Durham, NC 
Leigh Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: wogga Hole #10 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 173ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Pro Course: Hole #10 Long Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 THIS IS WHAT $80,00 GOT US?

5+    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: this course has two sets of baskets and rubber pads. different colored rocks(yes rocks) tell you the am and pro tees. some holes u play same pad (am an pro) just throw to next holes basket. no very 1st timer friendly. you hav to know the course to play it and then its still not cool.........
Cons: ...........i would like to think the guy that got the $80,000 for this courde will be rashambulled(nut shots till one of u hits the ground 1st) DID YOU REALLY PUT RUBER MATS OUT HTERE WITH 2 PIN PLACEMENT. YOU HAVE GOT TO BE COUNTRY OR MIGHTY SLOW!
Other Thoughts: PLEASE TELL ME YOU HAVE MORE MONEY LEFT FOR TEES AND TEE SIGNS...........COME ON DUDE. STEP UP OR HAND OVER REST.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    1/12/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: edkusch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Leigh Farm has a good recreational layout for beginners and a professional layout for experienced players. If you like par 4's and 5's then you will love Leigh Farm. Looks like there will be some long tees too. Good maps and next tee signs.
Cons: The course is not finished. I talked with one of guys working on the course and he said the course will be completed soon. Some rec tees are close to baskets but i think that is so that folks on the previous tee can see you and not throw while you are teeing.
Other Thoughts: Leigh Farm keeps getting better each time I play it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Potential to be the Best

2-4    10/27/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two courses in one. There is a good mix of long and short holes, and elevation comes into play on a few of them. Many baskets were to the left of the tee, so RHBH players may be favored somewhat. This course really offers something to the Chapel Hill-Durham area. Although the course is heavily wooded, none of the fairways are too tight. (You still have to be accurate though!) The woods that line ever fairway are pretty punishing if you throw an errant shot. On the recreational course, pretty much all of the holes are in the woods. The Professional-level course is something else entirely. It has quite a few long, open holes. The fourth hole is probably 800-900 ft long. Some holes are shared for both courses. The holes where the barn comes in to play are really interesting.
Cons: This course has potential to be the best in the area (by far). However, right now the recreational course is a little hard to navigate. The Professional course is basically impossible to navigate unless you either have played it before or have the map. Even with the map, I got confused many times. Basically, this course really needs some signs/guide posts. I talked to someone who was working on the course and he told me that they were trying to get some signs, so hopefully this will not be much of an issue in the future.
Other Thoughts: The recreational course is much easier than Southern Community or Anderson Park, so if those courses kicked your butt, you should definitely try this one. The first hole is across the little street from the parking lot.
You would be hard-pressed to find a course in this area even near as challenging as the pro course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Work in progress...

1    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: simonsaysncsu
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved the layout of the holes. Good mix of straight-on play, corners, short, and long. Also enjoyed the elevation changes and ravines that affect decision-making.

Some baskets are very close to drop-offs, but these were my favorite holes because of the added challenge. I think a few of the later holes, 14-16, were among the most challenging (and most fun) due to length and basket placement.

This is a heavily wooded course, and you get a good sense of being back in the deep woods on some of the holes. It quickly became dark at sunset when I played because of all the tree cover. Fun stuff.
Cons: It's still in need of some work, but this course is already fun to play! It's hard to find some of the tee boxes as they're not well-marked. It doesn't cause too much of a problem though; usually you can find a trail to follow.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Teesigns installation in progress

