Bloomington, IN 
Crestmont Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Desert Mirage

5+    6/1/2008   4/1/2010
Review By: dagwood112
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design capitalizes on the park's natural features to create a successful course in a limited space. Although most holes are short, players are required to execute a variety of shots. As noted in a previous review, the different seasons substantially change the feel and difficulty of the course.

A community garden project was added to the park in the last three or 4 years. It is a good addition to the course. The local residents, as well as players, are generally pleasant.
Cons: In a word, amenities. Crummy gravel tee pads. Lame. Mediocre signage. One bench (maybe two) on the entire course. No bathroom. Not really a problem for guys. But, with children around I would like an option that doesn't include a trip to the sex offender registry. Speaking of children, the locals kids can occasionally become unintended targets for discs.

Despite the lack of length, the course can eat plastic. Especially in the dense foliage of deep summer. On a related note, retrieving discs from the drainage ditch/creek can be unpleasant.
Other Thoughts: I was in school for three years in Bloomington. Local disc golf options are woefully inadequate. This course provides a tremendous community service. With the flora and topography of the area I never understood why there weren't more options.

There are several light posts on the course. Rumor has it at one point they were used for night disc golf. I can't confirm or deny. I can say that it would be freakin awesome.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A nice park setting

1    2/28/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout in a fairly small park.
Terrific use of elevation and terrain.
Most holes are reachable by a midrange, you will find a lot of accurate shots are needed to get those birdies. Mature trees throughout, and the course seemed fairly clean at the time of play.

The baskets were in great shape, it caught everything they should have.

The neighborhood seemed very nice, no trouble at all. I am not sure by some of the other reviews that warned people of losing discs. I didn't see many possiblities too lose a disc..
Cons: Tee signs - would be nice if there was a better description of some of the holes. I ended up playing from the shorts I believe just because it was where the main tee sign (usually was on). It would be great to have a small map on each tee sign.

The tee pads, egad..some of them had craters in the middle of them. I am sure this is due too high play and the wet winter they have had. The course was very wet, but you can't do much about that. Some benches, better tee signs and level tee pads would be great too get this up too the 4.0.

Navigation on the baskets too the next tee would be awesome too.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would definitely play the course again, there was some snow on the ground which made disc finding fun at times (white disc). This is definitely a Roc friendly course as I think I could play 90% of the course with a Roc and a putter. I hope Bloomington advances there disc golf culture, I would love too see another course somewhere near by since Karst has been degraded too the 9 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 No Beginners Here.

5+    1/9/2010   1/9/2010
Review By: Papa T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Differing techniques needed for quality score. There are long holes, short holes, wooded holes, open holes, wet holes, dry holes, uphill holes, downhill holes, right turn holes, left turn holes, etc...

The best part about this course is that you will never get bored. I've probably played it 100 times. It never gets old. Even the seasons add changes to the course.
Cons: Tee boxes are in pretty bad shape. All of them are gravel, and most are worn in. Sometimes the grass gets long.

Parking lot is small.

Holes 13 and 14 have the pipes from the subdivision draining on it.

Also, you might lose discs.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of my favorites. I would recommend it to all average to pro level players. I would certainly not bring someone who is just learning to this course, unless they are ok with scoring +15.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Pleasant surprise

1    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Drew4723
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow, what an awesome nature hike. Not to mention it's an 18-hole course, this is one is a must to visit.
The varying elevation provides for some extra challenge, plus there's holes in open fields as well as forests.
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc, plus it can be difficult to follow along the course as well as finding the tee you're shooting for.
Other Thoughts: A great compliment to a great college town.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a stop

1    8/13/2004   8/13/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Something of an old-school, urban course (though I've no idea how old it really is). Fairly short, great for beginners, fun for better players, not terribly challenging for top players.

The course features some pretty good elevation change, pretty lush foliage (tall trees, some underbrush, thick grass), and a variety of shots using the elevation and trees well.
Cons: Pretty short; very little chance for bigger arms to air it out.

Good holes but no real great holes.
Other Thoughts: My impression of the neighborhood, as a traveler passing through, was that it's not bad---I had no concerns about it. No doubt it shares occasional minor problems of urban parks everywhere.

I'd certainly play it if I were in the area again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite of mine...

5+    7/20/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape (recently used colored tape on the middle pole in order to make it more visible in the woods)
-Challenging course requiring a variety of shots. This course truly has it all. Fairly short, tight, straight shots through the trees. Blind throws into the woods. Long downhill holes over a stream. Short holes at the top of a steep hill. So many different holes.
-Makes very good use of the park. I think the land being heavily wooded and fairly hilly would be fairly useless being used for anything other than disc golf.
-Good course for experienced players looking to hone their skills and take up a challenge. Most every hole is birdie-able, but to get a good score you're gonna need to be consistent.
Cons: -Occasionally the grass can get long
-Since it is wooded there is quite a bit of underbrush that come into play on most every hole.
-There are a couple holes that are difficult to navigate (3 to 4, 5 to 6, 12 to 13, 14's hole...)
-Many holes have no signage (no distance to hole)
-No restrooms, no drinking fountain, one shelter at the beginning/end, TINY parking lot
-After a little rain this course gets extremely sloppy. Holes #13 and #14 are always wet no matter how little it rains. It'll be a drought and these holes will be wet for some reason.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. It's challenging, yet not overly frustrating. Holes require skill as well as ingenuity at times - and luck on the others.


