Durham, NC 
Leigh Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: wogga Hole #11 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 167ft.   4 / 318ft.   4 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Pro Course: Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
  Great Course

5+    5/19/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: jschmid
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Leigh Farm is a really fun course and the best in the area. I also play ball golf and Leigh Farm is much like real golf. You must manage the course. In the triangle area, I believe that Leigh Farm is first, UNC is a close second, Valley Springs is third, and Cedar Hills is fourth.

Directions on pdga.com were good and the signage is adequate for a new course. I have only played the advanced course and the white rocks to short baskets and gold tees to longs or gold pin placements. Some holes do not have longer tees so they must share with the white rock pads.

My favorite holes were 1,2,4,5, 6,7,8,9,11,12,13,14,15,17 because they are great holes. Holes 10, 16, and 18 are good but not great. Hole 3 is too easy for this calibre of a course.

Here are short descriptions of the great holes. (I am a righthanded thrower) Hole 1 is a great starting hole where I throw a putter from the tee and hopefully birdie with a good putt. Hole 2 is a tough par 4. From 2's tee, I forearm an Orc to the area just past the blue rec basket. With a good drive you will have a look at the basket. I use a putter or midrange and punch it between the trees. Hole 4 is an awesome Par5 hole. You must stay in control mentally or take a 6 or 9 on this hole.

Hole 5 is wide open and long with a few trees at the end. Hole 6. Right handed players without a flick shot will struggle unless they can throw a good turnover drive. Holes 7-9 are all really open holes on and around some huge manmade mounds. I believe they are building a pyramid on Hole 8.

The Par4 Hole 11's fairway is shaped like an L. You can drive a putter straight for 150 feet or try to forearm a shot and have it fade to the right. The fairway is tight so having a forearm and backhand is a plus.

Hole 12 seems like a Par 3 from the white tee and maybe a Par 4 from the gold tee on the mound. Hole 13 is similar in that it plays like a Par3 from the white pad and a Par4 from the long pad to long basket.

Hole 14 is awesome because the ditch comes into play as OB. Risk/reward is great. You can play it safe or try to go across the ditch. Hole 15 is tight but fair. I really like the gold tee to the gold basket placement. If I get a '3' then it feels like a birdie. Hole 17 plays around a barn and this hole is probably my favorite at Leigh Farm. Both basket locations are fun.
Cons: Tee signs would be good whenever they get time and money. However, I am more interested in getting a new great course. Hole 3 is too easy for this calibre of course.
Other Thoughts: I am glad I did not listen to the negative reviewers. Real men step up to the challenge of a tough course. Leigh Farm is the real deal.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Great new course, challenging

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: grizzles
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played the advanced layout from the gold tees (where they exist). I found this layout to be very interesting, challenging and rewarding. Lots of placement shots, well guarded baskets, and elevated or otherwise interesting pin locations. There is adequate signage to find your way around the course (no problem finding all 18 w/o local knowledge). There is a good mix of open/wooded and long/short holes. Fairways in the woods are tight but fair and will continue to evolve with traffic.

It is great to have a course with legitimate and interesting par 4's and 5's (definitely some 4's, maybe a 5?). These are achieved with more than raw distance as well; forcing very interesting placement shots and doglegs to setup subsequent shots.
Cons: Rubber tee mats are cool and make course redesign easier, but have a tendency to be lumpy. This will get sorted out with more traffic. There are currently no hole signs indicating distance/layout/par. There is a good bit of broken glass and otherwise hazardous debris out there. Of course, everyone can help out with that...
Other Thoughts: Currently, the only downsides to this course are related to it being relatively new. Signage will improve (although it's adequate now), fairways will widen and groundcover will be trampled down, tee boxes will level out as folks take the time to repair the divots and lumps, and there SHOULD be less trash on the course with each playing.

For me, the 5-star standard bearing course is the Web at Ho's Nest (Charlotte, NC). Leigh Farm will, no doubt, improve to a solid 4-star course with traffic, additional signage, and clean-up. It lacks the inherent aesthetics of a course like the Web (although it definitely offers similar shots) which would prevent it from being a 5-star course for me personally. That will not keep it from being in my top 2-3 courses in the area, though. I'm feeling mighty spoiled to have UNC and Leigh Farm as my local courses.

