Athens, TN 
Athens Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 250ft.   4 / 355ft.   4 / 365ft.   4 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Pro Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Very fun course

1    7/5/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: CGChase
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple baskets and multiple tees for each hole allowing for each hole to be played 4 different ways.
Exceedingly well groomed.
Excellent variety.
Very well marked (best I've seen)
Cons: There is water to navigate.
Tees were hard to find on the 3rd and 7th-9th.
The Pars made no sense to me.
Other Thoughts: starts of with 2 wide open long shots then follows a creek for two shots, two shots around a lake (over if you choose the longer tee) and 3 shots deep in the woods.

Park by the house at the entrance to the park. It is meant for that and though further away from the first hole, it is closer to the 9th hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 Holes You'll Play Over and Over Again!

1    6/27/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: - Easy course to navigate. There are small signs throughout the entirety of the course which clearly display the current hole, and the hole next to come is never far away.
- Multiple tees and baskets for every hole; 5 different options of play!
- Tees and baskets are in perfect condition.
- Know your bag well, you will need every disc in it. Prepare to drive both forehand and backhand.
- Players of every skill level will find this course both challenging and fun.
- Beautiful aesthetics and free of litter.
- Grass and foliage have been well maintained.
- Lightly wooded holes shift to heavily wooded for Holes #7-9. Great variety!
Cons: - As it is a small course in a small city, I can assume this course is rather crowded on a sunny Friday or Saturday afternoon.
- The pond on Hole #6 is big and deep. It can be a doozy, and potentially a lost disc, if you don't play your drive safe.
- The center hub of the park is a large baseball complex. For most holes, be aware of cars driving by.
Other Thoughts: I have played many courses in the greater Chattanooga area, especially 9-hole courses, and I must say this is one of (if not THE) best one of them all. It may be a bit of a drive out to Athens, but playing all 9 holes two times through is well worth it. With multiple tee and basket options, you are free to play to the challenge degree of your choice. I certainly recommend this course to players of all skill levels, and personally look forward to returning myself.

 Underrated

1    3/13/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: retleftolc
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety
Cons: 9 holes
Other Thoughts: The amount of shots that must be used here to throw a low round is great. Too many course allow a big arm to take advantage of routes no available to all. I normally get to take advantage of those lines, but here you are made to eliminate that line on several holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'll Bring My Discs, You Bring the Biscuits and Gravy!

1    11/3/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 40.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice modern style, middle Tenn. course with a good mix of elevation change, woods, and water hazards.

Two sets of nice concrete tees and two sets of nice baskets make for several different ways to play this course. The more that I play these types of courses, the more that I like them.

Decent tee signs.

Very clean, and well maintained.

Restrooms, and a nice playground for the little ones.

Nice length, with some holes for the big guns. Overall, I would rate this as a longer course. Usually don't see this kind of length on a 9 holer.

Cons: Navigation is probably the biggest negative here. There are no next tee signs, or arrows anywhere, and some of the transitions were a little tricky. Also, I didn't see a map, or anything besides the pads/baskets to even indicate that there was a course here.

There was no benches, or anything to sit down on, anywhere on the course. Not even homemade stuff.

With its length, and water hazards, I wouldn't recommend this course to beginners.

No back nine yet? Didn't see it anywhere.
Other Thoughts: A very nice, larger park style course, with good mix of longer distances, and scenic Tenn. style countryside. Has the potential to be something special here.

I would wear sturdy shoes.

Although the course is pretty much set in its own area of the park, it is a multi use park with hiking/biking trails nearby, and a father/son were chucking a football around the big open area at the start of the course. The locals seemed friendly though.

Its very close to I-75. Stopping in for a leg stretching round is highly recommended.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Has great potential

2-4    1/19/2012   1/19/2012
Review By: ShaDalton
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of distance, woods, a bit of elevation, and some tight woods. Nice pads and signage, Bathrooms on site are plus!

On the hole info:
red = short to short
white=long to short
blue=short to long
yellow=long to long

Cons: I cant think of anything really negative about the course, only nine holes but so many options it can be played 36.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe #8 is a par3! I had to walk all the way back to look at the sign just to make sure.. Tough hole!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good course

5+    7/16/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the various shots needed for this course. You have long straight shots, short straight shots, long curve to the left and right as well as some smaller distance ones as well. Very diverse in shots.
Cons: The only cons in my opinion is the steep hills. Building some sort of steps for hole 3 and 4, and 7 and 9 would help. I am always taking kids with me and some I have to carry up and down these hills.
Other Thoughts: I lived in mcminn county for years so I have family and friends there. So I make regular visits to this course when I go up there. I love the course and can not wait on the other 9 holes to get there. It would be a 4.5 or 5 star course when it happens.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Athens Regional Park DGC

