellent signage
- Very well maintained and clean, there wasn't a piece of litter on the whole course
- Course was not busy, we didn't have to wait to throw once, and only saw a few other people out playing at 4pm on a weekend
- Great setting, was very peaceful and quiet
Cons: - Lots of dead-straight open holes
- Aside from a 2 tight holes through the woods, there is very ample fairway room
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play, and I think it will get much better over time. It was a fun setting, going up and around the ski/tubing area, with some elevation change.

I give the course a four because of all the straight holes, many with few to no obstacles. You will have many holes with a drive, upshot and putt.

If you're looking for a course to break out the driver, this will give you plenty of chances.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3rd time is a charm

5+    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 41.5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great compliment to the Three Rivers lineup. $30 is a steal for these 3 courses. Elm Creek is GOLF course. Long beautuflly mowed/sculpted fairways give it a ball golf feel. Once again, I'm an older frolfer and the course kicked my rear end but thats good. I may have to break down and buy some of those new school discs that fly farther because boy oy boy do you need it at Elm Creek. Tee pads are basicallly double sized runways. Even though the course is long, I still managed 6 two's. Most the 2 holes have dramatic change in elavation which I felt was very unique. Love the Par 4's (5 for me) and the views were very nice. Still a new course so its not busy yet.
I'll be first in line to buy a $30 pass again next year.
Cons: Only con would be the youth of the course. The rough is rough in the woods. Not many people had found the horrible spots that I found so it was a rough go.
Like all the 3 rivers courses, display your pass and the park police won't bother you
Other Thoughts: If you are a short arm thrower (like me), this is a course to practice and improve your distance, Love it! Thank you 3 Rivers for another great course!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Elm creek park

2-4    8/15/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: stevep
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tree placement good to make the throws more challenging. Very nice tee boxes, very big. Course was clean and kept nice. I like that the rough areas were not 5 feet high grass. Cut low enough so you can find your disc. good elevation changes. Timmy Gill does nice course design.
Cons: Not all holes open. The trees on the sides of some fairways are extremely thick. After a few years they will be thinned out some from traffic in them.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a good course that I will play again. I wish they would have built it over by the swimming pond where they could used more woods areas.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Long new course

1    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of length.
-Elevation changes on most holes due to being partially on a ski hill.
-Nice and very large tee boxes
-Nice new chains which are surrounded by a wood chip green similar to Bryant Lake Park
-Small pro shop/concessions stand at the start.
-As with most pay to play courses this one is very well upkept.
-Trash cans at every hole.
-Bathroom at start, one could be used in the middle maybe though.
-Some ace runs and some impossibly long holes give each hole a different feel.
-Very distinct fairways
-Good signage on each hole and signs pointing to next tees as well.
-While there are woods they are not too thick of underbrush so losing discs is only a small problem here.
-Good score cards with map, distance, par. Same as Bryant Lake's.
-Course is designed well so walking distance between holes isnt overly long.
-In the summer this portion of the park is used only by disc golfers so interference shouldn't be a problem.
-Memorable holes for me are 14 which is 778 feet and has lots of elevation change, 7 and 17 which are two of the shorter holes but you can't see the basket due to the large elevation change, and 9 and 18 with the circular dual tees.
Cons: -Way too challenging for beginners.
-Some holes are too long for beginners again
-Pay to play may be a con but all the pay to play courses i've played have been great.
-Some of the hills are going to tire you out if you're not in shape.
-As of this review the first 3 holes are not playable but will be soon, you can see their layout though and it looks to be as good as the rest of the course.
-Could be more windy than other courses due to its elevation and openness of some holes.
-A lot of holes seemed to just be different lengths of the same hole, more doglegs and blind baskets could be used.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play 3 dollars as are all three rivers park district courses. It is definitely worth it. I would probably put this course in my Minnesota Top 10. This place is designed as a ski resort first and a disc golf course second but it still fits well for disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.