Bloomington, IN 
Crestmont Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #17 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 154ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >

1    6/29/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Dover202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees and hills
-Nice area
Cons: -Some of the tees are hard to find
-All par 3's
Other Thoughts: I only played this course once, but it was very enjoyable. It would have been nice to see some longer holes (maybe a few par 4's and 5's). I would definitely come back, though.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy Challenge

5+    5/2/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: KETBLC
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of holes is good, mostly hilly. Also there are a few creek hazards that some times make disc locating quite hard. The course is fun though, for all experience levels although begginers might be frustrated by the trees. There are alot of tricky shots and blind holes that make the course forever challenging. There are long and shot holes so the powerthrower may run into some problems too, but most can be rectified on the second shot.
Cons: When it rains the course gets very muddy. There are roads close to the course.
Other Thoughts: Crestmont is one of our favourite courses because it always challenges us so we know if we are actually improving. CON: WE LOST OUR CHAMPION ORC DISC, PRO: OUR PHONE NUMBER WAS ON IT SO WHEN SOME BOYS FOUND IT THEY CALLED US AND WE WERE ABLE TO GET IT BACK :)

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tough technical course

5+    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a very technical course, with all different kinds of shots required to get through the trees. The park is fairly hilly, and the elevation comes into play on more than half the holes. This elevation is used very well to provide challenge on many holes, and when combined with the trees makes this a challenging course to shoot well consistently. The holes call for many different kinds of shots, so this course can be frustrating to one-dimensional players.

There are two tees for more than half the holes, making this course accessible for newer players while still providing a fun challenge for more experienced throwers. The long tees now have concrete pads that are level with decent grip, makes for a much nicer place to play especially when the course gets a little muddy and the natural tees tend to wash out and hold water.

The local league plays here on Wednesday nights, and this is a great time to meet some fun people, and have the chance to play with some good local players.
Cons: The short tees are still gravel, and are frequently in pretty bad shape. Especially after any kind of wet weather, the tees get rutted and muddy, making for treacherous footing. There is virtually no signage on this course, it would be nice to have distances on the holes from the long tees, and several of the shorts that did have distance are in poor shape or missing altogether.

There are also a few places where the navigation of this course is not immediately obvious, and the next tee can be difficult to find from the previous basket (especially tees for 4, 6, 8, and 13). some next tee signs would make a big difference here.

The one type of shot this course doesn't have is the long bomb type of drive. All the holes on the course are under 350', so for many players the distance drivers almost never come out of the bag on this course, and better players won't really get to stretch out their arm.
Other Thoughts: This course provides a lot of interesting challenges, and is fun to play for golfers of all skill levels. Once you've played the course once, the navigation issues are much less of a problem, and the rounds go by more quickly. Beginners will find some tight holes, but not too much distance here, it's a nice course for learning to shape different lines. More experienced players will have fun playing putter rounds here and going for double digit under par rounds.

This course is fun to play in different seasons, as the available throwing lines change drastically with changes in foliage. This keeps the course interesting year-round. The neighborhoods surrounding the park are not the best, but the biggest issue I've ever seen here is young unsupervised children playing on fairways and baskets, and occasionally being 'helpful' by returning a disc to you.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Disc in the hood

1    6/9/2008   3/9/2009
Review By: chriseay76
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great accuracy challenge, you'll need to bend it every way. beautiful walk through the woods kind of feel. unique pin locations lead to some interesting shots. Don't even bring your power discs..
Cons: Gravel tees....yuck. Most are ok but there are a few bad ones. In the hood but we were never bothered by anyone... Lost my first disc there somewhere in the creek..
Other Thoughts: Give it a try.. nice course just lock your car..:)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Final 4 Can Reuin Score

5+    11/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: travkram
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: There are a couple of holes that are very easy to birdie. Elavation change on almost every hole. Good course to get exercise.
Cons: Some times kids will get in the way or just pick up your disc and start to thorw them. I just try to be patient and teach them how to play.
Other Thoughts: 15 and 17 are down hill with very tight shots. 16 is sitting on top of a tall hill. 18 is long and with no real fairway.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and short!

1    8/30/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: oakley doakley
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice looking park well manicured. There is some tight holes that test your accuracy. Some nice elevation changes. I enjoyed it.
Cons: Short holes. Most veterans will have no problem shooting par or close to. Never get to really open up on course.
Other Thoughts: It is a good course worth playing. When I played the locals there seemed not to understand or care about any golf etiquette (constantly crossing the fairways we were playing, walking right in front of you while your about to throw, looking like a deer in the headlights). I also have heard that some say this is not a good neighborhood. I would have to disagree and say it was just fine and nothing to worry about. But I am not a local.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, great layout

7/13/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes on every single hole. Some difficult shots between trees and around a creek. Good mix of open shots and wooded shots. Some very unique holes and angles, dual tees on multiple holes.
Cons: Horrible gravel tee pads...covered in mud after rain, can't even shoot from some of them.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads would make this course a lot better. But it is a really fun and challenging course, the dual tees make it fun for weaker arms. They used the layout very well for this course.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best of Bloomington

2-4    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: ZipperBlueZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Large course with full 18 holes, moderate difficulty with plenty of trees. One hole (can't remember the number) is a very long downhill shot over a creek and high grass. Challenging but not impossible. Very enjoyable course.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This course is comparable to Brookside or George Washington park if you're familiar with the DGC's of Indy.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.