While it is a fairly wooded course, the underbrush does not come into play unless there is a terrible throw. There are a couple of holes that allow you to open up your cannon a bit (6, 8, 10, 18) but nothing too crazy.

If you're looking for a challenge (especially after visiting Sherwood and Karst in Bloomington), this is your place. One reviewer was right - you better bolster up your score before you get to the last 4 holes. It'll take some well-placed shots to preserve your score.

Don't worry about the neighborhood - I haven't had a problem for many, many times I've played.

If it is your first time playing, print off a copy of the course map. Or follow a local around. Either way will help you out tremendously.

Don't let the list of cons steer you clear of this course. Play this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crestmont

1    6/29/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Dover202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees and hills
-Nice area
Cons: -Some of the tees are hard to find
-All par 3's
Other Thoughts: I only played this course once, but it was very enjoyable. It would have been nice to see some longer holes (maybe a few par 4's and 5's). I would definitely come back, though.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy Challenge

5+    5/2/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: KETBLC
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of holes is good, mostly hilly. Also there are a few creek hazards that some times make disc locating quite hard. The course is fun though, for all experience levels although begginers might be frustrated by the trees. There are alot of tricky shots and blind holes that make the course forever challenging. There are long and shot holes so the powerthrower may run into some problems too, but most can be rectified on the second shot.
Cons: When it rains the course gets very muddy. There are roads close to the course.
Other Thoughts: Crestmont is one of our favourite courses because it always challenges us so we know if we are actually improving. CON: WE LOST OUR CHAMPION ORC DISC, PRO: OUR PHONE NUMBER WAS ON IT SO WHEN SOME BOYS FOUND IT THEY CALLED US AND WE WERE ABLE TO GET IT BACK :)

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough technical course

5+    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a very technical course, with all different kinds of shots required to get through the trees. The park is fairly hilly, and the elevation comes into play on more than half the holes. This elevation is used very well to provide challenge on many holes, and when combined with the trees makes this a challenging course to shoot well consistently. The holes call for many different kinds of shots, so this course can be frustrating to one-dimensional players.

There are two tees for more than half the holes, making this course accessible for newer players while still providing a fun challenge for more experienced throwers. The long tees now have concrete pads that are level with decent grip, makes for a much nicer place to play especially when the course gets a little muddy and the natural tees tend to wash out and hold water.

The local league plays here on Wednesday nights, and this is a great time to meet some fun people, and have the chance to play with some good local players.
Cons: The short tees are still gravel, and are frequently in pretty bad shape. Especially after any kind of wet weather, the tees get rutted and muddy, making for treacherous footing. There is virtually no signage on this course, it would be nice to have distances on the holes from the long tees, and several of the shorts that did have distance are in poor shape or missing altogether.

There are also a few places where the navigation of this course is not immediately obvious, and the next tee can be difficult to find from the previous basket (especially tees for 4, 6, 8, and 13). some next tee signs would make a big difference here.

The one type of shot this course doesn't have is the long bomb type of drive. All the holes on the course are under 350', so for many players the distance drivers almost never come out of the bag on this course, and better players won't really get to stretch out their arm.
Other Thoughts: This course provides a lot of interesting challenges, and is fun to play for golfers of all skill levels. Once you've played the course once, the navigation issues are much less of a problem, and the rounds go by more quickly. Beginners will find some tight holes, but not too much distance here, it's a nice course for learning to shape different lines. More experienced players will have fun playing putter rounds here and going for double digit under par rounds.

This course is fun to play in different seasons, as the available throwing lines change drastically with changes in foliage. This keeps the course interesting year-round. The neighborhoods surrounding the park are not the best, but the biggest issue I've ever seen here is young unsupervised children playing on fairways and baskets, and occasionally being 'helpful' by returning a disc to you.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Disc in the hood

1    6/9/2008   3/9/2009
Review By: chriseay76
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great accuracy challenge, you'll need to bend it every way. beautiful walk through the woods kind of feel. unique pin locations lead to some interesting shots. Don't even bring your power discs..
Cons: Gravel tees....yuck. Most are ok but there are a few bad ones. In the hood but we were never bothered by anyone... Lost my first disc there somewhere in the creek..
Other Thoughts: Give it a try.. nice course just lock your car..:)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.