Alliance, OH
The Wayfarer's Roost DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
-- / --   3 / 210ft.   3 / 320ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Alliance at Last

1    11/21/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Enjoyable 9 hole layout
~Nice baskets & signs
~Good use of the land
~Set up for various skill levels
~Nice location, especially for the Alliance area
Cons:
~Natural tee pads (some were in poor condition)
~Holes 9 and 1 do not finish close to one another
~Holes 1 and 9 are too close to other park activities
~Some very wide open field holes w/ no challenging obstacles
Other Thoughts:
Played a late morning round on a very nice Autumn day. Alliance is about a half hour from me, and I've been wanting to make my way out here for some time now. Very nice course for what is offered, and the layout makes great use of the available park land. Long and short tees allow for different skill levels to play together. Decent elevation on many of the holes, this coupled with mature trees provide a moderate technical aspect for a fun round. The first and last holes play close to the main park area and could interfere with other activities when busy. The remaining seven are played on the other side across a small creek separated from the skate park, playground, and other areas. Nice assortment of shots set up for a non-repetitive round. Concrete tees would be nice, but are not a deal breaker for this type of course. Holes 6, 7, and 8 are basically long wide open bombs with no obstacles between the tees and baskets. Worth playing if in the area, but Alliance is not a city generally on the beaten path so it will not likely be revisited.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Big Nine

2-4    10/9/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Even though this is a downtown park, the course feels much larger than most nine hole courses. The scattered tree coverage and the stream flowing through the center give this park a small amount of natural presence but you still feel like you are downtown.
- There is a decent mix of shots required here; you will have a low overhang to get under, baskets tucked behind trees with more than a few options on approaches, a wide open/downhill bomb, long distance uphill throws with somewhat narrow fairways, and right and left turning distance shots.
- Six of the nine holes are over 300' and this course boasts of two 400' holes and one 500'. You will get to practice your long range shots uphill, downhill & on flat ground.
- This course has long, sweeping, rolling hills that create a constant state of elevation changes on almost every hole.
- Two Tees for every hole
- The natural Tee's are marked by colored kickboards and are in decent condition
- Excellent Tee Signs at each Long Tee (Hole #6's Tee Sign was missing. Probably vandals.)
- Tee Signs were located on poles which greatly help locate the Long Tee's your first time out
- Next Tee Signs are located on the Tee Signs
- Baskets are in good condition and well labeled
- The stream can actually create a water hazard if you have a poor throw on Holes #1, 2, 8 & 9 but the chance is very low so the course is not labeled at this time of having a water hazard
- The course is clean and there are trashcans at Holes #1 & 9
- There is a skate park, basketball court & picnic area
- Bathrooms are located by Hole #9
Cons: - Safety could be a concern in a few instances. Hole #1 is a somewhat narrow distance shot uphill and there is a very busy skate park to the left. Holes #4 & 5 play alone and at the side street where there are parked cars.
- The courses flows okay with one exception; Holes #1 and 9 are very far from each other. I suggest parking at Hole #9 and making the long walk to Hole #1's Tee.
- One or two benches would be an excellent addition
- A course map would be helpful
- This course feels 'too' open. Not a lot of technicality going on here.
Other Thoughts: - This disc golf course is located on Memorial Park in Alliance. This park is not located close to any highways so you may need to use some back roads to make the trip.
- This park can get busy around the skate park and the local disc golfers seem to make good use of the course. Be watchful for path walkers over the bridge in the center of the course.
- This is not very challenging overall. I call this more of a practice course to work on your bombs and rollers.
- The most challenging hole is Hole #5. This is your risk vs. reward drive. It has guardian trees and the easier route seems to be the unsafe route over the parked cars on the road. You may want to take the RHFH and approach the basket from below.
- My favorite hole is Hole #4. You will have a low overhang and a downhill slope. This drive just begs for a RHFH drive that nearly cuts the grass at the top of the hill and finish dropping behind the last tree to the hidden basket.
- This a fun course that I'd like to play again but I would not list this course on your travels unless you just hit it in your free time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not The Worst Course Ever...

5+    10/13/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: jtiedemann6
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent length
Variety of shots
Good for practice certain shot types and working on techniques
Cons: The park is pretty trashed
Bunch of homeless camps in the river/swamp
Skaters are really annoying and feel the need to check out your discs
Other Thoughts: Good course to play if you're short on time and want to get a quick round in.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable 9 Hole Course

5+    7/11/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Two full sets of tees. The blues offer a greater challenge due to the holes playing much longer and sometimes involving tighter gaps, while the reds are shorter and more forgiving, but will still require some line shaping. There are elevation changes on most holes, and the red tees offer many ace opportunities.

-Hole 8 from the blue tees is a long anhyzer hole that I really enjoyed. It's between 450 and 490 feet I'd guess. Great place to work on BH distance rollers. Hole 9 long is also very fun, playing about 500' long with a basket sitting up on a hill with large trees guarding it. Hole 1 aside, the first half of the course makes good use of the trees to create enjoyable shots.

-As a skateboarder I really appreciate having the skatepark right next to the DGC. My usual trip to Alliance consists of a red tee round, half an hour of skating, a blue tee round, a bit more skating then dinner.

-The blue tees are well marked with posts sticking out of the ground and maps to indicate distances and obstacles. The baskets are new and have the hole # displayed on top.
Cons: -Hole 1 long tee puts you in danger of throwing in to the skatepark if you can't throw far enough to go past it.

-Finding all the red tees took me a few rounds to figure out. Still can't find the red tee for hole 9. Having a course map displayed near hole 1 would be nice, but the teesigns get the job done.

