Bloomington, IN 
Crestmont Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #5 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 162ft.   3 / 162ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: Oakey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Nice tee pads, good distance markers on every hole, and good layout. The front 9 holes play through some openly wooded area (compared to the back 9), and then opens up for a couple ace runs, and a few longer shots. The front 9 is the place to set your score, as going into the back 9 with above par is a setup for failure. The back nine winds through some tightly wooded area, which makes shots difficult, you really have to "lay-up" on a lot of holes. There's some good elevation gain all over the course, and overall is a challenging, but fair course, definitely the best in Bloomington.
Cons: Poor maintenance of the over growth around some fairways, and older baskets are the only course related cons. I also would like to mention, you get a lot of people who aren't playing that walk around, and sometimes cause a nuisance. It's definitely not in the best part of Bloomington (not that there are any real bad parts, just don't expect a groomed college park). So sometimes you may feel uncomfortable on some of the holes. Don't get me wrong though, at no time did I feel unsafe playing, just thought I would mention it as a heads up.

Also as a note, if it has rained the day or two before, it'll be slick in some areas, lots of clay soil.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course, challenging, interesting hole design, and fun.

Fun Course

5+    10/8/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: smitdavi
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
Pros:
Tee Pads: Long, course concrete pads

Setting: This course is right in the heart of Bloomington, only a couple miles from campus but you feel like you are walking around in a park on the outskirts of town. Lots of big, old trees fill the landscape. There is also a lot of elevation changes in the course. If I remember correctly there are elevation changes on almost every hole.

Benches: Most holes have nice wood benches to rest between holes.



Cons:
Signage: Or lack there of. All holes are marked with a 4x4 post next to the tee pad with the holel number and distance. There aren't any hole diagrams or "next tee" signs. If it's your first time you might have a hard time navigating.

If it's been raining at all it can be a treacherous course to navigate. Would highly recommend some hiking shoes as the grip will come in handy.

Other Thoughts: This course is my home course and I have played a lot of rounds out there since I started playing. It can teach you the basics as there are a lot of shot shaping opportunities. Every hole is deuce-able and you should be able to shoot par without a problem. The elevation changes are what make it fun. You def wouldn't think you are playing a course at a city park in the middle of town.

Was at PIX fest and stopped in...

2-4    6/24/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All metal baskets. Good amount of ace able runs. Shorter course so easy to bring anyone here. Some elevation change is cool. No one using the course made it easy to keep playing. The short uphill shot with a putter on an anny or a nice flick makes a super fun ace run hole (still mad I only laid up, should have had it). Nice intermediate course. Alternative tees make it easy for beginners to have more fun, while the harder tees are just right for more experienced players.
Cons: Some baskets are aged and rusting. Hard to navigate the first time. If you bring your DX plastics here you are going to have a bad time.
Other Thoughts: My girlfriend who is a beginner liked it, she got 3's or 4's on it. All i brought was my teebird, buzzz and aviar and I had no problem getting 2 and 3 on just about every hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/24/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: MrHollywood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Has a good variety of shots
-Great course for intermediates
-Concrete tee pads
-Some real awesome holes such as the downhill on 15
-Really did great with the elevation changes
-Located in a great park that seems to be there just for the course
Cons: -Not very much signage
-Some tee pads hard to find at first
-A few baskets are lower than regulation
-Not a lot of long holes if that's your thing
Other Thoughts: Not much else to say that hasn't been said in previous reviews. One of the main drawbacks to the course is the poor signage but the problem can be fixed by printing off the map here which I highly recommend. It took a few extra minutes but I was able to figure out all the holes and tee pads relatively easy with the map. The road always seem to be in play on most holes but it is not a very busy road so not really too big of a deal.