1    5/27/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two permanent tee pads and two permanent baskets on every hole.
Concrete tee pads are very long and level to accommodate long run-ups.
Great signage at both tee pads on every hole.
Water significantly in play on three of the completed nine holes.
Good variety of wide open boomer holes, shorter technical holes, and tighter holes in the woods.
Mild elevation changes on the open holes, more significant elevation changes on the wooded holes.
Very large, pristine multi-use park built on rolling hills surrounded by scenic Tennessee farmland and mountains.
Plenty of parking near the #1 tee pad and plenty of clean restroom facilities.
Easy access offers a tempting quick round to passers by on I-75.
Cons:
Only nine of the planned 18 holes were completed as of May 2011.
A disc thrown into the pond is lost forever.
The #4 fairway looks like it can stay fairly muddy after wet weather.
The course flows nicely, but finding the next hole would be difficult without the course map available on this website.
Other Thoughts: Whoever designed this course did a great job, and whoever maintains it is doing just as well. Two permanent tees and baskets on every hole allows you to customize the course to accommodate what kind of round you want to play. I really like the way the course opens with a pair of wide open boomer holes that get your arm warmed up. The pond hole was a bit too challenging for my weak arm, but I was able to layup and still hit par. I lost a disc in the creek on hole #3--although I could clearly see it, I was worried about the critters that might be living in the nooks and crannies along the banks so I left it. Although the grass on the open fairways was already cut low, the mowers were in full swing while we were there. In the future, this course will only get better. The area where the back nine will be located is grassy hills with lots of elevation change and old trees. Looking forward to coming back.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 challenge and mental!

1    5/14/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: bama9125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: beautiful course overall and nice place to walk. have bathroom at hole 6 and comfortable throw at 1st hole bec of downhill!
good for people on vacation on way on I-75
Cons: lot of walk and 1st hole is 600 feet on pro tee and yellow basket. walk uphill on 2nd hole. and water in play on 5th and 6th hole. very brutal hole is 8th hole . challenge thru the heavy wooded area. i lost disc there. it required good aim thrower. it deserved a par 5 instead of 3 for amateur. :)
Other Thoughts: i lived abt hour and 15 min away from this course and i wouldnt go unless i pass this way. the good part about this is that it does not conflict with walkers so dont worry abiut hit people. it remind me of Heritage Point park in Dalton, Georgia DGC.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful day on a beautiful course

1    5/10/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a very good course for both beginners and more advanced players. It gives you the option of 2 tees and 2 baskets on most of the holes. The scenery is very nice and I felt like I was in a park not buried in the leftover wooded areas. It was a nice casual play as each hole had its different challenges but none of them were too particularly difficult. This course was very nicely designed.
Cons: It is only 9 holes. Sometimes I had to step back and really look for the next tee, hole 3 was a very good example of this.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be playing here again. Company is always welcome just shoot me a message and we can hit the place up. I also lost a grey eagle in the shrubery on hole 4--finders keepers =)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top Quality Across The Board

2-4    4/19/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two top quality (5x12, concrete, flat, flush with ground) teepads per hole, each with its own informative teesign.

Two top quality (red band for short, yellow band for long) baskets per hole.

Top quality colour map, making the course a cinch to navigate, and showing plans for nine more holes!
Cons:
Even playing short-to-short, water on #6 will be hard to avoid for those with less experience.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in the open space and woods at the entrance of a very nice multi-use public park. The blue-banded basket in the open space beyond #2's baskets is a practice basket.

After two initial long and very open (#1 major downhill, #2 minor up-slope) holes to loosen your arm, it is back across the parking lot to find tee-3 near the entrance road and the canal connecting the two ponds. From either tee a long, straight, left-fade-at-end shot is needed. Number-4 is long, flat, and open, with one generous window to hit at the midpoint. Number-5? Well, it is very dependent on which tee and basket you use, can vary from short, flat, fairly straight-n-open to long, down, right-turner with oodles of trees, bushes, and water to avoid - certainly the most varied hole on the course. Number-6 is a long left-turner which will typically require the disc travel over the pond. Numbers 7-9 will challenge your woodworking/technical skills, requiring cross-/up-/down-slope turning shots, with multiple mid-sized hardwoods to avoid.

Favourite hole: #3, tree-lined stream running along the rightside, and the largest oak tree I've ever seen in my life a couple hundred feet away on the left. Need to throw dead straight (can't swing wide right because of the treeline, can't go wide left due to the oak and other supporting trees) a couple hundred feet, then fade left to find the baskets, and can't be too high, either, as the formidable branches of the oak will easily knock down any disc that hits them.

Good course as is, should be even better if the new back-nine holes have the same qualities as the front-nine.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.