St. Augusta, MN 
Hidden Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 289ft.   4 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very Difficult

5+    10/15/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 47  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a wide range of holes on this course. The layouts/obstacles each hole presents are different throughout the course. It starts in the woods, at times requiring ridiculously tight shots to hit sliver gaps between trees. Clearly there must be a plan to clear things out just a bit more, or perhaps maybe not. The holes in the woods not only require tight lines, but also will require you to throw those tight lines up hill and some distance. Now for those of you that get good distance this shouldnt be a problem, but i lack good distance, however, have the technical aspect of my game in tact. The distance makes those holes extremely tough for me to get a 3. Once out of the woods the course gives you a bit of a break and opens it up outside for a few holes, allowing the largest of arms to give it full throttle. Then back into the woods for more tight lines with some fun throws. There are several water holes throughout the course including a monster of a section of a lake/pond to a gap on the other side. I played this course for the first time last year and must say with continued work and growth this course really could make a top list in MN.
Cons: Beginners/learners beware of this course. It will discourage faster than it excites you.
-some of the lanes are just too tight out here considering the distance included in the shots.
-in general this is a great course for experienced players on up.
Other Thoughts: This course is a pro level course in my opinion. I have played quite a few years, however, dont seem to be able to put up good numbers out here Experienced players will leave enjoying and appreciative of the course, but likely feel defeated and wanting revenge. Pro players will leave challenged and satisfied. Beginners will leave half way through unless their pride gets in the way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not For The Weak Of Heart!

1    7/24/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Warning! This course is not suitable for:

Youth or
Beginners or
Recreational Players or
The Old or
Weak Armed Players or
Those Who Can't Throw Straight or
Wimps or
The Faint of Heart or
Weak Minded or
Causal Weekend Players or
Course Baggers or
Girlfriends/Wives or
The Feeble/Infirmed or
Players Who Aren's Seeking the Ultimate Challenge.

Seeing how I resemble most of the these, I have determined that this course was definitely not designed with me in mind.

Now that we gotten that over with.

The PROs. The course ranks right up there with Blue Ribbon Pines and Kaposia in both it's difficulty and challenge. If you are a strong intermediate player or better, you need to get out here and throw yourself against this course and it's length, it's tight fairways, it's sometimes narrow little windows and it's treacherous rough and blind baskets. The over the water shots, such as # 17, require the guts of a burglar to hit a miniscule (20' X 20') window at about 250'. Any slight miss splashs down in the swampy waters, forever to be swimming with the gators and whatever the hell else is lurking below the brakish waters here.

The course starts out with an great course map and a mailbox with professional "St. Augusta" scorecards. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers. The Natural-gravel teepads are not the best feature here.
Cons: Gravel/natural teepads need to be improved with either patio blocks or concrete for this course to take the next step. So many blind basket especially early in the round. Misquitos-Ticks-Bugs! Brackish-Ugly-Swampy water is challenging but not enjoyable or beautiful by any means. The course is basically flat.
Other Thoughts: This course is an easy 5 in terms of it's challenge. It's one of the maybe 10-20 hardest I've played (out of 375) in terms of it's challenge/difficult nature. But most of that difficulty was due to it's extremely long tight fairways with imprenetrable roughs, blind basket placements and technical throws over swampy waters. The course was most definitely way, way over my skill level. I concede that. What I find here, is a course that is going to appeal to a very limited percentage of the disc playing population. That being those younger gung ho, intermediate or better players, looking to really challenge their manhood. And advanced to pro players will find it to be one of the few courses around to really put their their skills to the test. Good luck and enjoy yourselves men. I can't say that I really enjoyed my experience here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Expert Course

5+    5/24/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love the variety of holes on this course. The scenery is beautiful and the walk from hole to hole is fun (unlike Riverside). This is also a cool place to disc hunt if you're a total nut about having more discs.
Cons: This is a very difficult course for any player. There are tons of trees and thorny bushes everywhere. There is one hole where you have to throw over a lake. There's also a lot of bugs.
Other Thoughts: If you like the majority of wooded disc courses and difficulty doesnt scare you, go ahead and check this out. If you've never played disc golf before, go to Calvary or somewhere easier.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course

1    11/14/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: stevep
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well laid out with good elevation changes and good use of the ponds. It is a difficult course that you need to be precise on your shots. Very nice piece of land. The course is set up well.
Cons: Several of the holes have no real fairway. There should be a way to get to the basket, even if it's tight, that's fine. This is the only reason I didn't give it a higher rating. Could easily be fixed.
Other Thoughts: I didn't go into a detailed review because the other review is very detailed and covers almost everything. I think this could be one of the best courses around if they cleaned out some of the smaller trees that are in the fairways. They need to have a way to get to the basket. If a few of the holes were fixed, it would be a championship quality course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.