Albany, MN 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: stevejb68 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 504ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A challenging gem of a 9 hole course

1    2/10/2017   2/10/2017
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 23.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is near a man made lake, though it really doesn't come into view, much less into play. It's a park that might more typically be found in a city, as it has numerous other uses.

The design of most holes is very good and the layout works well enough that a round can be played fairly quickly without getting lost.

The first two holes are flat and only slightly technical, a decent distance range to provide a good warm up for the rest.

The 3rd hole is an exceptionally challenging uphill hole that will test a second shot from the middle of the fairway due to wind off the hill.

The 4th hole is a nice technical shot with a hidden target on a small hillside that can put thoughts in your head while putting.

The 5th is a very nice downhill that is technical enough to challenge and will offer a chance for birdie if you are accurate.

The 6th is the most difficult hole on the course and will fall into the 'Cons' category.

The 7th is long and fairly straightforward.

The 8th is a super challenging, blind, slightly downhill, tweener distance hole with the basket tucked around a corner and guarded by woods. LHBH hole that I parked easily with 2nd and 3rd shots after failing the first (though I nailed that long putt). Will surely challenge a righty more.

The 9th is a long, slightly downhill, heavily wooded, creek crossing, magnificent beast of a finishing hole. I would imagine that it plays very tough from the pro tee.
Cons: Not sure what use is like in the summer, but I would imagine that the park is full quite often with other activities. Much of the course is bordered by two local highways, which is noisy and not anything great to look at, while also creating flats that will exacerbate the wind on the first 4 holes.

The 6th hole is a slight disaster. It's very long and significantly uphill. If you reach the landing zone--another LHBH that was fairly easy for me to complete this first shot--you look uphill and see another LHBH hyzer that goes into a highly guarded area.

Or so I thought. A full 75' short of that turn (which would have been another 150' to the guarded area) there is a small opening to the LEFT. It opens into a big field and the basket is slightly uphill another 150 feet. So basically, it's a lefty hyzer about 250, followed by a righty hyzer of 100 to get to the gap (you aren't going to get through it or very far) and then a shot of 170 to get to the pin. It's legitimately a par 5 and just a horrible wasted of a really rugged piece of land that could be the green.

As much as I don't like to backtrack, this is one of the rare cases that I would have loved to backtrack to the opening and found the tee near there. The 7th and 8th could then be redesigned, though you could honestly do a lot in that area and add a legitimate 3 or 4 holes (there are other areas of the layout that are not utilized and I could easily see a few holes between 2 and 3 as well, which could turn the area into a full 18 different holes).
Other Thoughts: On a long day of disc golf that took me to the longest course in the area to start, and then the worst 9 hole course in the region, it was a delight to find such a nice course near the charming little town of Albany.

It may not be NY, but it had a deli!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly enjoyable

2-4    7/26/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course more than I though I would from a couple of the reviews. The park uses its features well and the dual tees make a decent 18 out of a park with space for 9. It had a surprising variety of shots. Long and short holes, elevation changes and shorter technical shots. A few open/easy shots but enough trees to satisfy. Hole #18 is a beauty!
The layout is fairly well done, but there is a course map near hole #1 which i recommend taking a picture of or studying well, it will help.
The baskets and concrete tee pads are all top notch. Parking lot is right by hole #1
Cons: Not the most difficult of courses , but perfect for the intermediate player like myself looking for a fun round. A few more trees on some of the holes could improve this course quite a bit.
Wind seems to be a factor here.
Other Thoughts: Will be back to play this course again! This course was great as is, but could be better.
Not sure how i felt about hole 6/15 (apparently the signature hole?)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9

2-4    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 86  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 30.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a 9 hole course over gently rolling hills in a nicely mowed multi use park. Each hole has 2 concrete teepads with distances and basic layout marked on pretty good quality signage. The layout is very good and seems directed at the beginner and intermediate player, although I had a lot of fun also. If I lived near it I would be happy to have it as my home course.

The holes vary wildly in distance and only 3, or 6 if you are counting both teepads, play similar to each other. The holes vary from the 510' uphill or 620' foot downhill to a nice little 227' accuracy shot. It definitely encourages creativity in shot making and a nice accurate (straight) drive. Hole 18 was probably my favorite. 514' over a potential stream with a bridge and through a bunch of trees. Very picturesque and fun.

This is the best course to take your intermediate level friends to that I have played. When I play a new course I ask myself 3 things. Is it fun, was it challenging, and was it unfair. The course passes with flying colors.
Cons: It is not really intended for an advanced level player or pro but I think they would appreciate it anyhow. Even without a putter (I forgot it at Hidden Lake earlier) I thought some of the holes were fairly easy. A few trees or bushes added here and there would help that.

There are no waste baskets or benches. I am not including that in my score for the review but it worries me. I noticed some garbage here and there and although I picked some up I hope people pick up after themselves so we can keep this gem.
Other Thoughts: The parking lot is adequate and hole one starts near it. There is a course map and scorecards on the way to hole 1 and it is worth a look because in some places it can be confusing.

It also has a really small skatepark and basketball court as well as a playground for the kids and tennis courts.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long 9 hole course

1    7/2/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: slash87
Played: 153  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This has many longer holes so you don't have to hold back on many holes. All tee pads are concrete and recently poured. There are mature trees and you stay far enough away from others using the park.
Cons: There can be a lot of distance between holes. This is only a nine hole course with short and long tees.
Other Thoughts: Hole hole 6/15 is the signature hole. It is a long fun hole that is straight, then turns 90 degrees to the right then after another 50 turns another 90 degrees to the left. It is heavily wooded on both sides. When I played this the park department asked me which trees I thought should be removed. So there might be a few changes in the next few weeks on the hole.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not really 18 holes

1    7/1/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: d4nk
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice clean course, well maintained fairways. Concrete Tees, quality baskets. Good Variety of Holes.
Cons: Not really 18 holes.
There are nine baskets labeled twice...
There are short and long tees for each hole but I don't think that makes it a 18 hole course, but still it is a decent course worth playing two times!
Other Thoughts: Don't go on a windy day!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.