Edit* After going back again it seems like they have updated their signage some. There is now a wooden post displaying each hole number at the tee pad but still difficult to find some tee pads and figure out which basket is the correct one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hooray for Concrete Tees

2-4    11/11/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: RShott
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play. It plays through a nice little park that seems to be used almost exclusivly for disc golf. There are lots of elevation changes and a good amount of large trees. The land is used very well in my opinion; there are a lot of interesting shots which keeps the course fun. Also, Concrete teepads have been installed and they are very nice.
Cons: The signage on this course is pretty bad. The signs simply have the hole number on them; there is no map of the hole or distances post on the tee sign. This makes navigating the course a bit confusing the first time you play it (I had to walk down the fairway of a number of holes to figure out where the basket was). After you have played it once or twice there are no navigation problems, but I really hope proper signs are installed to alliviate the confusion.

The holes are all pretty short. This can be a pro or a con; it makes it a fun course that can be used to work your mids and putters and to play casual rounds, but it is not a super challenging course, so if that is your cup of tea, you will probably be a little let down. The elevation and trees keep it from being too easy. This course has a good level of difficulty for us beginner and intermediate players, but an advanced player would tear this course up.
Other Thoughts: I played this course one time about a year ago, and at that time there were only natural tees. They were absolutely terrible; uneven and pretty trecherous. Now that concrete tees have been installed this course is much much better, and for me it is now a solid 3 disc course. The best course in Bloomington by far.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/3/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A ton of obstacles in your way which is great for using shot selection and accuracy. Tons of trees and a nice feeling of seclusion for the most part. A short course but each hole is pretty different.
Update: A nice addition of about 6 benches at the start of some holes on the front nine.
Cons: Not well maintained. Beat up tee boxes. Rusty baskets. Tons of overgrown brush. If it rains there will be a ton of mud and it will be tough for footing.
Update: Almost every tee box has been replaced by cement boxes. If better signage follows I think this course will be greatly improved!
Other Thoughts: Overall i think its the best course in Bloomington. There arent any long courses in the town so the fact that this is a tough course due the terrain makes it a huge plus. If they could just find a way to maintain the course it would be higher rated and alot more fun to play

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice park setting

1    2/28/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout in a fairly small park.
Terrific use of elevation and terrain.
Most holes are reachable by a midrange, you will find a lot of accurate shots are needed to get those birdies. Mature trees throughout, and the course seemed fairly clean at the time of play.

The baskets were in great shape, it caught everything they should have.

The neighborhood seemed very nice, no trouble at all. I am not sure by some of the other reviews that warned people of losing discs. I didn't see many possiblities too lose a disc..
Cons: Tee signs - would be nice if there was a better description of some of the holes. I ended up playing from the shorts I believe just because it was where the main tee sign (usually was on). It would be great to have a small map on each tee sign.

The tee pads, egad..some of them had craters in the middle of them. I am sure this is due too high play and the wet winter they have had. The course was very wet, but you can't do much about that. Some benches, better tee signs and level tee pads would be great too get this up too the 4.0.

Navigation on the baskets too the next tee would be awesome too.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would definitely play the course again, there was some snow on the ground which made disc finding fun at times (white disc). This is definitely a Roc friendly course as I think I could play 90% of the course with a Roc and a putter. I hope Bloomington advances there disc golf culture, I would love too see another course somewhere near by since Karst has been degraded too the 9 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc in the hood

1    6/9/2008   3/9/2009
Review By: chriseay76
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great accuracy challenge, you'll need to bend it every way. beautiful walk through the woods kind of feel. unique pin locations lead to some interesting shots. Don't even bring your power discs..
Cons: Gravel tees....yuck. Most are ok but there are a few bad ones. In the hood but we were never bothered by anyone... Lost my first disc there somewhere in the creek..
Other Thoughts: Give it a try.. nice course just lock your car..:)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and short!

1    8/30/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: oakley doakley
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice looking park well manicured. There is some tight holes that test your accuracy. Some nice elevation changes. I enjoyed it.
Cons: Short holes. Most veterans will have no problem shooting par or close to. Never get to really open up on course.
Other Thoughts: It is a good course worth playing. When I played the locals there seemed not to understand or care about any golf etiquette (constantly crossing the fairways we were playing, walking right in front of you while your about to throw, looking like a deer in the headlights). I also have heard that some say this is not a good neighborhood. I would have to disagree and say it was just fine and nothing to worry about. But I am not a local.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.