In short, I loved this course and am thrilled to have it in the area. I expect to be playing this course quite often. This course will get better and better as more people play it. So, bring your friends, your straight fairway drivers, and have a blast.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/15/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 110  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 22.2 Years
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: My favorite part of this course was leaving it and knowing I will never have to play it again.
Cons: Let's see, where to begin. 90% of the holes had no defined fairways and the few that did were in fields. Most of the holes had little skill separation as they were distances where almost no one would reach the hole but a 3 is very easy (which are the worst holes in disc golf), there is dangerous liter around the course such as rusted metal and glass, one hole has a barn in the middle of the fairway and you can tell the people working on the course clearly have their objectives backwards. Instead of making fairways and picking up trash, they are busy planting flowers on walking paths. Sure those things are nice, but after the obvious things are done first. It seems that anytime there was a raised area they put a basket there with no thought of how to get that pin from the tee. And finally, the course in no way is fun. Probably the worst thing you can say, it's just not fun to play.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, go play UNC. It's less than 5 miles away and MUCH MUCH more worth your time. The designers seriously have confused the difference between a hard hole and a bad hole. A hard hole should still reward good shots, this course does not.

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 THIS IS WHAT $80,00 GOT US?

5+    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.9 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: this course has two sets of baskets and rubber pads. different colored rocks(yes rocks) tell you the am and pro tees. some holes u play same pad (am an pro) just throw to next holes basket. no very 1st timer friendly. you hav to know the course to play it and then its still not cool.........
Cons: ...........i would like to think the guy that got the $80,000 for this courde will be rashambulled(nut shots till one of u hits the ground 1st) DID YOU REALLY PUT RUBER MATS OUT HTERE WITH 2 PIN PLACEMENT. YOU HAVE GOT TO BE COUNTRY OR MIGHTY SLOW!
Other Thoughts: PLEASE TELL ME YOU HAVE MORE MONEY LEFT FOR TEES AND TEE SIGNS...........COME ON DUDE. STEP UP OR HAND OVER REST.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    1/12/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: edkusch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Leigh Farm has a good recreational layout for beginners and a professional layout for experienced players. If you like par 4's and 5's then you will love Leigh Farm. Looks like there will be some long tees too. Good maps and next tee signs.
Cons: The course is not finished. I talked with one of guys working on the course and he said the course will be completed soon. Some rec tees are close to baskets but i think that is so that folks on the previous tee can see you and not throw while you are teeing.
Other Thoughts: Leigh Farm keeps getting better each time I play it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Potential to be the Best

2-4    10/27/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two courses in one. There is a good mix of long and short holes, and elevation comes into play on a few of them. Many baskets were to the left of the tee, so RHBH players may be favored somewhat. This course really offers something to the Chapel Hill-Durham area. Although the course is heavily wooded, none of the fairways are too tight. (You still have to be accurate though!) The woods that line ever fairway are pretty punishing if you throw an errant shot. On the recreational course, pretty much all of the holes are in the woods. The Professional-level course is something else entirely. It has quite a few long, open holes. The fourth hole is probably 800-900 ft long. Some holes are shared for both courses. The holes where the barn comes in to play are really interesting.
Cons: This course has potential to be the best in the area (by far). However, right now the recreational course is a little hard to navigate. The Professional course is basically impossible to navigate unless you either have played it before or have the map. Even with the map, I got confused many times. Basically, this course really needs some signs/guide posts. I talked to someone who was working on the course and he told me that they were trying to get some signs, so hopefully this will not be much of an issue in the future.
Other Thoughts: The recreational course is much easier than Southern Community or Anderson Park, so if those courses kicked your butt, you should definitely try this one. The first hole is across the little street from the parking lot.
You would be hard-pressed to find a course in this area even near as challenging as the pro course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Work in progress...

1    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: simonsaysncsu
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved the layout of the holes. Good mix of straight-on play, corners, short, and long. Also enjoyed the elevation changes and ravines that affect decision-making.

Some baskets are very close to drop-offs, but these were my favorite holes because of the added challenge. I think a few of the later holes, 14-16, were among the most challenging (and most fun) due to length and basket placement.

This is a heavily wooded course, and you get a good sense of being back in the deep woods on some of the holes. It quickly became dark at sunset when I played because of all the tree cover. Fun stuff.
Cons: It's still in need of some work, but this course is already fun to play! It's hard to find some of the tee boxes as they're not well-marked. It doesn't cause too much of a problem though; usually you can find a trail to follow.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Teesigns installation in progress