5+    10/13/2010   9/9/2009
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short course integrated, with the long course using a few holes from the short course and combining another few, plus adding 6 that are unique to the long course. Map for both is on hole one (and online I think), and indications of which way to go are found at the more confusing points on the course. Teesign installation is in progress, I think about half are in at this point, but I think they are only for the long layout. The short course is good for a pitch and putt round or for less experienced players, and the long course will challenge even the best players with its length and toughness. Two teepads and pin positions for almost every hole on the long course. I like the rubber teepads, some are still a little uneven but will level out over time. The rubber teepads can be moved if necessary or desired, an obvious advantage over concrete. Also much easier on your shoes. Not very crowded, but getting worse. Good variety of left, right, and straight holes. Discatcher baskets. A few memorable holes, including the one off of the hill to an elevated basket and one where an old barn comes into play. Not much else happening at this park, especially on the course, so you are unlikely to run into other park patrons other than near the parking lot. <15min from other good/great courses in the area- southern village, anderson park, chapel hill, cornwallis, and valley springs.
Cons: As others have said, teepads too close to baskets in a few cases, but this place is usually fairly empty so not much of a problem yet. Apparently parts of the course were used as a dump, so there is old trash around in some places. The long course can still be a little tough to figure out in places. Some of the roughs are still pretty nasty. The long grass on some holes does suck, I recommend pants or long socks. It can be easy to forget what position the basket is in and alot of them aren't visible from the tee, but I think the layout is posted on hole one. Not much parking near hole 1, especially since other park patrons use it, but there is plenty by hole 8 (the big hill).
Other Thoughts: STOP WHINING! This course is made in the NC tradition, meaning it is very wooded, but was also made with champion caliber players in mind, which means it is long. If you don't like tight courses, don't come play here, go to UNC as others have recommended. The "tweener" argument is simply not true, a number of the holes are true par 4s and the par 3s are mostly reachable with a very good or excellent shot, although this depends a little on the layout. The long course can still be a little tricky, so please contact me if you need a guide. This course is still developing, so I expect my rating will go up to 4 eventually. You can park by the office buildings and start on 8 or 9 if you have a low car or the lot is full. Singles are twice a month, with a handicapping system. I was doubtful at first, but is is actually very fair and still rewards a great round no matter how good you are. Check out the DORDA website for dates/time. The duck flies at midnight. This course is fun, challenging, and much less crowded than the more "polished" courses, like UNC, but if you want to go play with a million frat boys by all means skip this course and go there.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Rec Layout Played

5+    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: dylanally
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mixture of short holes for making a birdie and a few that are longer and you just hope for a par. Being a shorter thrower, I enjoy a hole that if I make the correct shaped shot, I am rewarded. I loved numbers 12, 14 and 17 especially.
Cons: Advanced layout is difficult. The Blue numbers on the rocks on the tees are for the Rec layout - Green numbers for the Advanced. And parts of the course are near I-40 so you can hear the traffic but it is not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Next Tee signs throughout the course make navigation much easier now.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Down on the Farm

2-4    6/7/2010   6/29/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good clear fairways, wooded holes, some unique holes. No heavy underbrush to worry about. Nice discatcher baskets. Fairly smooth hole to hole transitions. Rubber tees were quite manageable. Easy to get to off highway 54. Very serene, quiet course.

*Update* I played from the white tees and it's got a Valley Springs/Renny feel to it. Holes 7-9 use these big hills and provide for some really neat holes. I could bomb off the top of hole #8 all day. Mostly wooded holes that require solid placement to score well.
Cons: After playing both Rec and White layouts, there is still some confusing hole transitions although next tee signs did help when I found them. Some of the Rec tees are less than 10' from the baskets of the prior holes. The Rec layout doesn't have super great variety, pitch and putt straight for the most part. The advanced layout has much better variety in comparison but it can be confusing which basket you are throwing to on a few holes. The rough on the advanced layout is much more punishing than the Rec layout overall. Roar from the highway can be hear during the middle of the course from nearby Hwy 54. Definitely could use more signage although the spray painted rocks here and there helped out even though you felt like you were on a scavenger hunt more than a disc golf course. Tricky to find hole 1. Hang a left out of the parking lot where the first sign for parking is, and hang a right, practically across from parking sign. No benches. Some baskets had rusty chains even though the basket themselves looked new. Hole 5 is a major B word. It uses a little gravel road for the fairway and has just nasty rough on either side, I'm talking junkyard inside a dense pine forest stuff. Fat Albert won't even be able to help you find your disc in that stuff.
Other Thoughts: Weird park, lots of residential houses around. It's a 1 lane road going into the park, parking lot on the left. Favorite hole: hole 17, a straight, slightly down hill 185' with an old tobacco barn directly in front of the tee on the left. Highest quality DG hole: 15. Marginally downhill and to the right with a little dry creek/trench like thing before the basket, neat little steps. This was a fun course and I would love to bump it up to a 3 or a 3.5 but the lack of signs and confusing under construction layout hurts it a bit. Definitely worth a trip, especially if you're in the Durham, Chapel Hill area.

*Update* New Fave hole: Advanced #8, you're on a big, 30-40' hill throwing down at a basket on a pyramid about 300-400' away. It's like a Hornet's Nest hole that ate one of Mario's growth mushrooms.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.