Bloomington, IN 
Crestmont Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #18 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 148ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Small treat of a course!

1    7/21/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: SeanDon
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: Great usage of limited amount of space and good elevation. Lots of short skilled holes, so you don't have to throw your arm out on any holes really. Pretty easy course so it will make you feel good compared to many.
Cons: Bring a map!

If it has rained recently, you will get a little muddy.

If you a long driver and that's your favorite part of the game, you don't have many chances to do that here.

It's a little bit ghetto, you might see a guy walking with a 40oz. Stay on the course.

Could use a mowing, at least when I went.

Better directions between holes.


1    7/11/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Anteros
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: Wonderful layout and an excellent challenge if you want to stay in the fairway
Cons: Gets too muddy after rain and the hilly terrain makes it difficult to traverse the back 9. NEEDS HOLE MAPS!!! Would not suggest going alone if new to the course and any company should be someone who knows the course

Urban meets city

5+    5/24/2014   12/30/2014
Review By: blclevenger2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is smack in the middle of the city and yet has a fair amount of wooded holes. Great use of the creek and elevation. A lot of risk reward holes and great for practicing your control of a disc.
Cons: The course is tight in places and not well signed. The tee's could be improved upon and aside from two holes in the middle of the course no real reason to take a high speed driver.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: Oakey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: Nice tee pads, good distance markers on every hole, and good layout. The front 9 holes play through some openly wooded area (compared to the back 9), and then opens up for a couple ace runs, and a few longer shots. The front 9 is the place to set your score, as going into the back 9 with above par is a setup for failure. The back nine winds through some tightly wooded area, which makes shots difficult, you really have to "lay-up" on a lot of holes. There's some good elevation gain all over the course, and overall is a challenging, but fair course, definitely the best in Bloomington.
Cons: Poor maintenance of the over growth around some fairways, and older baskets are the only course related cons. I also would like to mention, you get a lot of people who aren't playing that walk around, and sometimes cause a nuisance. It's definitely not in the best part of Bloomington (not that there are any real bad parts, just don't expect a groomed college park). So sometimes you may feel uncomfortable on some of the holes. Don't get me wrong though, at no time did I feel unsafe playing, just thought I would mention it as a heads up.

Also as a note, if it has rained the day or two before, it'll be slick in some areas, lots of clay soil.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course, challenging, interesting hole design, and fun.

Fun Course

5+    10/8/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: smitdavi
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7
Pros:
Tee Pads: Long, course concrete pads

Setting: This course is right in the heart of Bloomington, only a couple miles from campus but you feel like you are walking around in a park on the outskirts of town. Lots of big, old trees fill the landscape. There is also a lot of elevation changes in the course. If I remember correctly there are elevation changes on almost every hole.

Benches: Most holes have nice wood benches to rest between holes.



Cons:
Signage: Or lack there of. All holes are marked with a 4x4 post next to the tee pad with the holel number and distance. There aren't any hole diagrams or "next tee" signs. If it's your first time you might have a hard time navigating.

If it's been raining at all it can be a treacherous course to navigate. Would highly recommend some hiking shoes as the grip will come in handy.

Other Thoughts: This course is my home course and I have played a lot of rounds out there since I started playing. It can teach you the basics as there are a lot of shot shaping opportunities. Every hole is deuce-able and you should be able to shoot par without a problem. The elevation changes are what make it fun. You def wouldn't think you are playing a course at a city park in the middle of town.

 Was at PIX fest and stopped in...

2-4    6/24/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All metal baskets. Good amount of ace able runs. Shorter course so easy to bring anyone here. Some elevation change is cool. No one using the course made it easy to keep playing. The short uphill shot with a putter on an anny or a nice flick makes a super fun ace run hole (still mad I only laid up, should have had it). Nice intermediate course. Alternative tees make it easy for beginners to have more fun, while the harder tees are just right for more experienced players.
Cons: Some baskets are aged and rusting. Hard to navigate the first time. If you bring your DX plastics here you are going to have a bad time.
Other Thoughts: My girlfriend who is a beginner liked it, she got 3's or 4's on it. All i brought was my teebird, buzzz and aviar and I had no problem getting 2 and 3 on just about every hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/10/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crestmont is a fairly hilly course with a good variety of moderately wooded, technical and a few open-ish holes. The long pads are concrete and about half the holes have short pads to make the course more beginner friendly.

The front nine is starts you off easy forcing you to navigate some mature trees to get your birdies. The back nine has some more technical holes forcing you to hit small, but fair gaps, has bigger elevation changes and a few hilly putting greens.