-Overall some of the holes are a bit too open, but this is balanced by other holes that feature more obstacles. That's the only big drawback to the course in my opinion, is that while 2,3 and 4 for example feature fun obstacles, 6, 7 and 8 are just runs at a basket sitting out in the open with no trees to force lines. The elevation in play on these holes is a redeeming factor though.

-The first time playing it can be confusing knowing which basket to throw to if you don't pay attention to the numbers on top of them, as sometimes you'll have 2 or 3 baskets visible from a given teepad and some of them will look like legitimate holes.

-Pretty solid course but a little on the easy side for a more experienced player.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play if you enjoy bmx biking or skateboarding, as you can do both in the same location. The park is fun and I recommend trying it out if you're in the area, but it's not one I make dedicated trips to frequently like I do Dover and Massillon. If I have the time I prefer to start here, then head a few miles west down 62 to Louisville, then get back on 62 and finish up at Arboretum in Canton.

Since the course is only 9 holes and plays on a small area, I like to play a red tee round and blue tee round every time I go out and treat it like an 18 hole course.

Being right off one of the main roads in town, you have access to all sorts of dining. Right off the exit ramp for 62 there is a farmers market sort of place that sells some good stuff, great place to pick up a snack before a round.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bees v. Roc

2-4    6/29/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two (natural) tee locations per hole. Small but effective signs at the long (blue) showing both tees, both distances, and other features. Petrol/food options quite nearby.
Cons:
While holes 2-8 form a natural loop, tee-1 and basket-9 are on opposite ends of the park. Fairway #1 comes a bit close to a skate park.
Other Thoughts:
Plays up, down, and across the two sloping hillsides, separated by a small creek and small row of woods growing along it, of a multi-purpose park. A fair amount of variety - most every hole will have some elevation change. Up-n-over left-to-right slope #1 is followed by cross/up/down slope, with scattered trees to avoid, numbers 2-5. Downhill, open bombs on 6 & 7 permit you to watch your discs fly! After playing long, flat, sweeping right-turner #8, you have long #9, woods on right, up-slope on left, eventually finding the basket up a small hill, guarded by a couple of large hardwoods.

Not technical nor tight, but you would be well served to stay out of the woods/brush that grow along the creek and play along the right side of 1-2, 8-9. I turned my Roc over on #2, and when my son went to look for it, he stepped on an old log where some bees had built a nest, and he was stung a couple of times (I'm glad they weren't hornets!) I went looking for my disc later, to no avail, but the bees were still quite plentiful. :-(

Navigation: Long-tee #1 is down the hill from the skate park, by the fence. After finishing #1, cross the bridge, as numbers 2-8 play in a counter-clockwise fashion and the other side of the creek/woods. Cross back over and turn right to play #9 after finishing #8. BTW, the most visible basket isn't always the one you're supposed to play towards:
- From tee-2, basket-2 is right and near the woods, not the more-visible basket (#4) left and partially up the slope.
- From tee-4, basket-4 is somewhat right, cross-slope and under some hardwoods, not the basket (#2) in the distance down the hill
- From tee-5, basket-5 is at the same elevation level and at the end of some trees, not the basket (#8) down the hill, open, in front of the woods
Makes you think 2-8 would be good for safari and/or glow!

Fun course, nice to have 2-8 away from the main road and other park users, although I imagine the downhill to #8 is a good sledding/inner-tubing hill when there is snow on the ground!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work, but means well

5+    11/23/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: rtiedemann6
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are difficult, but not unbearable. Hole length is good for a 9 hole course. Pretty technical. Holes are pretty wide open, but the occasional tree makes it tough.
Cons: Signage isn't good. Hole #1 is too close to the skate park. No map or layout for new players.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot because it's 5 minutes from my house. It never seems very busy. This course has lots of potential, but needs a lot of work. The signage still needs to be improved, it needs to be marked better where the next tee pad is. If some improvements are made, the rating will go up. The difficulty is good, but it's the aesthetics of the course that needs the changes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets with numbers pointed in the direction towards the tees they are corresponding to. If you are looking for some extra exercise on a nine hole course you found the right place.
Cons: The first hole is right next to a busy skate park. If by chance you go to avoid the skate park you very well could end up in the creek. If you play the short tee you can pretty much avoid both situations. There are no signs or maps to show you how the course is meant to be played. The numbers on the baskets were the only way I could determine where I was to be next.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course to challenge your arm and to work on your accuracy. There are some tough shots to throw under over and around trees.


UPDATE: There are signs now. Small but' they are there on the long tees. Right on top of the 4x4's.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All holes Seem to be in upwards of 300ft or more. The first tee starts just to the right of the skate park. At the end of hole 1 , cross the bridge and hole 2 tee is on your right. The rest of the course plays on a hill in the back of the park.

There appears to be multiple tees. Blue = long , red=short. and are marked by 4x4 in the ground. However the long tees are also marked by 4x4's sticking out of the ground.

Hole 8 seem to be the most unique playing 450ft(estimated) Long right fairway that bends around a creek bed . (Refer to the photo for 7, to the right is the fairway for 8)
Cross back over the bridge and to your right the tee for 9 . Plays about 500ft(again estimated) long and bends right. The hole is nestled between 2 trees up on a hill.
Cons: No map, no signage , Hole 1 plays dangerously close to skate park. Finding the first tee was a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: For 9 holes this seems to be a nice park and is well maintained. Can't see this ever being bigger than 9. Appears to be brand new, so one would assume there minor work still to be done.

Bathrooms available, playground and skate park. KFC and McDonalds just across the street.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.