5+    10/13/2010   9/9/2009
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 33  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short course integrated, with the long course using a few holes from the short course and combining another few, plus adding 6 that are unique to the long course. Map for both is on hole one (and online I think), and indications of which way to go are found at the more confusing points on the course. Teesign installation is in progress, I think about half are in at this point, but I think they are only for the long layout. The short course is good for a pitch and putt round or for less experienced players, and the long course will challenge even the best players with its length and toughness. Two teepads and pin positions for almost every hole on the long course. I like the rubber teepads, some are still a little uneven but will level out over time. The rubber teepads can be moved if necessary or desired, an obvious advantage over concrete. Also much easier on your shoes. Not very crowded, but getting worse. Good variety of left, right, and straight holes. Discatcher baskets. A few memorable holes, including the one off of the hill to an elevated basket and one where an old barn comes into play. Not much else happening at this park, especially on the course, so you are unlikely to run into other park patrons other than near the parking lot. <15min from other good/great courses in the area- southern village, anderson park, chapel hill, cornwallis, and valley springs.
Cons: As others have said, teepads too close to baskets in a few cases, but this place is usually fairly empty so not much of a problem yet. Apparently parts of the course were used as a dump, so there is old trash around in some places. The long course can still be a little tough to figure out in places. Some of the roughs are still pretty nasty. The long grass on some holes does suck, I recommend pants or long socks. It can be easy to forget what position the basket is in and alot of them aren't visible from the tee, but I think the layout is posted on hole one. Not much parking near hole 1, especially since other park patrons use it, but there is plenty by hole 8 (the big hill).
Other Thoughts: STOP WHINING! This course is made in the NC tradition, meaning it is very wooded, but was also made with champion caliber players in mind, which means it is long. If you don't like tight courses, don't come play here, go to UNC as others have recommended. The "tweener" argument is simply not true, a number of the holes are true par 4s and the par 3s are mostly reachable with a very good or excellent shot, although this depends a little on the layout. The long course can still be a little tricky, so please contact me if you need a guide. This course is still developing, so I expect my rating will go up to 4 eventually. You can park by the office buildings and start on 8 or 9 if you have a low car or the lot is full. Singles are twice a month, with a handicapping system. I was doubtful at first, but is is actually very fair and still rewards a great round no matter how good you are. Check out the DORDA website for dates/time. The duck flies at midnight. This course is fun, challenging, and much less crowded than the more "polished" courses, like UNC, but if you want to go play with a million frat boys by all means skip this course and go there.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Rec Layout Played

5+    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: dylanally
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mixture of short holes for making a birdie and a few that are longer and you just hope for a par. Being a shorter thrower, I enjoy a hole that if I make the correct shaped shot, I am rewarded. I loved numbers 12, 14 and 17 especially.
Cons: Advanced layout is difficult. The Blue numbers on the rocks on the tees are for the Rec layout - Green numbers for the Advanced. And parts of the course are near I-40 so you can hear the traffic but it is not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Next Tee signs throughout the course make navigation much easier now.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Down on the Farm

2-4    6/7/2010   6/29/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 110  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good clear fairways, wooded holes, some unique holes. No heavy underbrush to worry about. Nice discatcher baskets. Fairly smooth hole to hole transitions. Rubber tees were quite manageable. Easy to get to off highway 54. Very serene, quiet course.

*Update* I played from the white tees and it's got a Valley Springs/Renny feel to it. Holes 7-9 use these big hills and provide for some really neat holes. I could bomb off the top of hole #8 all day. Mostly wooded holes that require solid placement to score well.
Cons: After playing both Rec and White layouts, there is still some confusing hole transitions although next tee signs did help when I found them. Some of the Rec tees are less than 10' from the baskets of the prior holes. The Rec layout doesn't have super great variety, pitch and putt straight for the most part. The advanced layout has much better variety in comparison but it can be confusing which basket you are throwing to on a few holes. The rough on the advanced layout is much more punishing than the Rec layout overall. Roar from the highway can be hear during the middle of the course from nearby Hwy 54. Definitely could use more signage although the spray painted rocks here and there helped out even though you felt like you were on a scavenger hunt more than a disc golf course. Tricky to find hole 1. Hang a left out of the parking lot where the first sign for parking is, and hang a right, practically across from parking sign. No benches. Some baskets had rusty chains even though the basket themselves looked new. Hole 5 is a major B word. It uses a little gravel road for the fairway and has just nasty rough on either side, I'm talking junkyard inside a dense pine forest stuff. Fat Albert won't even be able to help you find your disc in that stuff.
Other Thoughts: Weird park, lots of residential houses around. It's a 1 lane road going into the park, parking lot on the left. Favorite hole: hole 17, a straight, slightly down hill 185' with an old tobacco barn directly in front of the tee on the left. Highest quality DG hole: 15. Marginally downhill and to the right with a little dry creek/trench like thing before the basket, neat little steps. This was a fun course and I would love to bump it up to a 3 or a 3.5 but the lack of signs and confusing under construction layout hurts it a bit. Definitely worth a trip, especially if you're in the Durham, Chapel Hill area.

*Update* New Fave hole: Advanced #8, you're on a big, 30-40' hill throwing down at a basket on a pyramid about 300-400' away. It's like a Hornet's Nest hole that ate one of Mario's growth mushrooms.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.