The course forces you to hit your line and good shots are rewarded with birdies, but a bad shot could leave you scrambling for par, particularly on the back nine. The shot diversity is ok here with a few holes forcing a turnover shot for RHBH players. Hole 13 forces a RHFH shot due to the low branch and right turning hole, very cool!
Cons: Most of the tees are numbered but a few aren't. There are only tee signs that list distance on a few holes, no hole diagrams. The short pads are gravel and don't appear to be in very good condition.

Navigating the course and finding the correct basket can be a little tricky in a few places your first time here, but overall it's not too bad.

Some of the hole numbers on the baskets have been spray painted over making it difficult to tell if you're throwing at the correct basket and the number plate is not always facing toward the tee to confuse matters even more.

Many of the holes are very short, even from the long pads. Six holes are under 200 feet and only 3 holes are over 300 feet with the longest being 327.

Hole 14 is not a very good hole IMHO. The basket is roughly 50 feet in the woods but there is no fairway to aim for so you throw blindly into the wall of trees and hope for the best.

There's a small ditch (maybe a little more than ankle deep?) running through the fairway on holes 8-10. Because the grass was so tall when I was here on 9/10/12, it was barely visible and is deep enough to potentially cause injury if you unknowingly step in it. Hopefully when the grass is trimmed it's more clearly visible and this won't be an issue.

On hole 18, the post with the hole number on it is rather close to the tee pad and was in the way when throwing a RHBH turnover shot.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course that caters well to beginner and intermediate players, but more experienced players won't find much challenge here.

I want to rate this course a 3 because I did enjoy it, but the lack of challenge and list of con's are just too much.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/24/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: MrHollywood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Has a good variety of shots
-Great course for intermediates
-Concrete tee pads
-Some real awesome holes such as the downhill on 15
-Really did great with the elevation changes
-Located in a great park that seems to be there just for the course
Cons: -Not very much signage
-Some tee pads hard to find at first
-A few baskets are lower than regulation
-Not a lot of long holes if that's your thing
Other Thoughts: Not much else to say that hasn't been said in previous reviews. One of the main drawbacks to the course is the poor signage but the problem can be fixed by printing off the map here which I highly recommend. It took a few extra minutes but I was able to figure out all the holes and tee pads relatively easy with the map. The road always seem to be in play on most holes but it is not a very busy road so not really too big of a deal.

Edit* After going back again it seems like they have updated their signage some. There is now a wooden post displaying each hole number at the tee pad but still difficult to find some tee pads and figure out which basket is the correct one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Impressed

1    8/2/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: blarmour
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee pads are very nice and in great shape. The elevation changes and obstacles (trees, elevation, fences, roads, etc) were enough to keep your interest. There was no one around the day I played so didn't have to worry about other players or just people in the park getting in the way like you do at some courses.
Cons: As mentioned in the past, the signage is terrible. I had printed off the map of the course before I went and still had difficulty finding some of the tees and baskets. Not a very good flow between some of the holes. With as little as the course seemed to be used by others other than disc golfers, not sure why they would have difficulty keeping proper signage. Some of the baskets were pretty rusty, but nice deep baskets.
Other Thoughts: Only people I saw were the city workers mowing with the big tractors and bush hogs. I was actually prepared to just wait until they were done in that area, but they actually stopped 3 times when they were in the area I was preparing to shoot from. Nice to see they respected disc golfers enough to do that rather than look at us like we were just in their way. Favorite holes were the downhill shot on 15 followed by the uphill shot on 16.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hooray for Concrete Tees

2-4    11/11/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: RShott
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play. It plays through a nice little park that seems to be used almost exclusivly for disc golf. There are lots of elevation changes and a good amount of large trees. The land is used very well in my opinion; there are a lot of interesting shots which keeps the course fun. Also, Concrete teepads have been installed and they are very nice.
Cons: The signage on this course is pretty bad. The signs simply have the hole number on them; there is no map of the hole or distances post on the tee sign. This makes navigating the course a bit confusing the first time you play it (I had to walk down the fairway of a number of holes to figure out where the basket was). After you have played it once or twice there are no navigation problems, but I really hope proper signs are installed to alliviate the confusion.

The holes are all pretty short. This can be a pro or a con; it makes it a fun course that can be used to work your mids and putters and to play casual rounds, but it is not a super challenging course, so if that is your cup of tea, you will probably be a little let down. The elevation and trees keep it from being too easy. This course has a good level of difficulty for us beginner and intermediate players, but an advanced player would tear this course up.
Other Thoughts: I played this course one time about a year ago, and at that time there were only natural tees. They were absolutely terrible; uneven and pretty trecherous. Now that concrete tees have been installed this course is much much better, and for me it is now a solid 3 disc course. The best course in Bloomington by far.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.