Maple Grove, MN
Elm Creek Park Reserve Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #10 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 423ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Long and Open

1    8/17/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: sandford
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: PROS
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 4 - Nice signage - easy to find the holes and next tees.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 4 - Loved the teepads, nice and big and in good shape
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 4 - Nice elevation changes on many holes
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 3 - well kept, but it was on a ski hill
BASKETS (5% weight) - 2 - Nice mach 5 baskets, but not many in interesting locations / placements
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 2.5 - Hole #18 was memorable with the down then uphill - but no other stick out as special
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - mostly long and medium holes - no alternate tee locations
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - Have to bomb long drives on every hole, most approaches are open and straightforward
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 4 - very nicely mowed.
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - No benches, but there were a few trash cans
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 4 - the distance and wind made this quite challenging
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 3 - I played at dusk so not too many folks out there
PARKING (2% weight) - 5 - tons of parking
Cons: CONS
OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 1.5 - Even though the course was in great condition, mnay of teh holes were pretty repetetive and too open - neds more trees / obstacles
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 1 - Too open and not enough trees in the fairways or other interesting obstacles for my tastes. Most all of the baskets are on level, open grassy spots which makes for boring putting.
BASKETS (5% weight) - 2 - Nice mach 5 baskets, but not many in interesting locations / placements
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - mostly long and medium holes - no alternate tee locations
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 2 - Have to bomb long drives on every hole, most approaches are open and straightforward
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - No benches, but there were a few trash cans
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 1 - all holes were open
Other Thoughts: Since the course is so open and a few holes you throw downhill you have to be mindful of the wind when you choose yoru disc / shot. I wanted to check out the pro shop but it was closed when I visited at dusk.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

1    4/17/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: ReedB
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.9 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A few challenging holes. The course has nice length; especially on holes 14 and 18. An opportunity for an ace on 15. Nice changes in elevation
Cons: -Holes 2-8 are missing pins.
-1 and 17 are the same hole. There is plenty of room to give 17 it's own hole.
-the layout out isn't very clear; had to search a bit to find a few tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a nice course. However, being a 3 rivers course, where you pay to play, I was expecting more out of it.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  closed for the season

2-4    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: wolffsbadid
Played: 64  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: great course!.............................................................................................................................
Cons: All 18 of the baskets have been pulled to get ready for the ski season.
Other Thoughts: .

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: jbenjohnson
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All 18 holes are now open!
- Excellent signage
- Very well maintained and clean, there wasn't a piece of litter on the whole course
- Course was not busy, we didn't have to wait to throw once, and only saw a few other people out playing at 4pm on a weekend
- Great setting, was very peaceful and quiet
Cons: - Lots of dead-straight open holes
- Aside from a 2 tight holes through the woods, there is very ample fairway room
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play, and I think it will get much better over time. It was a fun setting, going up and around the ski/tubing area, with some elevation change.

I give the course a four because of all the straight holes, many with few to no obstacles. You will have many holes with a drive, upshot and putt.

If you're looking for a course to break out the driver, this will give you plenty of chances.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3rd time is a charm

5+    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 40.9 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great compliment to the Three Rivers lineup. $30 is a steal for these 3 courses. Elm Creek is GOLF course. Long beautuflly mowed/sculpted fairways give it a ball golf feel. Once again, I'm an older frolfer and the course kicked my rear end but thats good. I may have to break down and buy some of those new school discs that fly farther because boy oy boy do you need it at Elm Creek. Tee pads are basicallly double sized runways. Even though the course is long, I still managed 6 two's. Most the 2 holes have dramatic change in elavation which I felt was very unique. Love the Par 4's (5 for me) and the views were very nice. Still a new course so its not busy yet.
I'll be first in line to buy a $30 pass again next year.
Cons: Only con would be the youth of the course. The rough is rough in the woods. Not many people had found the horrible spots that I found so it was a rough go.
Like all the 3 rivers courses, display your pass and the park police won't bother you
Other Thoughts: If you are a short arm thrower (like me), this is a course to practice and improve your distance, Love it! Thank you 3 Rivers for another great course!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Elm creek park

2-4    8/15/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: stevep
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tree placement good to make the throws more challenging. Very nice tee boxes, very big. Course was clean and kept nice. I like that the rough areas were not 5 feet high grass. Cut low enough so you can find your disc. good elevation changes. Timmy Gill does nice course design.
Cons: Not all holes open. The trees on the sides of some fairways are extremely thick. After a few years they will be thinned out some from traffic in them.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a good course that I will play again. I wish they would have built it over by the swimming pond where they could used more woods areas.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Long new course

1    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of length.
-Elevation changes on most holes due to being partially on a ski hill.
-Nice and very large tee boxes
-Nice new chains which are surrounded by a wood chip green similar to Bryant Lake Park
-Small pro shop/concessions stand at the start.
-As with most pay to play courses this one is very well upkept.
-Trash cans at every hole.
-Bathroom at start, one could be used in the middle maybe though.
-Some ace runs and some impossibly long holes give each hole a different feel.
-Very distinct fairways
-Good signage on each hole and signs pointing to next tees as well.
-While there are woods they are not too thick of underbrush so losing discs is only a small problem here.
-Good score cards with map, distance, par. Same as Bryant Lake's.
-Course is designed well so walking distance between holes isnt overly long.
-In the summer this portion of the park is used only by disc golfers so interference shouldn't be a problem.
-Memorable holes for me are 14 which is 778 feet and has lots of elevation change, 7 and 17 which are two of the shorter holes but you can't see the basket due to the large elevation change, and 9 and 18 with the circular dual tees.
Cons: -Way too challenging for beginners.
-Some holes are too long for beginners again
-Pay to play may be a con but all the pay to play courses i've played have been great.
-Some of the hills are going to tire you out if you're not in shape.
-As of this review the first 3 holes are not playable but will be soon, you can see their layout though and it looks to be as good as the rest of the course.
-Could be more windy than other courses due to its elevation and openness of some holes.
-A lot of holes seemed to just be different lengths of the same hole, more doglegs and blind baskets could be used.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play 3 dollars as are all three rivers park district courses. It is definitely worth it. I would probably put this course in my Minnesota Top 10. This place is designed as a ski resort first and a disc golf course second but it still fits well for disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite there yet

