Athens, TN 
Athens Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGphanatic Hole #7 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Pro Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Great free 9-holer!

1    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each of the 9 holes has a short and long tee that is new concrete and each has two baskets per hole as well. There are red baskets for the short ones and the yellow baskets for the long one. All are brand new DiscCatcher baskets that are in absolute perfect condition. Each tee has a sign that gives distance to each basket from each tee. The tee signs show obstacles such as trees, water hazards and shows the short tee placements as well.

All fairways are well maintained, mowed and did not see any poison ivy or any other irritable plants or bugs worth mentioning. Not a far walk to the next tees and there was a nice breeze that cooled us off. A few nice bombing holes such as hole 1, 600' from long tee to far basket and hole 5 which is quite far and over a pond and both are downhill. This makes me and my noodle arm feel good about myself! Technical shots come into play on 7, 8 and 9 which are all in the woods and go cross slope.

Restroom after hole 6 and even though it's a 9 hole course (now) it's a great way to spend an afternoon. Plenty of other things to do there as well, playground, paved walking trail, hiking and mountain biking trails, ball fields and tons of parking. There is also a practice basket but it is after hole 2 for some odd reason and painted blue. There is also a winery about 2 miles away.
Cons: No place to put any trash and couldn't locate any vending machines or water fountains. On holes 3, 7 and 8, we had a hard time finding the tees. Maybe arrows guiding you to the next tee would help. On holes 6 through 9, you must backtrack the hole anywhere from 30-100' to find the next tee. Most holes are RHBH friendly as most curve left or are straight. Only holes 4 and 9 need a right fade from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Tee 1 is in the big field to the right after you drive in. Tee 3 is towards the main road. Cross over the driveway that leads to the house and you'll see it. Hole 7 is in the woods. Have the pond behind you and look towards the woods to the right and there's a small trail that will lead you to the tee. To get to hole 8, backtrack on 7 until you reach a 5' wide trail that goes up hill. Go up about 50' the tees are 50' left. Hole 9, backtrack about 50' and look downhill for the tee.

Oh I lost a blue Champion Beast that was custom dyed in the pond on hole 6. Probably 15' from the edge. Would like it back if you find it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Athens

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: eng2joe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy acess from interstate. Enjoyed the quietness of a early Sunday morning. Tees are clean and level. Baskets appear to be brand new. Grass had been mowed recently.
Cons: A little confusing for me to find the layout at first. Once I figured it out it made sense.
Other Thoughts: 08/06/10 Course had been mowed recently. Holes 1,2,3, really nice. Hole 4 grass is taller. Hole 5,6, are ok. 7,8,9, are in the woods and looking good.

I put a disc in the pond, but retrieved it easily.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Coming along.

2-4    4/4/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long level tee pads, close to I75, quality hole info signs. Good shot variety required.
Cons: The walk between holes. Wooded paths need worked in and some stairs would help.
Other Thoughts: One and two played back and forth across an open field. Three is nice along a creek and around a large tree after landscaping. Four is mostly open with a wide tree on each side. After you climb up the steep bank, under the guard rail, across the entrance road, under the other guard rail, and down the other steep bank, hole 5 is over water and 6 is along the other side. In the woods for 7, 8, and 9 which are designed fairly.

I have updated my review and increased the rating now that the first 9 are complete. Now I can see this course has potential to turn into something special.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 update on regional

5+    3/16/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 1 and 2 are nice warm up grip and rip shots to get your arm in the groove. Hole 3 is a tight thread in between a huge tree and a creek. Hole 4 is another grip and rip with some trees in play from the long tee and could possibly play from creek if errant shot. Hole 5 is across the road and plays across the pond. Hole 6 plays parallel to the pond and the tree line to the left. Baskets are tucked away in the tree line to the left. Hole 7 is across the parking lot and in the woods. Plays uphill and if you can flick it good, it seems to work the best. Hole 8 is a monster and plays longer than stated on the sign. Hole 9 is elevated and downhill to the baskets. Yellow basket is far to the left.
Other Thoughts: I play here all the time and have gotten many discs out of the pond and creek. If you have lost a prized disc or just a personal fav and want it back bad. Email me at jessklaaren@yahoo.com and give me details on where it is and what kind of disc it is and I will do my damnist to get it for you and get it back to you. My name is Donovan.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.