1    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elm Creek is a new course, not fully finished at this point in time. The park is a multi-use facility: skiing and tubing in the winter, and lots of bikers on the paved paths in the summer.

Most holes are 320+, with several 400+ and a couple around 700. The area is basically a prarie with gently rolling hills, and the course uses the elevation changes to challenge you on every hole. If you like to just go and bomb a long drive on almost every hole, you will like this course.

The tee boxes are the large concrete pointing kind, save for one round shared one for 9/18. The is only one tee box for each hole. Every hole has signs with diagrams and distance. Most holes have signs pointing to the next hole, and if they don't it's pretty obvious where to go. Usually the mowed path through the prarie grass is the correct route.

Because of its newness, this course is not very busy. I just played two rounds back-to-back on a beautiful Sunday afternoon, and I never once had to wait to shoot.

It's $3 to play all day here. Not a bad price.
Cons: This feels like a ball golf course. Most of the holes are straight up or down hill, or slight left or right curves. Except for maybe 2 holes, there are no trees or any obsticals (save for a random lightpost) in the fairways. It's just chuck it and walk, not much thinking to do here. This is not a skill shot course, and so for me, it's a little boring.

If there are woods bordering the particular hole you're on, avoid them at all costs. They are THICK. Even 6ft deep can be 2 shots to escape.

At this point in time the course is not fully finished. Besides the first 3 holes not being set up, the rest of the course just seems to be very unpolished even though it wants to be (and can be someday) as professional as Bryant Lake or Blue Ribbon Pines.
Other Thoughts: Bring a drink, you will get tired throwing and walking up hill often.

Be careful when using the bike paths to walk from hole to hole. They are quite busy.

If you're using Mapquest or Google maps for directions, they are Epic Fail. The directions posted on this site are perfect.

The season pass to Three Rivers Parks disc golf just got even more economical. Between this, Bryant Lake, and Hyland Hills, you've got a pretty good deal going.

I look forward to seeing the final product of this park later in the fall.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not just long?

5+    7/14/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an advanced level course both due to distance and narrow fairways. If you bring your beginner friends out they will leave tired and frustrated. Intermediates will love it for some reason though.

Situated on a Mn ski hill, not really that tall, it plays in and around the hill using the distances available, the steep ski terrain, and the dense woods to provide most of the obstacles.

The design starts off using terrain well. Holes 4 and 5 (1-3 aren't in) for instance play mostly around a circle, clockwise. Go off the fairway and you are in the woods and probably just throwing out of the woods instead of making a shot. Stay on the fairway and unless you get some pretty good air you are still going to struggle for par. Hole 7 is on a downhill and the pin is on the downhill side of the hill, not at the bottom, making overthrows a real possibility. There aren't any real obstacles other than the hill. There are also the prerequisite, throw a straight 300 foot shot and now do that a few times for the 700 foot hole. I mention these because throwing straight is the main thing on this course and long and straight is even better.

Signage and flow are good. The fairways are well maintained, there are garbage cans readily available and the teeboxes are great. There are also plenty of benches and the baskets are in great shape. The park has a pro shop with drinks and rental discs.
Cons: The holes vary more by distance than type of shot needed, they mostly require a straight long drive. My con list isn't very long because the only cons I have revolve around how the course plays. In every other respect it is great.
Other Thoughts: It is fun to play for most. I have a fairly big arm and the irony is that my buddies that can barely throw 280 feet and that only with poor accuracy like the course more than me. I'm not sure why that is.

Another of the 3 Rivers Park District courses all of which are pay per play. They do a lot to earn the 5 dollars daily pass or 30 for a yearly pass. All of their courses are well designed and maintained and they don't stop improving or upgrading. I could see my review changing somewhat with the additional 3 holes.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Country club atmosphere

1    6/27/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: chalupamarley
Played: 53  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *As I said in the title, this course has a real ball golf feel. The wide, rolling fairways can make one think he has a clear shot. But the pitch of the fairways, as well as strategically placed trees, makes placement just as important as distance on this lengthy course.
*The good elevation change, the fine variety of holes, and the manicured conditions reminds one of Bryant Lake, but the distance here is much more of a factor.
*You'll get to use your drivers, but there are several deuce opportunities, also. There are a couple very short downhillers with a steep grade. They look like easy deuces, but I had to putt for par on both of them.
Cons: The reason I didn't grade the course higher is the course's youth. There are 3 holes remaining to be installed, and it feels like the course will improve with age. If Bryant Lake is an indicator of how this course will grow, the grade will definitely go up.
Other Thoughts: It's great to play right now, and it's only going to get better. Go give it a try.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.